Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ruth Durbano

    Wonderful trip

    A wonderful experience, very varied with a generally good standard of hotels. Excellent guide, bus driver and helper.Fantastic places visited, which combined historic places,temples,Ashram,caves and nature reserves where we saw lots of birds and animals. Also had a little time free to soak up the feeling of the areas and of course some retail therapy, ending up at a beautiful seaside resort to relax for the final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty and tranquillity of the stay on the fabulous houseboat in the backwaters in Kerala, would have liked another night ! Also the whole experience of Mahabalipuram.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukose was amazing, very knowledgeable, very helpful and always looking out for everyone.He went the extra mile on so many occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full on trip with amazing sights,food and nature full of wildlife.Quite a few hotels don't have fridges,hairdryers or safe boxes in the rooms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't over impressed with cookery demonstration. I could have done with a little more free time,but overall an absolutely brilliant holiday and experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    robert lacey

    south india

    Well i preferred the South generally to the north, but I felt there where to many Temples etc, and I would have preferred more time visiting farming families and being involved with the land more. This was my 1st coach holiday,and I found that quite tiring. Kerala waterways was lovely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kerala waterways. And the people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good guide, cound'nt do enough for you to make you comfortable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a soft cushion. and be prepared for some long journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found the south more pleasing then the north, and although the trips where spread out it was a good way to see such a large area.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Geoffrey Leigh

    Chaos, colour and cacophony

    A full-on three weeks, travelling around 3,000km by road, rail and water in the three southern most states in India. The trip took in contrasting landscapes, languages, culture, religion, wildlife, history, heritage and daily life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think inspirational maybe a little too OTT. There were many times we were brought face to face with the complexity and seeming timelessness of many aspects of India - the way religion is part of the daily life of so many with temples, mosques and churches everywhere and well attended. The enormous gap between rich and poor. The hard work so many people carried out to earn a living and the number of people it took to perform a simple task, each one earning a small amount for a small task. Whereas we would have one person multi-tasking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PK was fun and well organised. His English was sometimes confusing but not seriously so. He never became frayed even tho' there were times he was under pressure. and in the beginning dealing with a difficult situation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do your homework beforehand! Look at the itinerary, buy a decent map and do some reading. Be prepared for seeing abject poverty. Try to keep an open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly enjoyable three weeks. A really fun group we were with.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Joanna Birt

    Brilliant experience of Southern India

    Our first experience of India, what an unforgettable trip. Such a wide mix of history, culture & wildlife. A very busy 2 weeks, very little spare time, but so worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On exiting Chennai airport the atmosphere hits you, the sights, the sounds & the aromas! (Of course the heat) So much poverty, the women bathing, & washing in the river was so moving but I felt like an intruder. At the other end of the spectrum Mysore Palace was amazing. Bandipur Tiger reserve was a brilliant experience despite no tiger making an experience, witnessing the wild life both at dawn & dusk. See elephants in the wild. Eating with the locals, trying local dishes, I loved it. The back water of Kerala just stunning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was a very good leader, excellent English, very knowledgable. He had a good sense of humour, was very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Read the itinerary, & the trip notes. It is a full on tour, with a few very early starts & long days, but it’s all worth it. Not much time for relaxing. Timings our only a guide & are flexible
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Anne-Marie Robinson

    Fascinating trip

    This trip has an interesting and varied itinerary, with plenty of excellent cultural visits. There is quite a lot of travel involved, as stated in the trip notes, but it's a big country and there's loads to see....palaces, temples, nature reserves, tea plantations, markets, backwaters and beaches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the whole trip, but the highlight was the day and night spent on the backwaters in Alleppey. Just wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was outstanding. He was brilliantly organised, totally efficient, thoughtful, and charming. He made the trip a real pleasure to be on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of travel between places. If you don't like temples, don't do this trip!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Romaine and David Byers

    South India Explored

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip which went according to plan with excellent leader Sam Benjamin and with excellent safe driver. Sam went out of his way to show us all the little "incidentals" which make the trip, such as tile making , rubber tapping, rice plantation and spice plantations. The quality of the hotels was excellent. The only real problem we all faced was the slow service at restaurants, whether at hotels or elsewhere, where some people had finished their meal before others had even been served - but realise that this is a problem outside anyone's control.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The train trips were thoroughly enjoyable and sociable. Engaging manner of local people with our group. The beautiful Hindu temples - too numerous to mention. The houseboat stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was very knowledgeable, engaging and ensured the group was always satisfied, and happy and attentive to our needs. We would thoroughly recommend him as a group leader and it was interesting that he was prepared to learn from us as well as us from him. He was prepared to engage in topics on the bus when we asked him if these were of general interest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Water - there was plenty of water to drink on the bus from a water cooler. Hotels supplied bottled but we tried to limit using these because of plastic disposal. We were advised that cleaning teeth with tap water was OK. Food - we found the food a little too spicy and found we had to ask for less spice when this was possible.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Deborah-Jane Lear

    Absolutely fantastic, this really is a holiday I shall never forget!

