Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Fantastic

What an incredible experience! An expedition rather than a holiday, with a fantastic guide who found us swimming spots in lakes and rivers as well as guiding us expertly over challenging passes, through flower streets fields and smiling over 11 days of challenging but exhilarating hiking. Our camp wonder women was wonderful and made delicious dinners, was full of fun and helped us find everything from the milk to a picture perfect buvette in Zermatt. The group was great, and you need a great group for this trip as you are together a lot and it is challenging – 15 days hiking camping and enjoying the sun and mountains.

Most Inspirational Moment

Jumping in lakes or rivers to cool off and refresh at the end of long hot days.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Great, experienced, commuted, wise, upbeat.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Expect an expedition not a holiday. You have to be able to get on with things and not be needy! Be prepared for a ‘group pace’. And being together a lot.

Suggestions

More protein, complex carbs and veg would have been good. A bigger food budget for the cook so she could have fed us more nutritious and wide ranging food eg breakfasts with natural yogurt, maple syrup, and oats/ seeds/ nuts rather than packet muslei and fruit yogurts.

Excellent, Challenging Trip in the French and Swiss Alps

This is a tough trek but really worth it. Stunning views, Beautiful lakes, High passes, Stream crossings, Boulder fields, what’s not to like about this trek. Although relatively short daily distances don’t be fooled there is a lot of climbing my total elevation gain for the week was around 40500 ft or 11220 meters. Being in the outdoors for 14 day dose your mind and sole the world of good. Our guide and group was fantastic and I have met some good people on this trip from all walks of life, different ages and nationalities.

Most Inspirational Moment

There are definitely a few Col Prafleuri is the highest Col on the route albeit the weather wasn't the best this day (heavy rain) it made the whole day better. First views of the Matterhorn. Staying in the mountain huts meeting some great people. Working as a team throughout the day, at meal times, washing up, breaking camp.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Egle is a fantastic group leader. Friendly, funny and knowledgeable. She looked after the whole group, informed us of all the different flora and fawner through out the hike and answered every ones questions. A very experienced outdoor person. Always happy to share a beer and have a laugh at the end of the day.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Definitely do some training before you go even if you are a seasoned hill walker as you basically climb Snowdon every day for 10 days. I would strongly suggest taking walking poles to take some of the pressure off your knees. The mountain huts can be quite noisy so definitely take ear plugs. Albeit the lunches are adequate I would suggest taking or buying snacks like nuts, chocolate, etc just to keep you topped up during the day. There is a day or two where you can not fill up with fresh water. You can either buy water from the huts or I took a filter and filled up with glacier water.

Suggestions

The Wild camp at Grimentz is about a 10 min walk from the old town and I suggest you make the effort to walk down to have a look at this picture postcard village. The huts are mixed dorm style so be prepared to get close with you fellow travellers. Very well put together from start to finish.

Walking in paradise

Two weeks walking in some of the most spectacular scenery of the Alps. Breathtaking views in the many clear days and surreal when walking in the clouds. Varied terrain to entertain all…this is a must for any mountains lover. Excellent arrangements from Exodus as always and great leader and camp manager.

Most Inspirational Moment

About every hour of my walking time every day. The scenery was breathtaking. Cheering UTMB trail runners in Chamonix, swimming in an Alpine lake in a clear sky day, eating lunch by a glacier, the Emerald lake, eating my favourite Swiss chocolate when reaching a col, the outstanding views of mountain peaks above a sea of clouds from Cabane Praflouri, snowball fight in the boulders, introduction to trail running to St Nicklaus, walking in the clouds on the longest suspension bridge in Europe, trek to Zermatt with clouds opening over the Matterhorn.

Thoughts on Group Leader

John and Ags made my holiday!!! Inspirational, brave, kind, funny, passionate, knowledgeable, supportive and a good laugh. I always felt safe and in good hands, the food was absolutely delicious. They tended to all group members and really went the extra mile for me...quite literally 😊. I could have not wished for better leaders

Advice for Potential Travellers

This trip requires a good level of fitness and stamina to ensure you can enjoy it with the group. Be warned that you will want to return to the Alps the moment you leave

Suggestions

Thank to my fellow group members and to John and Ags for inspiring me...I have already booked a Mountain Skill course...I will be back for more :)

Walking in Paradise

Two weeks walking in some of the most spectacular scenery of the Alps. Breathtaking views in the many clear days and surreal when walking in the clouds. Varied terrain to entertain all…this is a must for any mountains lover. Excellent arrangements from Exodus as always and great leader and camp manageress.

