Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Highlights of Morocco

We just returned from a 15 day trip across Morocco.
It was a fabulous trip with a great group of fellow travellers. Our guide Khaled was a fantastic, enthusiastic ambassador for his country.
We quickly became a great group of friends who thoroughly enjoyed all the sights and sounds of Morocco.

Most Inspirational Moment

The camel trek into The Sahara was awe inspiring. We had a sand dune view of the setting sun.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Khaled was our guide. He was friendly and enthusiastic about sharing his country. He kept us informed daily of upcoming meeting points etc. and was highly organized. He listened to our desire for quick lunches and took us to amazing, affordable restaurants for dinner. He was fantastic for showing us the every day men/women of his country. He was also up for a laugh and joking around. He had to deal daily with 2 of our fellow travellers who were ill informed and ill prepared for this trip. He was very patient with their very challenging behavior.

Advice for Potential Travellers

There’s a lot of down time on the bus for long hours of travelling between cities. There’s also a lot of walking on uneven ground. Wear comfortable shoes. The 5 km uphill trek to our hotel in the High Atlas MTS was a surprise. Mules were available for our gear and anyone needing some assistance up the hill. It was quite arduous. We were there in early March and wore our winter coats most of the time. Our hotels were clean and ok. It was cold at night but all the hotels supplied lots of blankets. We all had a hot shower every morning. Other reviews spoke of inadequate hot water but we never experienced that.

Suggestions

Be prepared for a country of vast contrasts. Big bustling urban cities, remote villages, seashores resort area, mountains and the Sahara Desert. I was so impressed by Morocco. It has something for everyone and is very clean and safe to travel within. If you’re considering a vacation here…you’re going to love Morocco.

A fabulous adventure

What an amazing adventure this turned out to be. This 14 day trip covered 1300 miles through different landscapes, stopping off along the way and learning about this diverse country. Fez Medina was like stepping back in time with the narrow streets in the souk lined with stalls and donkeys transporting their wares around them. The tanneries were another glimpse into a bygone age. The Roman town of Volubilis was a revelation and the guide was superb. The Sahara experience is one I’ll never forget. Moving on we stayed at Kasbah Oliver in the High Atlas Mountains and had a glimpse into how remote some villages are. We had a really pleasant hike from Kasbah Oliver along a path used by locals starting in the cool of the morning and an unforgettable experience in the local small hammam. Our holiday happened to coincide with a large music festival in Essaouira which added to our experience, although sadly we were unable to stay in the Medina.

Most Inspirational Moment

If I had to pick one inspirational moment it would have to be sitting on the top of a sand dune in silence watching the sun rise over the Sahara. Truly unforgettable.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader was Youssef and Mohammad our driver. Everything Youssef organised was with the group in mind and extremely punctual. On long trips lunch time food was preordered to save time in restaurants. The suggested places to eat at night were always very good. A few occasions we were told it was possible to purchase alcohol and that the venue we were staying would happily refrigerate beers/soft drinks or wine for us. Youssef would always help find an ATM or money exchange if requested. Overall he was a very thoughtful helpful member of the group.

Advice for Potential Travellers

There are some pieces of advise I wish I had had: 1. Some of my fellow travellers changed money at the airport and were talked into putting some money onto a card to draw out at ATM’s ….what they didn’t realise until too late was the £30 charge for doing so. As ATM’s are plentiful and also money exchanges there is no need to change money at the airport if you have a prepaid transfer booked. If you are staying at the Hotel Gossassine there is an ATM 200yds from the hotel and a money exchange a further 50yds on. (There is also a Carrefour supermarket located in the basement :100yds from the hotel in a shopping Mall) 2. I wasn’t sure what clothing to take, especially as Morocco is a Muslim country: I erred on the conservative side taking mostly long sleeved tops and longer knee length shorts. You actually only need to cover up when visiting The Hassan 11 Mosque. When in the seaside town of Essaouira there is a beach with people wearing swimming costumes…it had a much more relaxed feel. If I went again I would take more of a mixture of sleeveless/sleeved tops and trousers/shorts for June travel. 3. We stopped at potteries/argon oil/herbalists etc which were very interesting but were on the expensive side, however it was hard to tell if we would see the items for sale elsewhere…. I can tell you with experience that you will. There are good shopping opportunities in the seaside place of Essaouira and back in Marrakech on the final days. I just wish I had known that!

Suggestions

Final words: if you like adventure and are not too precious about the standard of hotels (although they were always clean) then this is the holiday for you. Excellent value. My group consisted of people from Australia, Slovakia, Iceland, Barbados, USA and British, which only added to the experience. What a fabulous adventure.

