Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Fabulous family fun

We are traveling as a family of four with our two girls, 13 and 11 years old for four months. This tour was a highlight of our trip so far. We absolutely loved the animals and the jungle as well as being exposed to the culture and people of Sabah. Our tour guide Nostalia was a fountain of knowledge and took such amazing care of us. The people of Sabah are friendly and welcoming and with our guide as a translator we learned so much more than we otherwise would have.

Most Inspirational Moment

Staying on the Kinabatang river at the jungle lodge was such a fantastic part of the trip. We absolutely loved seeing all kinds of monkeys, proboscis, silver leaf, long and pig tailed macaques as well as crocodiles and the absolute highlight was seeing the Pygmy elephants. The jungles of Borneo are spectacular and our guide was fantastic at spotting things in the jungle and the river while our guide was able to name and tell us details about the animals, insects, birds and plants.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Nostalia really made the trip for us. Her knowledge and caring nature as well as always letting us know what the plan was and what to expect really helped to make us feel comfortable. The organization was incredible and we were very impressed how smoothly things ran through the entire trip. We felt so much more connected to the people and the culture with her as our guide. We hope that she will come to visit us in Canada so we can show her around.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Definitely come to Borneo! It was so much more than I expected and I have a lifetime worth of memories that I will treasure.

Amazing Family Holiday with Expert Guiding

We had such a great holiday which was made even better by having our guide Nostalia show us the way from start to finish. We were fortunate to see some very rare and unusual wildlife including Pygmy Elephants. With our guide’s help we were able to see some things that we would likely have missed otherwise: baby crocodiles, hornbills etc.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing a herd of Wild Pygmy Elephants was a definite highlight. But, there were many amazing parts of the trip. Too many to count.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader, Nostalia, was brilliant. She was knowledgeable about everything and her enthusiasm for conservation shone through. Don’t underestimate the value of having a good guide on a holiday like this!

Advice for Potential Travellers

The adventure lodge may not have hire boots to fit you if like me you have big feet. Folks in Malaysia tend to be smaller on average so size 12+ boots are a rare breed! Bring shoes that you can hose down. Remember that the accommodation is not supposed to be luxury. If you keep this in mind you won’t be disappointed as all accommodation exceeded our expectations.

Suggestions

A wonderful holiday that we thoroughly enjoyed and would (and have already) recommended to others.

Amazing family wildlife adventure

Memorable trip across Sabah taking in the best the island has to offer – all delivered by a brilliant & knowledgable guide.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing groups of rare Pygmy elephants in the wild. Seeing orangutans families. Staying with a Bornean family in their home, exploring the foothills of Kinubalu.

Thoughts on Group Leader

10/10. Organised, knowledgeable, friendly and passionate. Nostalia is an exceptional group leader.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Book it!

Suggestions

Perfect itinerary ending with some chilled beach time - such a fascinating journey.

Amazing family wildlife adventure

Memorable trip across Sabah taking in the best the island has to offer – all delivered by a brilliant & knowledgable guide.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing groups of rare Pygmy elephants in the wild. Seeing orangutans families. Staying with a Bornean family in their home, exploring the foothills of Kinubalu.

Thoughts on Group Leader

10/10. Organised, knowledgeable, friendly and passionate. Nostalia is an exceptional group leader.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Book it!

Suggestions

Perfect itinerary ending with some chilled beach time - such a fascinating journey.

Amazing family wildlife adventure

Memorable trip across Sabah taking in the best the island has to offer – all delivered by a brilliant & knowledgable guide.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing groups of rare Pygmy elephants in the wild. Seeing orangutans families. Staying with a Bornean family in their home, exploring the foothills of Kinubalu.

Thoughts on Group Leader

10/10. Organised, knowledgeable, friendly and passionate. Nostalia is an exceptional group leader.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Book it!

Suggestions

Perfect itinerary ending with some chilled beach time - such a fascinating journey.

Amazing adventure!

We have just returned from this trip and it was amazing! We travelled as a family of 3 (son aged 16) and there was one other family of five in our group (with three children aged 10-14). We all got on so well, including with our fabulous tour guide, Beverly! Borneo is a beautiful island! The stunning rainforest, Mount Kinabalu, the hornbills, proboscis monkeys, monitor lizards, turquoise waters, incredible sunsets, exotic flowers, sun bears… I could go on and on!

