Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Canadian Rockies adventure

Fantastic trip expect all weathers from cold and wet to very warm. Its tough but worth it. Camping is good but expect hard ground to pitch tent on not grass. It’s a trip that you will talk about for a long time. So many different experiences.

Most Inspirational Moment

The helicopter ride to the Canadian wilderness

Thoughts on Group Leader

Jeremy was a great leader knowledgeable, great chef and all round good bloke supported by the excellent Sabrina.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be fit and ready for steep walking, be used to camping for longer periods of time made more challenging by the logistics of storing belongings in locked up vans or hauled into the air away from wildlife. Be equipped for the changeable weather.

Amazing Trip

This was an amazing and unforgettable trip. The hikes were fabulous and the itinerary was ideal. 3 nights in each place meant you got to see a lot in each area and there wasn’t too much driving. The focus was on the hiking and the views and seeing the best of each area. This trip enabled us to see the best spots while at the same time getting off the beaten track. Would highly recommend this trip, well worth it.

Most Inspirational Moment

Everything was exceptional and very well organised but the trip to Landslide Lake was probably the highlight for all the group. Sentinel Pass and the Edith Cavell trail were amazing too.

Thoughts on Group Leader

We had 2 guides, Jeremy and Sabrina. They were just incredible, both individually and as a team. Extremely professional, competent and highly efficient in every aspect of their role. On each walk they were so informative about the mountains and the landscape, they pitched the walks at the right pace and made sure everyone was OK. They were chatty and friendly and catered to everyone's needs. The food on the trip was phenomenal, massive variety each day and plenty of it. Can't praise them enough, they were amazing. The next group to get them will be very lucky indeed.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Yes, bring plenty of layers for the cold mornings and nights. Also, there's only one opportunity to do laundry and that's in Jasper around day 6 or 7, just bear that in mind.

Varied trip showing off the best of the Rockies

The Rockies are magnificent and this trip includes the famous areas around Banff and Jasper but also takes you into the mountains away from the crowds. The group was a mixture of ages but we were all quite experienced walkers. There is little flat so although the distances aren’t great the ascents are strenuous but you get into the heart of the mountains. The camping was very well organised and the food was excellent.

Most Inspirational Moment

There are many great moments but for me the highlight was the first view of the mountains reflected in Landslide Lake. Although we had poor weather at the "wilderness camp" at Landslide the group spirit, led by the guides, made it a special part of the trip.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Charles and Priscilla both worked tremendously hard all the time. They were always cheerful and supportive. Charles was an amazing chef and produced excellent meals, catering for several specialist diets. Their love for the mountains was obvious and they wanted to make sure that we all had the best experience possible.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Read the trip notes - it is correctly graded so make sure you are happy on steep ascents and descents. It can be cold at night in the autumn so you will need a good sleeping bag.

Fantastic trip

Lovely holiday in the Rockies, varied walks, great guides who cooked 3 course meals every night on a 3 ring gas burner. Bus time kept to a minimum but we covered a lot of ground. Just remember, you are in the mountains and the weather can be variable, the averages given in the trip notes can be deceiving!

Most Inspirational Moment

Camping in the back country was fabulous, including the helicopter trip in.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Both leaders were great, Vincent had a lot on his plate on this particular trip and Maggie was a great second in command, doing the majority of the cooking - couldn’t fault either.

Advice for Potential Travellers

It will probably be colder and wetter than you might think,

A great trip for mountain lovers and walkers

Canada is a wonderful country. Everything is on a huge scale and beautiful. The selection of walks offered give a real insight into some of the most beautiful parts and walks there are in the Rockies.

Most Inspirational Moment

Everyone will have their personal favourite part of the trip - some of mine included the Iceline Trail, Moraine Lake and Sentinel Pass, the Glacier Walk and simply being in the van driving from one campsite to the other, listening to music and spotting wildlife and driving past miles and miles of mountains.

