Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Cat Conley

    Great trip

    Great trip but a lot of time traveling. Which if you can sleep on buses is great as gives you a chance to catch up. It really is a on the go all times trip. But the locations and different cities is worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the kayaking especially in the rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Lam was great. Good sense of humour, and the patience of a saint.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think this trip is accessible to all. I would recommend taking an umbrella. Buying a waterproof case/pouch for phone for the kayaking. Pack of cards. Small hold-all for all the home stays. Most of us just had backpack which we needed to use for walking so ended up with stuff in platic bags.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well worth doing. I got to see all of Vietnam in a short time.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Deb Norman-pawley

    Wow!

    This trip is non stop.. you see and do so much with a fun, knowledgeable guide. There is nothing we were not happy with...brilliant experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure I could chose one but probably the war tunnels ..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Such fun from start to finish and worked tirelessly to ensure everything was good..so knowledgeable and passionate too...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do It! .. ideal for single travellers too

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    2nd exodus trip and both have been amazing ..
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Deb Norman-pawley

    Wow!

    This trip is non stop.. you see and do so much with a fun, knowledgeable guide. There is nothing we were not happy with...brilliant experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure I could chose one but probably the war tunnels ..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Such fun from start to finish and worked tirelessly to ensure everything was good..so knowledgeable and passionate too...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do It! .. ideal for single travellers too

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    2nd exodus trip and both have been amazing ..
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Liz Crofts

    Breathtaking Vietnam

    A fabulous experience, not least because Vietnam is such a varied and beautiful country with vibrant, hectic cities, enchanting villages and wonderfully welcoming people. This trip gives you the chance to experience all aspects of life in Vietnam and the excellent service you receive from the tour leader means that you can relax and fully appreciate everything on offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    LOTS of this trip was inspirational. All the food we ate was phenomenal - if you like cooking I would highly recommend the cooking class in Hoi An which was great fun and educational. Riding through the backwaters and villages of Central Vietnam and the Mekong Delta was wonderful - the best way to see 'real' life for the majority of Vietnamese people. If you get chance to do the additional cycling day then take it! Kayaking at Halong Bay was great fun and the best way to see the limestone cliffs. The people of Vietnam are truly inspirational having been through so much conflict and to be so open and welcoming to tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was absolutely fabulous. He was engaging and knowledgeable, very proud of his country and wanting us to love it as much as he does. He really understood our group and our sense of humour making the (sometimes long) bus journeys more fun! He encourages us to make the most of our time ("you can sleep on the plane!"). Every recommendation he made for experiences, restaurants, laundry, shopping etc turned out to be excellent. We cannot thank him enough and he was a great ambassador for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As our guide advised us... make the most of every second. Yes, it is a full on trip and you will sometimes feel tired. But the travelling was part of the experience for me and I learned a lot just by looking out of the bus window! Mosquito nets are provided everywhere. I only used my cotton sleeping bag liner on the train because it was a bit cold, otherwise it was not needed. Neck pillows did come in handy because of the amount of travelling. The bikes are reasonably good mountain bikes. I did use padded cycling shorts but my husband didn't to no real ill-effect. Don't take a lot of clothes... laundry is available very cheaply at several points on the trip. Almost everywhere we stayed provided soap / shampoo for washing you don't need loads of toiletries (if you are not fussy about what you use). Just take some for the first homestay in My Chau and on the train. They are provided on the boat and in the second homestay.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want to experience Vietnam, both touristy and non-touristy parts, and want to be a bit active whilst you are there, this is the trip for you. Make the most of every second!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Kevin & Pauline Patterson

    Trails of Vietnam

    A full on and intensive tour of the many facets of Vietnam, giving a flavour of this extraordinary country. Be prepared for long days, but you will be richly rewarded often seeing parts of Vietnam that other tourists may not see. As always the trip notes are very accurate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many different and wonderful experiences in this fascinating country.What will stay with us, were the inspirational and continually cheerful people, the delicious food and the manic driving. Just crossing the road is challenging and as for the cycling .....we loved it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were SO lucky to have Tham Tu as our leader. What a remarkable young lady she is. So knowledgeable and passionate about her country. She always had a smile on her face, was brilliantly organised and nothing was too much trouble. She always went the extra mile to make the Trails of Vietnam a special experience. How could we forget her making cocktails for us on the train!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Cycle shorts and / or a gel seat, but there is no need to take a cycle helmet, as those supplied were of good quality. Don't pack too much as there are plenty of opportunities to have laundry done very cheaply and you need the extra space for souvenirs and new clothes of course!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A brilliant trip with a great group of people and an exceptional guide.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Therese Shannon

    Trails of Vietnam

    I really enjoyed the hilltribe trek. The food at the home stay was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    our group leader was great. well informed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This tour was very busy with many long bus rides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you bring a padded bike seat!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Julie Beauley