Most Inspirational Moment

You will see some incredible sights - stunning scenery (especially at Sabah Tea), insights into both city and rural life (the homestay was fantastic!), wildlife close-up (we saw an orang utan breastfeeding her baby) and get to experience a variety of accommodations (the longhouse is unlike anything else!). Every single person we met, from drivers, to hotel staff, to other guests were incredibly happy and friendly and this added to the wonderful feel to our holiday. It is impossible to choose just one moment!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader, Beverly was simply wonderful! She had excellent subject knowledge, kept the group at the right place at the right time and left us without a worry so that we could just enjoy the holiday! She went above and beyond throughout, could spot the smallest bird from a great distance, taught us about environmental issues, tried to teach us some Malay and was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the Death Marches and the local customs. Everywhere we went, she knew someone and was welcomed with open arms! She is an absolute gem!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Shorts and t-shirts are the staple wear. You only really need long trousers for the night walk and if you want to protect your legs from evening bugs. Are there lots of bugs? There are some, but armed with the recommended Skin So Soft and Deet bug spray we only had a few minor bites between us. Is there wifi? Pretty much everywhere and mostly free! It costs 10RM (about £2) at the river lodge. I am vegetarian and whilst I always managed to find something to eat, the choice can be limited in places - especially at the jungle lodge, but you won't starve! Water shoes are good for swimming in the waterfall at Poring Springs as you have to walk across rocks to get in and it is rocky underfoot - you can also use these on the beach on Manukan Island. No need to worry about buying leech socks - you can rent them at the river lodge for just 5RM. Although it says a head torch in the trip notes, take a handheld one as the only time you really need it is for the night walk and you will be told not to wear it on your head as it can be bad for the sleeping birds (yes, birds just sat there on branches looking incredible!). If you are on the group flight, ask to pay to book seats together. We did not know about this and were seated separately. Once you have your booking reference, you can then pay a small amount to book your seats on all of the other flights if you want to sit together. The 15kg weight limit for luggage is very important! You will also be carrying your own bags a lot, so travel light! Of the optional trips, we went to the Sun Bear Conservation Centre, the War Memorial and the Rainforest Discovery Centre. All were excellent and I would recommend saying "yes" to them all!

Suggestions

If you are considering this trip, just go for it! It is a fantastic adventure and for children, it will open their eyes to a completely different world!

Life Changing Experience

Just back and can’t quite believe what we saw and experienced on this trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

We were lucky enough to see a wild pigmy elephant, crossing the river right in front of our boat. Lucky for us, we were alone on the river. Sunrise at the Wildlife Discovery Centre in Sepilok had us up close with a somewhat angry wild orang-utan, which was definitely an experience! At the Sun Bear Sanctuary we met Poppa Bear (Wong) who, if you've seen the ITV Borneo show with Judi Dench, you will know instantly. He, like every other Bornean, was extremely friendly, and happy to chat at length about about the gorgeous Sun Bears. Visiting Labuk Bay and the Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary was a special place, my favourite being the Silver Leaf Monkeys and one baby. And snorkelling off of Manukan Island was top notch, and accommodation there was lush! Could have used a few more days. Be sure to order a kopi tarik at the take away cafe toward the pool. They open at 7.30 am.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Manuel, our tour leader, was amazing. We were such a lucky group and could have not asked for a better leader to gel our Exodus Team! He was knowledgable, compassionate, and a pleasure to be around. I'm looking forward to another Manuel Exodus tour in the future, as he really bonded with every member of our tour and we were all sad to say our goodbyes.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Luggage - You have to carry your own nearly everywhere, so pack as light as possible, in a soft pack. Leech socks - I was very worried about finding these here before we left, but we found some in the Centre Pointe Mall on the ground level. They were also available to rent at the Bilit Adventure Lodge along with wellington boots! Sleep - Our entire group had problems sleeping on various parts of our tour. No way to combat it, but be ready. Bug spray - Take it with you an top up regularly, especially in the rainforest areas. Plasters - Take these too as you may have blisters. Roti cannai - Try this in the Centre Point basement Islamic Center restaurant. It doesn't look like much, but we were there every day were were in KK. You'll see red plastic chairs and know you're in the right place. 1x roti cannai costs 1.50RM, so like 30p, and it's the best we found on the whole tour. Noodles and rice dishes were great too. Laundry - Forget about it. Know by the end you're going to stink. So will all your travel companions. Use laundry services where they're available; we found the Sabah Tea Longhouse laundry to be a reprieve from the stink! The last hotels on the trip will happily take any clothes you don't want to take home with you and distribute to those in need. A good idea (stolen from travel mates) is to buy clothes at the charity shop and leave them with you. Best thing to wear would be lightweight long sleeved shirts! If you put any effort into this tour, you'll be handsomely rewarded - early morning treks provided us with a personal encounter with a pigmy elephant as well as an orang-utan. It was special!

