Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Malcolm Mahony

    Fascinating and beautiful country

    The desert landscape and Petra are stunning. The scrambling is exciting. The archaeology is outstanding. The culture is fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah worked hard to make the trip successful and enjoyable. He was totally unflappable!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should be aware that the trekking area is heavily used by 4-wheel drive vehicles taking tourists on day trips. This compromises the wilderness feel. Unfortunately they also leave behind a lot of plastic litter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed by the generally tolerant and supportive attitude of Jordanians towards the 3 million plus refugees who live there. What a contrast to most other countries! Excellent service by Exodus staff.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Suzanne Kane

    title is good and reflects the event

    I very much enjoyed this trip, the desert, scrambling, company and guide. As expected the tent accommodation was basic but fine. The food was adequate but the ingredients a bit repetitive but I suppose that this is what one should expect in the desert. The main problem I had was the fact that the desert is a very popular day outing for tourists in open trucks, of which there were many. The high number of trucks etc mitigated against the feeling of being in the desert/wilderness. We had to jump off the track many times and at one point had a couple of open vans careering down a steep slope towards us. A bit disconcerting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact of being in a desert, which I had not experienced before, and the scramble up the hill which I very much enjoyed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdulla was an exceptionally good guide. Knowledgeable, honest especially when he did not know something, humorous, and very diplomatic when required. Attentive and fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed being in a very nice group who all got on well.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    D Metronome

    Check small print

    +wadi rum trekking awesome -felt obliged to tip -dietary medical needs not conveyed to chef - sleeping bag provided was broken & not suitable season - Mena & Petra palace less than suitable abodes + Guide Abdullah was awesome - chef & Tool did well despite resources in dessert

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Final camp realising last time needed to assemble own tent

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good but aware / keen to keep us together even in last 48 hours

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take: Gaitors Ear plugs Eye mask Head torch Dead Sea neoprene booties Compeed & variations Buy Arab scarf in event of sand storms Take Jordanian dinards £150 circa. Expect to spend £100. Dessert freezing at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony Rose

    In a trail of the Middle East

    A fantastic experience, trekking through Wadi Rum, camping with the Bedouins, walking in the footsteps of Lawrence of Arabia. The jewel in the crown of this trip was A full day in Petra ,The red rose city. The people of Jordan were warm and friendly adding to an all round enjoyable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First sight of The Treasury, amazing. We set off at 6 am to beat the crowds, and was not disappointed, as we were one of the first groups there and managed to get some photos without anyone in the background

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Abdallah, was passionate, knowledgeable with a wicked sense of humour and a cheeky grin.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a hip flask, it is a job to get a drink outside of Amman

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thoroughly recommend this trip
  • Reviewed March 2019
    MARY-ANN PRESTON

    Amazing!

    I have just returned from this wonderful week. It was such a different experience to anything I have every done - slogging daily through loose deep sand (so glad I spent those weeks beforehand training hard!), wild camping in completely remote desert locations, sitting round a camp fire drinking hot thyme infused black tea, eating delicious feasts produced as if by magic by Youssef, and much much more. Our delightful guide Abdullah gave us such detailed and enlightening information about Jordan and in particular about the Bedouin people and culture who lived in this area and the ancient Nabataeans who created the spectacular site that is Petra and ruled there for hundreds of years. Thank you Exodus for this amazing experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Those wonderful morning and afternoon snacks and hot lunch and evening meals conjured up as if by magic by Youssef. His kitchen was discreetly hidden behind the trucks and he and his helper brought it all out ready assembled on their fold up table. Wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was so charming and an amazing leader. So knowledgeable, his descriptions of the culture and history of the Bedouins and Nabataeans was inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found I'd taken all the wrong clothes for this time of year. Although it warmed up in the day, I didn't have enough warm layers for the evenings and at night camping. Take a really good sleeping bag. Mine was a 3/4 season one but I was not nearly warm enough.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Vicky Harper

    Trip of a life time!

