Highlights of Morocco

15 days
from
£1,049
View Trips
Loading...
Traveller ratings
4.2 / 5 from 90 reviews >
Trip code: 
AMH
Ways to Travel:
Guided Group, Tailormade Adventures
Activity:
Culture
Min age:
16
Group size:
6–16

Imperial cities, Atlas Mountains, Sahara Desert and the Atlantic coast 

For sheer diversity, Morocco is the perfect destination. We explore the imperial cities of Marrakech, Meknes and Fez and continue our journey to the mountain ranges to the south, where sand dunes and kasbahs are scattered among palm oases inhabited by friendly Berbers. A highlight of our trip is a camel trek in the Sahara and a night at a Bedouin camp. We fit in a visit to Todra Gorge, the beautiful 16th-century kasbah of Ait Benhaddou and enjoy a village walk in the picturesque Tijhza valley of the High Atlas. We complete the trip with a walk along the sandy beach of Essaouira.

Highlights

  • Imperial cities of Rabat, Meknes, Fez and Marrakech
  • Spend the night under the stars in the Sahara Desert
  • Visit the Roman ruins of Volubilis and the impressive Todra Gorge
  • Experience a traditional hammam in the village of Tijhza
  • Walk from a remote Berber community into the magnificent High Atlas Mountains
  • Relax in the charming fishing port of Essaouira 

Key information

  • 10 nights 3-star hotels, 1 night auberge, 2 nights mountain gite and 1 night Bedouin camp
  • 15 days land only / flight inclusive
  • Group normally 6 to 16, plus leader
  • Travel by private minibus, train and camel
  • Premium departures staying in boutique riads 

What's included

  • All breakfasts and 4 dinners
  • All accommodation
  • Transfers for group flights

What's not included

  • Travel insurance
  • Visas or vaccinations
  • Single supplement
Call for general departures:
020 8772 3936
Call for tailormade trips:
020 8772 3874
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

  • Day 1

    Fly to Casablanca

    Arrival at our hotel in the evening.
    Hotel Les Saisons or similar

  • Day 2

    Visit Hassan II Mosque; to Meknes via the capital Rabat.

    A modern and commercial seaport, Casablanca is a complete contrast to the Morocco we are soon to explore. This morning we visit the Hassan II Mosque, one of the largest in the world. We take lunch in Rabat, the political capital of Morocco, but second to Casablanca in importance. Although mostly modern, Rabat has an excellent old quarter that we take time to explore, before striking out over the northern plain towards Meknes. The scenery change as the landscape becomes more cultivated, this being one of the most fertile areas of Morocco. Overnight in imperial Meknes.

    Hotel Oasis Tefialet or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 3

    Explore the Roman site of Volubilis and Meknes; to Fez.

    Sultan Moulay Ismail's old capital of Meknes is our first example of one of the imperial cities of Morocco. In the morning you are free to wander the narrow streets and explore the souk, perhaps having your first chance at bartering for souvenirs. In the afternoon we take a short drive to the largest and best kept Roman ruins in Morocco – Volubilis, once a large Roman town. After exploring this site we continue our journey to the ancient city of Fez, where we spend two nights.

    Fez Inn or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 4

    Guided tour of Fez, including visits to the Medersa Bou Ananiya and the medina.

    This fascinating city is the intellectual and religious centre of Morocco. Founded over a thousand years ago, Fez has many mosques and medersas (theological colleges) including the 9th century al-Karaouine University, whose architecture is very similar to that seen in Moorish Spain. The medina in Fez is one of the largest in the world, an immense warren of souks, home to thousands of craftsmen with their tiny shops opening onto the narrow alleyways. Noisy and pungent, the medina of Fez is a totally absorbing and unique experience. Our city guide walks us through different sections of the souk - including those selling leather brass and copper. Of course, no visit to Fez is complete without a visit to the tanneries. Outside the medina we shall visit the Jewish District (mellah), the exterior of the Royal Palace and take a drive up to a panoramic viewpoint over the city. 

    Fez Inn or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 5

    Drive to Merzouga, on the edge of the Sahara.

    Today we have a long journey, approximately 6 hours (but with plenty of stops) over the stunning Middle Atlas, down through the picturesque Ziz Valley to the Hamada, a flat stony desert, gradually approaching the spectacular site of the golden sand dunes of Erg Chebbi. We stay in a small and welcoming auberge (inn) on the edge of the dunes from where it is easy to climb to watch the sunrise. 

    Auberge Sahara or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 6

    Walk among the dunes; camel trek; camp in the desert.

