Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019

    Mont Blanc Highlights is 10/10!!!

    The Mont Blanc Highlights tour has been the best holiday experience! I was looking around other companies' websites, and I'm glad we went with Exodus. The website's ease of use and overall fantastic customer experience throughout the holiday was a blessing. Our two young-adult chalet hosts, Zoe and Ben, welcomed everyone as family! They took out all the hard work with planning a holidays, from driving us to each trail head, informing us of the town and things to do during the free day, providing us with world-class meals everyday, and sharing with the group their positive vibes and energy. The group that shared the same chalet with me was such a lovely treat as well. It feels like I've made so many friends from so many backgrounds. Everyone I stayed with was so kind and thoughtful, that they soon were a source of inspiration when it came to the challenging bits of the hiking. Seeing my fellow chalet-mates give their absolute best and motivate myself and each other was such a beautiful experience. 10/10 would do again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many inspirational moments, that it's very hard to point at just one and say this is THE MOST inspirational one of them all. I can mention the many beautiful views around charmonix or even just simply waking up each morning and opening the windows to the fresh mountain air and scenic views of the sunrise hitting the mountain summits. I can recall the many delicious meals provided at the chalet as well as the fancy restaurant with the 3 course dinner that our group went to together during our free day. I can remember the challenging bits during our hikes and the quietness of the moment when our group sat around to eat lunch. Everything, from the start to especially the finish of the trip was inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I feel absolutely #blessed to have Adelene as our group leader. What makes her a great lead is her passion and enthusiasm! She loves what she's doing and absolutely doesn't mind sharing that joy with the group. Adelene is also perceptive on people's strengths and weaknesses. She takes special care to make sure that everyone in the party is enjoying themselves, whether it was those close to the head of the pack and those holding strong at the rear. She is also in tune with the difficult bits of the trails. Adelene offered a helping hand whenever the trail got tricky. At no point did i feel in any danger during the hikes. Adelene was also a teacher in a past life! It was awesome to ask a question about the local geography and receive a well thought out and immersive discussion of the topic. Adelene, thank you for being you!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My only criticism is that I can't give more stars for this review. I kid, in seriousness, I can see why previous reviewers mentioned that this felt a bit more than a 3/5 difficulty. It's not enough to grant a 4/5, but taxing enough where a good pair of hiking shoes and trekking poles are highly suggested. It's also good to have excellent situational awareness when hiking, as there are moments with very narrow trails, slippery stones, scrambling up rocks, and tree roots that can snag your feets. It's nothing new for those that hike occasionally, but is useful information to have if you are considering this tour. Make sure to pre and post stretch your legs, and to take full advantage of the jacuzzi at the end of each hike or the local spa center on the off day. It will help your knees and legs tremendously the day after. My fiance and myself came from US, and we used Mountain Dropoffs as our van service from Geneva airports to the chalet. I recommend going through them as the entire experience was smooth as silk at a very good cost. One last thing, just be aware not to overindulge with the hot water when you shower, as you wouldn't want other chalet roomies to miss out on a warm shower.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this trip for ease of mind and comfort whilst partaking on the TMB hikes. If the hikes get too taxing through the week, know that it's ok to take a zero day. There is so much to do around the beautiful Charmonix town =D. Ben, Zoe, and Adelene are all well versed with the area to provide anyone with a great personalized itinerary for the day! Special shout out to the young couple Ben and Zoe, as they truly are the bestest chalet hosts ever as well as a great tag-team chef duo that provides an excellent EXCELLENT dining experience. To future travelers for this tour, you will not regret it. To Exodus Travel, you've struck gold with the Adelene, Zoe, and Ben trio.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Nicola Cullen

    Outstanding Week in Chamonix Environs

    What a week! I have already completed the TMB with Exodus but decided to come back with a friend and was not disappointed. The walks, whilst in the same area as the TMB route, were varied so that I didn't feel that I was repeating the routes and saw different areas of the mountain range.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was fabulous - the walks were varied and interesting and the views stunning. We all made the most of the day off in Chamonix - going up the Aguille Du Midi and watching people ascend Mont Blanc, or having an afternoon with adreline activities such as paragliding or relaxing in the new spa. I have come away with 11 new friends and amazing memories of another great week in Chamonix and with Exodus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Adelene, was outstanding - she flexed the days to make best use of the changing autumnal weather and with 'mizzle' days still ensured that we had fulfilling walks. She was aware of everyone's strengths and weaknesses, and was in tune with the dynamics of the group. She had the honesty to advise less able walkers on the routes and recommend alternative activities for these walkers - this ensured that they weren't pushed out of their comfort zones and still had an enjoyable time during the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whether you have never been to Chamonix or have done walks in the region before, you should still have a great time walking and relaxing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our chalet hosts Ben and Zoeh were excellent too - the cuisine was scrummy, with delicious afternoon cakes waiting for us after our hikes. They were very safe drivers too, ferrying us to various points in the valleys including through the Mont Blanc tunnel.....they also had some interesting fact about the tunnel!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Lucy Wiggins