    Trails of Vietnam

    Once again Exodus did not fail to deliver, the was an amazing holiday covering a vast area of the country. The activities were great and very well organised. Our guide, Tham, was amazing, very knowledgeable, attentive and social. She looked after out every need. The food was great and the local people were very welcoming and happy to help.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the local people were the main inspiration. They have turned their country around, stopped living in the past and are building a great place for people to visit and enjoy. The families at the home stays could not do enough for us and welcomed us with open arms in to their homes and were pleased to be able to show us how they lived and worked.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tham was amazing. She is one of very few female guides in her country and has had to work really hard to hold this position. She has done this with grace and a great deal of intellegence. She dealt with everything with ease and professionalism. She was also great fun and made sure we were all happy at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a GoPro or something of that nature as you will not be able to describe the traffic in the cities or the beauty of Kayaking down the river. Photos just don't cut it. I have never seen so many motorbikes carrying so many different things as well as so many people. It is a sight to behold. Make sure you take padded cycling shorts and a gel seat if you have one. The bikes are good and there is no need to take your own helmet as the ones provided are good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a fantastic holiday, full on but well worth it. Don't think twice just book it, you'll enjoy every minute.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Christine Roe

    Trails of Vietnam

    This was a wonderful trip - fully of varied activities - cycling, trekking, kayaking and sight seeing . Vietnam is a fascinating country, with so much variety between north and south and lots of interesting history. It is is the right time to go now, before the tourist industry really gets going, especially on the coast near Danang . The people are lovely - so friendly and welcoming - the food is great - very fresh and varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hoi An was the loveliest town with its mixture of old France architecture, lots of street traders, great food, river estuary and good beaches. Get a silk dress or suit made overnight. Cycling in the Mekong Delta was a great experience, but HOT. The home stay on an island in the Mekong river was our most peaceful place to stay. Walking by rice fields in the north was great with the hills and mountains in the background. Halong Bay in the north was also beautiful - there are a lot of other boats , but you don't feel it is too touristy yet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing - Kien was the best leader I have ever had on Exodus. Full of interesting information about Vietnam , a great organiser, caring towards his group members and a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the traffic in Hanoi and Saigon - it is manic - it does not stop - but don't panic - walk steadily in a straight line and they will weave round you - they are not agressive drivers, but there are a lot of motor bikes.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Jane Emery

    We really enjoyed ourselves

    This is a very busy tour with lots of variety. Although a lot of time was spent travelling (as you'd expect from a tour covering 1500 miles in 14 days) a great many different things were packed into the holiday (eg 1000 years of history, food, shopping, cycling, kayaking, walking, boating, caves, puppet show.) Vietnam was more prosperous and sophisticated than I had imagined, with free wi-fi in every accommodation and restaurants. Everything was very clean and well organised. Things ran on time, including the 12 hour overnight train departed on time and arrived early. The people were friendly and smiling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the Vietnames people very inspirational. It is only 40 years since there was almost total devastation in the war. People were very positive and enthusiastic and proud of Vietnam's achievements and that their economy is improving. We saw a lady making fashionable shoes on one the markets and she proudly told us that Vietnam used to import its shoes from China, but now they manufacture their own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Trinh was excellent. One of the best leaders we've had. Very well organised and always went the extra mile to help and answer questions. He was also good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only thing I would mention that has not been covered by other reviewers or in the trip notes/advice is that it would have been a good idea to have a neck flap for the cycling. On one of our cycling days (Mekong) it was a sunny 35 degrees.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Jayne Tomlins

    Trails of Vietnam

    A lovely group, an efficient guide and a varied itinerary, we got to see a lot of Vietnam, a beautiful and exciting country. It was definitely a holiday that left me with some brilliant memories. The only thing which let us down was the rain in Hue and Danang with its consequent inactivity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were loads of moments but in particular I loved the cycling round the Mekong Delta, lovely food, walking round vibrant Hanoi in the evening and the trekking in the Truong Son mountains. Will always remember singing our hearts out on the overnight train trip from Hanoi to Hue! Also the New Years Eve party in Hue was perfect, with games, karaoke and dancing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ticked all the boxes! Bac was lovely and bent over backwards to get the most out of our stay in Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! It's not too strenuous activity-wise, most of us could have happily done more. I took a more comfortable saddle which I was glad about. In Hoi'An you can get clothes tailor-made for you, so if you have a favourite item of clothing, take it along so they can copy it. Also, laundry can be done at the various hotels so there's no need to take 2 weeks' worth of stuff. Wished I had stayed on a little really, which some members of the group did, as there are some beach resorts close by which are cheap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wasn't so keen on the hill-tribe homestay as it seemed a bit of a gimmick The village was a tourist trap,despite beautiful countryside, so why endure below standard bathrooms? Also a lot of time is spend on the coach and there's a lot of packing, unpacking but on the whole I think it's worth it as we saw such a lot and Bac organized lots of optionals, the cookery course in Hoi'An was a good idea to keep out of the rain.
Call us on 020 8772 3936