The High Atlas-stunning scenery

A fast moving adventure, stunning snow capped mountains, un paralleled views and scenery. A camel trek, the Sahara at sunset and sunrise with an overnight in the desert. Tours and histories of the major cities . Be prepared for low overnight temps and hotels with out heating and only Luke warm shower temperatures, and a small bus. Overall an excellent trip. A lovely country with friendly and hospitable people.

Highlights of Morocco

A great way to see a lot of Morocco and the variety of the ever-changing landscapes. Great group, great guide. Although we didn’t get the hot weather one would normally expect, we didn’t get rained on, but we did have snow!

Most Inspirational Moment

Visiting the roman ruins at Volubilis and watching the sunset and sunrise in the Sahara Desert. The hammam was an experience you should not miss. The architecture in the palaces is breathtaking. The scenery even more so. The trek in the High Atlas was fun.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Essaid was one of the best guides I have experienced. He was great fun, full of knowledge, loved his country and became part of the group.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If going in the winter months take more warm clothes than suggested. Had we known how cold it was going to be in the mornings, evenings and night we would have taken more than a fleece, hat and gloves. Not all the hotels have hairdryers or sink plugs. If your trip is fully booked, be prepared for a cramped minibus.

Suggestions

This is a great trip and really good value for money. Eating out is really cheap and you won't come back hungry. The food was delicious.

Excellent itinerary packed with history

The itinerary for this was well designed and provided a comprehensive experience of Morocco, its various regions and people. I learned a lot. Our guide was great and we also had local guides when visiting different regions which provided for more in depth history lessons. The people of Morocco were kind and welcoming. I would highly recommend this trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

Loved visiting the Berber villages and staying in remote areas and learning more about the Berbers and Nomads.

Thoughts on Group Leader

I can tell that our leader loves his job. He was always prepared, provided us with all the information we needed to be safe and enjoy ourselves and multi tasked often to ensure our needs were met. He was kind, warm and very knowledgeable.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Set your expectations correctly. You may not always get to take long showers (extended drought) or have diverse options for food. But you won’t go hungry.

Excellent Adventure

Like most Exodus trips this is fast paced and is an adventure rather than a holiday. We covered a lot of miles but it was worth it for the diversity of experiences and the chance to see so much of the wonderful country of Morocco.

Most Inspirational Moment

Being in the village in the high atlas was amazing. Walking in, staying in the beautiful Kasbah Oliver, waking to the sound of the call to prayer echoing down the valley, trekking up the valley with the sound of running water and local people with their mules passing us and going about their daily lives, and of course the hammam experience were all unforgettable.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Alli was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always available and checking that everyone was fine. He told us so much about Moroccan history and culture and he was such fun too. A wonderful ambassador for his country.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for short turn arounds and early starts (though not every day). Particularly after the overnight in the desert camp.

Mighty Morocco

This is an excellent trip for anyone wishing to experience a wide variety of aspects of Morocco. The tour content is well thought out with a good balance between city, rural, desert and coastal destinations. Each new place provided a fresh adventure with helpful, interesting guides for the main sites. We were particularly fortunate to be part of a small group- just nine of us. This meant we had room to spread out in the bus which made the journeys more comfortable.
Overall, this trip is very good value for money.

Most Inspirational Moment

It really is hard to pick just one! If pressed, I would have to say the time spent in the desert dunes, riding a camel and then climbing to the highest point for sunset was magical. The sunrise in the dunes was also beautiful with the added bonus of a spectacular planetary alignment just before dawn. We were also lucky enough to be out in the desert for a total lunar eclipse which was very special.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Essaid was an excellent guide. He was always attentive and well organised, a kind and gentle host, rightly proud of his country and culture. He was curious to try some yoga and at Kasbah Oliver I introduced him to some sun salutations o the roof terrace at dawn. That was a lovely moment.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Embrace everything! This is described as a leisurely holiday but you will be kept busy. Consider the heat and your tolerance to it. It was in to the mid 30s for most of our time in mid May which we found fairly comfortable as it is dry and not humid but I would find it hard later in the summer. Don’t expect to pay by card in many of the restaurants, you will need a fair amount of cash. I wish that I had taken earplugs as the cities were noisy - Moroccans like their motorbikes and spend half the night revving them up! Rural locations and Essaouira are much quieter. If you like using a walking pole it can be handy in he High Atlas, but this is not essential. Definitely try the public hammam as it supports a good cause and it is hilarious! In Marrakesh, the Jardin Majorelle is worth visiting but book for as early as possible as it gets very busy. I would recommend visiting the Jardin Secret as well which is quieter and really beautiful too.

