Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Deborah Segarra

    Great holiday

    Fantastic walks, amazing scenery, and good food. Severio, our guide, was knowledgeable, interesting, and entertaining. I was very happy with my accommodation, but some in the group were disappointed with their hotel, which was some distance away and not of the same standard. On a minor note, I wished we could have had some of our dinners at local restaurants - for variety and because I found the hotel restaurant too noisy - it was like being in a school dining hall. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday which has left me with some great memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk of the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Interesting, very knowledgeable, and didn’t talk too much!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather was not as good as expected, pack some warm clothes.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Angie Morgan

    Fantastic walking and cultural combination

    This holiday exceeded my expectations. The walks were stunning and our guide Severio's knowledge and insight into the region made for an action-packed, superb holiday. Sharing this holiday with a sociable group fondly referred to as the Walking talking heads made the holiday complete.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods to Positano

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was very knowledgeable, fun and accommodated all levels in the group really well. He went above and beyond to help us get the most from our holiday even taking the trouble to give us a suggested list of places to visit and how to get there on our free day in Capri as he wouldn't be with us. What a gem!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday is hard on the knees and shins initially as your body adjusts to the huge number of steps most walks involve. The holiday really gives you a great overall walking experience of the Amalfi coastline and the opportunity to also visit the main attractions of the area eg Vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Capri. I thoroughly recommend it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As a vegetarian, I was well catered for.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Annabella Gatto

    Walking The Amalfi Coast

    This was an enjoyable tour, with 2 great guides. Saverio leading and Tony assisting. We felt in capable hands the whole time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing in Ravello on a glorious day, looking out over the Mediterranean. Beautiful. Walking into the cloister at Amalfi. It was stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was great - very organised, friendly, knowledgeable, and he set realistic expectations of what the hikes would be like. This was very useful for me, as I felt the grading on the website did not match the actual hikes. They felt more challenging than a Grade 2. The assisting tour leader, Tony, was also great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for more steps than you have ever encountered in one week. There is one hike that involves several hours of downhill steps to Amalfi. (I opted out and got the bus!) Do opt for the group airport transfers. Long distance taxis in this area are hugely expensive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very impressed with Hotel Due Torri. The staff were lovely, accommodation had everything we needed, and the food was delicious.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    John Ryle

    Walking with the gods

    Gorgeous bit of coastline. Great walking country. Good hotel and food. Congenial group. Smooth arrangements. Weather a bit disappointing. Excellent tour guide - Tony.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks were the important thing and they didn't disappoint - but too short in length almost as I was sorry when each finished.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was excellent company, an efficient manager, and had very good command of Italian.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take good weather for granted - the potential trip to Capri was not possible due to the condition of the sea, and two of the walks started in heavy rain which fortunately cleared up later. The coast is amazingly high and the hotel is at 2000 feet with higher mountains behind so it is mountain weather essentially until you get down to sea level. Be prepared to put energy into the walking - it is not just a stroll in the park. It is stretching and exhilarating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Saturday evening departure left a gap in the programme from breakfast until 5pm. Fortunately most of the party were able to make use of this time but it did take some debate amongst the group and arranging and additional transport put in place ad hoc. I think something could have been planned into the programme to make better use of the day.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sue Burgin

    Excellent trip with a top guide, great walks and amazing food!

    Truly memorable! One of the best group trips I have experienced as a result of an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide, the amazing natural scenery, history and culture we experienced and the wonderful Due Torri hotel - and food! The other members of the group were all great fun and it was a joy to walk with them and swap tales over dinner in the evenings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well... there were a few All of the walks were good: those with a view of the sea/ down the coast were great! Walking the path of the Gods was a special experience Optional visit to Herculaneum was great I loved Pompeii - and our guide (Fabio) brought it to life

