Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

An inspiring trip

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Greece . The ancient sites were interesting and brought to life by the almost forgotten stories from Greek Mythology. The museums were excellent and complemented these sites. It was not just Ancient Greece as Mystras and Meteora were amazing too especially with their locations . We drove through some beautiful countryside and alongside the blue, blue sea. A well balanced trip

Most Inspirational Moment

There were so many highlights but I think of all the places we visited probably Olympia was the most inspirational All those athletes in ancient Greece, many of whom travelled long distances , gathering together to compete

Thoughts on Group Leader

Eva was great. She was very friendly, very helpful and extremely knowledgeable She had an amazing way of bringing the places we visited to life with her tales of the ancient gods, goddesses and heroes , So much fun to have roles to play.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Make sure you add on a day or two extra in Athens either at the start or end of the trip

Suggestions

In general the pace of the trip was good but we wondered if there was someway of including Meteora without having the long drive back to Athens on the last day

Ancient Greece brought to life

We had a fantastic time visiting the ancient Greek sites. It really brought to life all the stories that I’d read about the ancient civilisations.

Most Inspirational Moment

As a runner, visiting Olympia the home of the Olympic Games was special for me, particularly as I was able to run the length of the ancient stadium. Delphi was also spectacular with it’s site on the side of a steep hill.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Eva was amazing. She was really friendly and presented information on the different sites in an interesting and engaging manner.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for quite a bit of travelling on the minibus, particularly on the last three days.

Delightful trip

Great trip if you’re interested in Greek history. Sites visited cater well for visitors and museums are well set out. Countryside and scenery is lovely. Besides last day driving time each day not too long. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. Nice pace to each day.

Most Inspirational Moment

Delphi and Meteora were pretty spectacular. Really enjoyed olive oil centre as an optional add on

Thoughts on Group Leader

Enthusiastic, well organised, very knowledgeable, very helpful when I needed medical help

Advice for Potential Travellers

All the ancient sites are on hills and uneven surfaces so if you have any knee/hip issues consider taking walking poles. If taking the return flight in evening of last day beware there are no tubes that late at night on a Sunday. Could only get to Paddington !!!!!!!!!! and no further. If making own way to joining hotel Metro is cheap and takes about 30 mins. Hotel is only a 5 minute walk away from station but good idea to have a map to hand as Google maps was not firing up.

Suggestions

Would consider adding an extra day to itinerary as last day is a loooong drive and evening flight proved problematic for onwards travel using public transport. Or advise clients in tripnotes that an extra night in Athens could be a good option.

Greece is the Word

What a trip! Having previously only visited a couple of Greek islands, this trip truly opened my eyes to the myriad wonders of mainland Greece. A real whistle-stop tour of the country, spanning beautiful coastline and mountains. Maria, our tour guide, was enthusiastic, kind, passionate, knowledgeable and accommodating. Her content and delivery was interesting, and was positively remarked upon by the whole group. There is seemingly nothing she doesn’t know about Ancient Greece! A brilliant, potted history of some of the most iconic and important sites around Greece.

For those who love history, architecture, good food and wine (and nice hot weather!), this trip is definitely for you.

Most Inspirational Moment

The mountain monasteries at Meteora, and Delphi, were truly awe-inspiring. Amazing to be able to get up close and personal to so many ancient sites and relics. Athens is a great city - fun, varied and interesting.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Maria was fantastic - a real asset to this tour.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take plenty of sunscreen, a hat, and comfortable shoes. A reusable water bottle is a must - there are taps around numerous sites to fill it up, too.

Sun, sea and monuments

This tour was a comprehensive introduction to some of the sites of ancient Greece, but also included Mystras, a Byzantine town and Meteora, a spectacular landscape with monasteries perched on top of huge rocks. I would personally have benefitted more from what I saw if I’d read up some information in advance. Lida, the guide was excellent, and she gave a lot of useful information about the sites and the mythology and history behind the sites and the history and mythology about them. The hotels were generally good quality though the Rex Hotel in Naufplio was a little tired decor wise. The Nidimos hotel in Delphi village had the best views! There was plenty to eat, of variable quality. The restaurant for the evening meal in Pylos was not very good; the booked group table was given to others, service was glacially slow and the food uninspiring.

Most Inspirational Moment

Highlights were: The unexpected sites of Mystras, ancient Messene and Meteora. The small towns of Pylos and Naufplio The ferry ride from Patras back to the mainland

Thoughts on Group Leader

Lida was an excellent group leader, sociable, friendly and always ready to answer questions. She looked after the group very well and was very helpful. Grigoris the driver was also excellent, and drove the minibus smoothly and safely.

