Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

MMI: Cycle Morocco’s Great South

I was quite nervous about the trip as travelling on my own for the first time & unsure about my level of cycling fitness. I’m a fit 51 year old but more of an ‘about town’ cyclist with a few extra laps of Richmond Park & its hills put in the the month before departure. But with a determined attitude I managed all of the challenging ascents.

Most Inspirational Moment

The 20k descents were thrilling & made the uphill worthwhile. Plus getting to see a properly off the beaten track side of Morocco. Amazing views every day. Wonderful out of the way locations & a great friendly bunch of people from all over the world in our group.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Fayssal our guide brilliant: had represented Morocco in off ride cycling so technically expert & very safety conscious, my cycling technique has improved no end. He & the drivers excellent bike mechanics too - swift tyre changes in case of punctures. Nothing too much trouble for them all & very friendly & insightful re local culture, terrain, history etc. They worked incredibly hard throughout the trip.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The cycling is a challenge, especially the long ascents - be fitness prepared. But the sense of achievement from completing immense. There is always the minibus option if it gets too much. There were actually more e-cyclists on our trip - a lovely bunch of Canadian 60+ year olds - but it didn’t impact on the 4 of us cycling under our own steam. Everyone kept an eye out for each other.

Suggestions

Some of the accommodation up in the high Atlas basic but if you want to get to remote spots there are no alternatives. Alcohol only available in some locations - sometimes missed a cold beer at the end of a long hot ride!

A great cycling trip

An amazing trip cycling, taking in breathtaking and varied scenery.

Most Inspirational Moment

There were so many but cycling up the Tizi n’Test pass, reaching the snow line and enjoying a fantastic lunch, taking in the stunning scenery was a highlight.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Abderrahim and Hassan, were excellent leaders. Nothing was too much trouble and they were friendly and knowledgable and always with a smile. Also mustn’t forget our drivers who supported the group throughout the trip and again they were always there to help, whether it be a bike repair, water top ups, snacks or preparing amazing lunches.

Advice for Potential Travellers

We travelled in early March and were lucky with the weather (sunny all week), but it was cool up in the mountains, so earlier in the season be prepared and bring layers. Also, we found having a bike multitool useful for small adjustments to the bikes as they are re-assembled most days at start / end points during the trip. This is a fantastic but hilly cycling trip with ascents between 4-7% with some smaller sections between 8-10% so some cycling fitness /experience would help enjoyment of the trip. Those on the trip with e-bikes certainly appreciated the extra assistance and they were good solid bikes.

Cycling

Good trip

Thoughts on Group Leader

Knowledgeable and very helpful

Great trip

Really enjoyed cycling in Morocco – especially areas off the beaten track. Fantastic scenery, great guides and really friendly people

Most Inspirational Moment

Hard to choose - but probably the scenery around Tafraoute

Thoughts on Group Leader

Abderrahim and Hassan Idmansour were great - really helpful, full of interesting information, always making sure we were well fed, watered and enjoying the whole experience (Our salad lunches were awesome)

Advice for Potential Travellers

It was getting hot already (March) so be aware the expected temp when you travel

Morocco's Great South October 2022

Amazing trip. We covered so many varied areas and types of terrain, from rocky desert to lush valleys. The six days of cycling were packed with fantastic views, challenging cycling, great company and accommodation that ranged from a Berber guesthouse to former palaces. Our guides and support staff were wonderful. We learned a lot about Moroccan culture, history and geography. The snacks and lunches were great with a focus on the local produce (nuts, fruit – dried and fresh – breads – vegetables). Who knew Morocco produced so much food. Be ready to experience the culture and the country in this trip and be well looked after by the supporting staff..

Most Inspirational Moment

The descents were thrilling and sunset from our hotel in Imouzzer, in the lush Paradise Vally was beautiful. The market in Essouaria and the dinner that night with Berber musicians. Too many great moments to cover.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Abdu was wonderful. Could not have asked for a better leader. Charming, so well educated, informative, always available and extremely fit. Nothing seemed like an effort for him. Hassan his assistant was always supportive, sweeping up those of us at the rear of the group. Great sense of humour. Mustapha - wonderful driver - especially on the narrow, winding roads. We had some amusing Google translate conversations with him. Khalid along with Mustapha prepared wonderful snacks and lunches for us. We were lucky to have such a great support crew.

Advice for Potential Travellers

As a triathlete who has done her fair shore of Gran Fondos, I thought I would have no problem with the cycling. However six consecutive days on hybrid bikes over terrain that had demanding climbs - very few flats and if it was flat -there was a headwind!!! LOL. Be prepared.

Suggestions

I would highly recommend this trip to others. We were the Exodus "virgins" on this trip. Out of the 12 folk on the trip, I think all the others had been on Exodus trips before. A testament to your organization

A fantastic cycle trip..

