Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

72 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Paul McGovern

    Stupendous Trekking

    This trip was inspirational. The scenery, the challenge and the group combined to make this one of the top trips provided by Exodus. Our leader was excellent. His knowledge, storytelling and ability to read the group was outstanding. It was an extremely diverse group but the leader pulled it all together admirably. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Treks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was super fit and highly trained. He handled the group so well and had my total confidence.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring poles.
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Outstanding Experience

    We altogether delighted in the entire Dolomites experience. The staff were well disposed and productive. Food was in every case crisp and tempting. We were additionally satisfied with the way that we could make up and back our very own snacks from the morning meal buffet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Monte Piana Trekking
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Pete Collins

    As spectacular as hoped!

    Having wanted to hike in the Dolomites for some years, I finally made a point of doing so, and it didn’t fail to impress. If you have an appreciation for spectacular mountain scenery and beautiful lakes, you won’t be disappointed. And when you couple this with exploring fascinating tunnels and trenches dating back to the First World War, explained by the knowledgable tour leader, together with stops to indulge in local delicacies such as apple strudel and kaiserschmarrn and the great hotel accommodation, it all adds up to a fantastic week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking to the top of mountains and cherishing the peace, tranquility and majesty of stunning 360° views... while enjoying a picnic lunch :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was very good. Having been a leader of this trip for many years, he has a wealth of knowledge of the area, mountains and trails and the history that goes with them. With this experience, Karl was aware of timing and watchful of the weather but the pace of the walks was never rushed. He also has a great sense of humour that can be ‘playful’ at times 😀 and is genuinely keen to make sure you are enjoying the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles are always useful for this type of trip but were invaluable for the trickier parts of some of the trails.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the rest day, it’s worth considering getting the train to Bruneck/Brunico and exploring the castle and Messner Museum inside it - this was a fascinating and pleasant surprise.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Maggie Johnson

    Outstanding trip

    A wonderful trip which exceeded our expectations. Although very day was different, each days walk was better than the day before. The TreCime walk was probably the best day hike of my life! Our guide Karl was a mine of information about the interesting history of the area this greatly added to our experience. I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tre Cime walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would like to try the grade 5 walk!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Laurie Thurston

    Spectacular Experience in the Italian Alps!

    If you're looking for an expertly organized trip guaranteeing you laughter, new friendships and adventure, you simply MUST choose this trip to the Dolomites. Unbelievably, each day is better than the last. Your week will be filled with super fun hikes, spectacular scenery and lots of cultural experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending my days in the company of these amazing mountains -- experiencing them from different angles, at various times of the day, in all sorts of lighting -- proved magical. I appreciated getting to know the area very well. Even though all of the hikes were different and every view unique, each day afforded gifts of its own. Truly, a wonderful experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl freaking rocks! His vast knowledge of the area and the people -- everyone knows him!! -- made every day even more fun. He's organized and on point, but also very laid back and responsive to the needs of both the group as a whole and as individuals. We were a varied group from ages 16 to 72 and he kept us all challenged and engaged every step of the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your sense of humor along with rain gear (though we got super lucky weather-wise...but it's the mountains at high elevation, so be prepared). And pace yourself when it comes to the AMAZING food! The dinners are epic ;) You'll love the Hotel Adler: fantastic staff, great accommodations and a super fun little town. On your free day, try out the bike rental and explore Villabassa and Lago di Dobbiaco...don't forget to stop for gelato (Karl will tell you where to go!!)....I would say, if you want a super hard core hiking trip that logs a ton of miles with very little stopping to enjoy the journey, this may not be the trip for you. But if you want to work off your dinners, get your heart rate up a bit and enjoy the views as you climb, this is a perfect trek!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Many of the people in our group had taken trips with Exodus before and had nothing but wonderful things to say about their other trips. This was our first outing with Exodus and it will NOT be our last. I am excited to continue exploring with this organization.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Denyse LeBrun

    Exceeded expectations!