Thoughts on Group Leader

The group leaders worked very hard and cooked some fabulous meals. They were both very passionate about the environment and the wildlife. Where they didn't quite reach expectations was in their rigid views of how we should experience the mountains resulting in me sitting out of a couple of the walks. The guides are a really important part of the trip and how they treat you in the mountains is crucial to your enjoyment as well as your safety. Where they fell down even further was their inability to provide a customer service which included listening to the views of the group

Advice for Potential Travellers

Yes, Canada is a lovely country. Be prepared to be wowed but also to flex the itinerary due to wildlife and the weather and other things outside of anyone's control. Find out about your guides approach before you travel if possible - this is key and a common complaint amongst travellers on these trips.

Suggestions

It was a very well organised trip, the food was fabulous as mentioned and the itinerary was great.

Canadian Rockies Wilderness Walks

Generally a nice holiday, in spectacular scenery. The food was varied and very plentiful (although having 10 females in the party of 12, plus 2 male guides might have had a bearing on this). Assorted dietary restrictions were catered for.

The sites were fine, with the exception of the “last” one near Waterton Park (Waterton Springs Campground) which, in all honesty, was unacceptable for a holiday costing in excess of £3,000 for 11 days camping. We had a 1km walk to get hot water for anything, the toilet facilities near our tents were basic and only just about acceptable (if you ignore the lack of hot water) and the sinks for washing up in were disgusting. They had a large number (40-50) of RVs on site, all situated next to the office and all facilities. We were put as far away from there as was possible on the site (presumably so that a “noisy” group wouldn’t disturb their main source of income – the RVs). There may have been another 5-6 people in tents while we were there. We were unfortunate in that, due to fires, Waterton Park was closed the day after we arrived and then totally evacuated, so I cannot comment on the walks there. This was a shame as I had visited there for 2 days last year and really loved it – there is what looked to be a reasonable site in Waterton Park itself, beautifully situated next to the village, although I can’t comment on its facilities as I was in a hotel. In fact, returning there was a major factor in me choosing to go on this holiday. On the plus side, we only stayed at the poor site for one night. The tour company arranged a new site, well away from the fires (a 500km drive in fact), in a much nicer site, at very short notice.

Most Inspirational Moment

I didn't find anything "inspirational", but I am generally not one for strong emotions.

Thoughts on Group Leader

On the whole, good. At times he did almost seem to be showing off how good a "walker" he was - fast and very agile - but not to the point of doing anything dangerous. It did seem to take us a long while to have breakfast and out on the walk at times. Due to a combination of circumstances, the group naturally split into a faster and a slower group. The two guides handled this well, I thought. Even suggesting some alternative, shorter, routes for the slower group (which included me) on some days so that we didn't feel that we were holding up the faster group all the time.

Advice for Potential Travellers

To enjoy this holiday to the full, you don't just need a good level of fitness, a good level of experience of exercise (walking, running) in hilly terrain is almost a must. I run 3/4 times a week, up to an hour at a time, but there are not many hills near me. The first 2 days left me with very achy muscles from the amount of continuous, uphill walking - often steep and often more than an hour at a time. I sat out day 3 to recover. Although I could have done the walk, I may well have then had to rest for more than a day. If you do not travel light, you might want to pay to have a tent to yourself. Although there were 2 men in the group, the other one was with his wife, so I got a tent to myself. I found this a benefit, apart from putting up and taking down the tent. However that was pretty straightforward, even for one person. I took a 4 seasons sleeping bag, but was too hot every night. However, others were cold on some nights. The overnight temperature (Aug 28 to Sept 7) didn't drop below 10°C in my tent. Personally I think that a 3 seasons bag plus a light blanket would be a better recommendation than a 4 seasons bag.

Suggestions

The holiday was rated as 4/10 for fitness levels required. Not sure what a 10 would be (climbing Everest?). Personally, I think 5 would be more appropriate.

Excellent trip

The scenery is stunning – not dissimilar to parts of the Alps, but a lot more of it. Our guides (Mac and MP) were both very good – knowledgeable, informative and nothing was too much trouble – and were obviously very passionate about the Rockies. Mac is a great cook, and managed to produce food you really wouldn’t expect when camping – pizza and homemade granola to name two highlights.