Suggestions

Don't hesitate. I'm experiencing massive post-holiday blues as this holiday was particularly life changing for me. Amazing. Enjoy.

Borneo Wildlife

This was an absolutely fabulous holiday. It had been very well thought out to give us as much exposure as possible to as many aspects as possible of the wildlife of Borneo. The accommodation was good and we saw an amazing variety of animals, birds, plants and insects. The local guides were excellent at spotting things of interest and Sheila, our leader, was one of the best I have ever had, all done with a lovely sense of humour. I’d thoroughly recommend it.

Most Inspirational Moment

Probably seeing the giant flying squirrels as I wasn't expecting them. The orang-utans in the sanctuary and in the wild were just lovely.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent! A grand sense of humour, always patient, interested in us all personally, very knowledgable and very good at spotting the wildlife

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you are interested in wildlife, go for it

FIB: Borneo Wildlife Adventure

A fantastic trip featuring an incredible amount of wildlife, some stunning scenery, and many once-in-a-lifetime experiences!!

Most Inspirational Moment

For me I think it was seeing Pygmy Elephants crossing the Kinabatangan river. We had overheard that there were elephants in the area, but I don't think any of us truly believed that we would see a herd of at least fifty swimming across the river right in front of us!! We also loved seeing the flying squirrel in Sepilok, and we managed to catch two flying lizards at the Sun Bear sanctuary! I also loved the truly magical sunsets encountered on this trip - I think the Sabah Tea Gardens Longhouse was a highlight, with the mighty Mount Kinabalu in the distance.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Manuel was absolutely brilliant. His knowledge of the wildlife and of Borneo is encyclopedic, and he is truly passionate about his country and conserving the natural resources. We all learnt so much and I think Manuel's enthusiasm was shared by each and every member of the group. I especially enjoyed the various food recommendations (Asam fish - delicious!!)

Advice for Potential Travellers

It is super hot! Bring quick dry clothing (especially t-shirts) as anything too thick or heavy will struggle to dry. Bring an individual water bottle so you can refill from the main bottle daily, rather than buying smaller bottles. Leech socks can be hired at Kinabatangan along with wellington boots, which were really necessary because of the mud! Take plenty of insect repellent (not that it stops the mozzies). A camera with a good zoom and/or binoculars is a really good thing to take - especially for your time at Kinabatangan.

Suggestions

We thought that the 2 nights spend on Manukan Island at the end of the trip were absolutely perfect - we fell in love with our hillside villa (so luxurious!) and it was a real struggle to leave the island!

Borneo Family Adventure

This is a great trip if you want to experience Sabah, Borneo. It is well organised and you see a lot, the orangutans are amazing. It is a good mixture of wildlife and culture and my son thoroughly enjoyed the trip at age 8. The people in Borneo are really friendly and it feels a safe place.

Most Inspirational Moment

The orangutans

Thoughts on Group Leader

The tour leader Roxanne was great with the children teaching them the language and imparting her knowledge at the right level for them, She is fun so the kids really take to her. She does the majority of the family trips .

Advice for Potential Travellers

My son had a great time on this trip at age 8 , personally I think the trip would be hard for a lot of 5 year olds as there are as few early morning starts and the trip is busy. However, this would depend on the individual child. My son is a seasoned traveller and would have managed it well at age 5. My son and I travel a lot independently but this trip was good for him as he was able to make friends with the other children on the trip. The kids on the trip got on well and it was great for him to travel with children from other countries. Try and give yourself a couple of days before or after the trip so you can take the short boat trip across to one or two of the islands off Kota Kinabalu.

Suggestions

I would not hesitate in recommending this trip to anyone it is great. My son and I also went to the Kuching, Sarawak on our own after the trip and then hired a Klotok in Tanjung Puting National Park, Indonesia Borneo after. I would also recommend doing both of these if you have the time. Internal flights in the region are cheap find them on skyscanner. Get yourself on this Exodus trip you will have a super time.