Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007

    south american dream

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking the inca trailamazonian junglecelebrating my 30th birthday with some amazing people on a beautiful beach in peru

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic-laid back, informative, very sociable and made the trip what it was

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the time you have on any trip-it goes so quickly. Make the most of meeting new people and don't have any regrets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My south american explorer trip was the best 3 months of my life. I will forever be nostalgic about the amazing times I had and the great people I met. I doubt any trip will ever be as good but i will certainly be giving them a go int he future.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    You have just got to see it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the mountain passes and walking on the "quieter" parts of the Wall. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absoloutley first class.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just GO !
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Wildflower Meadows were stunning, a view not forgotten at the top of the mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the holiday.  The walking was great, although the temperatures were much higher than expected for June.  The views were absolutely fantastic at the top of the mountains.  The Hotel again fantastic, absolutely spotless, comfortable and the food, you just couldn't complain there was plenty of it and very enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julian was very knowledgeable of Bulgaria, had such passion of the country, obviously having lived there and the main plus was Julian was fluent in the language.   We had a couple of difficult travellers with us and Julian remained very calm and handled them extremely well. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    none

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the only part of the holiday I didn't enjoy, the first Hotel, monastery, was disgusting.  Dirty and you didn't want to use the bathroom at all.  This was my first holiday with Exodus and I did then worry what the hotel would be like in the Yagodina, but my worries were wrong, as it was a fantastic hotel.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Really great trip - my first exodus trip and would definitely do another asap!!!!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very well organized.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good - couldn't have been better

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trip notes were not that good - did not mention wet shoes or head torch - both of which were essential. Also mentioned nothing about being able to sleep on boat (as opposed to camp) for the first 3 nights.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The wildlife was spectactular

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being so close to the wild animals, I never imagined that this would be possible.Camping in the wild, this was the real Africa for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent, I have never encountered such a dedicated and knowledgable guide before..He made the trip for me

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to rough it, remember this is a basic camping trip. don't expect luxuries There are some long drives and often we had to be up by 5.30am...But all part of the fun

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the most memorable trips I have ever done
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great trip, leaders gave us the best chance possible of reaching the summit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the crater rim of Kilimajaro.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders were great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be an advantage to advise future travellers on the Kilimanjaro trek that because their water will be boiled they should have metal water bottles or robust plastic ones. Naively I assumed the water would be boiled then cooled but of course the guys don't have space or spare pots to cool water in. The cook did give us 3-4 water bottle refils per day which was great so even a 1 litre metal bottle would have been enough.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I just cried when i reached the summit

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise when we reached Guilman's Point. We could see the african plain with this beautiful orange colour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides where great and very helpful all the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink a lot of water, go Pole Pole...and enjoy!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    seeing the gorillas up-close in their habitat was truly amazing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Treking the mountain gorillas in Rwanda was incredible. I couldn't describe here how enjoyable it was, you just have to experience it at least once in your lifetime.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic, so knowledgeable and funny at the same time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! Travelling with Exodus means that you can cover a big distance, see so many different countries, landscapes, animals and you get to share your trip with like-minded people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have travelled twice with Exodus, once with my brother and once on my own. It doesn't matter how old you are, or who you go with, you will meet great people and new friends. Its not a holiday...its an experience and an adventure.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Biking in Spain

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Barcelona was amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There was no tour leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Know SpanishMake sure someone is really good w/ maps and directionsSpend at least 1 extra day in Barcelona--it is the best part of the trip!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bike path on our first day had to be re-routed because of construction, and this was a disappointment. We were informed of this the night before we began biking. We would have appreciated some advance notice or upgrade of some sort for this. The alternate route was up an extremely steep mountain on a paved road that had fast paced trucks and cars going by and there was no bike lane so we were in the street. On the way down the mountain, it was a very steep descent so we were going very fast and had to use the brakes the entire time. Again, we were in the street with vehicles and did not feel very safe or comfortable during this entire day of biking. It did not make a great start to our trip.Alternately, the other days of biking were very good--especially the path from Olot to Girona. Great views and a good bike path to be able to follow. There were points where the directions provided were not very clear and we had to figure it out on our own. I recommend adding more detail and landmark descriptions to the directions.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    An amazing introduction to Africa

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The experience of driving though Africa, its people, its wildlife and amazing landscapes and of course my first experience of staying in a bush camp.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davis - Extremely knowledgeable, friendly, considerate and full of experience that only a leader of his caliibre could portray...  Also Robert who was our other guide...  They were both fabulous at their jobs and enjoyable to be around......

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although dollars are widely accepted it is imperative that you also take a certain amount of the local currency also.  If departing Nairobi for Zanzibar have your guide or someone confirm your group flight at Nairobi airport as we were removed from the flight as they had over sold (lalthough we had been booked for a year) the flight and removed us as we were a group of 12, this was Kenya airways..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a truly wonderful holiday and a good intriduction if it is your first trip to Africa and first safari.  Our Guides and the camp staff could not have been setter.  All thanks to them at Kicheche Private camp.  Excellent guys!!!I do feel that when leaving Nairobi for Zanzibar the driver who collects the group and takes them to the airport should stay with them as our driver just left and we did not have anyone to speak for us and the language barrier made it difficult when they were trying to reorganise our flight after removing us from our scheduled flight.