Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Review Centre
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Finnish wilderness week 2024

Great trip – exceeded my expectation

Most Inspirational Moment

Being in such a remote area with so much snow! Building and sleeping in a quizzed

Thoughts on Group Leader

Great

Advice for Potential Travellers

go for it

Winter wonderland

Fantastic week from start to finish. Great food and comfortable accommodation, equipment great also.

Most Inspirational Moment

Nothern lights

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our guide was a kind and sweet man, he was clearly passionate about nature and was more than happy to share his knowledge about our surroundings

Advice for Potential Travellers

Spend time getting to know the others in the group.

Suggestions

Only one negative comment- on the last day 13 people from the group went to Riisitunturi, by bus, we hiked with our guide and cooked a sausage on the fire. This cost 200€ per person. I think the cost of the outing was excessive based on what we did.

Wonderful week of variety in a stunning setting

This was a lovely week of many different activities in beautiful surroundings staying in a comfortable environment.

Most Inspirational Moment

Husky dog sledding

Thoughts on Group Leader

Timo was excellent. He really knew the wilderness environment and was in touch with it. A calm soul who really enhanced the whole experience and was very helpful.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you want an introduction to many winter activities, this is the holiday for you. The fact that all specialist clothing and equipment is provided is a real bonus. Basecamp Oulanka is very comfortable and they feed you extremely well, you certainly won't go hungry.

Suggestions

The sauna and hot tub are a welcome treat at the end of activities. All in all a fabulous week which I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

My first winter activity trip

I normally go somewhere warm in February, but thought I would try something different this year. Reading the reviews convinced me to try this trip, and it was a very good decision.

Most Inspirational Moment

Walking in snowshoes on a forest trail and stopping to light a fire to toast marshmallows. Dog sledding from the husky farm. Driving a snowmobile for the first time.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Both Tuomas and Elina were both very friendly and good teachers of the outdoor skills. Tuomas in particular was a great advocate of saunas.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Invest in some pairs of good merino blend socks and a hat. Everything else is provided, but your own base layer is a good idea to ensure a good fit. Day time temperatures during our week in February varied from -20C to +1C, so a selection of layers was key. The sunshine and lack of wind meant -20C was not a problem. The rooms have underfloor heating, so we were advised to lay everything out at night to dry and air clothes.

Suggestions

Overall a trip that lived up to high expectations.

Variety, fun and a great group

A brilliant “taster” holiday with so many different activities on offer and all in beautiful deep snow. Every day offered a new experience, either as part of the programme or as an option: snow-shoeing, cross-country skiing, husky-sledding, visiting a reindeer farm, building a quinzee, downhill skiing and snowmobiling.
During the afternoon downtime there was the option to do more snow-shoeing, cross- country skiing, tobogganing outside or just read with a cup of tea or glass of wine or relax in the hot tub and sauna.
The food was delicious and plentiful. Soft drinks were always available as part of the package and wine, beer and other drinks were available to buy along with chocolate and snacks. You will notice how frequently berries appear: in desserts, soft drinks, liqueurs and chocolate bars in shops.

Most Inspirational Moment

Every day was fun and novel but the husky-sledding was very special. The dogs we saw at their farm were so well cared for with plenty of inside and outside space. They were so gentle too, loving a stroke and a fuss after their 10km run. Their excitement was off the scale once they were harnessed and ready to run; they LOVE it! The reindeer visit was lovely too: a short 300m plod as opposed to a 10km sprint but we were able to feed the year-old animals and stroke them if we were quick!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Elina was our main group leader and she was fabulous! Her English is excellent and she has a wicked sense of humour. She inspired confidence with the new outdoor activities we tried and is an expert shoveller for quinzee building. We learnt so much about northern Finnish culture and history from her in her "guide hour" and she was always available to help with anything. Tuomas was the other guide whose love of nature and the wilderness were inspiring. His English is also superb and we loved looking at tracks in the snow to guess which animal had left them or learning about the precious lichen hanging from branches among other things.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Much has been mentioned in previous reviews which are vey helpful. The group of 18 travellers on this tour was such a special bunch of people. We all got on so well and laughed a lot. Although most people were aged over 50, there were also people in their 30s and 40s who didn't seem to mind being with us more "mature" folk! There's decent wifi in the dining room and bedrooms and a wood-burning stove in the dining room to keep you cosy at all times. It turns out that 2 sets of fleece base layers are provided - along wot all outer wear - and it was recommended that we wear those next to our skin. I preferred to wear my own base layers next to my skin with a fleece layer on top. Woollen socks are the best for your feet and you can wear them for more than one day. The weather was mild for our week: hovering around 0 degrees so we were not cold at all but the huskies and reindeer were boiling! We didn't get to see the Northern Lights as it was cloudy every day so it's probably best not to set your heart on seeing them. I have back problems but was able to do all of the activities. I didn't go snowmobiling but people said it was very bumpy. Don't forget to take your driving licence if you want to do that activity.