Suggestions

As we flew from Manchester, we had extra time in Marrakesh either side of the trip. Thanks to fairly last minute EasyJet cancellations, we actually arrived two days in advance which meant that we got to know Marrakesh quite well. As a result, I feel we got more out of Marrakesh .

Wonderful Trip

We were one of the lucky first groups able to travel post-Covid lockdown, and what a way to re-start travel! The trip was excellent with a fantastic mixture of cities, culture, landscape and activities.

Morocco is a very diverse country, with so much to see and experience. I found the people friendly and welcoming, and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Our guide, Fouad, was outstanding, as was our driver Mo-Mo, and both took such good care of our group from start to finish.

There were too many great experiences to mention them all, but the walking tours through Rabat, Fez and Meknes were all awesome – all of the local guides were so enthusiastic to share their country and knowledge with us and we were very lucky to get to experience it with them.

Most Inspirational Moment

Sleeping under the stars in the Sahara was a dream come true. We were lucky to have perfect clear skies and the Milky Way was incredibly bright and clear. Waking up early to take an optional morning camel trek out to the dunes to watch the sunrise (having already camel trekked for the sunset the previous day) and seeing the sand change colours as the light changed.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Fouad was absolutely outstanding. He went out of his way to make sure everyone got the most out of their trip and was constantly organising added little extras (tea and cake at a local home in the Atlas Mountains; local live music demonstration on the edge of the desert; organising for specific shops to open early so a few more last-minute souvenirs could be purchased). He was super organised and never once lost his smile and humour. He took great care of everyone, especially when a few of our group member suffered from dodgy stomachs, and made sure everyone had access to pharmacies and extra stops whenever necessary. He was truly like family by the end of the trip. Likewise, our diver Mo-Mo was such a lovely gentleman, always ready with a smile and a helping hand. He took incredible care of us in the bus and made us all feel very safe whilst on the roads.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Embrace the culture and the experiences and go with the right attitude to try everything (ride the camel, climb that sand dune, try the tagine, explore the souks). Do not go expecting 5* western accommodation, facilities or food - it is not that kind of holiday. Be prepared that, although the trip is rated "leisurely", it is not a relaxing, slow-paced trip. The holiday is pretty full on for the whole two weeks to ensure that you get the absolute most out of it and it is completely worth it.

Suggestions

Make sure you leave room in your suitcase for souvenirs - beautiful leather goods from the tanneries in Fez; art and silver jewellery in Essaouira; pottery in Meknes.

Wonderful Trip

If you’re looking for an interesting and informative trip, where every day is different, then this one’s for you. The choice of accommodation was very good and definitely enhanced the group’s overall experience. Living out of a suitcase isn’t everyone’s idea of fun but is necessary in order to visit the wide variety of sites across a large area. I’d recommend this trip to anyone wanting a moderately priced holiday in a culturally diverse country which is relatively close to the UK. Thank you, Exodus.

Most Inspirational Moment

Nothing stood out as being particularly inspirational but everything was enjoyable. The camel trips were fun.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Both group leader Hamid and driver Reduan were excellent at their respective jobs, and very good company.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Just look forward to the enjoyment of having everything organised for you.

What an awesome trip!

My first Exodus trip and what a cracker; diverse, interesting, informative and full of new and exciting experiences and activities and Adil the tour guide was outstanding.

The itinerary is full of interesting stops, numerous extras were added in and adding in multiple extras like hiking in the early morning out to the dunes to enjoy the sunrise, climbing mini mountains and outcrops at Riad Oliver this was a packed trip and just the way I wanted my first experience from Exodus to go.

I’m surprised at the cost to what actually was included and the amount of time away, flights and activities.

The company was excellent and I quickly bonded and gelled and look forward to my next trip.

Well done Exodus!

Most Inspirational Moment

Sunrise in the Sahara atop a dune with Louise

Thoughts on Group Leader

Adil is fun, helpful and informative and goes that extra mile, you can't go wrong with him. He even arranged a birthday cake as my birthday occured whilst in Fez

Advice for Potential Travellers

Don't pack too many clothes, plenty of chances to launder and quickly dry. Take the opportunity to do extra yourself, get up early to go around Rabat in the early morning before the sun rises and go along the front to the Kasbah. Get up early and do as many sunrises as you can in the Sahara and Skoura. Get a roof terrace to watch the sun go down in Marrakech. Go for the hammam, its different! Be open to new experiences.