Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    alfred cronin

    PERU

    It started with my late flight into Lima,I had to find my taxi ride to the hotel amongst a lot of other signs.The car driving in Lima was crazy.Up early that same morning,onboard a coach to southern coastal Peru.It was very much like this the whole trip,but you get used to it.The tour guide Fernando was exceptional,filling in the dots of questions we had of Peruvian culture.The photos I have of Peru just does not do justice of the kind people and scenery of Peru.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had brought with us teaching supplies,oranges,dog food and good hearts to the people of the highlands,just meeting these Peruvians in their homes,it meant a lot to them,it came with a lot of tears from us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fernando was exceptional,he has a lot heart for his people and Peru.He has a lot of energy,fore planning,and utilizes time wisely.He answered all our questions on Peru,advised us on water,altitude,clothing to wear,food acceptable to eat,I could to ask more of the man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read up on Peru,is walking part of your life everyday,you will need this and more for Peru.Get your shots,get a medical screening.I say this because if you are not fairly fit,Peru is mountainous,lots of stair climbing,altitude adjustments.Pick a tour that is in your age group,is realistic to your fitness level and comfort level.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Peruvian people are very warm and open people,try learning a good bit of Spanish before you go,and get to know them more.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Angela King

    Our Peruvian Adventure

    A wonderful adventure from start to finish. Tough travelling but well, well worth it. Amazing scenery from Lima up into The Andes. An excellent trip leader and a great group of fellow travellers. Got the opportunity to meet and talk with local people and experience their culture. All in all, a very informative and exhilarating discovery of Peru. Love it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moments but I would have to put Machu Picchu at the top, closely followed by our visit to Colca Canyon with great sightings of condors.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sebastian, was first class in every way. He was a worthy representative of his country, providing us with lots of information on the history, culture and society etc of the various regions. He was, at all times, attentive to our health and needs, and his friendly nature and sense of humour made for a very happy bunch of travellers. He is a star!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    High altitude can have its effects, though we all managed to deal with it well enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marg Bjerky

    Essential Peru

    What an amazing trip! Our tour leader, Fernando, went above and beyond all through the trip! I am in awe of how much we were able to see and experience in only 2 weeks. I would recommend Exodus and Fernando to anyone looking to come to Peru! Thank for the trip of a lifetime! The Bjerky’s

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would say the giving to the needy children, dogs and schools was the most inspirational part of the trip! It was nice to give back while we were enjoying our trip and it is something we will endeavour to do more in the future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fernando was amazing. He was very good at reading the group and knowing when/how to suggest things and get everyone excited to participate! His passion for the country and history was evident throughout the trip but he did a fantastic job of not overwhelming us. He is wonderful at his job and is an asset to Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sleep before you come :) and carefully read the itinerary and be prepared before you arrive. Review the current weather for each location before you leave. Take lots of hand sanitizer and kleenex for bathroom breaks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for organizing this trip and for this amazing opportunity!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Victoria South

    Amazing Trip!

    I had always wanted to see Machu Picchu and the Nazca Lines after seeing pictures of them in an old encyclopedia when I was 16 - now, 45 years later I realized my dream - and they did not disappoint! But Peru is just so much more than these two sites - incredible though they both are, the country is an absolute masterpiece of one gem after another. The scenery is spectacular, and you get to see wildlife [llamas, alpacas, vicunas, condors and flamingos] close up in the wild. We marveled at the beauty and ingenuity of many ancient Inca sites, and the colonial cities of Cuzco and Arequipa are an absolute delight. The Peruvian people are warm and friendly, and we felt safe throughout the entire trip. If you are an adventurous eater you will love the alpaca steaks! We were also given adequate water daily - really important as you must keep well hydrated for this trip. We looked at many travel tour operators trips to Peru, but settled on Exodus because not many of them included the Nazca Lines, and those that did charged practically double - we are so pleased we went with Exodus, as we really don't know how anyone could have delivered it better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was an inspiration - just too many to mention, but I would say that as well as the obvious Machu Picchu and the Nazca Lines, the home stay on Lake Titicaca was one of the highlights - I will never forget the night sky there - it looked as if the sky had been painted by Jackson Pollock - I never knew there could be so many stars, and the Milky Way looked as though you could just pluck it out of the sky - my words really can't do it justice! Another highlight was seeing condors gliding over the Colca Canyon - about 15-16 of them put on the most spectacular show for us for a good half hour or more. I thought that if I were lucky enough to see one it would be a dot on the horizon, but these glided over our heads - and kept gliding! Very day on the coach - just seeing the spectacular scenery and passing through the villages and towns, seeing locals in their traditional costumes was inspirational!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader Sebastian was the best group leader we have ever had! He took the time to get to know and spend time with everyone in our group [there were 17 of us]. He was compassionate when people felt unwell, and stayed with them until they felt better again - I myself had experience of this at Machu Picchu. He made excellent choices and recommendations for dinner, catering to everyone's dietary needs and wishes, and also recommended visits and activities that people might want to do if they had a special interest in something - for me this was the Pisco Tasting! When people did not want to participate in some trips or activities, he recommend alternatives and accompanied them if appropriate. We always thought the group was in safe hands with him. If there is a prize for the best group leader - he should be awarded it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave room in your suitcase for souvenirs! The workmanship and detail of the colourful handicrafts are fantastic - buy these from local women on the side of the road. But for finer Alpaca knitted goods buy from specialist shops in the big cities like Cuzco and Arequipa. You really don't know how altitude sickness will affect you - just take things slowly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just that I have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending this trip! Both my husband and I think it is the best holiday we have ever had - and we have had a few!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Neil Cleverly

