Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Susan Keane

    Mules carrying luggage

    Although I’ve been back home a while. I still have memories of seeing a mules loaded up with our heavy suitcases. Their legs buckling underneath. A taxi brought some of our group up the mountain so it was possible to transport our luggage down in a vehicle. I still don’t understand while animals are used to do this. It’s not quaint - it’s abuse. PleAse look at PETA. In Jordan a collapsed horse carrying suitcases is kicked in the face by its owner. It’s time to stop this abuse. Please check no animals are used on your next holiday. Sorry Exodus but you did not change the situation in Morocco when I complained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it except the use of mules.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check no animals are used on your trip. We saw donkey viciously kicked by member of staff on trip to Roman site. He worked at the site.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t let others abuse animals on your behalf.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We sincerely regret that Susan’s experience in Morocco has left her with such disappointment with the use of animals on the tour and has highlighted the animal abuse present in Jordan; Exodus does not use horses on our tours in Jordan due to their known mistreatment. We do, however, use mules in Morocco as it provides local employment and the environment is different to that in Jordan. Our local partners in Morocco are part of an initiative in the High Atlas to create awareness amongst local people about mule care and have held workshops for muleteers from a number of local communities in regards to mule care and welfare in association with a British organisation. Whilst we cannot control the actions of locals not working with Exodus we are confident that this training is helping to spread further education to muleteers and encourage care which puts the animal’s welfare as a priority. Exodus leaders are tasked to report any animal cruelty that they may see whilst on our tours, and they request that certain muleteers are not used on Exodus tours should they witness any cruelty towards the animals.

    Tom Harari - Product Manager for Morroco 

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Penelope Phillips

    Brilliant

    We had 10 people in our group. We all got in well together marking a good start. The experience of the different places we visited gave us a good understanding of Morocco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camel ride. A bit hairy but not to be mist

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul really should us his love for his country. He lissend to our interest and took us to extra places of intrest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When we were in the in the High Atlas it was cold. They said it was the coldest in 12 years make sure you have a jumper. The walks we did were good I was glad I had my poles with me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a great holiday my mind is still there. You will enjoy It it was one of the best I have had
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Nigel Cripps

    highlights of Morocco (AHM)

    This was a good tour of Morocco - it gave an excellent overview of the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains. The souk in Fez A good group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be briefed for the walk to the mountain village of Hammam. It is 5km at altitude. Ask the taxi to take your shoulder bag and camera. We did it in the dark, take a torch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Immigration at Casablanca required the address of the first night hotel. This was not in the tour itinerary. Eventually he accepted the trip notes but it was a close run thing. Suggest all hotel details are include in the tour notes. The first hotel was poor compared with the other 'comfort hotels' used. Two areas for improvement, firstly the bed room was small, had to climb over my wife to go to bed and secondly the breakfast was dire. Question. Why use a city centre hotel, the only visit was at a mosque on the coast? Would preferred to pay more and use a better hotel at the airport. The food at the mountain retreat at Hammam was very bland, poor in comparison with others. Wonder is something had gone wrong in the kitchen. The breakfast in the Marrakech hotel was poor. It ran out. Eventually some additional orange juice was provided which was used immediately but no more appeared.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Ursula Bischoff

    Great Itinerary, Bad Hotels

    The itinerary for this trip is great - you'll get a wonderful overview of Morocco as you'll visit the cities, the desert and the mountains. Our tour guide was knowledgeable as I've come to expect it from Exodus, and the local guides used at some sites were great as well. What let this trip down were the hotels - they're just not particularly good for the Standard departures. Most of them were noisy (the one in Fes is literally next to a mosque) and in need of refurbishment (Meknes), the beds were uncomfortable verging on painful, and in some cities you're not really where the action is as you're not staying in the Medina (Fes/Marrakech). The camp in the desert is very basic (does have toilets, though, but not much else in terms of comfort). Personally, I felt the 2 night stay in the Atlas mountains was a bit pointless - the hammam was interesting as we got to interact with the locals, but otherwise not an amazing experience and the walk was just going back and forth on a mule track.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking at the stars in the desert.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Amanda Wiggill

    Highlights of Morocco

    This was an amazing adventure and a great way to see as much of the country as possible, experience the culture, learn about the history, and meet the friendly locals. We had a great tour leader and driver and stayed in some authentic accommodation sites from an auberge in Merzouga, a bedouin camp in the Sahara Desert, a kasbah in the High Atlas Mountains and a riad in Essaouira.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing and inspirational moments that it's hard to choose. The Medina in Fez was fascinating and a true maze of local artisans. Riding a camel in the Sahara Desert and spending the night under the stars was fun and the beauty of Todra Gorge and the High Atlas Mountains were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour Leader Lahcen was brilliant and obviously loved his country, people and culture very much and was keen to share this with us. He had a great sense of humour and and did an amazing job of entertaining and bonding the group as well as sharing his knowledge. Lahcen went out of his way to ensure that we all got as much out of our time in Morocco as possible even inviting us to visit his moms house who graciously welcomed all 15 of us tourists into her home with mint tea and almonds. He also went out of his way to try and find shops for us to buy drinks and snacks from and a pharmacy when some needed imodium, to stopping for ATM's and banks when we needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat if travelling from April through to September. Temperatures were just under or over 40°C each day when we went in September. Take Imodium as some of our group developed dodgy tummies though Lahcen was great at ensuring we visited a pharmacy for those who did not bring any. As advised by our local leader be careful when tipping or giving money to beggars especially children as this encourages their families not to send them to school.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great way to get a taste of Morocco and to experience the highlights this amazing country has to offer. Go with an open mind and attitude and you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Paul kane