Most Inspirational Moment

The Sentinel Pass walk was a highlight, as was jumping into the lake at Waterton after a long, hot day.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take insect repellant (and use it).

Suggestions

This trip is graded 5 and, in comparison to other Exodus trips, I don't think that's quite right. Four of the day walks are probably 4-5s, but overall the trip is a lot easier than other 5-graded trips I've done.

Memorable trip to the Canadian Rockies

Really fantastic trip! I got to experience the totally breathtaking Canadian Rockies with a lovely group of people, and led by knowledgeable and passionate guides. The hiking is brilliant, and this trip allows you to walk on the less touristy trails and really get a taste for the wilderness. The itinerary is really well thought-out, meaning you get to walk in a few of the national parks to get a fuller and more varied sense of the landscape, and also the longer hikes are perfectly spread out with easier walking in-between. The guides worked really hard and were incredibly considerate of the group’s preferences. The meals were varied and delicious, and nothing beats sitting by a campfire after a long day of hiking. Such a memorable way to see the Rockies, and definitely served to convince me that I’m going back!

Most Inspirational Moment

Hiking up to the summit at Lineham Ridge in Waterton Lakes national park towards the end of the hike - the most breathtaking view, and it just our group at the top! We stopped to have lunch at the summit and I was completely lost for words. Definitely one of the most memorable moments of our trip.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Mac was the best leader! You'll be lucky if you have Mac or M.P with you on the trip - they really worked hard to make sure everyone was looked after. Mac cooked us a different delicious breakfast almost every morning, and there was also always a really fantastic vegetarian option for me. He was a passionate guide and always considerate of each person in the group, making sure we all felt comfortable on the hikes. I couldn't fault the guides, they really made the trip!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Pack insect repellant and sun cream, and make sure you remember a warm jacket for the evenings and early mornings. Plastic bags are also really useful for damp or wet clothing, and for packing the lunch boxes in your backpack. I also wished I had brought some waterproof trousers for when it rained while we were in the middle of a hike, but they're not absolutely essential. The guides do a fantastic job of looking after you, and there are outdoor stores at regular intervals if you need or forget anything.

Rocky Wilderness Walk

Excellent organization, a lot of fun and beautiful places. Perfect evenings with excellent grill food from best guide I ever had. Great people all over the world!

Most Inspirational Moment

First view of tourqase colour Lake Louise.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Best leader I ever had. Mac, thanks for all joy, lot of information about nature and all the beautiful places we saw!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be positive and just enjoy!

Suggestions

More that kind of hikes!

Canadian Rockies and Wilderness Walks

Superb trip – described as challenging and it was! But well worth it for fabulous scenery and wildlife.

Most Inspirational Moment

Achieving the Crypt Lake walk (not on the itinerary, but offered as a choice instead of Lineham). We were limited in time as only one boat each way across the Lake and the walk included exciting time climbing iron ladder, going through tunnel and precarious ledge walk! Very pleased to have done it - and bought the T-shirt!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Superb - Mac was a great cook, and full of knowledge about the history, geology and fauna of the area. Not so hot on plants, but we had plenty of reference material to check up with. Also Mac introduced us to CBC Radio programme The Debaters which was excellent for passing the time on some of the longer journeys between camp sites. As a leader, he was very capable and hard working, always ensuring everyone was included and treated fairly.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Do not believe the trip notes regarding shoes - trainers would not be suitable for this terrain, esp when snow on the ground. Walking shoes or boots are better. Take a pair of flip flops or similar, for camp and one of the walks involves a stream crossing. Don't bother to pack a hairdryer. Don't need anything smart for eating out - casual is fine. Pack a pillow of some kind. In June the Lake Louise camp was very cold at night, but the later camps were not so bad. Expect mosquitoes - don't forget your insect repellent. Most people found walking poles very useful. There are sometimes secure lockers for charging items at the camp site - otherwise there were sockets in the shower/toilet blocks, but not secure.

Suggestions

Fab holiday for the great outdoors, beautiful scenery, good food (depending on your leader!) and good group size. Participation camping not too onerous - just help with washing up, cooking if needed and putting up and taking down own tent. Teamwork helped to build a good group atmosphere.