    Excellent trip, Excellent Leader and Excellent Chalet Hosts

    I went walking the first week of September 2019 and had an amazing week. I was very lucky in that the group I walked with were all lovely. The leader, Adelene was extremely enthusiastic, gave brilliant briefings for each daily walk and adjusted in accordance with weather and forecasts and was extremely knowledgable for the area we were walking. From start to finish the Chalet Chocolat was an incredible experience, the two hosts Ben and Zohi went above and beyond to make us all feel incredibly welcomed and the food was brilliant and we could not have been looked after better. The team leader and chalet hosts are a real credit to Exodus and I could not recommend them enough in making our trip such a memorable one. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people I met during the trip and beautiful scenery of the Mont Blanc region

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A lot of the group used walking poles. On your day off get up early and visit the L’Aiguille du Midi and then head to the Spa which is incredible and an experience like no other I have visited

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For returning customers it may be good if you could vary the routes to offer something new as the area is vast and I would love to see more of the area doing a similar chalet experience in a week
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Amit Bhutani

    Excellent [email protected] Mount Blanc by Group Leader & Hosts at Chalet Chamonix !

    Paul Our tour guide/leader was easy going, well versed with the hikes and always had a smile on his face. Paul was also very helpful, I left my phone behind in one of the refuge , he went out of his way to get the phone collected from a colleague which saved me half a day ! Thanks a ton Paul, really appreciate your help !! Claire/Liz, Again excellent hosts, well kept Chalet,clean and tidy rooms, three course dinner served at 730pm was fresh and delicious ! Both of them also gave brilliant suggestions on things to do on a off day! Thank you Claire/Liz, you both are very good hosts ! Regards, Amit Bhutani

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch break during the second day of hike with scenic views of Alps was out of the world experience. Will never forget sitting in peace, enjoying my music, having sandwiches while appreciating nature!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Laura C

    Amazing

    This trip was absolutely brilliant. Helped out with great weather in July, we had five stunning days of varied walks in this gorgeous part of the world. A privilege to see MB from so many different perspectives, and so much alpine botany etc. The whole experience from start to finish was fantastic, from airport pick up to drop off - aided largely from having brilliant chalet hosts, a heroic team leader and a lovely, lovely group of other travellers (a mixed bag of couples, friends travelling together and those who had arrived solo). Definitely on the classier side, with a comfortable chalet, spectacular food made and served by the lovely, fun and friendly Zohi and Ben, and access to all the amenities of fancy Chamonix. The trekking was no walk in the park, and you have to be prepared to feel very tired at the end of each day. But if you really wanted to cop out and stay put in town for the day, of course you could - but no one in our group did as the walking and banter was too good! The only negative was the fairly pants service by Swiss Air - I'd recommend just getting an Easyjet for half the price to be honest and meeting everyone at Geneva / saying bye bye there on way back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyone making it through - pushed on by our fantastic guide Emma - each and every day of stunning walking - felt like such a cumulative and collective act of willpower and achievement, despite everyone feeling quite tired and achy! Zohi's meals in Chalet Chocolat were simply sensational and a culinary inspiration every evening. Truly amazing meals that made everyone realise how rubbish we are at cooking and how much more there is to learn!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    AMAZING! Emma was brilliant. She made us feel like a team from the get go, joined us for dinner every evening to recover from the day, was able to rally us all through five days of quite intense physical exercise, and was incredibly knowledgeable about the terrain too. Made for a much ricer experience than a thoughtless if pretty trudge up the mountains. We all felt we had come to understand a lot about the region, its flora, fauna and geology. Top marks, Prof. Emma! She tended to minor mishaps and injuries with calm and care, and kept an eye on all of us - but pushed us to completion and didn't let the pace slacken to a grinding halt when we were all a bit tired. She also made us do some interesting warm ups...but we'll forgive you! Emma had faith in all of us and kept us going. Her previous experience - from the Arctic to Siberia, as well as a thorough understanding of the MB area - meant we all felt in safe hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check your travel insurance for paragliding on the day off, if you want to book a session. We had to cancel last minute realising we weren't covered and this was rubbish for us and the company we let down. Be prepared to feel tired but in a good way! It isn't easy meandering, although a super pro might think so. But most of us, all in pretty reasonable nick, felt whacked out at the end of each day and slept deeply. Definitely recommend walking poles as descents could be pretty steep and sore on the knees. Consider flying by Easyjet instead as we were pretty underwhelmed by Swiss Air booking via Exodus - especially the long queue at Geneva airport on the way back as there was no way of checking in using the machines to avoid it. It was especially hot on our last day of trekking, so be prepared with tonnes of water! Obvious but important.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    FABULOUS trip that exceeded expectations (which were pretty high anyway given we were off to see Mont Blanc!) The 5 star factor came down to our amazing guide and chalet hosts - together they made it run seamlessly and feel so friendly. It would have been great anyway in such a beautiful setting, but the human factor is what makes the real difference. Exodus should be proud of these three legends.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    LESLEY CARD

