Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2019

    Amazing Cycling Trip

    A magnificent outing through some stunning and unforeseen slopes and well disposed individuals. Bhutan is culture rich nation and have lovely places.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dochula pass
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Daniel Morris

    Croatian Delights

    Fabulous cycling on Croatia’s Dalmatian Coast Islands. Lovely roads, unspoilt villages, scenery to die for and good food. Hotels were unfortunately the exception- exceptionally poor.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenic rides along coastal tracks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dino was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Insist on better hotels
  • Reviewed October 2019
    David Butterworth

    A wonderful area to explore

    Leisurely was the description....a fairly lively leisurely .... great trips, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful leader. Some amazing places to visit and accommodation to stay at - all comfortable and most very different.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Supper with everyone at a farm where we were served with home grown produce, all of which was delicious

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your camera with plenty of memory card space and don't forget the charger/s you'll need
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Stuart Robinson

    A very good holiday

    A very good but exhausting holiday with long truck journeys, heavy rain, early wet mornings but with magnificent sightings of all of East Africa's animals. The crew were exceptional with each member doing their job diligently and were a great help to us travellers. The following day's program were clearly explained each evening with questions asked and answered. Although I had no regrets about going on this holiday, I was just grateful that I did the reverse journey as I'm not sure that I would appreciate a six hour trek to see the gorillas at the end of the holiday - at 67, I'm not sure that I would have made it. Overall, I'm glad that I went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sightings of the gorillas - I could literary touch one - and we were privileged to see three leopards in Uganda and Kenya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert was an excellent group leader, giving clear instructions to the group each evening and providing a talk on many relevant subjects displaying a deep knowledge of local current affairs, African culture and history. He always had time to answer any queries and resolve any problems that occurred.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The gorilla trek could be a problem for travellers who have fitness problems. The first trek took six hours up and down hills in hot weather. I booked a second gorilla trek which only took two to three hours as the animals were located near one of the gorilla centres - however, this was just as arduous due to the steep terrain, the thick vegetation and the slippery, muddy conditions. But, for me, it was worth it.
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Fabulous - Exceeded Expectations

    The trip was amazing. The organization could not have been better. The hotels were all great and if this is Grade 3, I'll travel at that level all the time. All of the places we stopped were excellent and the lead guide always provided us with background on the places we stopped. The ride along the old iron curtain was truly eye opening. Overall, this trip exceeded my expectations and set the standard for future trips. I would even like to do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Budapest blew my mind. I could never have imagined such a historic city and its culture. Everywhere I turned I was in awe. I want to go back.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guides were outstanding. All trip support was outstanding. The leader, Juan, kept everything moving, resolved any problems quickly and provided lots of relevant information along the way. He was always upbeat, ready to listen and provide whatever was needed. What an excellent representative for Exodus. Andy, who rode the back line, provided excellent support, encouragement, and humor. He was very good in keeping me encouraged. Juan and Andy - thank for all the support and encouragement you provided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at your fitness level. I did not pay enough attention to the trip notes, specifically the hills, and did not have the required fitness for the trip. I "made it" with only a few short trips on the bus but I would have enjoyed the journey so much more if I did not struggle as I did. So, before you do this trip, practice your hills and make sure you can stay in the saddle for consecutive days. And make sure you have the right gear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was travelling alone and while I have done so before, it always brings some level of worry. I never felt alone on this trip. It was a great group and there was comraderie and support from other riders throughout. I could not have had a better group and will miss that.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Cheryl Huyck

    Exceeded Expectations

    Our first hiking vacation and the whole experience was incredible. Our guide, Louise, was energetic and so very passionate about her joy of hiking as she lead our group of 16. Strangers we were on our day or arrival but friendships formed quickly as we enjoyed our mutual love of exploring new countries and hiking the most amazing trails. Each day was fantastic as Louise expertly guided us safely along the paths we walked, encouraged us when we needed encouragement and was helpful in so many ways. Hotel was well located, meals delicious and accommodations comfortable. Each staff member @ our hotel worked hard and made us all feel welcome. Would highly recommend this itinerary. Glad we did this in mid-late September. Weather still warm but not blazing hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the rim of Mt. Vesuvius on a crystal clear day with great guides and companions. But then there was the incredible Pathway of the Gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Truly loves hiking and an experienced guide. Would love to hike with her again some day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear appropriate hiking shoes, use walking sticks and keep your eyes open.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip. Would do it again if time allowed.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Katy Smith

