Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Best Trip of my Life!

I booked The Inca Trail with extensions to the Amazon and Lake Titicaca, my only regret, not having done it sooner in my life!

Most Inspirational Moment

Everything... the scenery and the expert guides for all our experiences.

Thoughts on Group Leader

We had a group leader for each part of the trip, they were absolutely excellent.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Whilst this seems expensive, I would say it is worth it. I travelled alone and as I don't speak Spanish, I just wanted a company to take care of everything and ensure I was safe throughout. It was really worth investing in this and worthwhile choosing an ethical company.

Suggestions

We hadn't even finished the Inca Trail trek and I would have started all over again. I loved every minute of it, from the tougher and challenging moments to the joy, banter and camaraderie of joining the groups along the way. An unforgettable experience of a lifetime.

Trip of a lifetime

I have wanted to do The Inca Trail for about 20 years. I finally took the jump and couldn’t have been happier with my experience. Not only was it a great person accomplishment but it was made to be a very comfortable and fulfill trip by everyone involved before at home and in Peru. Firstly I had a delayed flight between Bogota and Lima, this resulted in me missing the final leg of my journey. I made contact via email while sat on a plane and the staff at home were exceptional, had me on a new flight instantly and rearranged my transfer to the hotel. The city of Cuzco, the country of Peru, I loved it all. The porters on the trek were amazing. The chef was a genius. The camp sites exceptional. The group leader, Julio, full of knowledge. Exodus and everyone associated with my trip have my eternal gratitude

Most Inspirational Moment

Reaching the top of Warmiwanuska. You'll hear and read about the difficulties of Day 2 and it is no joke. Reaching the highest point of the trail and I really thought "I have done the hardest part" it was a physical and emotional relief

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our tour guide was Julio. He was honestly incredible. He had incredible knowledge and was very passionate about what he does. I travelled alone and he ensured I was part of the group but also allowed me free time when I sought it. He assisted with information before before and after the trek when in and around Cusco. He really displayed great knowledge on the trail and also at Machu Picchu

Advice for Potential Travellers

Tale snacks. Drinks lots of water. Have FUN

Inca trail with Amazon Jungle trip extension....

This is definitely a bucket list trip which has you constantly on the go from start to finish. You will not be disappointed but be prepared to feel exhausted at the end of your travels. I have been away with Exodus many times in the past and have always had positive experiences with them. There were a couple of minor hiccups on this trip, hence I have marked down one star. However, with such a complicated trip to book, it was inevitable this may happen.

Most Inspirational Moment

The guides are so passionate about their culture and history and are keen to expand in their knowledge about the Incas. They answer every question, are kind and patient, and take time to find nice locations to eat when not on the trail. The porters were magnificent, although they couldn't speak much English, were always happy to greet you in the mornings with a hot cup of tea and give you a cheer at the end of each day on the trail. The jungle guides were equaly passionate about their jobs and went to all lengths to ensure we saw as much wildlife as possible as well as talking bout the different plants and insects f the jungle. The optional excursion to the Sacred Valley is really worth it, it lasts the whole day and you will visit various sites with your own personal guide.

Thoughts on Group Leader

The Inca Trail leader Julio was fantastic and so professional from start to finish. Very knowledgable and was always there throughout the whole trip. I had various guides in the jungle and all of them were equaly as good as each other as well as the guide for the Sacred Valley.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared to be taking a lot of flights, especially if you have the jungle extension as well, there is also a 3-hour boat ride into the jungle. The transfer times are tight so be aware of this at check in. You will probably get affected by the altitude on arrival into Cuzco and possibly throughout the trip, but you will gradually get used to it. It was colder in Cuzco and the mountains than expected so be prepared for this (bring hat, gloves and warm sleeping bag. It was also very wet so waterproofs are essential but there is opportunities to purchase a cheap poncho. The jungle is very hot, but bring long sleaved tops and long trousers as you will get eaten alive by mosquitos.

