Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Patricia Weber

    A Wonderful Moroccan Experience

    I had always wanted to go to Morocco and this 8 day journey did not disappoint! The week took us through varied landscapes and sights! Wonderful and beautiful whether looking out the windows of our mini bus or our trek through the desert or our stay in the gite in the High Atlas Mountains! And of course chaotic, magical Marrakech. Just go!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two highlights for me were our desert trek and sleeping out in the Sahara! As well, our stay in the gite was an experience I won't forget!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Hassan, was extraordinary! He made this trip even more fascinating and interesting with his knowledge of the country and it's people. He has a great personality and sense of humour! Our whole group of 12 travellers would agree! Thank you Hassan! I am proud to now call you friend!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need to pack a sleeping bag for the overnight stay in the gite or desert. All sheets and blankets are provided. I was happy I had my hiking boots as we did a fair bit of walking. Take extra tissues, hand sanitizer or wipes as toilet paper may be scarce in some places. Just enjoy the many cultural differences and enjoy the people!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My husband and I had a wonderful time and we would go back to Morocco again!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Monique Law

    Morocco in March

    This was an excellent and varied trip but what made it extra special was our fantastic guide Hassan Hiss. He was extremely knowledgeable, well-organised and patient and calm at all times. Everything went like clockwork and he made everything seem effortless which it cannot have been - there was a lot to co-ordinate. Superb Hassan! All the superlatives, thank you for looking after us and giving us a super and very memorable week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the chance to ride a camel into the Sahara and spend the night there. Another highlight was the hammam with two local ladies looking after us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, great, Hassan was all that could be expected and much more. The talks he gave us, while on the coach and as we walked and in the evenings, were really interesting and informative. I felt he gave us a real insight into Morocco and the different ways of life of the people there.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did not need a sleeping bag!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for a lovely week, it was a great introduction to the country, the culture and the people.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    MARK STEPHENSON

    A great introduction to adventure travel

    Morocco is a beautiful country, wonderful people, stunning landscape and healthy wholesome food. This trip gives you a chance to experience the amazing contrasts that the country has on offer, from the stark beauty of the Sahara, the beautiful mineral rich mountains of the High Atlas to the frenetic pace of Marrakesh. The trip to the 16th century Kasbah of Ait Benhaddou, where they filmed Gladiator and Game of Thrones was fascinating and other small chances to sample local traditions like a Hamam and a tea ceremony were also welcome. This is a great introduction to adventure travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. The night sky in the desert was clearer than you'll ever see it with no light pollution.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan Hiss deserves high praise. Nothing was too much trouble for him. His local knowledge allowed us to experience things which would not be available to someone doing this tour on their own.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long trips on the mini bus. Longest was about 5 and a half hours. There were plenty of coffee stops and photo stops to ease the tedium and also there is a marvellous landscape to enjoy en-route.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Fiona Mair

    Magic Morocco

    A fantastic introduction to this beautiful country. You pack a huge amount into a short space of time and I left feeling that I wanted to come back and see more. From camel-trekking through a sandstorm to drinking mint tea in our guide's family home, this trip was full of memorable experiences. The people of Morocco were so friendly and welcoming and lots of fun. The scenery was spectacular, especially up in the mountains. I think the view from the gite might be a little slice of heaven!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two stand out. Camel trekking through the Sahara was everything you'd expect it to be and more. We got to experience it both in a sandstorm and in the calm, which was great. And seeing the sunset over the dunes was perfect. Being up in the village in the High Atlas was probably my favourite though. Issmail, our guide was from that village and seeing his love for his home made it feel quite special being there. It's so beautiful up there I didn't want to leave!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issmail was great. Very laid back, very funny and very friendly, with such a great outlook on life. Very knowledgeable, although despite many conversations on the subject, we are still somewhat confused as to the difference between a mule and a donkey!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You'll need to take an overnight pack for the night in the desert, so pack flexibly. Also, given that Royal Air Maroc managed to mess up our flights out resulting in an unscheduled overnight in Casablanca, make sure you carry overnight stuff in your hand luggage!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd heard lots of negative things about Morocco before going and so had fairly low expectations. But how wrong I was. This is such a stunning country with wonderfully warm and friendly people. I think I fell in love with it a little bit and can't wait to go back.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Ros Beard

    Wonderful trip

    To get an insight into the real Morocco and its varied geography, people and villages, this trip is a must. Staying in a different location every night was fine. Although there were some long drives, they were interspersed with photo stops, visits so that none seemed too long. Our driver was excellent. One lady suffered from travel sickness and was not looking forward to the Atlas Mountains switchback roads. She was fine and commented on the good driving.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping out under the stars in the Sahara. Having tea at a local house in the Atlas Mountains where we were shown how to brew true Moroccan tea and to sample some delicious home made bread, pancakes and doughnuts. Yum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was organised. The kitty meant that one didn't have to worry about money or tipping. Everything was taken care of.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Join the tour. I went because my friend chose it and I was not expecting to come home saying that it was one of my most memorable holidays.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Buy at the local market as the prices are much cheaper than in Marakesh. We bought spices, dates, honey. Some reviews say that a sleeping bag isn't needed. I was glad I had one as although there were sheets and blankets in the desert and in the fires, I preferred to sleep in my own linen.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Lee Thorne

    Whirlwind Tour!!

