Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Samantha Simister

    Our Sri Lankan Adventure

    A wonderful way to see Sri Lanka. The route captured everything from wildlife to culture to coast. Our Guide and Team were all exceptional, we couldn't fault them. A fabulous experience coupled with the opportunity to meet a super group of people. A good blend of moderate and challenging . A little less traffic, fumes and "excitement" on one or two of the roads we could have done without...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 1500m climb to Nuwar Eliya Cycling alongside elephants and monkeys

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loved him. Exodus is lucky to have Neelaka . I have filled out a separate review for Neelaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit and do the climb. Much better than taking the train......

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is any chance that the route can be changed to include one or two more back roads as opposed to the main trunk roads, that would be amazing. Try to avoid this trip taking place during Independence Day. We climbed to Nuwar that weekend and the traffic was terrible. Too many fumes. It would have been so much nicer without the amount of traffic...
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Lesley Attwood

    The best ever !

    This was simply the best cycle trip so far . Sri Lanka is as vibrant and colourful as I had hoped, and the cycling was amazing , but it is hilly so be prepared for some serious inclines in the saddle. It's not all back roads as per the title, but I felt safe throughout and it was great to see the hustle and bustle as well as the tranquility. The food was a journey in itself , and the standard of accommodation was far better than expected. One place is slightly ' below standard' , but the entertainment that night of our fantastic guide Suresh giving us a cookery demonstration more than made up for it. The trip is full on and busy but you will be entertained from the 6am wake up calls starts until you have your first well earned Lion beer every evening. Great company in my fellow cyclists, great support and the best ever guide in Suresh to make sure we made ' maximum damage' to cycling Sri Lanka 🇱🇰 .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up the steepest longest hill ever, seeing the elephants , whale watching - so many , too many to list.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh went beyond and above to make sure we had everything and more. He was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, plus had a good sense of humour. Everyone needs a Suresh !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit - it's a hilly place. And make sure you get your elephant tshirts in Kandi !
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Stephen Fahey

    Maximum Damage in Sri Lanka

    Gosh where to start... we have been on 3 trips now with Exodus and each time l think the guide is good, but Suresh was a true Ambassador not only for Exodus but most importantly Sri Lanka. He was so proud of it, the people, its geography, wildlife, flora and fauna and of course its culture. That deep knowledge helps convey a strong level of confidence and insight whenever he was "guiding" or asked questions about Sri Lanka. So that's him in a nutshell but there is so more to talk about what he and the supporting team delivered during our 2 weeks. The team were excellent, they were well briefed understood exactly what was needed, nothing was ever too much trouble. Every morning the bikes were cleaned if dirty, chains were cleaned and oiled & of course checked to ensure our safety. Whenever we stopped the team would quickly remove our drinks bottles and refill to ensure we kept hydrated, it was after all hot! In addition to our guide we also had two other cyclists riding, both were excellent at either supporting riders at the back of the group or riding ahead at key junctions to point the way or many cases stop the traffic so we could just continue cycling. We also had 3 others in the support team who were equally as helpful and again just could not do enough for you. Nobody could fault the team. I would say the group had a mixed level of experience, but at no point did any of them ever indicate that they always felt riding with them. They were always very encouraging. Many of the roads were as the trip notes state were just back roads quiet and full of life - local people, children shouting hello or goodbye, animals and birds. Traffic and driving in Sri Lanka can at times be described as a little chaotic, but even when we had to ride on main roads (A roads) they were never that busy. Whilst cycling Suresh’s knowledge of his environment was second to none, he ensured that we never missed anything - he even ensured that we had the right "lucky" Jeep driver to ensure we saw a Leopard in Yala National Park. His “management” of us was very professional, courteous and exceptionally polite when asking for people’s attention, it is often difficult to get but he did through his knowledge, respect and of course good humour. His ability to laugh at himself is a great virtue! When it came to the day to day logistics of riding, no stone was ever left unturned. Suresh ensured we received 100% service from not only him and his team but also those who provided us with Sri Lankan hospitality. Whether it was a simple & basic tea house, 4* hotel, or a dinner on the beach the relationship he had created with them meant service was second to none. It was evident that if any of these were not delivered to his exacting standards then he would tirelessly secure somewhere better. All these establishments knew that. I could say more but where to stop my final example would be on our departure day from the group. We decided to stay an additional week near Galle, so we asked Suresh if he could book us train tickets, contact the HomeStay to see if we could hire bikes, etc. which he duly did. Come the day of our departure at 6am from the Hotel, Suresh organised a tuk tuk for all 3 of us to get to Colombo train station. He accompanied us on to the right platform and ensured we get on the train safely. Once we were on he then of course left us. We then saw him 10 minutes later back on the platform. He had sent some photos of us on the platform to the WhatsApp group but when asked did we have seats he then had to stop his journey back to the hotel and return to the station to take some photos of us in said seats as evidence. Why would you do that? Simple because he truly cared. We absolutely loved every minute of our holiday to Sri Lanka, the people, its culture, the birds, wildlife, history and geography. All of this was fully exposed because of the insight and passion that Suresh and his team had. They truly bought it to life, guides can make or break a holiday, they made it for all of us. We will have no hesitation in returning and recommending this trip to other cyclists. It was ACE!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Though where Suresh truly excelled himself was in identifying, approaching and using the homes of the Sri Lankan people, whether they were providing a simple tea stop with clean toilets or a beautiful lunch. We went to one of the families of the coach driver, it felt truly special to be invited and shown around their homes. It just demonstrated why he and them are so proud of their country. It was great to see him and Exodus investing into the local economy and not some global corporation.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Rebecca Nansoz