    There is time today to explore the largest sand sea in Morocco or to relax in the shade of a palm tree by the dunes. The sand sea is famed for its pink tones that take on a spectacular rose colour at sunset. In the late afternoon, we partake in a genuine Saharan experience - a 1.5-hour camel trek through the dunes to an oasis, where we spend the night in a simple Bedouin camp.

    Full-service camping

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 7

    To the Todra Gorge.

    After sunrise, we leave our desert camp and travel, by camel, back to the auberge where we can have a shower before heading west towards the little town of Tinerhir and onwards to Todra Gorge for the night (journey time approximately 4 hours). Our hotel is set against the backdrop of the impressive walls of the gorge itself and we can spend the evening watching the rocks change colour with the setting sun.

    Hotel Taborith or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 8

    Optional morning walk; palmery tour around the gorge.

    We spend the day in the magnificent gorge of the Todra River. There is the opportunity to take a four hour guided walk, or to relax in the gorge, walking beneath vertical cliffs rising up to 400m from the valley floor. In the afternoon there is an optional guided tour of the lush palmery.

    Hotel Taborith or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 9

    Journey to Telouet, via the famous Kasbah Ait Benhaddou.

    Leaving Todra Gorge, we re-join the main road and drive west along the 'Route of the Thousand Kasbahs' via the desert city of Ouarzazate and on to the well-preserved Kasbah Ait Benhaddou. This UNESCO World Heritage Site is one of the most spectacular sights of the Atlas, made famous as the location of several Hollywood films including 'Gladiator'. After admiring the view, we may see something of the simple village houses. Continuing into the mountains we branch east through a wide flat mountain valley, finally arriving at Anmiter, were we leave our bus and take a 1.5-hour picturesque walk on a gentle uphill gradient to the village of Tijzha, where we spend the next two nights. Our luggage will be transported to the gite for us. For those who do not want to walk, taxis are available (100 MAD, payable locally). 

    Kasbah Oliver or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 10

    Full day walking in the High Atlas. Evening hammam.

    We start our day with an optional walk through the villages of the Tijhza Valley, heading up into the hills on mule tracks with the peaks of the High Atlas acting as a fitting backdrop to our walk.  The length of our walk will depend on the ability of the group, but it is likely to be approximately 4 hours. The afternoon is free to relax with a book, enjoy the mountain views, take a stroll through the beautiful landscape or challenge the village children to a game of football!

    Tijhza is just one of four villages in this remote valley that has been supported by Exodus for over ten years on various responsible tourism projects. We will visit the village hammam, built with money raised by Exodus clients. This is a truly authentic experience and terrific fun. It is very much a traditional hammam and you are likely to get the opportunity to mix with the villagers, which further adds to the experience. A standard treatment is included, but you will need to purchase a scrubber and soap for 20MAD (£1.50) plus customary tip of 20MAD. Refreshed, we return to the riad for our final dinner in the mountains. 

    Kasbah Oliver or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 11

    Over the High Atlas Mountains to Essaouira.

    Leaving the gite, we walk back to our bus for a short drive to the palace of Telouet. This once grand building stands abandoned and crumbling but we can visit a small part of this labyrinthine, fairy-tale like structure. We continue our scenic drive over the High Atlas Mountains to Marrakech, via the Tizi'n'Tichka pass, which at 2,260m, is the highest road in Morocco. The scenery is spectacular and there are some wonderful views of the mountains. The second half of our journey brings us to the flat arid plains of Marrakech and then onwards to the pretty seaside town of Essaouira. Journey time is between 5 and 6 hours, with plenty of comfort breaks and photo stops along the way. 

    Riad Al Madina or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 12

    Free day in Essaouira.

    A free day in Essaouira, a charming old Portuguese fishing port overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The settlement dates back to the 15th century but the present town was constructed around 1760 by Sidi Mohammed ben Abdullah, who needed a base from which to suppress a revolt from Agadir. Today, the town is extremely relaxed and its whitewashed houses with painted shutters, artisan workshops, boatyards and fishermen provide a marked contrast to the desert, kasbahs and cities we have so far visited. Our hotel is situated in the heart of the old walled city, where we have plenty of time for some shopping in the souks or strolling along the beach. With many pleasant cafes and some outstanding seafood restaurants, there is plenty of choice for our evening meal.

    Riad Al Madina or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 13

    To Marrakech; guided tour including Bahia Palace, the Saadian tombs, finish in Djemma el Fna.

    After breakfast, we drive back to Marrakech, journey time approximately 2.5 hours.  In the afternoon we enjoy a guided tour to help us find our bearings and soak up the atmosphere of this amazing city. Our guide will take us to the Bahia Palace and the Saadian tombs, ending in the Djemma el Fna, where the town becomes a maze of bustling bazaars, palaces and mosques. It is worth seeing this renowned landmark in the evening, as Marrakech revolves around this open-air central square, with food stalls, juice-sellers, snake charmers and acrobats. It is a place of night-time entertainment for both local people and tourists. 