I was looking for a trip where the focus was definitely on the cycling and this 350km across the spectacular Moroccan terrain didn’t disappoint. There was plenty of uphill and plenty of downhill so it was always interesting. There were some rough patches of road where you needed to keep your wits about you but the vast majority of the time they were very quiet with good surfaces and one felt you were on a real adventure passing through remote villages off the beaten track. The trip notes probably undersell the nature of the cycling as there are two definite climbing days and the other days are pretty lumpy however you can take it as easy or as hard as you like. Day 6 of only 45kms has a 24km 1200m climb, and after 4 days of 70kms across undulating terrain it proved quite the challenge in temperatures well above 30 degrees. There was plenty of opportunity to rest and fuel up and there was always the option to jump in the minibus. Excellent lunches of salad, flat breads and accompaniments were prepared by the guides and a good selection of snacks and drinks were available at stops both morning and afternoon. We also had brand new or nearly new bikes. The accommodation was good especially in the smaller towns. Some really interesting places to stay with real charm, perhaps the hotel in Agadir the least satisfying. After spending the previous four days in small towns and villages, this conventional hotel despite being near the beach was a bit of a culture shock but, it did emphasise the feeling we were seeing lots of different sides of Morocco. It was only 8 days but I felt I was away for a lot longer and it was really immersive.

Thoughts on Group Leader

I can’t speak highly enough about our head guide Abde and his team. All aspects of the trip were really well managed. They dealt with any issues that arose and were always happy to help. They gave good insight into the country we were passing through and were great company.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The weather was dry and warm but it was chilly out of the sun and there was a cold wind at altitude so a wind stopper type top and extra layer are essential. If in doubt always bring something warmer than you think you need to Morocco. As its quiet dusty and there isn't huge amounts of shelter, if it rained I'd imagine waterproof bootees and a proper rain jacket would be essential.

Great trip with a wholly misleading description and trip notes

This is a challenging trip with 350km of cycling and 4,500m of elevation gain – enough to kill even a Cannondale e-bike! The trip notes are poor and misleading, the itinerary is great but compressed with very little downtime. Most hotels are authentic/interesting if the big city hotels are discounted. Agadir is a hurried and unsatisfactory destination.

As always the local guides are excellent and make up for the poor admin at Exodus; nothing is too much trouble for them.

Most Inspirational Moment

20km downhill cruises!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take the trip notes with a pinch of salt and ask for some accurate calibrations of distance and elevation gain before booking!

Suggestions

Not a good trip for non meat-eaters; the roadside lunches are the best meal of the day!

Be prepared for .....

… all weather types in November! We had expected to be cycling in sunshine but only had one whole and one half day of sun. It was bitterly cold, with driving rain, high winds and even snow; we got to the top of the longest climb on Day 2 in a white-out! Thankfully, we had gone prepared with plenty of layers – make sure you do too. The positives: amazing scenery, fantastic group of people, well led, a real sense of achievement: I’d never cycled more than two days in a row, yet I managed six consecutive days with challenging climbs; dietary requirements (gluten and nut free) well catered for; evening meals tasty and plentiful; comfortable saddle – better than mine at home! The negatives: the accommodation on the second night (the first day of cycling) was atrocious: no heating; a trickle of a shower which was either boiling hot or freezing cold, so I couldn’t shower; concrete beds with no top sheets although plenty of blankets but so heavy and large they couldn’t possibly have been washed between guests which wasn’t at all hygienic; generally the bathrooms in several other hotels were very poor quality, (especially the one on the fifth night of cycling); we were not advised until just about to set off on the first day of cycling about wild dogs roaming freely in the mountain villages which was extremely unnerving – thankfully most didn’t bother with us; sardines and sweetcorn every day for lunch! Would I go again? No, but I am pleased to have completed the trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

The views from up high and realising that I had cycled all that way.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Hisham was very good: he spoke good English, was calm, knowledgeable and told us the history of areas as we drove to and from each hotel.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Make sure you take lots of layers even if you think it will be a warm time of year.

Morocco - Cycling the Great South

good trip

Most Inspirational Moment

good

Thoughts on Group Leader

good leaders: Maroune and Hassan. Able to control time, pace and most important of all the safety conditions. All arrangements are satisfactory.

Advice for Potential Travellers

good trip if you like mountains. But be sure that you have the stamina to climb an elevation of 1000m in a day.

Cycling Morocco's Great South

An excellent tour, well supported and well managed, but spoiled by Exodus’s failure to warn us adequately about the very cold cycling conditions high in the mountains.

Most Inspirational Moment

Cycling on quiet, well surfaced mountain roads in spectacular country

Thoughts on Group Leader

Very good

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be aware that the information that Exodus produces on the climate in Morocco applies to low altitude cities like Marrakech, but not to the high mountain villages and towns where we stay. You need to be prepared for the equivalent of UK winter cycling in February.

Suggestions

We were upset to find that our original tour in March was cancelled and we were forced to switch to February, which was colder. We discovered that the original March tour was going ahead after all.

Review Centre
Reply from Exodus

We would like to thank Tony for his feedback, although we are very sorry that the tour he had planned to join was cancelled. Whilst we can confirm that this departure did not go ahead, we are sorry if he would have preferred to join a later tour. Our trip notes advise that there is the possibility of much colder weather in February, but we nonetheless regret that Tony felt inadequately advised. We were pleased, however that he had an excellent tour and that he found the group leader to be very good.

Tom Harari – Product Manager