Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Review Centre
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Good description

The week is a mixture of activities, snowshoeing, dog sledding, reindeer’s and forest skiing through the amazing arctic wilderness. You stay in a chalet and eat and have talks in a main building. The hosts are all amazing as is the food.

Most Inspirational Moment

The dog sledding was fantastic but we loved everything

Thoughts on Group Leader

Sami, he was great, but we also had Lars and son Johann because Sami was not well enough to do all the activities Add

Advice for Potential Travellers

Add powerbanks to the kit list to use on the overnight stay at the lodge. Take thermal/ woollen mittens NOT gloves

Suggestions

It is a truly amazing week, loads of variety. The activities off site with Henrik and Anna are brilliant too. The food is exceptional and you are really well looked after. Can’t fault it.

Amazing Week

What a fantastic week , full of excitement and plenty of adventure . The Northern lights came out within a couple of hours of us arriving and our trip was off to an amazing start. We had great fun out snow shoeing , this place is hard to describe you are on an island , surrounded by trees and snow . It’s is so peaceful there was nobody else here but the group and the air is so clean and dry. The reindeer ride to the Sami house went on for over an hour each way , and we gained lots of insight into the lives of the Sami people . The dog sledding was truly amazing and we were out for a few hours without meeting anyone, cutting across lakes of fresh snow. Finally the forest ski trip and an overnight stay to sleep in the forest hut was a true delight -30 with a couple of log burners to keep us warm and cutting the ice to access water from the lake , miles away from anywhere. Lars had non stop information on the wildlife and the local area , each night we had an interesting talk on a different predator – bear, wolverine etc

Most Inspirational Moment

It would be difficult to say one in particular, but seeing the smoke rising above the trees where the hut was located after we had e been travelling on forest skis all day in -30 is right up there.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Lars was great , lots of laughs and interesting information for everyone.

Advice for Potential Travellers

This is an excellent trip and I have previously done the snow shoeing in Oulanka , but it was definitely a unique adventure not to be missed , and this felt like you were so far away from everything and totally calm.

Adventures in the snow

What a fantastic trip, we arrived and saw the aurora on the first night. The rest of the trip never failed to disappoint. It was an amazing group, a fabulous mix of activity, combined with a great landscape and the stunning northern lights. The mix of activities kept us busy, exhilarated us, created some laughs and kept the fun going. We had done none before but enjoyed every moment, some challenged us but we quickly learnt a fall in the snow was like being in cotton wool! This was our first ‘snow’ or ‘cold’ trip and we’d encourage anyone to take the plunge!

Absolutely amazing

This really was the adventure to beat all adventures, so many amazing sights and experiences. The accommodation was very comfortable, the food fantastic and the activities were stunning. The river and forest scenery as well as the sunrises and sunsets were incredible.

Most Inspirational Moment

Where do I start? The beauty of the area, the quiet, the clean air, the activities, but I think that the awe of experiencing the Northern Lights would take some beating. We truly were in the wilderness with no light pollution to obscure the views, and we could stand outside the cabins and have a 360 degree vista of the sky in unobscured darkness with the Northern Lights dancing across the sky, backlit by a clear array of moon and stars. Then during the day immersing ourselves in the depths of the snow laden forest, crossing frozen rivers, tracking through Narnia like environs, and coming back to base in the evening to warm cabins, a sauna, good company and faultless food.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Lars had the gift of keeping us entertained, but at the same time sharing with us his great love of this part of the World. During the day he guided us with great friendliness, humour and expertise through the activities, and in the evenings before dinner presented a talk with slides on some of the wildlife of the area. We were kept informed about what was happening all the time, and he provided us with all the equipment that we would need to make the most of our experience for the week. Lars regularly shared with us something of the history, the culture and the life of this region, and this was done in a very informed chatty way, sometimes over the open fire, sometimes while we were walking along a track. I certainly finished the week feeling that not only had I gained a wealth of food memories, I also learnt a lot, and perhaps without realising it.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The trip notes provide all the information that you will need. I took an extra set of base layers because they don't take up much room and provided me with extra flexibility when wrapping up in the evenings. A head torch with a strong beam would be useful as we were with the Huskies as night fell and a directional beam would have been of more benefit that just a glow.

Suggestions

This really for me is the trip to go on to experience the arctic environment. I am a bit of a sponge soaking up culture, and so the time with the Sami family and their reindeer and huskies was so interesting. Experiencing their lifestyle even for a day or two and hearing their story really places things into perspective. This is an environment like no other that I have experienced and have valued every day of the trip.

Fantastic Experience!

If you’re considering this trip, just book it, you will NOT be disappointed!! The trip was fantastic from start to end, I did not want to come home. The activities laid on by Exodus were fantastic, everyone was so nice and there was always a relaxed / welcoming atmosphere. I personally loved the husky and reindeer days. They exceeded my expectations and had the added bonus of learning a little about these beautiful animals. During our week the weather was in our favour and our group were very lucky to experience the Aurora on four nights. It was an amazing experience and something I will never forget. Our guide Lars was fantastic, very welcoming and knowledgeable. The scenery was stunning, hard to describe, go and experience it for yourself 🙂

Absolutely Amazing!!!

This was my favorite trip among the dozens of trips I have taken with various tour companies. Our host Lars was amazing – he deeply cares about the environment and is extremely knowledgeable about nature and history and full of patience for those of us that aren’t as skilled as others on forest skis or snowshoes. Coming from a warm climate, I was a tad concerned about getting cold but the winter clothes they provided kept me nice and warm even when it got down to -30C (admittedly I did wear 2 levels of thermals underneath). The accommodations were delightful – cozy cabins, great food, toasty sauna. The beauty of this area is hard to describe – one of my fellow group members said it reminded her of Narnia, which seems about right. The air was so clean. The vibe was always so calm. I came home feeling so rested while also knowing I got my share of exercise. For me, the exercise level was perfect. I am not at my fittest but the level of intensity on this trip was perfect for me. I definitely earned my dessert calories.

Most Inspirational Moment

When we got to the cabin on our forest ski expedition and we went down to the river to break the ice to get water for the sauna. We worked as a team to make a nice toasty sauna to warm our bodies to the core. It was teamwork followed by a great dinner in the cabin once we warmed that up with our fires.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group had a running joke about wanting to be adopted by Lars (one of his son's is also a guide) to be able to explore with him year-round and learn from him. I think that alone says a lot.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Don't worry about needing to bring too many cold weather clothes - bring your thermals and your base layers and Lars and his family will provide the rest.