    Hotel Gomassine or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 14

    Free day in Marrakech.

    Today is free in Marrakech and there is no shortage of things to do. You might wish to visit the largest mosque in Marrakech, Koutoubia, or venture through the souks and old streets of the medina. After bartering for souvenirs, there will be time for a short visit to the Koranic School and Museum of Marrakech. After this, you can unwind by taking a ½ hour calèche ride (a bright green horse-drawn carriage) to the Jardin Majorelle. These tranquil gardens are decorated throughout in indigo blue and were once owned by Yves St. Laurent, the perfect place to escape the hectic rush of the city. 

    This evening it's common for the group to enjoy a final meal together on Djemma el Fna. 

    Hotel Gomassine or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 15

    Fly to London.

    Trip ends after breakfast.

    Meals included: Breakfast
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Essential Info

Visas

Morocco

No visa required by British passport holders.

Vaccinations

Morocco

There are no mandatory vaccination requirements. Recommended vaccinations are: Tetanus, Typhoid and Hepatitis A.

Eating and Drinking

14 breakfasts and 4 dinners included.

Moroccan food is, generally speaking, excellent though not particularly varied. Breakfasts usually consist of bread and jam with coffee or tea. Meals eaten out are reasonably priced - kebab and bread cost is approximately GBP4 (USD7). In main towns, it is possible to find very good French and Moroccan restaurants where a meal and French wine will cost anything from GBP20 (USD30) upwards. Generally, dinner is likely to cost between GBP5-10 (approx. USD8-15) not including drinks. Local beer, wine and soft drinks are reasonably priced, but you can pay UK prices or more for imported alcohol. Your leader will recommend restaurants for each evening.

Vegetarians can be catered for but there is a fairly limited choice of vegetarian couscous, tajine or omelettes. This is particularly the case during the more rural sections of the trip. Please note that if you have any special dietary requirements you should inform the Exodus Office prior to the trip. If you have a specific medical/dietary need (i.e. coeliac or vegan) you may find it helpful to bring some items of food with you from home.

 

 

Weather

From April to June, and in September, Marrakech and the north are pleasantly hot, with temperatures averaging 26ºC in the day and falling to 16ºC at night. It is unusual for there to be much humidity so it is quite pleasant except at midday when the sun is very strong. Desert temperatures are similar to those in Marrakech, with the nights usually a little cooler and the days a little hotter. Mountain temperatures are cooler than in Marrakech.

In the winter months, the daytime temperatures in Marrakech are around 18 to 22ºC with night temperatures falling to 4 to 7ºC. The days should be sunny and a particularly attractive feature of the winter months is the clear views of the snow-covered Atlas. The temperatures in the south are generally a couple of degrees higher than those north of the mountains. There is a small chance of rain and it has even been known to snow very infrequently in January and sometimes February on the higher desert plateau (in which case it is cold at night and early in the morning on the southern side of the Atlas).

Is this trip for you?

This trip provides an insight into the enormous variety that Morocco has to offer, including cities, desert and mountain scenery. We spend quality time in the places that matter, that said the pace is not rushed but a couple of the journeys are long, up to 4 hours. We are not confined to our vehicle though, as there are plenty of photo stops and opportunities to stretch your legs.

Accommodation standards are comparable to that of Sub-Saharan Africa. The temperatures in the cities may also be hot in the summer months but we try to make the most of the coolest parts of the day.

Please note Ramadan runs from 15th May - 14th June 2018 - During Ramadan, our local guides and drivers choose to work and so we continue to run trips in this period. However, the energy levels of our staff and some local guides may be a bit lower and some restaurants may be closed during the day. Ramadan is a special time to visit a Muslim country - each evening the streets empty for an hour while everyone breaks their fast, and there's a feeling of festivity in the air at sundown. 

Call for general departures:
020 8772 3936
Call for tailormade trips:
020 8772 3874
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Accommodation

Hotel, Gite & Bedouin Camp

You will spend 10 nights in 3 star hotels with en suite bathrooms, 1 night in an auberge, 2 nights in a mountain gite and 1 night camping, all with shared facilities. Some accommodation standards are more often comparable with those found in Sub-Saharan Africa. Some hotel water supplies are heated via solar panels, so hot water can not always be guaranteed, especially in Tijhza. However, all are clean, comfortable, with traditional Moroccan elements.

Premium Departures - on these dates we have upgraded the hotels, and in Marrakech and Essaouira we stay in historic riads right in the heart of the medina. These small family-run guesthouses offer tranquil, authentic stays in the heart of the old city.