    Book it!

    We have just returned from the most stunning 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. The trip is extremely well planned with interesting trips spaced between the cycling. The cycling is manageable - but be warned DAY 5! It is an extremely tough climb - and even the fittest amongst our fabulous group found it very tough. If you are lucky enough to have Wasantha as your leader, you will be spoilt. He is so knowledgeable, helpful and organised and nothing was too much trouble. Our group was very lively and he never got annoyed at having to repeat himself! We were blessed with perfect weather (be warned its v humid). Hotels mostly very good. Food is great and never ending. Many in our group had done quite a few Exodus cycling trips but voted this very highly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to the tea plantation was very interesting, as was the Spice Garden visit. Seeing wild elephants on the safari was also a highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wasantha went above and beyond. A lovely man who worked tirelessly to ensure our trip was a success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit for the climb on Day 5. Don't bother to bring dollars. Just change pounds at the airport.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Yvonne Carson

    Fantastic experience

    This trip is fantastic! So well organised by the amazing guide, amazing wildlife and scenery and great cycling. Be prepared for the heat and the humidity, but the terrain is not too difficult. Accommodation was mostly very good or excellent, one not so good hotel. This is an experience to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wild elelphants at the side of the road!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn’t fault Suresh. Best leader I have met. Lovely person. Well organised. Very high standards. A credit to his country and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    enjoy every moment. Take anti bacterial gel, as toilet facilities can be basic out with hotels. Don’t need US dollars, Sri Lankan Rupee is best. Food is mostly rice and curry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved this trip.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Sue Hoddell

    sri lanka

    great cycling, diverse landscapes and a real flavour of the country. a well put together programme and full on with little time unoccupied. some challenging rides on generally good roads and plenty of time in the saddle. Good accommodation and food. don't expect much time to relax

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    enjoyed the ride up through the tea plantations to the high point, even more enjoyable as part of it was done in torrential rain but little danger of getting cold. the wildlife park trip scored well on spotting the animals and showed a wide range of animal life in the park

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wasantha was kind and thoughtful, always respectful of the group members

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    we were lucky with the weather but the rain we did experience was awesome, be prepared as it can really throw it down

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    was not too taken with Kandy, staying there for the extra day fitted the cycling itinerary but there were nicer places to have spent a little free time
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marie Longworth

    Excellent trip!