Suggestions

I found communication slower than normal with Exodus while booking this trip. It may have been because it was just after the pandemic and they were out of practice with new staff. I also had to pay for my hold luggage on the way out to Columbia at the airport which cost an unexpected £135, apparently it is a bit of a scam that is common on South American flights. I contacted Exodus by email and explained to my guide Julio on arrival and the full amount was refunded within 3 days, so big thumbs up to Exodus again, this is why I choose to travel with them as nothing is ever any trouble.

Brilliant Trip

I booked this trip for myself and my daughters (22 and 19). We all thoroughly enjoyed it, mostly due to the brilliant organisation of the entire trip. The food on the trek was simply amazing and a big treat at each stop, we were all simply amazed at how such delicious the meals were, created out of a tent on a camping stove which had been carried 30 miles and up and over 4,200 metres ! A great big thank you to the chef and sous-chef for your outstanding work ! Our tour guides, Edwind and Antony were fantastic. They were not only professional to the core, but really lovely to be with, they looked after each and every one of us in the group so well (there were 13) and we had such a nice time with them. The trek itself was spectacular. We found the second day going over the ‘dead woman’s pass’ really hard, but there was a great sense of achievement as whole team made it, and the next two days were much easier and the scenery sensational; of course the prize was seeing Machu Picchu at the end. Well done Edwind, Antony, Modesto, Valentin, Luis Huayta and each and every porter who looked after us. You were all simply amazing and we will never forget the memories you have given us. A huge thanks to all of you. I’d highly recommend this trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

Going through the Sun-Gate and seeing Machu Picchu.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Edwind was professional and nothing was too much trouble. He looked after us all extremely well from the moment we landed to the moment we left. Edwind is a credit to Exodus in every way.

A little tougher than moderate but spectacular!

A wonderful trip that shows you many of the Inca sights before you take those last few emotional steps towards the sun gate and see Machu Picchu sitting below you.

I’m so glad I took this option rather than the easy train day trip to MP as it was personally rewarding, challenging and incredibly memorable.

It was a little tougher than I expected but completely doable – I walked away having seen mountains like never before, been amazed at the strength and ease at which porters scale the mountains, dined on 3 course meals, slept above the clouds, felt like I could touch the stars enjoyed the company of wonderful fellow trekkers and met a passionate tour guide (Roul) who helped pull it all together.

Feels like a dream already just a week after the event, but I totally recommend it!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Roul was great. He was organised, kept us motivated and focussed and ensured we had a wonderful time!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Go light on clothes and your daypack. Minimise everything but layers are so important especially on that 3rd night. Don’t carry too many snacks as you will be fed so well they are rarely needed - I have mine to the porters!

Beyond my expectations

This was a really happy accident. I had wanted to do the Inca Trail, but I booked my trip too late and Exodus put me on the Moonstone Trek instead, which was a ridiculously good piece of fortune.
As it turned out I was the only person on the trek – I felt ridiculously pampered. I had a guide, one chef, two porters and our four pack horses.
The first day we went to the Moonstone which gives the trek it’s name before heading on to the departure site for the trek itself. While climbing up the hills we passed another tourist group coming the other way, but they would be the last tourists I would see until the end of the trek.
The scenery as incredible – not the lush forests you might see on the Inca Trail, but an incredible trek through the high pampas. We walked through little settlements where the locals offered us wheat wine (although my guide said it would probably be best not to take them up on it as it can upset your stomach if you aren’t used to it).
I joined up with the rest of the group in Aguas Calientes at the base of Machu Picchu the night before we all headed up, and I decided to get up early the next morning to get a glorious view over the lost city from the sun gate. It was well worth the early start.

Most Inspirational Moment

Reaching the top of the Accocasa Pass was brilliant and the views were absolutely incredible, while Machu Picchu is everything they say it is. However the best moment for me was camping in the hills above Ollantaytambo with a wonderful view of the nearby peaks and the river valley below the night before the Moonstone Trek ended. Something I'll never forget.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Aside from the trek and Machu Picchu our guide, Smithy, was brilliant. Always willing to help, supremely knowledgeable about the history of the area and gave us some incredible tips for eating out. Fabrizio, my guide on the Moonstone Trek, was fantastic - really knowledgeable and eager to give little insights into the rich history of the area. He was always willing to answer my annoying questions, and very good at keeping my chin up on some of the tougher sections of the trek.

