Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Interesting, entertaining and sporty way to see Transylvania

Overall a brilliant and interesting trip. We felt like we had seen and learnt so much about the countryside, the culture and the history. Some great cycling, definitely need to be reasonably fit but nothing we couldn’t manage. Fabulous views, varied countryside, we really got an idea of the area. Accommodation definitely basic but clean, showers worked and comfy beds. Excellent food really loved it all. Friendly people who were enthusiastic about their locality and customs. The cultural visits in between the cycling were excellent. Our guides Christina and Radu were brilliant, very knowledgeable and always willing to share their information, always helpful and smiley! Great lunchtime picnics!

Most Inspirational Moment

Cycling on the quieter lanes through the countryside.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Christina and Radu were both brilliant, they were a key part of making the trip exceptional. Christina cycled with us and organised the cultural visits, her knowledge was excellent, she was super patient, always enthusiastic, and the perfect host. Radu drove the van and gave technical support, again very knowledgeable and interesting on the more recent romanian history. Again always sociable and helpful.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you are on a push bike do get fit. Take your own toe clips/cycling pedal straps as the bikes don't have any sort of toe clips. Easier than taking your own pedals which is fine if you can be bothered but for the type of cycling I think pedal straps would be useful. Take your own water bottle.

Suggestions

The pillows in a couple of locations were poor, which was a shame as the mattresses were good, but for some reason pillows are not good. If the are slightly quieter roads that could be incorporated especially in the first two days that would be good. Bikes were OK but not brilliant, although to be fair to Romania Active they did say this was their last year before they are replaced, but they do need upgrading. We did an Exodus trip Seville to Cadiz were the bikes were excellent so it is possible. The food was always excellent.

A great way to explore Romania

This turned out to be yet another great Exodus cycling trip. Cycling is the perfect way to explore the lovely countryside, and see people living a simple country life. There was a nice balance of cycling, culture, and visits during the day. The cycling was not too hard-core and the accommodation generally was simple but clean and comfortable. Some of the nicest places we stayed were local rural guesthouses with a warm welcome. The food was not particularly exciting but perfectly palatable– (bread was generally disappointing and a bit dry). We were lucky enough to have a great group of people who were fun to be with. As usual everything was incredibly well organised with a well-balanced programme of activities, and we felt looked after. Bikes were good and well maintained by the wonderful Radu.

Most Inspirational Moment

No one stand out moment, but lots of nice memories - The wonderful City of Brasov, with its beautiful buildings, large open square and cafe culture (A great place for a short weekend break). Lunchtime picnic in the woods overlooking huge meadow, a horse and cart ride through the countryside to one of the fortified churches.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tudor was very hard working and nothing was too much trouble - good local knowledge. Sometimes a bit irritable with the group when we didn't quite take on board instructions (did talk for quite extended periods of time which meant we sometimes lost the thread a bit!) Radu the support leader was fantastic, excellent English, great company, also hard working and knowledgeable

Advice for Potential Travellers

We had been told than places took Euros as an alternative to local currency but this was not the case. Cards not always accepted in rural areas, we needed many more Lei than we expected

A great week and a super country

This is a super trip if you are up for ‘moderate’ level cycling, want to visit a new country and are interested in seeing a village lifestyle that may well soon disappear. It is full of small but magical moments – overtaking horses and carts, waves from villagers, passing hi-fives with children and visits to the baker. the blacksmith, the mill, and being shown round a fortified church and a ruined abbey by the local priest. The scenery is great – for the first couple of days we would be cycling alongside snow-capped mountains. That then turns into the lush green hills of Transylvania. The first three days have the longest routes and we were glad that we’d done some hill training before the trip but we coped – although we were usually last we weren’t far behind! The routes are well planned and there is less traffic in Transylvania than on our previous cycle trips in western Europe. Some of the dirt roads are being tarmacked and will soon be smoother rides. The dinners in the small hotels / guests houses were very good as were our picnics and snacks during the day. The fortified churches are really interesting and, as a keen photographer, there were plenty of opportunities for good photos along the way. Btw, the bikes were fine!

Most Inspirational Moment

I'm split, so here are two: - Hearing cuckoos every day while cycling. I used to hear them at home as a boy - that doesn't happen now in southern England but it does in Transylvania at least in May! - Seeing the cows come home in Viscri. There we were, enjoying our food and wine at dinner, and our host says 'the cows are coming home'. Out we rush...what a surprise! Enjoy!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tudor is excellent, he's a very experienced guide, with super local knowledge, a nice friendly style and good focus on a safe trip. He made our last day - we chose not to visit Bran Castle and instead to go to Peles Castle but via Brasov. That was a super addition on his part. We'd been in villages and small towns. To visit a 'Saxon' city was great. The Black Church and the main square were both wonderful. Thank you Tudor. Our driver Lucien was great too and added to the vitality of our small group (post Covid and with war in Ukraine, we were six + guide and driver. There were no Covid issues or disruption. The Romanians have taken in many Ukrainian refugees and two families were staying at the church in Vulcan.)