You can request a single room on this trip subject to availability. The single supplement applies to hotel nights only and therefore does not cover any nights spent in the mountains, desert or Bedouin camps.

Please note that in Winter months some of the accommodation can feel quite cold as they are often poorly heated. Some properties in more rural areas may only have power in the evening (which also means only heating in the evning), however blankets are provided to keep you warm at night.

Call for general departures:
020 8772 3936
Call for tailormade trips:
020 8772 3874
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Expert Blog Entries

Morocco vs Iceland World Cup

Commiserations to the proud nations of Morocco and Iceland, neither of whom fared so well in this year’s world

Embracing a healthy lifestyle can be a challenge, but if you’re going to keep it up there’s got to be more to it than

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Bill Lovett

    Morocco in double-quick time

    If you want to see a country fast, and get a good taste, not just in the obvious touristy places. If you are ready for a lot of travelling and a bit of mild discomfort. Then Highlights of Morocco will be for you. There is a real variety. Some reviewers (elsewhere) talk about the hassle they have had from Moroccan sellers. Read what the guide books say about pictures. But I had little *serious* grief from sellers. if your idea of bargaining is an English car boot sale, then yes - it is much tougher, more manipulative. But compared to say Gambia or India... its mild stuff really. And for me the real surprise is the Moroccans themselves. Nice, welcoming people. People who (many) do Sunni Islam fairly seriously, but not of the negative varieties found elsewhere... They are willing to discuss beliefs and welcome respectful discussion. Long Live Morocco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single "high", nor low for that matter. There was a rapid succession of interesting sights and experiences, but before you could really absorb a place or sight, woosh! You were away elsewhere. This is *inevitable* in a 14 day helta-skelta. What is worth noting for new readers is the variety: grand historic sights; mysterious dilapidations in remote places, barren mountain grandeur, broad desert, seaside resorts, French style boulevards, busy developing country market experiences. Even the "commercial" stop overs (handloom factory, stoneware factory, furniture factory) did not have the hard sell flavour that you will get elsewhere. They were places to see trades in action (and smell in one notable case (aaah, Bisto?).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Syed and driver Abdul were both excellent. Experienced and health and safety conscious. Your hearing aid broken? Your trainer falling apart up a mountain? Wading across a hill stream? Going to get lost in the souq? Syed will help/advise/caution. On the long car journeys, he breaks up them up well with interesting little stops. He gave helpful warnings about taking pictures, and his tipping (from our pot) helped us take interesting people shots. I will support Vicky's comment that Syed could have given us a bit more background to places. he would certainly answer questions if asked, but general background was not offered. But note: general background is actually quite hard to give. it too easily slips into GCSE history lists. The Vandal, Almohad, Almoravid, Abbassids and Whatchamacallit dynasties all slither into a sticky broth.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice is from a "tour" newbie to others who are going on a tour for the first time. 1. This is a low to moderate level intensity tour. Indeed, but it still demands quite a lot. There are a couple of walks that are not steep, but are not trivial either. 9 different beds in 14 days brings its own strain. There are two long days driving. Syed breaks up these journeys well, but.. but they still wear you out. At the end of the tour, you are *tired*. 2. Read the Exodus travel notes carefully. They are well written and give you useful details for your trip. 2b Hotels. Trip notes do say that some hotels are better than others. So be prepared for a variety. Be sure that as soon as you arrive you check, do I have towels. Is this bed meant for a single so how I and my wife going to fit? Does the A/C work? Are there light bulbs that work? The hoteliers try in their own ways: "ask and you shall receive, knock and it shall be opened...." 3. Money. I took GBP cash and changed as I went along. Others can comment on ATMs, but it did not appear to be a difficulty, just a matter of timing. Change and small notes were a problem. So be parsimonious with the coins at the beginning. by the end you should be fine. My mistake was to forget [1] to put aside enough money for the final meal and [2] have ready money for the final tip. I was not well at this stage and thought I was out of cash on the last evening. Silly me, I had another cache of cash and all was well. Just watch for the end. I also took single USD bills. Turned out handy in the end. The Casablanca Airport transition lounge took EUR, USD, Dirahams, but not GBP. Grrh. USD was ket here. 4. Enjoying the company. Readers who have done tours before will appreciate very well what I under estimated. Your tour group is a little community of complete strangers that has to interact closely, evenly intensely, for 14 days. It requires concerted and continual effort, certainly for tour first timers. We inevitably make our own judgments, but keep ones mind open and talk to everyone where ever possible. 5. Health. In September, this tour was not blighted by mosquitoes or flies. it was (for me anyhow) an almost bug free visit. However there was a dose of runny tummy that scythed through the group. Bring your own Immodium. Toilets, but were thrones, but be ready for squats. Aaah, enjoy that cross cultural experience. The salads are nice, I'll leave them till the end, next time. A cold swept through our number, and alas, I'm still suffering from it. Just be ready to pick something up, we are all together in one vehicle for a long stretches.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Was the pacing right? Would I have liked more days in x and less in y? No - personally I was happy with the pacing. The cancellation of the hammam experience was unfortunate, but... stuff happens.... Unless you know the coffee is good in any one location, make Moroccan mint tea your drink of default. it is really interesting. The wine? Not so great. Give your liver a 2 week holiday. It is surprising how people have a little smattering of English. But if you have any French or Arabic, it is nice to dust it down, showing sellers or hoteliers that you want to make a small positive gesture.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Vicki Gunner