Advice for Potential Travellers

While the altitude didn't cause me any sickness, I could definitely feel it while walking up the hills, especially on the second and third days of the trek. If you can spend an extra day acclimating to it in Cusco. Hiking poles will be your most valuable ally on the trek, especially on the steeper sections where you are panting out of breathe. Buy a cheap poncho in Cusco - you'll definitely need one if it rains, as there is no shelter while your out on the hike until you get into the tent for lunch and dinner. Plus, suncream and a wide brimmed hat are a must for Machu Picchu, as there is little to no shade, especially in the middle of the day.

Suggestions

Absolutely the trip of a lifetime - I'd recommend this to anybody and everybody.

Moonstone Trek

I chose to do the Moonstone Trek – a remote and quiet Inca trail reaching the dizzying heights of just under 4700 m. I was the only person doing the trek and had my own guide, chef and 2 horsemen. I thoroughly enjoyed the trek, beautiful scenery, remote small communities and Inca sites en route. My guide was very knowledgable and i learnt about about the history of the area en route. I was looked after extremely well: fantastic food and hot tea and water in the morning. I highly recommend this trek and Exodus, it is a once in a lifetime experience.

Most Inspirational Moment

Climbing Accoccasa and reaching the top to experience the view - it was breathtaking (aside from the effects of altitude i mean!) and i felt a real sense of achievement. Having a few minutes at the top gave me time to reflect and offered me a refreshed perspective. Sorry a bit deep!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Smithy was very amenable and knowledgable. He was on hand to sort out every little issue and make sure we were aware of the options for activities (outside the trek) and then organise it for us. Having someone local made a real difference to our experience as we were able to eat at amazing restaurants and experience the best of what Peru can offer.

Advice for Potential Travellers

It says in the trip notes that poles are optional - my view is that they should be deemed essential. I do not normally use poles when hiking in the UK but i took them with me and i am so glad i did. There can be difficult terrain to navigate and i experienced snow on the 3rd day which made the trail very slippery. They really helped going up hill when you are struggling to breath and your legs are like lead weights! The temperature ranges from zero to mid 20's. So bring lots of layers. Yes you need a sunhat & sunblock AND a winter coat and thermals!

Suggestions

Whilst Smithy took the rest of the group on the Inca Trail, my guide for the Moonstone Trek was Vannya. She was incredibly knowledgable and i learnt a lot from her and was an excellent guide - she made sure i was OK at all times, advising me along the way. So i felt well prepared and reassured at all times. Valentin was a fantastic chef and cooked some amazing food - the best of Peruvian cuisine and all on a small kerosene burner. The horsemen, Carlos and Enrique did a great job of getting my things to the next camp and setting up the lunch tent and the evening camp. The hot tea in the morning and hot water to wash in was very welcome. I am truly humbled to have been taken care off so amazingly well by such kind hearted, talented people.

Inca Trail

Brilliant from start to finish.
This trip excelled my expections as I have never done an Exodus trip before. I am a keen fell walker but have never seen a such diverse beautiful countryside. From river valleys to rugged mountain tops. The second day was quite steep up dead womans path but well worth it. We always got plenty of encouragement from our guides Edwind and Anthony. They were very knowledgeable about all the history and flora and fauna. But the highlight is the Sun gate and your first veiw og Macchu Pichu.

Most Inspirational Moment

Looking down from the Sun gate.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Edwind was able to help and advise us of all the trip entailed. He was a really nice guy.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Make sure you are fit.

Suggestions

The trip to the Sacred Valley is worth a visit too whilst you are acclimatising.