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was amazing from start to finish! Her enthusiasm and sense of fun were catching and her ability to lead the group from the back, the front or the middle allowed everyone to walk at their own pace. Vania was relentless in her pursuit of ensuring we all had a great time - any minor issues were dealt with immediately and she was keen to ensure that everyone's needs were met. Really good company at breakfast or dinner - she didn't seem to get a minute to ourselves! Two of us were keen to do some extra walking on the 'day off' and Vania opted to come with us as it was a walk she hadn't yet done - of course, she ended up leading by default and even apologising that there wasn't a coffee stop en route! I would happily recommend Vania as a guide to anyone wanting to walk the Amalfi Coast.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring clothes for all weathers! We had fog on Vesuvius and temperatures can vary enormously from the top of a hill to sea level. Really, everything was taken care of in the trip notes, I think. However having seen a few people struggling in groups other than ours, it is definitely worth paying attention to the nature of this trip. It's mostly coastal walking, so LOTS of ups and downs - and most importantly, via many hundreds/ thousands of steps. Some of these steps are very uneven and there are a couple of walks where they seem a bit relentless for a while, but it's all worth it! The views they afford are incredible. My calves felt tired and a bit sore every morning (along with everyone else's except Vania's!) but were easy to walk off. Consider a trip to the hotel masseur - she's very good!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was comfortable, the staff lovely - and the food was really good.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Catherine Maddock

    Springtime with Severio

    The variety of experiences, from steep climbs down steps hewn into the hillsides to walking the rim of Vesuvius or marvelling at the mosaics of Herculaneum, made this a memorable trip. Our group, christened 'the joyful' by our leader, contained an assortment of Britons (including Scots), a couple from Sydney and another pair from California. We all enjoyed each other's company, avoiding the clique-forming which can occur within a group, and all choosing to eat out in a restaurant together on our day off. The hotel staff at Due Torri were attentive, friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thunderstorm and drenching rain which struck while we were walking the Way of the Gods was pretty awesome, as was making it to the scheduled lunch stop later that day! I loved the visits to Pompeii and Herculaneum: so extraordinary to see every day items, along with beautiful art that has survived for two thousand years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is an exceptional leader, knowing exactly how to get the best out of every team member and appraising both individuals and situations with skill and patience. His enthusiasm never appears to wane, however many times he must have gone over the same ground. I must also praise his kindness: having returned home and realising I had mislaid one of my purchases, I contacted Seve to see if he could help. He went back to Amalfi, sought out a replacement item, then posted it to me in the UK, entirely at his own expense of time and money. That must be way beyond anything that the job description requires!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do go prepared for all kinds of weather conditions on the Amalfi coast. Warm weather clothing may be needed, even in Spring and Summer.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Dawn Pumfrey

    Walking Amalfi coast

    I think people should be warned more about how strenuous the walks are if people are not fit... the trip is rated as moderate fitness, but moderate to a young fit person is not the same as someone older or not as fit. All participants should be advised that they MUST where appropriate walking boots to improve grip on unpredictable ground.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Team work, helping each other, looking out for each other.... being considerate of others around us and being so grateful for this opportunity in life to visit such a beautiful part of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very relaxed and laid back. Good help and advice when we needed him. Very sociable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear good walking shoes. Get fit before you go, do the exercises Exodus send in the itinery.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lucy Dinsdale

    Excellent trip - from beginning to end

    I've been on a number of group holidays and this one rates as one of the most enjoyable to date. Great people, a fabulous leader in Serverio, who couldn't do enough for us, great food and marvellous weather. Who could ask for more?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our day off from walking, two of us un our group opted to walk one of the higher peaks in the area which was hard - but simply breathtaking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My only advice would be to take the plunge and go on this trip. Simply wonderful.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Linda Young

    Excellent holiday

    Excellent walking, fantastic views. A very well organised trip in a lovely friendly hotel. Our guide Vania was wonderful, friendly, enthusiatic and with a great sense of humour, a most enjoyable holiday.Thankyou to the rest of our group and Vania for being great company and making this such a special holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the walking, especially the rim of Mt Versuvius

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was faultless, funny and great at her job, the best!!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be reasonably fit as although most walking is relatively easy, there are some steep inclines and declines , so may not be suitable for those with knee and ankle problems. walking poles help.... warm clothing on Mt Versuvius rim may be needed early/late season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus booked our flights as a group booking with BA, but it is BA who allocate seats. unless specified it is possible/ likely that you can be sat apart. we were sat 3 seats apart going but 9 rows apart on the return flight. also BA is a cashless plane, and at lunchtime they ran out of sandwiches and porridge. so my advice is to be better prepared.... Exodus say they will look into this issue if it is more widely reported, so please do.....
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Godfrey Bancroft

    Superb in every way.

    The hotel, food, scenery, walks and especially our guide (Vania De Paoli) superb in every way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the highest quality. Company and humour of our group was brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania De Paoli. 'Simply the best.'

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A trip not to be missed.
Call us on 074 340 4587