    A good, varied trip

    Overall this was a good and varied trip. The people in the group were lovely, some were a little eccentric (but in a good endearing way). I hope to keep in touch with some people from the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to the Sahara at sunrise (so beautiful and tranquil) and also sleeping under the stars (I saw 12 shooting stars). I also enjoyed the walk to the Top of Todra Gorge (seeing some three week old kids - baby goats) - the views were amazing and it was a great sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was friendly, concerned for our safety and knowledgeable. I would say that he wasn't very forthcoming with volunteering information about the different places we visited (if you asked him a question he wouldn't mind answering it but as a guide I wouldn't expect him to be more proactive). On previous exodus trips the guide has spoken on the coach at length about: - what I will be happening during the day and also - has given some background to the history and religion of the country and then - when at the destination, provided us with his comprehensive knowledge of the place we were visiting. I appreciate an official guide was needed in some places. I would have appreciated some guidance on haggling/good places to buy - as when asked he never give his opinion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There were not many opportunities to have laundry done. Take a bank card that is ease to use and ATMs and doesn't charge you as there were not many opportunities to actually go into banks/hotels and exchange money. Although you pay a single person supplement there are 4 nights out of 14 where you will need to share (whilst I didn't mind this I think it could have been made clearer). It is a level 2 fitness ensure that you can walk up a hill reasonably well - it was a gentle pace but a couple of people struggled with a gentle incline and had to go back to the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We discovered that our Hamam in the mountains was cancelled I think Exodus should think of an activity that could be done (Moroccan games etc/learning how to make a tagine) as time here in the gite felt like wasted time. Personally I would have preferred more time in Essouria - a lovely coastal town with lots going on.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Kent Waterfield

    Magnificent Morocco

    What an exciting adventure my trip to Morocco was with nearly everyday a new city/town to visit in just over two week period. I thoroughly enjoyed the culture past and present, the historical buildings, the vast landscape and the many people along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that I got on and managed to stay and hold on for a camel ride of 1 1/2 hours to our Sahara camp. Seriously, the late afternoon, early evening thunderstorm in the Sahara desert was a wonderful sight to behold and one I won't forget. The next morning the shades of the orange sand with the different levels of moisture from the rain overnight were truly beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was a good leader for our trip. He was well organized and phoned ahead for our meals and reservations in advance. He was very knowledgeable about the places we went to and he also subcontracted to local guides so we got a more personable experience. On several occasions, he purchased extra water to supplement our supply, which was of great benefit. I particularly enjoyed the personal touches he made by our group having dinner with a local family and tea with other families in other towns, so we got an up close personal feel to our trip, which made it very memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would like to recommend to potential travelers that they purchase and drink plenty of water to keep hydrated while on the trip as the temperature in Morocco was anywhere from 35-42 degrees in August. Wear a floppy hat and definitely apply sun cream regularly too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to suggest that potential travelers make sure they have enough money as the medina with the souks (shops) with all the things you could buy are really tempting and you need to make sure you have enough money for food and tips later on.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Nigel Northcott

