Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hugh Price

    What an amazing holiday

    Brilliantly lead, excellent fellow travellers and a very full and varied itinary. Probably the best of many great Exodus holidays...so far.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact there were so many speaks volumes, nbut the 34km downhill definitely was one of the best

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extraordinarily good. Nothing was too much and he never faltered. Without doubt the best of many good leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its hot and it is humid so nothing dries. The humidity can really limit your physical ability, certainly around mid day, but there is always the support vehicle to jump into.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday was a lot of fun and passed in a flash. We all had an absolute ball and acted as one big family. A real joy.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tricia Arbon

    Great fun, great memories

    I booked this trip after reading positive reviews on the Exodus website. From booking and right through this trip I have nothing but positive things to say. Our guide Chi and his team were first class. Nothing was too much trouble. We were a small group of 13 and I can say that we all became friends along the way. Accomodation was good, food was excellent and our guide gave us some great evening meal recommendations. I was a solo female traveller and never felt alone the whole trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We all made it up Hai Van Pass and great effort by 2 who thought they might not make it. Dancing at a petrol station. [You had to be there] Halong Bay. Amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy trip so be prepared.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Tammy Grey

    Ms

    The customer service before departure was excellent, the organisation from start to finish was excellent, the accommodation was better than expected, the group leader was excellent, the itinerary was excellent. As a solo female traveller I felt completely comfortable with the rest of the group whether they were traveling alone, with friends or with partners. The mix of activities, geographical locations, sights, sounds, terrain and communities left you feeling like you had experienced and encountered Vietnam, its history, its people and its landscape.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me there were many inspirational moments on this trip. these centred around the group members coxing, motivating, encouraging and supporting others to achieve their goals, this was particularly evident when two members became slightly unwell but were determined to continue with the cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was excellent. His passion for his job was evident in everything he did. He created an environment which allowed everyone to participate according to their own skill, ability and desire. No one was left behind or left feeling like they were moving too fast or too slowly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For a trip like this it is important to accept that other cultures have a very different relationship with their environment, each other, their food and how they view health and safety. If you are someone that embraces difference, loves cycling, and desires authenticity when traveling, then this holiday could be for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am looking forward to being able to book my next holiday with Exodus. In the meantime I am recommending Exodus to all my friends.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Roy Firth

    Best Way to See Vietnam!!!

    We had an absolute blast on our recent cycling tour of Vietnam! We had a great group with diverse and interesting backgrounds with a common love of cycling and touring. Great weather (albeit a tad on the warm side), great food, enjoyable cycling, an excellent leader and team..... and a lot of good laughs! An absolutely fantastic way to see Vietnam, both the scenery as well as how the people live.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To me the Vietnamese people were a wonder. Industrious, friendly, enthusiastic! They have overcome many obstacles over the past 50 years or so and are moving forward rapidly! The country is incredibly beautiful and lush and a pleasure to cycle through.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long was and excellent leader for the group. A font of information about his country! Very knowledgeable about agriculture, industry, history, cuisine and just about any other topic we raised. His organizational skills were great and he looked after all of the details and requests made of him! And a great sense of humour too! Bravo all in!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A few long stretches on the bus but nicely broken up and still a great way to see the country. Don't get sun burned! Be prepared for the heat. But don't be hesitant to book! Great food, great people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an excellent program from just about every angle.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    S Nunn

    Cycling Vietnam

    What a fantastic trip. Cycling Vietnam was a great way to see an amazing country with its stunning scenery and really friendly people. Our tour leader Long was superb throughout with excellent organisation and support from this team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day brought new experiences and sights from the busy streets of Ho Chi Min to the quite backwaters and fishing villages we cycled through. Hoi An was a great location for a stop over.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long was a great tour leader. His organisation was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about Vietnam and the areas we travelled through. Great sense of humour and worked well with his support team ensuring that during the cycling days we were frequently fed and watered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great way to see Vietnam. Accommodation was good throughout and no safety concerns at all. The cycling was rated as moderate, but in reality was verging on easy and the only challenging part (if you wanted it to be) was Hoi Van Pass. Be prepared for some long stints in the coach though......

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing must do trip, made even better by a great group of fellow travellers and the leadership of Long.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    John Bannister

    Cycling Vietnam April 2017

    One of the best holidays I have had, although very hot at times for cycling, best when we were on the move. The scenery is wonderful and great to see it from the bike. Bikes were of a good standard, but take your own saddle and pedals if you can.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent from the stop after Dalat, scenery was awesome, the climb and descent on Hai Van Quan was impresive, very hot and most of the group made it - impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thang was excellent, worked hard to ensure everyone got a lot out of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and pedals. Do not get sun burn snorkling on Whale Island. The insects were not nearlr as bad as we expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant, Thank you.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Carol Merritt

    Fabulous!