    An excellent itinerary, a great variety of architecture, religions, culture, scenery and food all in one holiday. Fantastic!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very difficult to choose as there were a lot of wonderful sights and experiences during the trip. Visiting Brihadishwara Temple, built in the 10th century, which involved absolutely amazing craftmanship. It was great to revisit it in the morning when it was quiet and just enjoy the view. Meenakshi Amman temple is amazing too, the opulence of Mysore Palace- staggering!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam, our group leader, was excellent. He is very knowledgeable about the area and India in general. He also had a very good sense of humour which we all enjoyed. He had excellent social skills, circulating amongst the group and chatting easily with us all regularly. He always kept us informed about the itinerary for the day. Every meal time he helped those who needed advice about the menu, he always made sure that everyone had their food before he started eating. He was also punctual and endlessly patient. He did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We travelled over 2000 kilometres during the tour, there is lots to see, things of interest en route and regular stops, in order to do this, it does mean you are on a coach a lot. When we were travelling we were on the road by 8.00 each morning. Much of this trip is in the tropics, it is hot, humid and dusty, make sure you have water, there was some on the bus everyday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am very impressed by the Exodus Travels, the thought and preparation that goes into the itinerary to give customers the best experience possible. I also like teh company's ethics of trying to support the local people through tourism rather than multinational companies.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Paul Sullivan

    AIS: South India Explored

    This trip is a great way to cover a steady stream of varying, contrasting and engaging sights spread across southern India, in lush landscapes, undulating hills, ornate temples and impressive palaces to name but a few.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one single thing for me, purely the sheer range of places visited, almost every day bringing something new and enjoyable. If pushed to choose, it'd probably be between the cruise around the Kerala backwaters (a fantastic way to see another side of the country and people's lives there), and the village visit from Mahabalipuram on a festival day (again, a special way to see how much the event brought to the people there and how they celebrated it)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukose is a highly competent tour leader and guide, as we've come to expect, yet someone who also brings a freshness and vitality to each place we visited, ensuring we got the most from every day, including extra visits and activities which we all very much appreciated. His depth of knowledge and willingness to impart same to the group were two more areas he scores very highly on. Combined with this, his hugely positive attitude, enthusiasm, sense of humour and cheeky grin make him an outstanding ambassador for his country and patently reflect well on his employers and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A superb way to see a huge amount of the southern part of the country, in an itinerary I could find no parallel for with other operators. If you want to experience the essence of the region, this is certainly a trip deserving serious consideration.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Standard of accommodation was on the whole very good, with well-appointed rooms in hotels of very standing, which is not always the case on such trips, and something quite important on a 3-week trip covering a lot of ground.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jerry Dawson

    Comprehensive exploration of the sights of South India

    If you have three weeks to spare and want to see the highlights of South India, this is the trip for you. Comprehensive coverage of the main temples, palaces, hill stations and other attractions of the region. Although the trip packs in all the sights, it did not feel rushed and there is enough time left free to explore on your own. South India seems much less frenetic than the north and the food is amazing! There is a lot of driving but the bus is air conditioned and spacious and from time to time the group travels by train, which is a fascinating experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In terms of sights, the highlights for me were driving through the tea plantations near Ooty and Periyar, exploring the streets of former French colony Pondicherry, having lunch during a small cyclone in the "Rick Stein" beachfront restaurant in Mahabalipuram, exploring the various flower and vegetable markets, the waterfront at Kovalam, and the overnight houseboat trip in the Kerala Backwaters near Alleppey. The real highlight for me, however, was the food - Indian food all day from breakfast (puris and iddlys) through to dinner - including the several stops at roadside restaurants for thalis at lunchtime, the wonderful seafood in Mahabalipuram and Kovalam, and the cooking demonstration (with active participation) in Thekkady/ Periyar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rajesh P.K. did a great job. He had a kind and caring personality and was very open with information about India and its customs, religions and culture. All the trip logistics worked out well - which is quite an achievement for India!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some very long journeys on the bus so do bring a book to read. Although western food is available at all the hotels and most restaurants, it will add greatly to the enjoyment of the trip if you throw caution to the wind and eat the local food - lot of amazing veg and non-veg options! If you want a cold beer with dinner, call ahead to the restaurant to make sure there are beers in the fridge (many restaurants seem to serve beer at room temperature!)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked more time in Pondicherry with a more comprehensive city walking tour to include information about life during the 300 years of French occupation; and also time to see the main sights in Chennai.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mindy Grantham

    Great trip! Covered a lot of ground

    I was already traveling in India and made a fairly last minute decision to join this tour. I’m very glad I did. We had a small group which made it easy to move around, see things, hear the guides, and have a more personal experience. The guide (Santo) was great! He’s very personable, knowledgeable, and tries to make sure that we have a local experience to the extent possible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being at Periyar and having the guide start telling our group to be quiet and move quickly as we started running through the forest in order to get to the place where an elephant was spotted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santo was wonderful. He’s super nice (all of the time even when there’s a difficult member of the group), he explains things well so we all understand in advance what to expect, he makes sure the trip is seamless for us (even though I’m sure there’s always issues) and he tries to give us local experiences too, which really makes the difference. I highly recommend him! I’d do another trip of his.
Call us on 074 340 4587