    Good overall

    The main concern was the variability of the accommodation. From a dreadful first hotel in Casablanca - noisy and impersonal - a splendid one in Essaouira and a pleasant but out of the way one in Fez and several rather mediocre places. We were fortunate to have the friendly and informative guide Mohammad and a great driver, who never left us feeling concerned on some challenging roads, Ibrahim - thanks to them both. The route was wrong - driving past Marrakech to spend days at Essaroia and then driving back to Marrakech! Too many local guides were evidently on commission - the one in Fez took us to 4 factory/shops and a pricey restaurant - mind you we skipped off and ate for 20% the cost nearby! Todra gorge was a disappointment with a rather isolated hotel; apart from meeting a delightful family high on the hill above the town and a great meal with another family. The best of the trip was Essarooria, eating with families and the splendid introduction to culture provided through Mohammad - Bert's museum in Marrakech, the Sand Pigeons band', colorful markets and friendly people and great cheap eats cafes where the 4 of us always filled up for less that £10! The worst, the night in the grubby Sahara camp - a real low light! Poor quality touristy nonsense - a Berber camp!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendly colourful people - well worth a visit - felt very safe at all times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Splendid and a great driver and very good vehicle. Excellent to ensure we had bottled water in the mini bus each day!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask - our guide was always open to our requests and suggestions -it's your holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Nigel for his feedback. We are pleased he enjoyed his time in Morocco overall, but we are sorry he was disappointed with certain aspects of the trip. We regret that he did not enjoy Todra Gorge, as the feedback we receive about this is usually very positive. We appreciate Nigel’s feedback regarding the route, however because our departure airport is Marrakech, the route takes us back there after spending time in Essaouira; it also allows for clients who are flying on elsewhere. We are sorry that Nigel was unhappy with the hotel in Casablanca and the Bedouin camp in the Sahara. We have revised the itinerary for 2019 and neither this hotel nor the camp will be used.

    Frances Spowart – Product Manager for Morocco

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sonia and Philip Wadsworth

    Mixed results

    Some good points and some not so good. We saw and learnt a lot about Morocco. Good company on the trip. Excellent driver. Good hotel in Marrakesh. Lots to see and do. We would have preferred less time traveling, up to 8 hours on 2 occasions, and would pick a trip with fewer stops and less travel another time. A lot of hotels claimed to have AC, but the only hotel with working AC was the last one in Marrakesh. It was very hot with no through air in hotels/gieghts so sleep was difficult. The trip to the Sahara was really a waste of time; just a tourist trap. The hotel, had no working AC, temperatures were 40C and to sleep, we had to lie outside. The camel ride, OK, but we had to wait all day with nothing to do, except use the pool, for a night in a Bedowin Camp, which was no such thing. A number of these camps have been erected in the dunes and are purely for tourists. The staff live in the village our hotel was in, the woman prepared the food and men drove it out on ATVs and then served it. Not authentic at all! We, and others, had spent considerable time purchasing goods and carrying them from North America, for the Berber village you support, but we had considerable problems trying to find who to leave them with. Our guide was no help with this, despite many questions on the subject, and finally, we visited a local family and passed the items over to them. Since Exodus really push the giving, which we support, arrangements to pass over the items should have been made. By the way, you advertise the walk to the village as an hour and half walk. Better to describe it as a 5Km walk. The hotel in the village, by the way, was very good with attentive staff. Just a thought, but there is a good train service between Marrakesh and Casablanca which may be a more interesting method of travel instead of air. Another suggestion. Let people know they can't use up there Morrocan currency in the departure lounge for Duty Freed goods. It can only be spent on locally produced goods. We understand why, but better customers are for warned.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mosque in Casablanca. The 4 hour hike, 4,000ft height gain, visiting a genuine Berber, nomadic, family on route, was excellent. So was the guide provided by the hotel. Really great person. If we had know of the visit to the family before actually reaching their home tents, we would have brought some items and cash. Please instruct the Exodus guide to inform the hikers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were disappointed, especially over the school goods we carried out. See above. We saw quiet a few photographic opportunities, but were unable to stop. He was knowledgeable and always polite, but information was last minute, even details of what we were doing, so little time to prepare.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You see a lot on this trip and it is good value for money. However, if you would prefer to spend less time on a bus, pick a trip with fewer stops. For us, the two days of travel, there and back, for the Sahara, camel ride and so called Bedowin camp, were a waste of time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Comfortable bus and excellent driver.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Sonia and Philip for their review. Whilst we are pleased that they enjoyed aspects of their holiday, we sincerely regret that their experience in Morocco has left them with some disappointments.  We were particularly concerned regarding the lack of information regarding where and when donations can be distributed in Morocco. At Exodus our Responsible Travel policy is very important to us and we have many projects which support local communities across the world. We are very sorry that the Exodus leader did not provide guidance as they are given training in regards to responsible travel and they are aware that we work with a local association in Tijhza who collect these donations and distribute them. Following this feedback we are working with our partners in Morocco to make sure that leaders understand our expectations and the processes better.