    Review

    The excellent mix of landscapes, history, flora and fauna made the early starts and miles on the road worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the view over Machu Picchu for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raul was good company and kept everything running smoothly. The all-in-one tour he arranged for the first day in Cusco was a great use of the available time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are times at high altitude - take it slowly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Ann Clarke

    Brilliant Adventure

    What a brilliant time we had on our recent visit to Peru. From the moment we met our guide Sebastian at Lima airport the fun started. The itinerary was full on but it was never overwhelming. All the travel was in comfortable buses and it was broken up by regular stops at places of interest. Sebastians love of his country was clear from the outset and his geographical and historical knowledge was amazing. If you want to see Peru this trip can't be beaten. Well done Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Macchu Picchu

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sebastian was entertaining and extremely informative. Professional from start to finish and nothing was ever too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared for an adventure - you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Wendy Tutty

    Essential Peru

    This was a fabulous adventure! Recounting it to friends at home, it seems incredible that we saw and experienced so much - or travelled so many miles in a relatively short time. It was not an easy trip with lots of early starts and long road journeys and several times I found myself a little out of my comfort zone but the group was mutually supportive and our leader Sebastian was a true professional. Everything was carefully planned - we always had drinkable water, hotels were ready for us and always happy to store our luggage for us if we were away for a few days. Our ascent to altitude was carefully managed and none of us became sick. Each evening Sebastian would invite us to eat with him. Sometimes we did, sometimes we didn't but he always made a huge effort to make sure that he chose a restaurant which catered for everyone - even a non meat, fish and egg eating almost vegan like myself! His love for his country was infectious and his knowledge impressive - all of this helped to make the holiday memorable and he was always generous with his time, going out of his way to cater for those who wanted to do things apart from the group. Thankyou Sebastian - great memories - some of them very funny!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult one! I loved the Nazca lines by light aircraft - Cusco, Colca Canyon, Arequipa and of course Machu Picchu all jostle for first place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As previously stated, he was excellent - knowledgeable, well organised, unflappable, scrupulously honest (at the end of our trip he gave us change from our tips kitty), amusing and very very kind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you go well equipped and be prepared for some very basic condition at the homestay.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    K R

    Qué paja el Perú !