Advice for Potential Travellers

The accommodation isn't in standard hotels - it's a mix of small hotels and guesthouses. There's something to like about every place but also the odd thing that isn't ideal but it all adds to the special nature of the trip. In a couple of guesthouses we shared a bathroom with another trip member and that worked fine. In Vulcan the room was a bit basic but the evening welcome from the priest was fab and, after a couple of glasses of welcoming schnaps, it didn't matter!

Suggestions

Romania is really interesting and on the up. We stayed a few extra days so we could see a bit more of Bucharest and then went north to see the painted monasteries and to visit Moldova.

Amazing adventure with glorious scenery and many animals

An amazing adventure into a unspoilt landscape. This well organised trip had so much to offer, the scenery, the welcoming local people, the traditional cuisine and the wildlife.

Most Inspirational Moment

There really were some many but favourite moment was watching the cows in Viscri return home to their individual gates.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent!!! Funny, enthusiastic, informative and kind.

Advice for Potential Travellers

We didn’t take coats but needed them.

Suggestions

This was such an unspoiled country and so inexpensive.

My first cycling holiday, definitely not the last

Thoroughly enjoyable 6 days of cycling in great company, final day sightseeing of Bran Castle and Peles.
Cycling never difficult, mainly rural farmland scenery and rolling hills. A few uncomfortable dirt,rutted tracks but bikes good enough to cope.
Stop off activities all worthwhile apart from Bran Castle – a congested tourist zoo which is best avoided.
Peles fabulous, beautiful setting
Social evenings with food, drink and great companionship.

Most Inspirational Moment

Romanian short hills proved more challenging than the bastard long ones! Seeing rural Transylvania and the life people lead a real treat, coming back to the busyness of London and M25 quite a shock. And how great a place to visit is Bucharest, people had warned me it would disappoint.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Radu is superb. Well organised, knowledgeable, friendly and wanting everybody to have the best experience. Manged to smile and soldier on whilst wrestling with a nasty sore throat for a few days.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Expect mixed cycling terrain (much good road, but also gravel/dirt roads, rutted farm tracks, and a little bit of unpleasant congested main road) because that's what you'll get. If you want to see Bucharest then go early or stay on after, definitely worth a couple of days. Pay to go on the tour at Peles, worth it.

Suggestions

My recommendations would be to forego a visit to Bran Castle and get back to Bucharest earlier on Saturday (we arrived back near 7.30 pm). And shorten the rest periods at breaks, people were keen to get cycling, if possible exchanging the shorter breaks for more cycling.

Cycling through Transylvania

Another super Exodus trip with a great group. The countryside is lovely and most of the cycling was on minor roads and tracks – so peaceful and calm. The cycling has quite a few climbs to increase the heart rate but nothing too severe. The accommodation was varied, clean and comfortable. We were clearly mixing with the local communities and we received smiles from everyone we met. Food was good and locally sourced. All in all a great trip

Most Inspirational Moment

Umm - for me there is nothing that stands out from the many great times I had. The church service in Vulcan, the fascinating fortified churches, the rural communities , the peace and quiet of the cycling, the homesteads we stayed in - they all combined to make an enjoyable holiday

Thoughts on Group Leader

Madalina - what can you say … such enthusiasm , organisational skills, personnel skills, knowledge and a smile that lit up the room. Always willing to help and it was pleasure to have her as our leader . A great lady !

Advice for Potential Travellers

You need to be reasonably fit but nothing special. There are few places to change money during the trip so get money either in your home country or from the airport ATMs. You don't need that much cash as almost all meals are included. Don't drink the local water and use hand gel before eating. . Its a great trip that brings you close to rural Romania.

Suggestions

Its just a very peaceful and interesting place to visit ( except the tourist infested Bran and Peles Castles !) . Go for it !

Touring Transylvania

We have been on many cycling tours over the years with Exodus and this was yet another excellent trip. We did not know exactly what to expect (how many people do you know who have visited Transylvania?) but we were not disappointed as the countryside is beautiful, green and rolling, with a good handful of climbs to make the cycling interesting, and all the locals that we met on our journey were friendly and welcoming. The accommodation was varied and unfailingly comfortable, the food of a high quality and the various visits along the route to local cottage industries, fortified churches and cities always interesting and informative.