    Tom Harari – Responsible Travel Manager

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Susan Keane

    Mules carrying luggage

    Although I’ve been back home a while. I still have memories of seeing a mules loaded up with our heavy suitcases. Their legs buckling underneath. A taxi brought some of our group up the mountain so it was possible to transport our luggage down in a vehicle. I still don’t understand while animals are used to do this. It’s not quaint - it’s abuse. PleAse look at PETA. In Jordan a collapsed horse carrying suitcases is kicked in the face by its owner. It’s time to stop this abuse. Please check no animals are used on your next holiday. Sorry Exodus but you did not change the situation in Morocco when I complained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it except the use of mules.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check no animals are used on your trip. We saw donkey viciously kicked by member of staff on trip to Roman site. He worked at the site.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t let others abuse animals on your behalf.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We sincerely regret that Susan’s experience in Morocco has left her with such disappointment with the use of animals on the tour and has highlighted the animal abuse present in Jordan; Exodus does not use horses on our tours in Jordan due to their known mistreatment. We do, however, use mules in Morocco as it provides local employment and the environment is different to that in Jordan. Our local partners in Morocco are part of an initiative in the High Atlas to create awareness amongst local people about mule care and have held workshops for muleteers from a number of local communities in regards to mule care and welfare in association with a British organisation. Whilst we cannot control the actions of locals not working with Exodus we are confident that this training is helping to spread further education to muleteers and encourage care which puts the animal’s welfare as a priority. Exodus leaders are tasked to report any animal cruelty that they may see whilst on our tours, and they request that certain muleteers are not used on Exodus tours should they witness any cruelty towards the animals.

    Tom Harari - Product Manager for Morroco 

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Penelope Phillips

    Brilliant

    We had 10 people in our group. We all got in well together marking a good start. The experience of the different places we visited gave us a good understanding of Morocco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camel ride. A bit hairy but not to be mist

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul really should us his love for his country. He lissend to our interest and took us to extra places of intrest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When we were in the in the High Atlas it was cold. They said it was the coldest in 12 years make sure you have a jumper. The walks we did were good I was glad I had my poles with me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a great holiday my mind is still there. You will enjoy It it was one of the best I have had
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Nigel Cripps

    highlights of Morocco (AHM)

    This was a good tour of Morocco - it gave an excellent overview of the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains. The souk in Fez A good group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be briefed for the walk to the mountain village of Hammam. It is 5km at altitude. Ask the taxi to take your shoulder bag and camera. We did it in the dark, take a torch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Immigration at Casablanca required the address of the first night hotel. This was not in the tour itinerary. Eventually he accepted the trip notes but it was a close run thing. Suggest all hotel details are include in the tour notes. The first hotel was poor compared with the other 'comfort hotels' used. Two areas for improvement, firstly the bed room was small, had to climb over my wife to go to bed and secondly the breakfast was dire. Question. Why use a city centre hotel, the only visit was at a mosque on the coast? Would preferred to pay more and use a better hotel at the airport. The food at the mountain retreat at Hammam was very bland, poor in comparison with others. Wonder is something had gone wrong in the kitchen. The breakfast in the Marrakech hotel was poor. It ran out. Eventually some additional orange juice was provided which was used immediately but no more appeared.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Ursula Bischoff

    Great Itinerary, Bad Hotels

    The itinerary for this trip is great - you'll get a wonderful overview of Morocco as you'll visit the cities, the desert and the mountains. Our tour guide was knowledgeable as I've come to expect it from Exodus, and the local guides used at some sites were great as well. What let this trip down were the hotels - they're just not particularly good for the Standard departures. Most of them were noisy (the one in Fes is literally next to a mosque) and in need of refurbishment (Meknes), the beds were uncomfortable verging on painful, and in some cities you're not really where the action is as you're not staying in the Medina (Fes/Marrakech). The camp in the desert is very basic (does have toilets, though, but not much else in terms of comfort). Personally, I felt the 2 night stay in the Atlas mountains was a bit pointless - the hammam was interesting as we got to interact with the locals, but otherwise not an amazing experience and the walk was just going back and forth on a mule track.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking at the stars in the desert.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Amanda Wiggill

    Highlights of Morocco

    This was an amazing adventure and a great way to see as much of the country as possible, experience the culture, learn about the history, and meet the friendly locals. We had a great tour leader and driver and stayed in some authentic accommodation sites from an auberge in Merzouga, a bedouin camp in the Sahara Desert, a kasbah in the High Atlas Mountains and a riad in Essaouira.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing and inspirational moments that it's hard to choose. The Medina in Fez was fascinating and a true maze of local artisans. Riding a camel in the Sahara Desert and spending the night under the stars was fun and the beauty of Todra Gorge and the High Atlas Mountains were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour Leader Lahcen was brilliant and obviously loved his country, people and culture very much and was keen to share this with us. He had a great sense of humour and and did an amazing job of entertaining and bonding the group as well as sharing his knowledge. Lahcen went out of his way to ensure that we all got as much out of our time in Morocco as possible even inviting us to visit his moms house who graciously welcomed all 15 of us tourists into her home with mint tea and almonds. He also went out of his way to try and find shops for us to buy drinks and snacks from and a pharmacy when some needed imodium, to stopping for ATM's and banks when we needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat if travelling from April through to September. Temperatures were just under or over 40°C each day when we went in September. Take Imodium as some of our group developed dodgy tummies though Lahcen was great at ensuring we visited a pharmacy for those who did not bring any. As advised by our local leader be careful when tipping or giving money to beggars especially children as this encourages their families not to send them to school.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great way to get a taste of Morocco and to experience the highlights this amazing country has to offer. Go with an open mind and attitude and you won't be disappointed.

