Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

MEXICO is great !!!!

My 3rd trip with Exodus and they just keep om getting better !! The itinerary was really diversified and days were all extremely interesting. May was a great time to travel as we missed the rainy spell. Highly recommended!!

Most Inspirational Moment

Quite a few: Archeological sites, cooking course, BIG TREE visit (extra stop bonus), canyon trip, Concote SWIM in sink hole (another extra stop bonus).

Thoughts on Group Leader

HIGH PRAISE & THANKS!!! Artero was an absolutely fantastic Tour Leader, passionate about his work and devoted to well being and care of his group. Went the extra mile on more than one occasion. Miguel, the Driver, always kind and cautious!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take 100 dollar US Notes. You get better FX rate at the exchanges

Suggestions

Saving for the next trip !!

Mexico: Mayans, Aztecs and Conquistadores

This was a very comprehensive tour from Mexico City to the Yucatan Peninsular visiting many amazing archaeological sites, colonial cities, markets, churches and seeing different local products being made. It also gave us the opportunity to sample a wide range of different Mexican foods including a lesson on how to prepare, cook and present a typical Mexican meal. Also interesting to see the varied wildlife and often stunning scenery.

Most Inspirational Moment

As always very difficult to highlight just one inspirational moment in such a varied trip but the optional visit to the Sumidero Canyon which also included a visit to the Mayan community of San Juan Chamula, particularly witnessing some of the pre hispanic ritual in the church.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Arturo was excellent in every way. His knowledge of his country, which he obviously loved, was phenomenal and he was always cheerful, enthusiastic and always showed great concern for the welfare of all the group. A first class tour leader!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for long days and some early starts as distances are generally quite large or in the case of some of the mountain roads, quite slow. The trip notes do make this quite clear. I would strongly recommend the optional excursion to the Sumidero Canyon and visit to the local Mayan communities.

Suggestions

Accomodation was generally very good in terms of location and character with some delightful colonial establishments. Although the trip is classified as "Leisurely" and it is entirely optional to climb the pyramids at the pre Hispanic sites, with the early starts, long days and with some of the places visited at medium altitude, I would think the classification should be "Leisurely/Moderate" as the tour is certainly"Full on". Again, this is outlined in the trip notes in which case I would question the "Leisurely" classification. I would also recommend may be extending the trip by staying 2 nights in Campeche rather than just 1 night. Campeche is an interesting city with a calm atmoshere and would give some relaxation after the long drive the day before from Palenque

Mexico tour

The title of this tour describes the itinerary. We explored archaeological sites galore, toured historical city centers, visited local artisans, and ate lots of Mexican (and some Mayan) food. The hotels were all comfortable, and the baños mostly had toilet paper and soap. We had opportunities to swim and to visit a cenote.

Most Inspirational Moment

Walking into the church at San Juan Chamula with its thousands of candles ablaze.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Arturo was our professor, our concierge, our maitre d'hotel, our friend. It was a pleasure to explore Mexico with him as our guide. He's the best.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The first week of the trip is spent in areas at relatively higher altitude, so the weather was cooler than I expected. With the second week, we hit warm weather. I found my walking sticks helpful for climbing the pyramids at the archaeological sites. Comfortable shoes, of course, are also important.

Good introduction to Mexico

Good introduction to Mexico , combining culture, history and scenery.

Most Inspirational Moment

Mayan sites

Thoughts on Group Leader

Arturo was, quite simply, excellent. He has immense empathy, knowledge, good humour and patience. His command of English, including technical archaeological and geological terms, was outstanding. He also looked after me very, very well when I had a slight altercation with a park bench!

Suggestions

I would have liked to have had more opportunities for sampling street food and maybe a free day in Oaxaca.

Super trip exceeding expectations

Saw so much of Mexico including Day of the Dead Festival. Lots of fantastic scenery, culture and history not to mention food and art.

Be prepared for some long days and windy, mountain roads.

Most Inspirational Moment

Loved swimming in cenotes which was added to the tour as well as Frida Kahlo house and the Mayan sites.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our guide Arthuro couldn’t do enough for the group and had extensive and humour!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Booked group flight via Washington and on reflection should have booked my own flight either direct or via non US hub. Transfer queues were worse part of holiday!

So much to see!

Our first Exodus trip, and first time in Mexico. Hugely enjoyed the experience, and saw so much more than we could have managed under our own steam. Nice mixture of ancient sites, colonial history and Mexico today.

Most Inspirational Moment

Turning around at the top of the pyramid in Cholula to see the sun set behind Popacatepetl - magical!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Arturo was an excellent, knowledgeable and careful guide, who made the whole trip very special.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Keep a daily diary - you see SO much, it is easy to mix up your memories!

Suggestions

I'm looking forward to my next Exodus trip!

Mexico: Mayas, Aztecs & Conquistadores

This is an epic journey through Mexico to see the ancient sites and to get a flavour of the country, its beautiful colours, its friendly people and its delicious food. Although we spent a lot of time on the road between locations (and some were very windy through the Sierra Madre mountains) we always made stops along the way to visit places of interest, have lunch and plenty of stops for the banjos!

Most Inspirational Moment

Frida Kahlo's house was somewhere I had looked forward to visiting, and it didn't disappoint. I also loved all the ancient sites, but Palenque was my favourite, due to its setting. Our cooking class in Oaxaca was excellent, ending in a 6 course lunch of all the food we had chosen and helped to prepare. The optional boat trip in the Sumidero Canyon is a must - we had gone early and that meant we were virtually on our own for the outward journey and for stopping to look at the wildlife. Some of the hotels we stayed in were exceptional but sadly at those for only one night. Likewise the restaurants our guide took us to were excellent. The final treat of my holiday was a swim at the cenote (sink hole) on the last morning. Was extremely refreshing on a very hot day and I would definitely recommend it.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Arturo was a fantastic tour guide. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he looked after us so well and thought of absolutely everything and always had with him anything we might need, from extra water, to suncream, to anti-mosquito repellent to travel sickness pills ahead of what he knew would be a very windy route, for which I was most grateful! He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of everywhere we went; he would always dine with us (apart from a well-deserved couple of nights off) and he was very outgoing and had a great sense of humour.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Just be prepared for long journeys and for it being chilly some mornings in the high locations before the sun comes up. Take most or all of your money in Mexican pesos. I had too many dollars and was having to change them, which was sometimes a very lengthy process. Some of the smarter restaurants/hotels did accept credit cards.

Suggestions

I would suggest to Exodus that they extend the trip to either a 2.5 or 3 week holiday so that you could really enjoy the best hotels/locations and make it a more relaxing holiday. Then setting off VERY early in the morning when heading for the next location would be ideal so that you got to the next destination in daylight and before sunset.

Mexico: Myans, Aztecs & Conquistadors

An excellent experience. We saw so many Mayan sites, and learned a lot about Mexico’s history in general.

Most Inspirational Moment

The experience of seeing some of the ancient sites, even from as far back as 200-500 years BC. I thoroughly enjoyed roaming around, and climbing up these pyramids.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Arturo was a very good leader. He knew so much about his local history, and passed on his knowledge with humour and a great sense of pride.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for mosquitoes. Although it wasn't Malaria season, I still got bitten. Take a good repellent with you.

Suggestions

No