Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Best Exodus Tour Yet!

This is a 5-star tour! I selected the Treasures of Sicily trip because I want to visit different regions of Italy. I had no idea how much I would learn about the Sicily invaders (our guide called them “visitors”) or their contributions to the culture. In seven days, our group traveled around the entire border of Sicily. We saw a minimum of two attractions per day, including Mt. Etna volcano, Ancient Greek and Roman ruins, beautiful small towns, National Park, and the bustling capital. You spend a lot of time on the bus (typically 2 to 3 hours a day) in transit but this enables you to see so much in one week. I wouldn’t want to give up even one attraction. Our guide Tiziano was superb. This young man knows so much about the history and culture. He made every day so much fun!

Most Inspirational Moment

I was most swept away by the Ancient Greek temples as well as the Greek Amphitheatre in Sicily. They were in wonderful condition despite their antiquity and I marveled at how the Greeks built such edifices.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Words cannot adequately describe our group leader Tiziano—smart, funny, engaging, emphatic, energetic, and caring. He was the cheerleader from daybreak to sunset on our journey around Sicily. He was always making us laugh. I would love to take smother tour with Tiz in the future! I wish I booked the 14-day Grand Tour to spend more time with Tiz.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Don’t pack a big suitcase. You have to drag it a big distance in old town Palermo. Don’t pack a lot of clothes to go out a night. It is casual in Sicily. You want 1 or 2 nice outfits. Pack warm clothes for hiking Mt. Etna. It gets cold on the mountain. Leave some space in your suitcase to bring home treasures, such as the superb Silican wines. Wear good walking shoes. Bring hiking boots for the volcano hike.

Suggestions

Do not hesitate to book the Sicily tour. It is my favorite.

Sept 2023

Well organised and led by the guide Francesca and the 2 drivers Mario and Graziano. Lots of amazing scenery and history.

Most Inspirational Moment

Temples at Seracruse

Thoughts on Group Leader

Superb!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Even at end of September was very hot so be prepared.

Suggestions

Would be nice if pools at hotels were open later as most were closed by time we had arrived. Last hotel in Taormina was poor in terms of food and staff helpfulness.

Amazing Sicily!

A fast paced, very full itinerary, covering some truly amazing places. Great group, made up of caring, fun, interesting and interested folks from a whole range of backgrounds. Highlights were the Etna Volcano visit by cablecar and Greek Temples at Selinunte. The tour does not include the mosaics of Villa Romano or the Aeolian Islands, both of which I still want to see….so look out Sicily, I’ll be returning!

Most Inspirational Moment

Hard to name just one...Seeing the remnants of the recent eruption on Etna....smoke rising from the summit. Or sitting on the steps of a church in centre of Syracuse eating the best Arancini with a cold local beer. The beautiful wildflowers at Selinunte Temples. Thr fun the group had at Tiziano's birthday celebration at the Agriturismo rural hotel. The awesome gold interior of Monreale Cathedral. Walking into the 'Church of the Holy Water' in Palermo and the organist belting out Bohemian Rhapsody. Or perhaps swimming in the stunning turquoise sea on the return from the Zingaro Nature Reserve walk.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tiziano was fabulous. Very well organised, and really good at getting us to coordinate, arriving and leaving on time being important on such a packed tour. His knowledge of the sights, culture and (obsession!) with the food of his country were inspirational! He had a very caring nature and went out of his way to ensure we were all well informed, looked after and having fun at every step of the way!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Try and pack lighter as you are moving hotels most nights and sometimes the bus isn't able to park outside the hotel

Suggestions

Though the tour was still quite early in the year (end April) the weather was pretty good....and you benefit from the amazing wildflowers at the archaeological sites, which were very beautiful

Beautiful Sicily

The tour explores around beautiful Sicily’s historical towns and cities. Sicily has so much to bring to the table from local foods, history, culture and scenery and more. Look forward to visiting again!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tiziano was a brilliant host to Sicily, he was passionate, energetic and organised - giving us restaurant recommendations and local foods to try in each area we stopped at. In addition, he was super knowledgeable about the history of the island and also arranged for additional stop offs during the trip so we could see more places of interest. The local guides where also very knowledgeable during the city tour and archeological sites.

I.ll be back!

I joined this fully booked trip as a Solo.What a fantastic experience! Full of really interesting places & sights, with a very well thought out programme, not too fast yet we got to see SO much! I can’t choose a favourite experience or sight..they were all so good. Our group gelled extremely well & that really added to the enjoyment. Hotels very comfortable too. I have to give a huge shout out to Guide Alessandro who is without doubt the best Guide I’ve ever come across on my trips. Our driver Graziano & the local Guides were excellent too. If you haven’t yet been to Sicily & you enjoy culture then you cant miss this trip, I’m thinking of repeating,😊

Most Inspirational Moment

Too many to choose..from the medieval villages through to Temples & the breathtaking Monreal Cathedral...stunning,

Thoughts on Group Leader

Outstanding

Advice for Potential Travellers

Pack layers & try to travel light.

