Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Pierre Vinsot

    Best way to discover a beautiful island

    Very well organised trip in a magnificent natural place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking up in the cliffs of the northern coast.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Graham Williams

    A good trip

    An interesting and enjoyable walking tour of Madeira.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dramatic cliff walks and beautiful levadas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was excellent. We were all glad that he rearranged the walk on day 5 because of bad weather in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in March, when the climate was nice for walking but few flowers were out. Apparently late April, May or early June would be better for flowers but not too hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local tap water is good to drink and most of us had refillable water bottles to save unnecessary plastic waste, but both the hotels who supplied packed lunches included TWO plastic bottles per day, with no option to just have the food. The receptionists were not interested in my comments on this but it might help if Exodus had a word with the hotel managers.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Helen Botham

    Fun in Madeira

    Lovely bunch of folks , lots of laughs and good local guide who always made sure we could eat together and knew some great restaurants. He also found us chances to swim in the sea at the end of some walks. Great weather and varied walks amongst the flowers, plants and mountains of subtropical Madeira. Plenty to do in Funchal in our free time, beautiful gardens.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being with such lovely people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was lovely . He was up for a laugh and happy to answer all questions. He made sure we understood what we were doing with a meeting the previous evening. He was young and fit and had the transport , local buses and minibus , well organised and also knew good bars for an after walk drink and a good variety of excellent restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it. That was my first holiday on travelling on my own and it was excellent. I recommend going from your local airport if you can. I went and returned a day early so that I could fly from Manchester and this fitted in well with the holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    CLIVE Beauvais

    WALKING IN MADEIRA

    THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS WALKING HOLIDAY

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    NO PARTICULAR OUTSTANDING MOMENT

    What did you think of your group leader?

    GROUP LEADER, ANDREAS, WAS EXCELLENT. OBVIOUSLY VERY PROUD OF HIS ISLAND. HE HAS GONE TO A LOT OF TROUBLE TO LEARN AS MUCH POSSIBLE ABOUT FLORA AND FAUNA. HE WAS FUNNY AND ENTERTAINING THROUGHOUT.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I THINK THIS PARTICULAR EXODUS TRIP COULD BE IMPROVED BY REDUCING IT'S LENGTH BY ONE DAY. WALKING SUNDAY TO THURSDAY AND FLYING HOME ON FRIDAY. THE FREE DAY ON FRIDAY WAS SOMETHING OF AN ANTI-CLIMAX, ESPECIALLY AS WE AGAIN HAD TO KILL TIME ON SATURDAY UNTIL THE BUS LEFT EARLY AFTERNOON TO TAKE US TO THE AIRPORT. I APPRECIATE THAT YOU RARELY USE THE HOTEL IN WHICH WE STAYED ON THURSDAY AND FRIDAY NIGHT, BUT, IN MY VIEW, IT WAS UNSUITABLE. IT IS IN A VERY ISOLATED SPOT, WITH NO CAFES, SHOPS, OR RESTAURANTS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. IT WAS UNFORTUNATE THAT THE HOTEL RESTAURANT HAD SOMETHING OF A NIGHTMARE ON THE THURSDAY EVENING DUE TO BEING EXTREMELY SHORT-STAFFED.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martha Knight

    Stunning views, wonderful walks, excellent company

    I'm just back from a fabulous week's walking in Madeira. The scenery, weather and company could not have been better. Thank you to Andre, our guide, for helping to make this week so successful. There was lots of laughter along with some strenuous walks set against the majestic background of mountains and the Atlantic Ocean. I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were completely different but the second day's walk was stunning covering both the mountains and the ocean and including the levadas. The drink at the end of the walk was a welcome reward in a bar set next to the ocean. Pretty perfect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Andre, was great. He was knowledgeable, fun to be with and always seemed to be aware of our safety needs without being intrusive. He clearly loves Madeira and managed to pass in this love to the group. The arrangements went smoothly and all transport and luggage transfers were seamless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Madeira!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the walks was hard because of the climb up the mountain consisting of many flights of steps. Be aware of any personal limitations such as knee problems. The walks are considered of moderate difficulty but that one was tough and many of us felt it had been under graded. The views at the top, however, were worth it!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Chris Moss