    Before I went on this holiday, anyone I talked to about Peru seemed to equate it principally with Machu Picchu and Inka trails. Frankly, as beautiful and wondrous as MP is, there is SO MUCH more to Peru. At every level of altitude, the country offers different scenery, flora, fauna, cultures (indigenous, colonial, urban, rural, affluence, poverty, religions, food, drink etc) and different experiences in general including star gazing. The itinerary of this trip gives a very good spread of exposure as to what is available to enjoy/sample in Peru. Yes, it is fast paced but it is invigorating for those of us who think a change is as good as a rest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying with Flora, our homestay host. She was a true joy to meet and talk with. She is a tough, extremely hardworking, gentle and warmhearted woman and an excellent cook. She was full of determination to do the very best for her children (they were studying medicine and law) even though it meant an incredibly hard life for her to meet those costs. It was an privilege to be able to stay with her and she made our stay as comfortable as she could.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sebastian a) has an excellent command of English, is well informed and was informative without boring us with a litany of facts b) did not B.S. (very important) if he didn't know but checked and came back c) was enthusiastic about his country d) was effortlessly highly efficient/organised e) warm, charming, friendly with a good sense of humour f) accommodated the various needs of the group and looked after us extremely well without being suffocating; plus guided those who needed it and didn't cramp the independence of those who wanted it g) chatted with each of us to find our particular interests and helped us achieve them eg wine tasting or dancing etc (over and above requirements) h) is an excellent ambassador both for Peru and equally importantly Exodus - many in the group were new to Exodus and are now wishing to continue with using Exodus i) took a very responsible approach to tourism within Peru and gave what seemed a balanced view of the cultural situation in Peru j) had inexhaustible energy throughout the trip k) spoke to those of us who wanted to improve our Spanish in Spanish where appropriate ie not excluding others who did not speak Spanish from the conversation. Very impressive and up in the top two of best guides I've had both as a seasoned Exodus customer and an independent traveller.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you suffer from motion sickness, consider whether you want to do the Nazca flight. It is quite nauseating and somewhat hot and claustrophobic in the Cessna planes used. Due to all types of weather encountered, the previous advice concerning layers is key. Good waterproofs also should be taken because when it rains it is likely to be a deluge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a super bunch of people that formed this group which was a blessing and added significantly to the enjoyment of the holiday. The co-travellers were interesting, good humoured, caring, amusing and collaborative. That said, if you do not have a similar group when you travel, it need not negatively affect your experience because the nature of Exodus trips is that they afford you the ability to be pretty independent within the scope of the travel arrangements that form the itinerary.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sharon Holmes

    An amazing trip of a life-time!

    This was my first experience of Exodus and I was very impressed. All of the communication prior to travelling was excellent and this continued with my arrival in Lima and for the next 15 days. Our Tour Leader, Sebastian, was amazing (see below). I was also really impressed with the fact that local experts were drafted in to support Sebastian and add to our understanding of this vast country - these local guides e.g. one in Cuzco, one around Lake Titicaca and one in the Colca Valley/Arequipa all lived in their local area and were able to provide us with their own expertise which just added to the whole experience. My 16 fellow travellers also helped to make the whole experience truly unforgettable. We all supported and looked after each other and got on very well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many really to say. Seeing Machu Picchu for the first time was incredible and the Andean Condors gliding above us and through the Colca Canyon were amazing. Angelito, our local guide, managed our expectations by saying that sometimes the Condors do not appear but we were incredibly spoilt with around 15 of them flying above us. Being able to stay in the home of a local family on Amantani Island was also incredible; hearing how they live their lives from day to day and giving us a glimpse of this, albeit, for less than 24 hours, was a humbling experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sebastian was wonderful and truly made the trip for me. His wit, humour, intellect and knowledge of Peru surpassed all of my expectations. He looked after us from beginning to end by staying in the same hotel as us every night, providing us with his mobile number and making himself accessible 24/7 and we had the option to dine with him every night where he would take us to some interesting restaurants. In addition, every day was filled with fun and laughter - thanks, in the main, to him - he answered all of our questions and provided us with a great understanding of his homeland. He catered for our every whim e.g. we wanted to go to a salsa club in Cuzco then Sebastian took us; when almost all of the group went on a flight to see the Nazca Lines then he took the remaining 3 of us to a local museum in Ica - nothing was ever too much trouble for him and he refused to allow us to go on our own even if we offered. I speak Spanish and love to practice so Sebastian would speak with me in Spanish - he was amazing! Every Exodus adventure needs a Sebastian!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some parts of the trip where uphill climbing is needed - whilst not intense, the altitude can contribute to a feeling of weariness at these times and this should be considered. I think Exodus provide excellent advice on how to prepare for this trip and so I have not much more to add. I would definitely take advantage of the single supplement when travelling alone as the group is amazing but the trip is pretty full on and some down time on your own is very beneficial.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group gelled very well and this also contributed to the amazing experience because we looked out for each other and supported each other. We all seemed to get on very well which was very important as we spent a lot of time together.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Lee Stephen

    Perutastic

    A great and very enjoyable trip with a very good guide / tour leader (Daniel). Such varied culture, food and scenery too. I felt like I learned and saw a lot. My one recommendation would be to make sure you read the trip notes carefully before you go / book. You cover a lot of ground (long distances) at times in order to and pack everything in. So there are some long travel days and plenty of early starts.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The home stay with local family on an island in Lake Titicaca will stay with me for. A long time to come. Loved it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A very good and very very knowledgable tour leader. Looked after us all very very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long travel days, in order to cover so much ground and fit everything in - and plenty of early starts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 020 8772 3936