It was Amazing

Peru

My Peru holiday with Exodus was just amazingly fantastic. I have seen beautiful mountains before in the Alps but had not previously experienced the amazing sunsets you get on the Inca Trail or the stunning night sky. You could see the stars and milky way with absolute clarity. Nor have I descended down through Amazon cloud forest with its amazing flora and fauna. To do all that whilst walking such historic trails was mind-blowing. You feel really close to mother earth and nature. The descent through the Sun Gate to view Machu Picchu cannot be overstated as a beautiful moving experience. It is the best view of the site but what is undersold is that on this trip we arrived at the Sun Gate as Machu Picchu was closing and we had the site to ourselves. You descend through the site. I climbed the wooden steps to view the Gatekeepers Hut and it was occupied by just 3 Llamas! The next day on the formal visit there were swathes of visitors.
The porters on the trek were amazing, I have a new definition of fitness now after watching porters run past me with a 25kg backpack almost a big as themselves. After their trek they erect your tent put your stuff in it and have a bowl of hot water waiting for you and prepare your meal. Meals were all freshly made, healthy and very tasty. They really do carry fresh vegetables up the trail.
The joy of a shower and a flushing toilet after the trek is still with me!

Cusco is an amazing place to explore and just to sit and watch. Its pace can be manic, it felt like being in a Rio carnival at times. Traffic is crazy and controlled by women police officers who are fearsome and fearless. They need to be, horns toot endlessly and everybody just shoves as far as they can. Its noisy and very vibrant. The Cathedral is beautiful and the huge picture of the Last Supper where they enjoy guinea pig is interesting. I did eat guinea pig and Llama, the Llama is good, cross between steak and lamb but not keen on guinea pig. We visited Inca sites in Cusco and if you are a history buff you would be overjoyed as their is so many sites.

This holiday has completely changed my view of holidays, no more standard European Alps walking holidays. I crave history and culture experiences. I am still in a state of wonder a week after getting back.

Only downside of the holiday is the free roaming dogs, some of which have homes but are not allowed in, but some are just hungry and scavenging out of rubbish heaps. Not so much in Cusco centre but just outside. 3rd world regarding animals.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate

Thoughts on Group Leader

Group leaders were outstanding, so helpful and so patient. They helped a member of the group who was very ill prepared for the trek to complete it (despite no appreciation from the member).

Advice for Potential Travellers

Don't take the altitude sickness medicine, it made those who took it ill. They were better when they stopped taking it. Make sure you are fit enough, not a lot of oxygen for muscles up there so you need strong legs. Its not an easy trek, I am a regular high fell walker and my legs were very, very tired. You need to be fit to enjoy it not "reasonably fit" as stated. If you are not fit and suffer at altitude it will be hard as one of our group found...but she still made it!! Porters and walk leaders are angels.

Suggestions

Thank you for the best most wonderful holiday of my life.

The Inca Trail

This was my second trip with Exodus and the organisation could not have been better. I was pcked up from Cusco Airport, transferred to my hotel and introduced to the other memebers of the group. We had a day to acclimatise in Cusco and then started the Inca Trail. It was absolutely briliant. The walking was quite steady but some very steep sections. The scenery was spectacular and the night sky was equally as spectacular. We could clearly see the Southern Cross. The food at each camp was superb (How the chef managed to cook such good meals, including 1 vegetarian, on a 2 ring portable stove, beats me!.) The tour guide, Edwind, was very knowledgeable and each Inca settlement we passed, he gave us a “history lesson”. The timing of the walk to go through the Sun Gate, was exemplary, as we did so late afternoon and viewed Machu Picchu when there were hardly any tourists in the site. The views of Machu Picchu were breathtaking and it is no wonder it is one of the 7 natural wonders of the World. I would highly recmmend this walk but remember there are some steep sections, particularly the second day, so be prepared!! In short, an excellent trip well organised by Exodus and a great toour leader. Excellent value for money.

Most Inspirational Moment

Walking through the Sun Gate and looking down on Machu Picchu for the first time.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Edwind, our group leader could not have been better. Very supportive of everybody, very knowledgeable about all of the Inca site we passed, very friendly, helpful and professional. His assistant, Anthony, was also superb and equally as knowledgeable. A great team to be in charge of our group. They also spoke excellent English!!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Practice walking up some hills before you go!!!

Suggestions

The Inca Trail is a really enjoyable, pleasant walk, with stunning views around every corner. If you plan to do it, just take it steady, as nobody rushes you, and enjoy the fantastic views.