Advice for Potential Travellers

There was not a great deal of 'free time'; one afternoon in Olympia was free of any activity. We often seemed to arrive late afternoon/early evening. The last day from Meteora to Athens airport was very long, though there were stops. It is a very 'packed' tour with much to see; it was hard to take in all the information about the places visited. So maybe read up ia little n advance! It is not strictly speaking an archeological tour; the tour leader was not an expert (this is not a criticism).

A thorough and enjoyable tour

Overall we would recommend this trip to anyone fit enough for the walking and ascending and descending involved. Someone who wants a basic tour with plenty of information, but not an academic tour, will enjoy this tour. The hotels were fine, and evening meals in pre-planned restaurants generally okay, though some people opted out from time to time. We felt the tour lived up to expected Exodus standards.

Most Inspirational Moment

In their own and separate ways, all of the sites we visited were extremely interesting.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Lida was excellent all round, well-prepared and enthusiastic about her subject. Gregorius was a good driver and we never felt unsafe with him.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Make sure you have stout and comfortable footwear.

Suggestions

We (and others) felt that the driving involved in the last visit to Meteora and back to Athens was too long a round trip including an overnight stop. While the Meteora monastery that we visited was a very interesting site, we only spent about an hour there. It is quite separate from the archaeology of the rest of the tour around ancient Greece. We would have preferred a shorter overall tour or more time spent at other sites. We were offered three optional activities - a boat trip, wine visit and olive oil visit (the latter two with lunch). We cannot see how the early evening boat trip (cancelled for lack of support) could have been fitted in, since we had no time between arrival and dinner. The others took a long time out of the middle of the day, with less than half the group participating. Dropping these and having more time at the main sites and a shorter lunch would be better. These are the sort of activities you expect on an ordinary package holiday, not a specialised tour. Overall we felt that taverna lunches were slow, rather too heavy, and took a lot of time out of the centre of the day, when we would have preferred to use the time on the site visits. The restaurant used for the evening meal at Nafplio had a poor choice of food and was expensive compared to others.

A good leader makes or breaks a great trip

We loved experiencing all the Classical sites on this tour of Greece. As others have mentioned, an extra night in Pylos would have been welcome, plus a visit to Nestor’s palace. We would also have loved to have seen the whole of the Delphi site. What made the whole group experience such a delight was our guide, Stefania. With a background in archaeology and art history, she brought the whole thing to life, as well as handling all the practical details so effectively. The driver was great too. Hotels and restaurants variable, as you would expect across a range of places, but overall good with friendly people. A thoroughly enjoyable trip with many Classical highlights to enjoy.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent. Stefania is a great asset: highly skilled, cheerful and a thoroughly professional guide.

Eva the best guide to Greek History

I enjoyed the entire trip. Eva, the group leader was knowledgeable, friendly, and a wonderful story teller. The group was a good size. The people in the group where fantastic. I met so many nice people. Many of group had been on other Exodus trips and they shared their experiences and suggested new adventures for me. I would like the tour to have been one day longer to see Mt Olympus and a more leisurely drive back to Athens. Overall the trip was great.

Most Inspirational Moment

Standing in Delphi. The view was breathtaking and there was a sense of awe at being in a place that was sacred for the people that lived here so long ago.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Eva was the best. I enjoyed everyday. She told great stories of Greek history. She involved everyone in the group. She set up some optional group dinners every evening. Every experience was wonderful.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Try everything, especially the food. Stand by yourself in the Greek ruins and imagine what life was like thousands of years ago. Go slow through the museums, there are so many wonderful art works.

Suggestions

I would love to take another tour of another place with everyone from my group. Everyone was wonderful and Eva was the most you could hope for in a tour guide.

Live at the Apollo

According to the group, the trip exceeded all expectations. The terrain was more difficult than expected, but this was due to the age of the heritage sights. Take walking poles just in case. The tour leader was excellent at reminding us to watch our step. Accommodation was better than expected, including a sea view in beautiful Pylos. We all wish we could’ve stayed in Pylos for an extra night. Personal highlight: Incredible experience being able to run on the track at Olympia and to stand next to the temple of Zeus.

Outstanding

A simply outstanding trip. Our guide Eva was informative, friendly and helpful. A lovely small group of people made the trip very friendly and low key. All the sites we visited were just amazing. Lovely hotels, fabulous sights and sounds and awe inspiring insights into living history. Stunning.

Most Inspirational Moment

Walking through the corridor onto the stadium at ancient Olympia; seeing the oracle at Delphi; the Corinth canal; the theatre at Epidavros; climbing up to the Acropolis. Honestly - too many to choose !

Thoughts on Group Leader

Fabulous. Eva was wonderful.

Advice for Potential Travellers

It’s very uneven underfoot at times - you definitely need proper walking shoes/sandals. In September it was still very hot so make sure you have a refillable water bottle. Be prepared for some days to be more strenuous than others

Suggestions

A day ‘off’ mid week would be welcome - maybe at Pylos or Nafplio where you could enjoy the seaside?