    This trip offers an interesting overview as to what Morocco has to offer. It gives the visitor a brief but rewarding experience of the desert region to the south, the High Atlas region and a glimpse of city life in Marrakech. With this aim in mind I think it succeeds. You should be prepared for some long drives, the longest being around six hours. However these are broken up by lunch breaks, short stops at scenic locations and visits to historical sites which are quite interesting. The food and lodgings on this trip exceeded my expectations, the standard was much higher than expected. I would recommend this trip for those who want an introduction to Morocco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the camel ride out into the desert and sleeping under the stars! Tents are provided but you do not have to use them. A group of us slept on mattresses on the sand just outside of the camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khalid is an excellent guide, very experienced,knowledgeable and intelligent. You couldn't really ask for better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about currency, you will have plenty of opportunity to get it on arrival. Of the eleven in the group only one had currency brought from outside. A sleeping bag is not necessary, blankets are provided in the desert camp. I took a bag liner and only used it once, it wasn't really necessary either. Wet wipes are a good idea, there is no washing water in the desert camp. Don't change too much money at once, wait until you get to Marrakech for the big spends, the money changers there are the best. Haggle,haggle, haggle at all market stalls. The Yves saint laurent garden is highly over- rated, find something else to do! Marrakech is great for street photography, especially in the market areas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Like most group trips the people can make or break it, I was very fortunate to have brilliant companions!! Thanks guys!
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Suzanne Birdsey

    Suz

    Overall an excellent adventure. A full week filled with a variety of different experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the high atlas mountains and the chance to mix with the Berber villagers. We sat and had tea and homemade almond cake with a one lady whilst we found out more about her culture and daily lives, and she found out about ours. It was full of laughs and interesting information. Further to this we also learnt a lot from our guide and visited a local school. At the school, we treated (well this is debatable) the kids to a rendition of Ba Ba Black sheep and they sung us a beautiful Arabic song. The Camel ride was also fun although you prob will get camel saws! ha. Star gazing in the Sahara was also a highlight for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and had a passion for his country that was contagious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will be staying at a different place most nights so be prepared for this. I have traveled before and so was used to being on the go and also taking in the long drives (to be honest the longest is six hours) there are also lots of breaks and different photo opportunities. But it is something to be aware of. Also, if you are veggie, options are limited for most of the trip. I mean I do like Omelet but really is that or tagine until the last two nights. So perhaps bring some extra snackage I would say - Embrace everything and go with the flow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    GO - its a great intro to Morocco and has certainly made me want to go back for me! Thanks Exodus
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Valerie Leigh

    Marrakech and the Sahara

    An excellent trip with a great variety of scenery and experiences which I would recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the Sahara, the sunset and the night sky. Also the Atlas Mountains which were stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good: knowledgeable and took us to some great restaurants!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't need our sleeping bags: there were made up beds in both the Sahara camp and the gite where we had a tent/room for ourselves. It was very hot at the end of March/beginning of April and only needed a jumper in the evening in the desert. A couple of longer drives, but the scenery was stunning. The camel ride was fun after the first 10 min of getting used to it but does leave you a little sore!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it - a great holiday!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Sophie Penney

    Marrakech and the Sahara

    This trip was really fantastic, I had a wonderful time. The group was lovely and a real mix of people. I travelled on 28th March and expected it to be cooler but it was more like 35 so check the weather, I think that also had an effect on the effort level so keep an eye on that if you're thinking of going, the hotter the harder! There is a great range of things covered here, desert, mountains and Marrakech are all very different! and some journeys in the bus are quite long but the scenery is spectacular and it's a nice chance for a rest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Atlas Mountains. It was a lovely walk although longer than we expected and the gite is lovely. Go for the hammam too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be consider not taking a sleeping bag, I never needed it, there are nice beds even in the desert and blankets are available. I would take a travel pillow as many pillows were very fat and hard! Definitely take a torch and either take or buy snacks as it can be a long time between meals. Take a swimming costume, I didn't and I regretted it, all the hotels have a pool and it's very hot! And book your own flights not with royal air maroc! Every flight was delayed and our flight home was cancelled and I have never received worse customer service than from that airline.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Helen white

    Marrakech and the Sahara (AMS)

    The most amazing and varied holiday! From the Desert, the camel trip, the High Atlas Mountains, the history, the scenery, the people, the colours, the culture...so much to absorb

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on the sand dunes in the Sahara watching the sunset. No artists palette will ever be able to paint the colours, or the scenery. Nothing can replace the memories of the complete tranquil peace

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelled late March-didn't need a sleeping bag at all-the beds in the 'tents' had blankets. I didn't change any currency before arriving, and found it easy to swap into Dirham on the first day Don't forget swim wear-at least 3 hotels had pools

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing experience. Go with the flow, and take the opportunity to absorb everything. The group I was in were all truly amazing, and the laughs, and camaraderie will live on long after
Call us on 0208 772 3936