Most Inspirational Moment

About every hour of my walking time every day. The scenery was breathtaking. Cheering UTMB trail runners in Chamonix, swimming in an Alpine lake in a clear sky day, eating lunch by a glacier, the Emerald lake, eating my favourite Swiss chocolate when reaching a col, the outstanding views of mountain peaks above a sea of clouds from Cabane Praflouri, snowball fight in the boulders, introduction to trail running to St Nicklaus, walking in the clouds on the longest suspension bridge in Europe, trek to Zermatt with clouds opening over the Matterhorn...and the Matterhorn nail polish session at camp 😊

Thoughts on Group Leader

John and Ags made my holiday!!! Inspirational, brave, kind, funny, passionate, knowledgeable, supportive and a good laugh. I always felt safe and in good hands, the food was absolutely delicious. They tended to all group members and really went the extra mile for me...quite literally 😊. I could have not wished for better leaders. They inspired me so much I have already booked a mountain skill weekend in Snowdonia!

Advice for Potential Travellers

This trip requires a good level of fitness and stamina to ensure you can enjoy it with the group. Be warned that you will want to return to the Alps the moment you leave

Suggestions

Thank you to John and Ags and my fellow group members for the excellent memories

Enjoyable trip high up in the Alps

Quite strenuous trek high up in the Alps,beautiful scenery with a excellent group of people.

Most Inspirational Moment

There were a few moments that stood out.The sunset at Cabane Mont Fort,the high alpine landscapes,walking on snow in August,climbing up the ladders to one of the cols. My favourite days were days days 7 & 8 on the remote stuff.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group was led by John Briggs,he's as good as it gets! Excellent leader,some days we had to start earlier to avoid afternoon thunderstorms,he got us all out on the hill & back down safely without any drama's.Due to the nature of the terrain the group would split but he had everyone covered,we also got some winter skills walking on snow lessons from him. Our leader back at camp was Adz from Lithuania,she cooked some great meals was great company & well organised.You couldn't have asked for more from either John or Adz.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you've done the TMB trek this is definitely harder,but for me it was more rewarding due to the remoteness of the places you were walking through.

Suggestions

It's quite strenuous so make sure you train for it.I'm a cyclist so I was doing my regular cycling,usually 60 miles a weekend plus walking as fast as I can for 10 miles without jogging a few times a week,also I used to rock climb so that came in handy for the easy scrambling that you had to do in places. The descent's are steep in places so bring poles even if you never use them at home,your knees will thank you.

Brilliant Trip

This was a trek that was harder than I expected for the walking, but there are no altitude issues at all. It was professionally led by John Briggs and coked for by a lovely Lithuanian lady we all called Ads. Most days we walked up to a col with fantastic views and then back down to the next camp site or other hut style accommodation.

There was a fair bit of walking on snow and ice, but the presence of the snow really added to the scenery and I was not uneasy about it at any time.

I lost 7lbs which was slightly disappointing (I lost 21 lb on last year’s 3 week trek in Pakistan) but the food was irresistible, and wine and beer were available at modest prices.

Most Inspirational Moment

Our first view of the Matterhorn was amazing. Utterly majestic.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Very professional says it all. A good leader in control of the group at all times and offering help and advice when needed.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Do some training. Not just in the gym. I visited the Brecon Beacons for four two day stints in the weeks before I went. It really paid dividends, not only being able to take the walking in my stride, but being able to enjoy the trip rather than suffering from tiredness. Be prepared for steep ascents and descents over several hours.

Suggestions

Always accept the guide's judgement. If he decides to turn back or take a detour because he considers a section unsafe, he is probably right. Don't question the decision.

TWH: 827 Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn

A Memorable Trek
This trip had everything, meadows, mountains, snow, rock and the thrill of the great outdoors. However, the trip wasn’t just about the wonderful scenery and hiking, a large part of its success was the team spirit that was fostered by our leader John Briggs and camp manager Egle.

Most Inspirational Moment

There were several highlights, however, I very much liked the steady ascent to Villa and Col Torrent. The panoramic views of the vast mountain range were wonderful.