    Madeira walking

    The walks were well planned and we were lucky to have a well rounded and very pleasant group. The first two days were rather "easy" but after that the walking took us further afield and we spent plenty of time off the beaten track in some wonderful landscapes. Overall I think the walking could have been a bit more challenging, overall only just a "moderate" walking grade. The hotels were fairly modest, they were simple, but fine, twice there was no wi fi in the rooms though. Funchal worth a visit in its own right.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The levada's are fascinating as well as unique, the walk along the Levada do Caldeirao Verde was really memorable and it was a glorious day. The early rise for sun rise on Pico Ruivo and the walk to the summit and back down into the Nuns Valley to the hotel was the longest day and the best and the hotel has a stunning location - a really memorable "five star" day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was very on top of his job, he planned and explained well and was always pleasant company with a well rounded knowledge of the island although perhaps with a bias towards flora and fauna, I'm not sure I picked up much about contemporary social and economic life on the island.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Robert Rutter

    Walking in Madeira

    Holiday was very good once in Madeira. Booking and office support from Exodus UK was poor. We paid a surcharge of over £300 pounds to get flights six months prior to departure. There were people in our group who arrived later in the day that didn't pay any surcharges. We could have got a later flight also.... No one has come back to me about this after my first survey. Also, Exodus don't have enough staff in the London office to even answer your phones. Dreadfull in light of the money we your customer pay. SORT IT OUT. That was my fourth holiday with Exodus, I doubt personally that I will book another in light of the London office. It's a shame you let all of your reps that are actually in front of your customers down. Learn the lesson. Rob Rutter

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book via Exodus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Rob for taking the time to provide us with feedback both on his holiday evaluation form (HEF) and in his review. Whilst HEFs are read by 2 members of staff, we endeavour to make it clear both in the email we send inviting clients to complete their HEFs, as well as at the end of the survey itself that due to the volume of feedback we receive, we are unable to respond on an individual basis to the comments our clients make. We do, as a result of this, provide an email address which clients are welcome to use if they would like to raise any specific concerns to our customer services team. We would like to apologise if this could be further clarified. Flight prices can vary quite significantly throughout the year and even when flights are booked early, sometimes a supplement can be applicable, as explained in our trip notes. We were pleased Rob enjoyed his time in Madeira, but we are nonetheless very sorry that he was disappointed with the support he received from Exodus prior to travel.  –  Marta Marinelli, Product Manager.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Peter Burn

    Madeira

    This was my first Exodus Tour. It will not be my last. Organisation was great. The guide (Andre Pontes) was superb - he made sure that everyone was enjoying themselves and that everyone was safe. He has very good people skills, and was a font of knowledge. I am 57 years old and moderately fit. The walking was just right for me. The others in the group (we were 11) were a lovely bunch. Madeira is beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sun rise from the top of a mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, really excellent (Andre Pontes)
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paul Lomas-Clarke

    General review

    Everything was very good except the hotel near Encumeada which was expensive,had very poor staff, and no acoustic attenuation between rooms. In short wholly unsatisfactory. For this reason Exodus does not get an Excellent rating

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One of the walks is very hard

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Find a better hotel near Encumeada. Cut down the number of hotel stops and use buses 2 hotels is quite enough in a week.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Helen Rogers

    A beautiful island

    Walking is a great way to see Madeira. The paths were in generally good condition, and the drops were not as daunting as I had expected - although you definitely need to look where you are going! The weather in Madeira is much more localised than I had realised - if it's important to you, make sure you look at the forecast for specific places. The mountains were rainy, and colder than expected - be prepared for anything! Most of the group went whalewatching in Funchal - this wasn't mentioned in the trip notes, but was great fun. No whales, but several dolphins - also a great way to get a view of Funchal from the water.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all of the walking. The cherry blossom above Funchal was superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Add me to the Andre fan club. Very sociable, generous with his time and knowledge. He had to substitute a couple of walks due to weather and rockslides, and we were not disappointed, even though we had been looking forward to the published itinerary. He's an excellent walking guide, well aware of everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of us used trekking poles, and were glad of them. Be prepared for anything - the weather is the boss of the itinerary. Most of the hotels were very pleasant, one was slightly disappointing - but the obvious place to stay given the itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a beautiful place, well worth the visit.
Call us on 074 340 4587