    I had wanted to visit Jordan and Petra for a long time and I finally got around to booking, choosing exodus. We are an active couple and wanted a trip that would challenge us but we could also see the sites. This trip had everything we wanted and it did not disappoint.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi Rum desert is an incredible landscape. Nothing like I have ever seen. From waking up and seeing the view from your tent to sitting around a campfire with your new found friends looking at the most insane starry sky. I never thought it was possible to see the Milky way so clearly, in wadi rum it is. Petra. The whole day was amazing. Its so much more than The Treasury. We walked for 10 miles that day and loved every minute!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa our group leader was great, he loved telling us stories and explaining the history of the area. He was so organised, so organised that every looked so easy. There was no issues. I would also like to mention the brothers who looked after us from the moment we stayed at their Bedouin camp to wild camping for the next few days. Great hospitality and company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If I were to do this trip again. Id pack half of what I took. I would also use an exodus sleeping bag and take a sleeping bag liner with me instead. I found that it was warm enough not to use a sleeping bag. We went in early October. Wet wipes are a must as long as long as you don't litter and a head torch is deffo handy when you have a call of nature at 4am in the morning. Ooo and a battery pack for your camera when you are out in the desert, forget your phone theres no signal, enjoy the break! Blisters: Take blister plasters with you. I had a couple put plasters on straight away and no issues or discomfort. Catch them straight away!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Amman was not good and have reported this to Exodus. On a fitness front: I am not a walker. I went on a few long 3 hour walks before I went and found the trip not too challenging. The challenges are the soft sanded areas and heat. Take a hat and you will be fine. Don't be put off you can do it!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Saeah Briggs

    Amazing country

    Jordan was like no other country on earth, the trekking on sand was challenging but the routes seemed to be planned to take break points just at the point I felt I couldn’t do anymore!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I’d dressed more conservatively than I needed to - girls are ok in respectable length shorts and short sleeved tops in the desert and at Petra.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Ailsa Watson

    AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!

    I knew before I even left for this trip that it was going to be something special, but I didn't realise just how special that would be. The scenery is breathtaking throughout the desert and in Petra it's easy to see why it is a World Heritage Site! we spent 4 nights, 5 days wild camping in the desert with the beduoin and it really was a beautiful experience in so many ways. Sleeping under the stars or in our tents, we were looked after in every aspect and they really could not do enough for us and always with a smile on their faces. Our Guide Issa was knowledgeable, friendly and approachable I learnt an awful lot from him as we walked and chatted along with way. Jordan is a strikingly beautiful country with so much history it really is worth a visit, I can guarantee you will 100% not regret it. Take me back!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful desert scenes that we woke up to every day. The sunsets over the sandstone rocks every evening. Money is of no consequence in the desert.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa was a fabulous tour guide there was nothing he did not know and he handled every situation (some unexpected) we came across with ease, confidence and a friendly nature.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Brian Kite

    Fantastic Wadi Rum and Petra

    Fantastic walk through the Jordanian desert made famous by the exploits of Lawrence of Arabia. We had expected sand but not the beautiful sandstone hills / mountains which changed colour during the day and showing incredible orange hues at sunset.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it! The initial walk over a huge dune to the Bedouin camp and walking back for the sunset. The Bedouin cooking and especially the zarb were highlights. All of the walks were enjoyable especially the climb - and descent from - Burdah Bridge. The walks were well paced with frequent water stops. (On this trip plentiful water refills were available.) Issa took us into Petra via an interesting walk past a Neolithic village site and the mountain which was one of King Solomon's Mines. This meant our first view of Petra was the Monastery. By the time we were ready (after lunch) to explore the rest of Petra the bulk of tourists were just arriving and struggling UP the 400 steps. We had the luxury of descending.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa had a clear love and enthusiasm for his country which he shared at all times. He arranged appropriate stops on the drive to Wadi Rum. He looked after us well in the desert ensuring people always had water and opportunities for water stops. He chose camp sites with opportunities for spectacular sunsets and star gazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had taken sterling and US dollar notes to exchange to Jordanian Dinars. The bank we stopped at would not accept our £20 and £10 notes. They said they could only accept £50 notes. Fortunately, we were able to use the ATM.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tents were obviously new and the Bedouin staff took good care of them. It was a special treat to find, on the last day of the trek, they had put the tents up for us. Do take the opportunity to have the Turkish bath in Petra. It was a final bonding experience!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Eric Brierley

    The best that Jordan can offer

    From day 1 I loved the feel Of Jordan, Jordan is a place of friendly people. The desert hike and Petra will not disappoint you. I added 3 extra days, 1 before the hike to see Amman, and 2 after to visit Jerash and the dead sea, and there are plenty of other places to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being in a group of like minded people, and we all got on working as a team to help each other. The wild camping under the mass of stars, just never see so many stars. And Petra no words to describe just see for your self.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was great, made sure we were supplied with plenty of water and good places to stop in the desert for a rest from the baking sun. And a good laugh too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty of sun screen high factor is best, a good sun hat. And yes don't pack too much like I did( what do you need in the desert ? Not a lot )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Knowing how to put up a tent is a handy thing to know. I didn't but I do now :)
Call us on 074 340 4587