Thoughts on Group Leader

John Briggs is an outstanding leader, multi-talented. His practical instruction on how to proceed on difficult terrain was most helpful. He was always prepared to go the extra mile to ensure each day was a success. Overall John displayed exceptional leadership skills. I have no hesitation in nominating John for the annual leader awards. John was ably assisted by Egle, together their pleasant manner added greatly to group bonding and the forming of new friendships. On returning from a trek, Egle would have tents set up and coffee and biscuits at the ready. The delicious, wholesome 3 course meals were cooked on a gas stove. in the middle of nowhere, (magic) and all done with a smile.

Advice for Potential Travellers

On our trip in early July we encountered several snow fields. I found it useful to have a light set of walking crampons.

Suggestions

This trip is strenuous and at times challenging. There is a definite need to train and get into good physical condition. This will ensure you are not under pressure on the trek and can enjoy it to the full.

Excellent tour of the Alpine highlights

A thiroughly enjoyable, challenging and stunningly beautiful trip across the French and Swiss Alps.

Most Inspirational Moment

It’s hard to distill all the best bits of the trip into one, but the combination of stunning scenery, personal challenge and top quality leadership and support makes the trip a jewel in the Exodus crown.

Thoughts on Group Leader

John Briggs was a top rate leader. Hugely knowledgable, impressively fit, patient and kind and an all round great guy.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The trip is challenging in parts but that should not deter you from experiencing some of the best views in the Alps, and spending time with a great bunch of fellow travellers. It’s hugely enjoyable and well worth it.

Two wonderful weeks of high cols

My second Exodus trek in the Alps, and the Haute Route deserves the challenging grade, definitely tougher than TMB. Very well organised by Exodus, excellent leader and camp manager, and a great bunch of 12 trekkers.

Most Inspirational Moment

Reaching the summit of the third col of the day between Mont Fort and Prafleuri mountain refuges, the Col de Prafleuri (almost 3000m). This day 5 of the walk stayed over 2500m all day, we were fortunate to have a fine day for it.

Thoughts on Group Leader

John is a natural leader, highly skilled in mountain technique but also very sensitive to the different abilities and interests of group members. He quickly gauged the correct pace, and knows when to give extra support to people who need it, e.g. with tricky parts of a steep descent. He kept our spirits up on the days with poor weather, and on fine days allowed the fastest members of the group to go ahead (but then wait at junctions). He has an excellent knowledge of Alpine geography and trees, which he was ready to share. Having been led by John on TMB in 2014, I was delighted to meet him again on arrival at Geneva.

Advice for Potential Travellers

This trip is not for those who lack fitness and stamina. Several days wth 1000m or more ascent and descent, one after another: there is no rest day until after 6 days walking. Do this trip if ready for a challenge, otherwise consider the Tour du Mont Blanc TMB.

Suggestions

Our camp manager Egle deserves full credit alongside John. She managed to perform wonders on a basic cooking stove, very imaginative menus, and the large portions one needs on such an energetic trek. The whole Exodus camp set up is very well thought out, including the design of tents, mess tent and all the auxiliary equipment like facilities to charge phones etc. I would suggest that the tents used are absolutely fine for one person but I would advise anyone travelling without a partner or very good friend to pay the single supplement. The two mountain refuges were an interesting experience of living close together, unavoidable to complete the route. Most of the campsites very well equipped, Exodus do not hide the fact that two others have very basic facilities.

Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn 505A

A great walk with fabulous scenery. The group was very supportive and friendly and this added to the enjoyment of the holiday.
The food was amazing, delicious and filling. The camp manager was brilliant – very efficient, and a great cook.

Most Inspirational Moment

Arriving at the col after climbing up the ladders at the Pas de Chèvre. I've never done anything like that before. Exhilarating!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our leader really added to my enjoyment of the holiday. He was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and pointed out interesting plants that I would have missed otherwise. We even saw an eidelweiss on the mountainside. He also shared his interest in the geology and history of the area which I found interesting and helpful in understanding the mountains. He was a thoughtful leader and took time to help people who needed support over the more difficult terrain. His route finding was impeccable and when bad weather came in the group felt complete confidence in him to get us to the campsite.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take an inner sheet sleeping bag for the night in the huts.

Suggestions

It's a great holiday- get fit and do it.