    A blissful week of exhilarating trekking and comfortable lodging. The trees were of very reasonable length and level of difficulty. Every trek offered a different type of trek, terrain and views of the Dolomites. From finding am azure blue lake, to rolling hills of wild flowers, to wooded paths to raw limestone. Every day better than the previous. The hotel was stunning and very comfortable offering a plethora of food for all tastes and appetites. The quiet town allowed for a true escape and the opportunity to cycle on your free day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was an inspiration atop a mountain with a view of the Dolomites. My favourite day was monte piano and the opportunity to walk around a mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl is a brilliant and nurturing guide. His ability to ensure every hiker is comfortable and content is only surpassed by his knowledge of the terrain, paths, history and botany. He is clearly comfortable in the area and enjoys making sure everyone is happy. His sense of humour puts everyone at ease and facilitates early bonding among the hikers. He goes out of his way to give everyone their best possible experience and adventure.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring poles, all weather layering clothes, good solid boots and sunscreen. Have enough cash as ATM doesn’t work well. Use the pool to relax after the hikes and bring earplugs as although the town is quiet, the doors slam shut and can be echoed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip truly exceeded my expectations In every way. This was my second trip with Exodus, having previously partaken in Mont Blanc Highlights. I expected Dolomites to be less spectacular but it was indeed more spectacular with the contrasting colours and as I’ve mentioned the variety of terrains and views. The hotel was accommodating to my gluten-free vegan diet. The itinerary was perfect and every part was flawless. Lucked out having a wonderful guide and group.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Caroline Robinson

    Fabulous walking

    Great leader, Liz Proctor, fabulous walks in great scenery. Good hotel with great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up the Tre Cime

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz Proctor was brilliant. Informative, friendly, personable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have done some walking beforehand as you'll be on your feet for 6 hours a day. And be prepared to walk up!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel service in the restaurant was hit and miss. There wasn't a standard vegetarian option which caused issues for some of the group. A more simple wine list. There was no staff on a Tuesday which caused the issues with service.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Susan Ringoen

    Classic Dolomites-Premium Trip Notes

    This was my first time to do a group travel "adventure" and this Exodus trip exceeded my expectations. It was superb in every detail-the daily hikes were truly phenomenal; our leader had a wealth of outdoor and guiding experience, and shared many interesting hiking and history tidbits; our hotel was exceptional-staff, meals, extras -all such a treat! I can't wait to plan my next Exodus adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day's hike seemed to build on the previous one...I'm not sure I could say which was the most inspirational - they were all fantastic. On the free day our leader helped us to connect with a Via Ferrata guide and that was perhaps the highlight/most inspirational for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an experienced, confident and easy-going leader. He had interesting tips for us about our hiking, as well as sharing interesting history bits from the area. He managed the various levels of the group with ease.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Kirk Fedder

    Dolomites 2018

    Exodus provided a very well planned and executed trip. Communication with Exodus prior to the trip was easy, and they were very good about answering questions. The guide, Alex, was excellent. He was very well informed about the geological and historical history of Northern Italy, and he was eager to share this history with us. Alex would be an excellent professor! He always let us know what the next day's hike would be like, and he would describe the hikes by his estimated degree of "spiciness" (one pepper, two peppers, etc.). The Hotel Adler was the perfect place to stay for the week. The Adler is family owned and staffed, as it has been for over 50 years. They were very friendly, warm and welcoming, and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the menu varied every night. The small dining room staff of 3 or 4, were there for every meal, and were very friendly, helpful, and efficient. Of the 16 people on this trip, all but 3 or 4 of us had traveled with Exodus before multiple times. Not only was this trip very well planned, organized, and executed, it was also an extremely good value at half of the price of other companies we looked at for a similar itinerary. I will definitely travel with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The closeness and friendship within our very diverse group 16.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See previous comments.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    JACKIE CASH

    CHALLENGING BUT VERY REWARDING

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole Dolomites experience. We selected the challenging week and found that it was just the right level for us. The treks took us to different mountain peaks and we were always rewarded with the most fantastic breathtaking views. Alex our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Hotel Adler was centrally located with shops, bars and cafes nearby. The staff were friendly and efficient. Food was always fresh and appetising. We were also very pleased with the fact that we could make up and back our own lunches from the breakfast buffet. We would recommend this trip for views and excellent value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking to the top of Monte Piana where the Italian and Austrian Fronts were battling during the 1st World War and seeing the trenches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent and efficient group leader with lots of advice and knowledge to impart.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train well to enjoy the experience and ensure that you have done plenty of hill walking.