Most Inspirational Moment

It is difficult to identify a single "inspirational" moment as it was not really that kind of trip. It is probably more appropriate to point to the local people as an inspiration as they have emerged from an oppressive communist governed administration at the end of the 1980s and have spent the last thirty years working hard to evolve into a more democratic country, integrating into the EU.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tudor was without doubt one of the best guides we have had the pleasure of meeting on any of our Exodus trips. He was unfailingly charming, helpful, extremely hardworking, very informative and knowledgeable, and became a firm friend of our group. He was not only a great ambassador for Romania but also a very nice and gentle person.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Get your currency (Romanian Lei) from one of the ATMs at the airport on arrival in Bucharest and choose the option not to take the conversion rate offered by the machine. By leaving your own UK bank to apply their conversion rate you will get a far better rate of exchange. As a couple, we found that £200 (1000 lei) cash was enough to cover our needs for the whole trip as the majority of meals are included in the cost of the trip, but we used credit cards on a couple of occasions (in Sighisoura and Bucharest) for dinners. Tips for the guides went on top of this £200 so we drew a little more out at the end of the holiday from the ATMs in Bucharest. A crossbar bag is handy for carrying a camera so photos can be taken whilst cycling, but panniers are provided for carrying other essentials so a rucksack is not really necessary. The support vehicle is never far away so access to day bags is easy. Bring your own water bottle for filling up and carrying in the bottle cage on the bike. You need to be relatively fit for some of the climbs but there is nothing overly difficult if you already enjoy cycling.

Suggestions

Do this trip before Transylvania changes too much. Despite the changes being made since entering the EU it is a country that is still very much living in the past out in the countryside and this only adds to its charm and interest. If you get Tudor and Liviu as your guide and driver you will have an even better experience! If you should get the option at the end of the trip, choose to miss the visit to Bran and Bran Castle (it's a dreadful, over-commercialised place after such a lovely week in the countryside and, anyhow, has absolutely nothing to do with Dracula etc.) and ask to visit the bear sanctuary as an alternative. This may not be possible but it's worth a try.

Beautifully Organised and Fun Holiday

Really good holiday and guides. Superbly organised by Exodus. Bikes were in good condition and the accommodation ranged from rustic to very comfortable. For us, the cycling could have been more challenging and at a quicker pace but the guides did really well to manage the different levels in the group.

The main negative point was the hotel in Sighisoara which really let us and Exodus down, and also that we were both sick at different times.

Most Inspirational Moment

Encouraging the less able cyclists and learning from others experiences.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent, very supportive and knowledgeable, extremely kind and friendly.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Don’t expect luxury accommodation or exciting cycling. Don’t expect a lift on the broom wagon either. Practice cycling up hills and in traffic before you go.

Suggestions

Thanks for a great holiday, our last one was 18 years ago and this was in a different league for organisation and professionalism.

Another Gold Star for Exodus Travel!

This was my fourth cycle holiday with Exodus (previously Dalmation Coast, Albania, Puglia in southern Italy) and I certainly hope there will be many more. I am often asked which is my favourite so far. So difficult to pick one as they are all top drawer stuff. It is a fantastic way to get to know a country and its history; our guides did not disappoint in this respect. The weather was not always kind, but the tour was packed with interest, visits, charm, and views that stun. As a photographer, all those appealed.

Most Inspirational Moment

Being part of a church service in Vulcan on our first day of cycling. Although I an not overtly religious, the feeling of being part of a community was quite overpowering and emotional.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Radu was excellen, full of knowledge of the history of the region. We all got on famously with him and, not forgetting Stefan, our driver and mechanic.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Just book it now!

Suggestions

I would like to be able to see details of each ride day on the previous evening. This happened on the Albania trip and was most useful giving distances, stops and profile of the route.

Great times

It was a really fun trip. Very well organized. Terrain is moderate. This was my first real biking experience and I felt I was able to manage it. Our group was small – 10 people and we gelled immediately. Overall organization and coordination was excellent. It is a well thought out route. You get to see a lot of history and meet locals – especially in churches.

Most Inspirational Moment

It was amazing to stay in the fortified church the first night. The minister actually served us the dinner (and perhaps cooked for us as well).

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our guide Radu was amazing and very knowledgeable about Romanian history and European history. He took care of anyone's needs and issues immediately. He made it very easy for all of us.

Advice for Potential Travellers

I am vegetarian. They did their best possible to cater to me. So there was no lack of food. However if you are used to flavors and spices in your vegetarian food, I suggest to pack some sauces.

Suggestions

Bike gear shifters could have been better. E.g. delayed gear change or change several gears at once. Made it less smooth on hills sometimes. Stefan - the support person - was excellent and fixed mine a few times, and he did his best. But problems still persisted on-and-off because I think the shifters need to be replaced.