Suggestions

Comfy footwear,

Exceptional

I have to say this is the best Exodus Trip i have ever taken (over a few)& one of my best holidays ever. The itinerary is so well thought-out with the perfect mix of culture from natural wonders to architectural, perfectly paced & so interesting. Its a wonderful country & this trip certainly showcases it. The group i was with were wonderful. Special mention for our Tour Guise Alessandro Derrico who is without doubt the best Guide ive had on any trip-just outstanding. Also our Driver Graziano-i cant thank them enough for making the trip so special & i know all the group felt the same. Thankyou to everyone at Exodus for such a memorable trip!

Most Inspirational Moment

Too many to choose!!

Thoughts on Group Leader

The best! Excellent!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Pack layers so that you are prepared for Mountain/beach, but pack wise & light-you actually dont need lots of clothes, no need to dress up in the evenings for example.

Suggestions

Prices for food/eating out are about the same as the UK, maybe a little less but the quality is very good. Allow 1-3 Euros per night for local Hotel Tax

Fast trip to see the very best of Sicily

This is 7 days of intense travel round the highlights of Sicily. It is not leisurely and Exodus do longer trips. A huge amount is packed in so come prepared for some early starts and a really active week.

Most Inspirational Moment

Sitting in Noto in the warmth of the evening in the golden light off the beautiful buildings Stunning

Thoughts on Group Leader

Very well informed and engagingly honest about Sicily. Helpful at all times.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Pack light and keep up!

Suggestions

Just how much we learnt and how much we enjoyed ourselves.

Not Inspiring

This trip lacks to normal expectations of an Exodus trip, no time to get to know your traveling companions, very limited opportunities for meals as a group and no sense of inclusion. It ticks all the boxes for places visited although scheduling could be improved and pacing evened out to prevent the sense of being rushed and then left with excess down time. Hotels used were all good a mostly well located although breakfasts (the only meals included) could have been more appropriate to the class of hotel used.

Most Inspirational Moment

Having time to walk around Selinunte without the herds of tourists, (skipped lunch break for this)

Thoughts on Group Leader

Worked hard most of the time, tried to keep everyone happy, but the lack of an inclusive start meant the group had already fractionated before he could have any influence. At times I felt patronised and talked at (not to).

Advice for Potential Travellers

Sicily is crowded so do not expect much peace and quiet, it is also larger than one might expect necessitating some early starts and long drives. Some Italian would be useful since a lot of signs and labels in the attractions are not translated. If possible find a traveling companion, this trip is not very single friendly.

Suggestions

A Crossroads of Civilisations and Cultures

Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Carthaginians, Berbers, Arabs – even Normans have all left their mark on Sicily – leaving a rich cultural legacy to be discovered by today’s visitors. Because we completed a circuit of the whole island, there were inevitably some longer stints on the coach – but it was roomy and we always had a break halfway on longer stretches.
Hotels were mixed -the one at Agrigento felt rather soulless and the Agroturismo had some problems – the rustic setting was fine but some people had no running water in the morning. I hope this problem can be fixed as I like the idea of giving custom to a local business. But the one in Palermo couldn’t have been more central and the one at Taormina was delightful and so close to the beach (and the beachside restaurant where we had our last dinner)

Most Inspirational Moment

I loved the Zingaro reserve and could happily have spent the whole day there, but I understand that all tastes have to be catered to. Taormina is lovely - spectacular views, and I enjoyed pottering around Ragusa Ibla. I have a limited appetite for churches (especially catholic iconography) and temples, but Monreal with its stunning mosaics and the Greek temple at Agrigento were terrific, and enhanced by the explanations of the guide.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Veronica was excellent - friendly, welcoming, informative. Also a shout out for the drivers, especially Salvatore who was with us for most of the trip - careful, safe and he always welcomed us back to the coach with a smile

Advice for Potential Travellers

I didn't think you could eat badly in Sicily, but we had two bad meals - in Palermo, accompanied by surly service. The food was cold and one of the group was ill. But we ate really well at Taverna Dei Canto around the corner from the hotel in Palermo (lively street - not a quiet venue) My advice would be to check out the latest reviews on Trip Adviser - guide books can be out of date. If you plan to walk in Zingaro (some people preferred to swim) be aware that while not challenging, parts of the path are rocky so a pole can be helpful if you have any knee problems.

Describes the itinerary

An excellent way to discover Sicily and her past

Most Inspirational Moment

Valley of the temples

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent Knowledgable Organise Friendly A people person

Advice for Potential Travellers

Prepare for all weathers

Suggestions

.