    Highlights of Morocco

    It's a good trip if you are very fit and don't get unwell some of the hotels have no hot water some have no air con or fans highlight camel ride

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camel ride

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ok but because he runs marathons I think he thinks we all can

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes don't get ill and you need to be reasonably fit

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good luck
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Elizabeth Minchin

    Highlights of Morocco

    This was the perfect tour, giving us insight into the history and culture of Morocco. It was quite varied: we visited souks in Meknes, Fez and Marrakech, the Sahara, Todra Gorge, a remote village in the High Atlas Mountains, and the Portuguese town of Essaouira on the coast. We stayed in a range of accommodations, from comfortable hotels to fairly basic but perfectly acceptable homestays (and a camp in the Sahara).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The evening and night in the desert. But that is one amongst many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdoul was fantastic. He was quickly able to bond our group of 16. He was always kind and helpful; and he was fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect a luxury holiday. But it is a trip that introduces you to a very different culture--so deeply interesting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Probably no need to take a sleeping bag, as recommended. But check.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Robert Lansburg

    A great way to see as much as possible

    I wanted to see as much of the country as possible. You cover 2,600 kilometers (1,600 miles) so it's a lot of bus time. The guide, Mohammed, is first-rate. He has a real love of the country and definitely communicates this passion. The driver is excellent as well. Exodus gives you a mountain lodge about an hour walk from motorized roads (mules carry the luggage) and that is something different. Lodging was very good and they picked some nice locations in the medinas. All the lodging was good and I just took the regular trip, not the premium. Moroccan people are friendly and the trip exceeded my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the Atlas mountains, the chance to experience the Sahara and Essaouira is a gem.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional, really goes out of his way to make this a very rich experience for everyone on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Breakfasts are bread and jam, so if you want something more substantive than a diabetic special, bring your own food. Just be aware that there's a lot of travel on this trip. Don't plan your trip around Marrakech. I was expecting this fabled city and it's a big tourist hustle. Essaouria and Fez are both outstanding for the city portions of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you figure you may only go to Morocco once, this is a good choice. Or, the trip works well to see a lot of the country and then you can decide where to go back. You see the important cities and a lot of the countryside.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Anonymous

    Highlights of morocco

    This was a truly inspirational and varied trip, from the camel trek into the Sahara to watch the sunset and stay in an authentic Bedouin encampment, to the labyrinth of the medina in Fez, to the remote auberge in the beautiful High Atlas Mountains. Every day was an adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek into the Sahara Desert was definitely a highlight, but every day offered us a new experience; the souks of Meknes, the medina in Fez, the 'hidden' restaurant in a beautiful family owned read, entertainment from the guide and staff at the hotel in the stunning Todra Gorge, the beautiful High Atlas Mountains and the village of Tijzha, the fishing port of Essaouria, to name but a few!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Abdoul was an absolutely fantastic guide and couldn't do enough to make sure that every member of the group had a fabulous time. He arranged lots of extra activities that weren't on the itinerary; visits to local markets, local festivals and even a trip to see a local Berber band. The whole group were up shaking their booty at eleven o'clock in the morning! As previously mentioned, he provided musical entertainment at various hotels with other members of the hotel staff. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he did everything in his power to make sure we had a fabulous holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're traveling in April you don't need to take sleeping bags, there is plenty of bedding in the Bedouin tent. Also the exodus kit bags are surplus to requirement, the donkeys carry the suitcases up to the auberge in the Atlas Mountains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We thought that this trip was an absolute bargain due to the amount of experiences it offered
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Beverly Hayward

    Casablanca to Marrakech

    Nov 13 - Nov 27 Guide- Abdullah Driver- Said Driver was excellent and very accommodating. Also had a quirky side to him which was great. He was very personable. Thanks Said! Guide was also great -very friendly and knowledgeable about the places we visited and the life of the people. I learned quite a bit of Berber and Arabic dialect. Thks Abdullah! Personally I don't like long drives because it takes an entire day and it leaves nothing to do upon arrival at accommodations so maybe in the future the all day drives can be cut in half whereby we get settled in accommodation after lunch or before evening so we can have time to explore the area and shop for souvenirs than we can continue on after breakfast the next day. Also I think hotels/Riads would be better in an area where there's easy foot access to get around. A couple of times it felt like lockdown upon arrival at accommodations because they were away from everything. And lastly I would have preferred a choice in accommodation; not talking about the dessert places. Overall it was a great trip with a terrific group of people who have given me memories I will treasure forever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The place where the river/water divided Rabat and Salle. Think I spelled that correctly. Place was absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views from every angle. Thanks also to one of the residents who lead me up her tiny quaint staircase to her patio for a view access the waters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was very knowledgeable and accommodating but he doesn't stray from the trip notes. A little leniency would be great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a great way to experience Morocco. I don't think I would have seen most of the places on my own. Hopefully they shorten the long drives as I've explained.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think more options should be made available for fun when there is free time. Eg in the dessert there should have been tours posted advising ATV driving. It was very difficult trying to do this. Same in Marrakech, there should have been information provided for hot air ballooning. I would have loved to do this. I understand the tour is about the history of Morocco but people are on vacation and may want to do something fun here as well.
Call us on 074 340 4587