    Great walks with stunning views

    Thoroughly enjoyed this trip. You will need to be reasonably fit as each day has some long steady ups and downs but the views from the high spots are well worth the effort. The walks were paced to suit the ability of the group and the food served each day, by Liz and Clare, was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the high spots with time to sit and enjoying the views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Lotte was exceptional. Keeping us all together and pacing the walks to suit the ability of the group. She was well informed and knew a lot about the geography of local area. Her descriptions of the next days walks were accurate and informative. A very good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you are fit enough to walk continually up hill for a couple of hours and be prepared for any weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its just a great holiday but you must be able to enjoy being part of a group
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Ian Graham

    Stunning Trip

    This trip was excellent, a great way to see Mont Blanc and the Chamonix Valley without doing the 2 week TMB. The comfort of having a shower and a bed to sleep in at the end of each day makes it all the more appealing. The walks are excellent and varied with fantastic views each day. A couple of the walks start with cheeky climbs in the morning but the rewards are worthwhile. Zohi and Ben our Hosts at Chalet Chocolat were excellent and the food was outstanding and one of the highlights of the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting a new group of people, and of cause the great view of Mont Blanc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lotte Stuer was an excellent group leader, her knowledge of the area and walks was outstanding. Her interaction with a the walking group (Age 25 to 60+) was brilliant, had many interesting discussions during and after each days walk.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure your equipment, especially your boots are of good quality and well broken in, having blisters will put a dampener on your trip.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Jenny Aitchison

    Wonderful!

    The trip provided a great introduction to Mont Blanc for those who were there for the first time, as well as providing new experiences for anyone who had visited before. My husband and I already knew the Mont Blanc area, having walked there on many occasions, but this excellent holiday took us on some routes that were new to us and gave us fresh perspectives on the fabulous scenery of the region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the massif - white snow against the deep blue sky - with the mountainsides covered with a myriad of colourful wildflowers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emma Linford was an excellent leader. She quickly learned which, if any, aspects of the routes made individuals uncomfortable and was on hand to offer advice and assistance. She has an extensive knowledge of the geology, flora and fauna of the region and was able to explain things well to the group. First rate!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the fact that the trip is described as 'moderate', but some felt that it was a little harder than that - more 'moderate plus'. The distances are not particularly great, but there is obviously, given the area, a lot of steep up and equally steep down, in July at least, with high temperatures. There are, of course, low level options available if people don't feel able to complete the higher walks, but these would need to be completed under their own steam.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation was very comfortable. Both our chalet hosts were excellent - friendly and efficient, helpful and good drivers too. Zohe is a fantastic chef - all her meals (and cakes) were absolutely delicious. Everyday she cooked up a storm from a tiny little kitchen - and still had time to chat.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Paula Rowbotham

    A fantastic experience!

    Initially a tad nervous as a first time trekker - now I’m hooked! Awe inspiring peaks, glaciers and stunning scenery in every direction every day, coupled with a real sense of achievement when you finish those ascents - What’s not to love! Emma our guide/leader instilled us with confidence and briefed us each night about the next day’s route giving lots of useful advice about things such as what to pack in our rucksack, how much water to take and the best way to tie our boots. Late afternoon it was back to the comfortable and cosy Chalet Chocolate, slickly run by hosts Zohi and Ben who made us all feel so at home. Delicious food and cakes to die for made for a very happy group and we had lots of fun and loads of laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention - every view that made us say “wow”. Realising the true scale of Mt Blanc and the way the mountains make us contemplate our own insignificance!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were in very safe hands. Emma had a wealth of expertise and knowledge but on top of that she had a genuine interest in the people in the group and she made sure that the week was both challenging and fun. Very supportive and encouraging, she managed the group really well, keeping us together and really helping the group to bond and so get greater enjoyment from each day. A great leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be fit enough to be able to cope with some long and pretty steep ascents in order to really enjoy this trip to the full. I would say that poles are a must. I had never used them before but borrowed some from Chalet Chocolat and found them really useful on the descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    La Mer de Glace and Aiguille du Midi are well worth a visit on your day off but definitely book your ticket up the cable car a few days in advance and for as early in the day as possible (first one is about 6.30 am) in order to fit it all in and make the most of your day. You could even fit in paragliding too if you put your mind to it!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Rory MacLeod

    27 July to 3 August

    An excellent walking trip enhanced by fine weather most of the time. Stunning scenery and a great location to explore the area. We were also blessed by wonderful food prepared by Zoe and Ben in Chalet Chocolate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views from Aiguille Du Midi over the clouds towards Mont Blanc. The day in Italy provided a contrast of views and a very pleasant walk with gelato at the end!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adelin was an excellent leader, considerate to all in the mixed ability group, and knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna..

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip. The hospitality provided by Ben & Zoe was excellent. It was great after a day's walking to come back to the hot tub and a freshly baked cake. Zoe's cuisine was a very pleasant surprise.