    Cycling in Chile & Argentina

    This was the one of the best cycling trips we’ve done and couldn’t recommend it more highly. There was so much contrast and diversity in the landscapes and terrain each day! No 2 days were the same! From high plateaus, salt flats, rainforest, rocky landscapes, river valleys, great tarmac roads and gravel tracks .... it was just breathtaking! Much of the trip was at significant altitude but the itinerary allows for appropriate acclimatisation. The whole team were great and the organisation from behind scenes was superb- especially the coffee stops and picnics!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had its own inspirational moment - the Moon Valley in the high desert, the Tatio Geysers at sunrise followed by a dip in the thermal pool, cycling on the salt flats, the 2 incredible 35km descents, the breathtaking geological features and amazing colourful rock formations.... I could keep going on!! One really special moment was being entertained by local musicians in the incredible amphitheatre - a fallen cavern created by an ancient waterfall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ale was first class! He was a great leader and went over and above the call of duty every day. He also had great knowledge of the political and local history - fascinating sensitive and charming. Also the support team were fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for altitude- much of the trip is at significant altitude but the trip allows for acclimatisation. Also bring clothing for all temperatures- above 4000m it is quite chilly and it’s well below freezing visiting the Geysers at dawn! Others on our trip have recommended a good saddle or padding for the rutted gravel and a good camera is a must!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I just couldn’t recommend this trip and the leader and more highly - both were exceptional (legend) Book it - you won’t be disappointed!!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Fiona MacColl

    Great Trip

    This is a fabulous trip in a beautiful country. There is so much to see and walking means you get to see everything close up and in your own time. The trip is really well organised and the guides Simon and Cathy do a great job of making sure everyone is happy and included. The accommodation and food were all excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments, fabulous views and seeing lots of whales, great white sharks and dolphins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon and Cathy are both great, really knowledgeable about the area, friendly and professional. They made sure we all had a great time.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Nick Bennett-Britton

    Great Trip - Very Varied

    A very varied trip of very scenic walks, unexpected extras (eg a visit to a Mozzarella producer; making a pizza; making tiramisu), lovely quiet hotel, great guide (Tony) and superb optional extras.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the serene Gardens of Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, and then a walk afterwards.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was great - caring, very organised, knew ALL our names from day 2, always available at any time to answer questions; coordinated transport, cafes etc with our walks; knew how to avoid crowds on our walks and very friendly. Thanks Tony!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The “optional extras” do add extra cost eg the trip to Capri was over 100 euros (I believe); the Gardens of Villa Cimbrone were about 10 euros; the barbecue was 30 euros; the last Saturday trip to Herculaneum before our flight, was about 40 euros. They were all worth doing and interesting/fun (I didn’t go to Capri), and but you need to take some extra euros if you partake of them (I do recommend them!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very lucky with our friendly group, all of whom has similar walking ability. It is a very varied and worthwhile trip with lots of interesting walks, superb scenery and a nice little local town. I really enjoyed it.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Roxanne Crawley

    Highly recommended!

    This trip surpassed all my expectations, has given me confidence and rekindled the travel bug! Having not been abroad for 9 years I was feeling somewhat nervous about going to Jordan, but it was a wonderful experience, I loved both Jordan and the incredibly welcoming Jordanians. Our guide, Ibrahim was excellent in all respects and had a super sense of humour too, what more could you ask for?!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This whole trip was full of awesome moments, all unforgettable, and often totally unexpected, such as standing in the River Jordan with Israel just a few yards away where baptisms were taking place. Finding rock faces in Petra that looked just too incredible to be natural, like they have been vividly painted with abstract patterns. Seeing the Monastery in Petra for the first time, it’s not as ornate as the Treasury, but it’s HUGE! The incredible welcome and hospitality from the Bedouin and Jordanian people completely took me by surprise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader, who has been doing this for many years and his enthusiasm and infectious smile reflects how much he enjoys what he does. Any problems were dealt with quietly and efficiently with no fuss. Nothing was too much trouble and he repeatedly offered to make arrangements for any individual requests within his remit. He totally understands the British sense of humour which really contributed to the great atmosphere of our group. I felt he could deal with any situation if it arose so I was relaxed and able to fully immerse myself in enjoying a wonderful trip. Wherever we went people knew him and warmly greeted him which says it all really.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found that if you catch their eye and nod and smile, many Jordanians want to engage in conversation and ask where you are from and welcome you to Jordan. I was thrilled when I encountered a gentle elderly Bedouin man while going around a castle and he welcomed me and indicated he was happy to see tourists back in Jordan. Another time, in Petra, I managed to communicate to one of the men in the Siq (who cleared up after the donkeys,) that he kept it beautifully clean and he kissed my hand and seemed very pleased that his work had been acknowledged! Hospitality is everything in Jordan and with such friendly people I think it’s good to try and show your appreciation to them.