Amazing!

Absolutely amazing week, stunning scenery, great group and fantastic guide!

Most Inspirational Moment

So many fantastic moments! I think the day that stands out most was having fun making and sleeping in a quinzee, as it's such a once in a lifetime experience.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Elina was absolutely amazing, really friendly, helpful and always checking that everyone was warm and happy. She also ran a guide hour on several days where she talked about Finnish seasons, culture and history, which were really interesting.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The kit provided was brilliant and we had easy access to more kit if needed so beyond a thermal base layer you genuinely don't need to bring many clothes at all.

Basecamp Oulanka

Brilliant week in the snow of Finland learning new skills and having fun.

Most Inspirational Moment

All the activities were awesome

Thoughts on Group Leader

All the staff at Basecamp Oulanka were welcoming and helpful. We had 2 instructors / leaders who were brilliant.

Advice for Potential Travellers

As other reviews, you do only need your base layers as Basecamp provide everything else. The snowmobiling was extra cost, but well worth it!

Suggestions

The trips on Saturday cost extra - 120 euros each to go to the National Park! The scenery at the park was breath-taking and is where the promotional photo's etc are of.

Like a Fairytale!

This whole week felt like being in a fairytale! The scenery was absolutely breathtaking – the snowshoe hikes and cross-country skiing routes took us through the forests of Oulanka National Park with beautiful snow-covered trees, picturesque spots along the Oulanka river/rapids like a frozen waterfall, and vast frozen lakes covered in snow! We were lucky to be there during a week with very clear skies which meant lots of pink, purple and orange colours which made it feel extra magical. Because of the clear skies, we were also able to see the Northern lights on most evenings! All the activities, such as husky sledding and snowmobiling were extremely fun and took us through even more beautiful places.

We were there during the coldest week of the season (most days were between -30 and -35 degrees C) but we did not feel the cold at all (and I am someone who always suffers the cold back in the UK) because the clothes provided by Basecamp were extremely warm! I even felt too hot at some points! The accommodation was lovely, cozy and warm – there was underfloor heating which warmed up the whole room and made drying clothes very easy. There is a sauna and hot tub available for the whole group to use each afternoon/early evening which was a perfect way to wind down every evening after a day full of activities. The food was also delicious!!!! We ate very well during the whole trip and we could eat as much as we wanted which was great! All of the staff at basecamp were very friendly and helpful!

Most Inspirational Moment

It is hard to choose just one as they were all inspirational for different reasons! Husky sledding took us through the most beautiful scenery and was a real pinch-me moment, the snowshoeing/skiing was amazing as it took us through all the snow-covered trees and very beautiful viewpoints overlooking the Oulanka river, and the snowmobiling was so fun!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our very friendly guide Elina was amazing - she had a real passion for the wilderness and nature which was very inspiring. She was very knowledgeable about the area and was very keen to share her knowledge with us. We learned a lot from her and enjoyed spending time with her. She was always smiling and you could see how much she enjoyed taking us through the wilderness and teaching us!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Bring moisturiser!!! The climate is extremely dry and you need very strong moisturisers to keep your skin hydrated to prevent it from cracking! I suggest buying Finnish creams/lotions at Helsinki airport (there is a shop there that sells creams) as they are much better as they are designed for this climate. The ones I brought from the UK were just not good enough to cope with how dry the climate was. You also don't need to bring many clothes at all apart from a tight-fitting base layer and maybe 1 or 2 jumpers for the evening. You are able to exchange the basecamp clothes at any time if they get too wet/dirty or if you want to change the size so you don't need to worry about that. They also have thicker layers for if the weather gets extremely cold like it did on our trip so you don't need to worry about bringing thick jackets and trousers.

Suggestions

Book it!!! It will be one of the best, if not the best, holiday of your life!!!

What an amazing week!

I recently embarked on the Finnish Wilderness Week with Exodus, and it was an experience of a lifetime! Basecamp Oulanka is a charming retreat surrounded by forests and Juuma Lake. The week was filled with many winter activities, including snowshoeing in the snow-covered forests, cross-country skiing by the lake, and an unforgettable dogsledding adventure, despite being new to winter sports the guides were incredibly helpful and patient with us. The accommodation at Basecamp Oulanka was superb, offering warm rooms, and the provision of all necessary Arctic equipment made the adventure comfortable and enjoyable.

Wilderness week

Excellent trip definitely recommend it

Most Inspirational Moment

Dog sledding

Thoughts on Group Leader

Very good leadership

Advice for Potential Travellers

All outdoor clothing provided and kept you warm