    Great cycling, fab food, wonderful people, stunning scenery! Oh and the best guide ever! Guaranteed!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I suppose like everyone completing the cycle to Newara Eliya! Epic cycle made even more challenging with the torrential rain!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have done about 10 Exodus cycling trips and I have to say that Suresh has been the best! His organization skills, attention to detail and great sense of humour meant that we felt totally spoiled and supported on this trip! I certainly would not have completed the climb to Nuwara Eliya without him as he stayed with myself and another person for the last 10 K or so. I had total faith in him to get us there safely! He helped everyone at the end of the trip and I was glad to stay at the hotel in Colombo longer as opposed to spending a whole day at the airport. Thanks for helping me with that Suresh! I must also mention Saranga, Anitha and Upali. I probably saw more of Saranga and he was the back cyclist and I spent a lot of time at the back! His quiet presence was reassuring and he took the bike off me and parked it regularly when I got off. When you saw Upali directing u to the left or right it usually meant that the cycling was finished!! Whew! Anitha was a gentle giant who always filled our water bottles before we even asked! He was so lovely and kind!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Where to start? Eh don’t expect to lose weight! The food was fab! We seemed to be always eating! Train for distance and hills for this trip. I had done some training but could done more. Bring less clothes as you have an opportunity to have washing done.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    simon worsley

    Fabulous Sri Lanka!

    Wonderful journey through the varied landscape of this friendly country- through paddy fields and tea plantations, taking in historic temples and monuments, and pausing at local cafes for delicious local fare. Some epic climbs and descents, on excellent and well maintained bikes, with a fantastic support team and superb tour guide (Suresh). We felt that the trip gave us a good insight into the culture/scenery/history/flora/fauna of Sri Lanka, the accommodation was generally excellent, and where more basic it was characterful and adequate. Overall, this trip was an epic, and highly recommend it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The grinding climb up to Nuwara Eliya through a torrential downpour and thunderstorm, with night falling before we reached the summit, then the hair raising descent in the dark, and arriving at the warm haven of the Hill Club. Unforgettable and possibly outrageous, but none of us would have stopped and taken the bus!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is simply the best tour guide I have ever encountered, period. Commanding yet courteous, informative and inspirational, ensuring that we were all looked after and assisting the group bonding. After the end of the tour, he even helped out one of the group make her boat transfer to the Maldives after an oversight by the agents neglecting to ensure that her ticket had been validated by the resort- above and beyond expectation....

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do ensure good sun protection. Electrolyte tablets for rehydration. We didn't take the usual lycra padded shorts, but used MTB short equivalents with sheep skin saddle savers, and had less problems with butt soreness than most in the group. Make sure that you are hill climbing fit- we had 4 full days of fairly strenuous cycling back to back. Consider taking bike lights- would have been grateful for my "twinklies" on the final ride in the dark to Nuwara Eliya.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip- would thoroughly recommend.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Rachael Dodgson

    A totally amazing trip!

    This was my first cycling tour with Exodus and it was absolutely excellent. Sri Lanka is a fascinating country with lots to see. The cycling was great - some of it was pretty tough - especially the day to Nuwara Eliya but doable for anyone with a good level of fitness. The scenery across the country was beautiful and the food was fabulous. The accommodation was generally of a very high standard. Two places were fairly basic but we only stayed in them for 1 night each so it was fine. This is a great trip and if you’re considering booking it you should - you won’t regret it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably as for most other people completing the days cycle to Nuwara Eliya felt a great achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was a fantastic trip leader, well organised, patient, funny and always willing to go the extra mile for people. The rest of the team working with him also deserve a mention - they were always professional, hard working and happy to help with anything. I was really impressed with them all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is with making the effort to get fit for this trip. I did spinning classes 3 or 4 times a week for 6 or 7 weeks before I went and that made a huge difference to my overall enjoyment of the trip as I was able to keep up with ththe cycling. And don’t think you will lose weight on this trip. Despite the cycling the food is fabulous and never ending...
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martin Mowbray

    Review

    Best Exodus tour yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personalized attention from Exodus staff

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best yet

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't consider travelling with Exodus if it cancels Cuba tours for political reasons - as is rumoured
Call us on 074 340 4587