    I felt we experienced the best of Vietnam with this varied, action packed and scenic trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two cycle climbs and descents - awesome views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate to book, you will not be disappointed. I had 5 first hand positive referrals before booking so my bar was high and it was even exceeded.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only negative, I felt the group at 18 was too large.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Peter Gomes

    The best of Vietnam in two weeks.

    Great way to see Vietnam from Ho Chi Min City in the South all the (long) way to Hanoi in the North. The cycling allows you the opportunity to see lots yet at a pace where you take it all in - and stop to take a photo or take in the view whenever you feel like. A terrific selection of big cities (Ho Chi Min and Hanoi), smaller towns (Dalat, Hoi Van & Hue) , off shore activity (Snorkelling trip from Whale Island , Sea kayaking in Halong Bay), riding on the flat (mostly) but with some uphill (Hai Van pass) and down (30km from Dalat). Throw in great company with fellow travels of all ages and from all over the world, good food and the occasional drink - what more can you ask. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dining with a local family in Hue with dinner followed by Linh our guide playing guitar and the family's three year old granddaughter singing along with gusto. Closely followed by Dalat, Hue, the Hai Van pass climb (and descent) and naturally the splendid Halong Bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Linh was enthusiastic, well organised, frank and informative, amusing in his presentations, honest about the good and bad of his country, and a very good cyclist to boot. Backed by a strong and enthusiastic support crew in Tam, Tan and Ho. All four were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lot of time on the bus between venues and rides (it is a long country) so bring reading material. ATMs are plentiful so no issues obtaining cash. Bring lots of sun cream and I'd recommend a supply of re-hydration sachets. If you forget there are pharmacies in all the towns/cities en route.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Guy Mitchell

    MOV170312

    I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of cycling through parts of Vietnam, seeing the different parts of the country, experiencing its food, culture and learning about a variety of historical events which included its rapid political, economic and social development since the end of the Vietnam War.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling 10km up HaiVan Pass as well as completing the challenge of cycling 100km on 2 separate occasions, visiting Halong Bay including the overnight stay was just superb

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader, Mr Linh Vo did an exceptional job. Leading a group of 14 people from the England, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand with their different cultural and social backgrounds is always going to have its challenges especially keeping all the people happy all the time!! I wouldn't care to do it! Linh managed the group extremely well, was very patient, informative, funny, organised and dealt with the inevitable individual person's concerns as best he could and appeared to resolve them. I'd be very happy to recommend him to anyone going on a tour to Vietnam in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Accept the challenges that are part of these types of active, busy holidays with their full daily schedule. The mix of physical activity and exploring the countryside on a bike and in the bus allows you to see how the people live, observe how the country is developing and learn about the associated culture makes for really positive life experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If the group is going kayaking, try to 'pair' the paddlers more effectively. Please note, some people will only want to paddle with their partner or friend, so trying to get an effective 'pair' may not be possible for the leader of this group. Check to see if they have participated in this type of activity in the past so they can be given some instruction on what to do or what not to do may help to avoid surprises for the particpants.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Anthony Lorbach

    Vietnam is Amazing

    I had never signed up for a group tour before. I never thought it was "for me." After this trip to Vietnam, I am rethinking my past judgements. I loved this trip and I really enjoyed the people on the trip. I am definitely going to book another Exodus cycling trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many. The 30km descent was incredible, from the feeling to the scenery. All of the rides were interesting. I had time to see the country from ground level. I remember riding along, thinking, "Hey! I'm in Vietnam, under a blue sky rather than at home shuffling through the snow." The food was amazing, and our hotels were incredible. The people were so friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader really cared about us. I could see how hard he worked and how concerned he was for everyone's safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have any interest in this country, definitely book this trip. It is such a beautiful country and the guides are prepared to guide you to some of the best parts of it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you would like to see some of my photos and some of the words I wrote at the time, please check out my blog (late February to early March 2017) https://todaysperfectmoment.wordpress.com/ or https://todaysperfectmoment.wordpress.com/2017/03/13/ha-long-bay/ https://todaysperfectmoment.wordpress.com/2017/03/05/descent-from-dalat/