Dates & Prices

Please provide as much information as possible below so we can best help with your holiday requirements.

Fields with * are mandatory.

Please provide as much information as possible below so we can best help with your holiday requirements.

Fields with * are mandatory.

An overview of flight options

Exodus is committed to making joining our tours as easy as possible, wherever you live. We generally only block book seats from London, but this certainly does not mean that you need to fly from there. Depending on the route and airlines available, there will usually be various options available for those who want to fly from their local airport.

This page aims to provide a useful overview of the options available to our clients. However, the best flight arrangements should be tailored to your personal requirements, so please contact our Sales team for expert advice.

 

What kind of options do I have ?

1. We can book for you: Flights from anywhere in the world - not via London  

Depending on the route, this may be direct or via an overseas hub like Amsterdam, the Middle East or elsewhere. On short haul routes there may be direct flights with low cost airlines, charter flights or scheduled airlines. Exodus can book most, but not all, of these for you. The most appropriate airline may be different to that which we use for the group flight from London, but many people now travel on different airlines and meet up with their fellow passengers at the destination.

Pros Cons
  • May be the most direct route
  • Often the extra fare compared to the London flight is minimal.
  • As you will be in the hands a single airline for your entire journey, the airline will be responsible for your bags and your connections.
  • You may not be able to join the group transfers. However, we can usually arrange private transfers, or book your flights to try and coincide with the group transfers. See notes on transfer arrangements below.

 

2. We can book for you: Connecting flights from your local airport to London

Exodus can book connecting flights to London so you can join the group flight there. Connecting times will be followed according to airline advice, or as requested by clients. There are two types of fares we can use for this option: a 'through-fare' or a 'published fare'.
 
a) A 'through-fare' is where you will be in the main airline's care throughout. You change planes, but your bags are checked all the way through to your final destination. 

b) A 'published fare' ticket is completely seperate from your onward ticket from London. It is usually cheaper than a through-fare but will need to be paid for and issued as soon as it is booked. This can be a problem if your tour has not yet reached minimum numbers. On 'published fares' neither airline is aware that you have connecting flights, so Exodus is responsible for timing your connection, not the airlines involved. The tickets are also usually non changeable and non refundable.

Pros Cons
  • Depending on the fare type, Exodus or the airline is responsible for flight connections.
  • Through fare tickets can be expensive.
  • On a published fare, tickets must be issued immediately; tickets on published fares can be very difficult to change if onward flight times change; bags are not checked though to your final destination.
  • Published fares are non-refundable.

 

3. Booking some or all of the flights yourself

You can also book connecting air travel yourself, either to London, or all the way to the start point. There may be certain airlines or routes we don't have access to, so this is always an option. However, if you make your own travel arrangements you become liable for any delays, cancellations or missed connections, and Exodus is not required to offer refunds if you have trouble reaching the start of your trip.

Pros Cons
  • You might find cheaper fares, or routes not available to Exodus.
  • You are responsible for any delays or missed connections, and the cost of the tour is not protected should you miss your flight be cancelled.

 

 Notes on transfer arrangements

Sometimes it is possible to travel on a different airline to the group flight from London. Where this is the case, we need to think about ensuring you meet up with the group with minimum extra cost and hassle.

  • On certain trips, it is easy to arrive on a different flight and still meet the group at the hotel with time in hand. We can usually arrange private transfers (at extra cost) or offer advice on taking a taxi to the start hotel.
  • On other trips (especially in Europe), the transfer meets the group flight and then travels some distance to the first night's accommodation. Where this is the case, our Sales team will try to arrange flights that arrive before (and depart after) the group. However, we do have to make it clear in your final documentation that if your flights are delayed, the transfer cannot wait for you. While Exodus or our local operators will do what we can to help you reach the start point of the tour, any additional costs must be paid by the client. 

 

Next steps? 

Call our Sales team on: 0203 733 0698

Email your query: [email protected]

 

Private Adventures 

Not found the date you’re looking for? We can organise this itinerary as a Private Adventure – just click on the tab above the list of dates and prices, let us know your preferred dates of travel and how many people are travelling, and we’ll do the rest!

Trips you might also like

Call us on 020 8772 3936