Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17985 Reviews

  • Reviewed December 2021

    Gower peninsula

    Great walking with a very knowledgeable leader Ceri Hotel poor. Room was dusty with lots of cobwebs Cables hanging with no appliances! Heated Towel rail not working and I felt that plumbing and electrical needed attention Breakfast was very poor, cheap bread and random consistency Two dinners included but the same menu I would not recommend hotel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoying a swim on the last walking day Excellent walking Fabulous views Seeing a pair of choughs Gin tasting was fun

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ceri was knowledgable and kept a good pace Occasionally we had rather long to wait for return transport She organised dinners in the pubs in the village which as a solo traveller I appreciated
  • Reviewed December 2021

    Great Trip

    Overall a great experience and we packed a lot into the holiday. Our leader, Andrew, was excellent and we were fortunate to have a great group of people on our trip. Points to note for future travellers are that day one (Saturday) is all travel. The 2.00pm flight from the UK means that you arrive at the hotel about midnight (local time) then pack a full day in Cairo on the Sunday, leaving at 4.00am (2.00am UK time) on the Monday to fly to Luxor. So at that point everyone was pretty tired. The boat trip (on the Esmerelda) was excellent all round. Really relaxing. The Basma hotel in Aswan for the last two days was a bit disappointing. I would rate it a three star. Not what was billed, but it didn't spoil the holiday. Again for future travellers, it's easy to get your visa at the airport and there are frequent stops at ATM's to get Egyptian pounds if required. In summary, a great trip with particular thanks to Andrew our leader, and to the great group of people we were with. Suggested areas for improvement for Exodus would be the Cairo logistics and flights, and the hotel in Aswan. Otherwise it was a great itinerary and a great experience
  • Reviewed December 2021

    An Absolutely Brilliant Week

    Wow this week certainly packed it all in and Andrew was beyond brilliant! He managed all the Covid changes brilliantly so we didn't have to worry. The cruise on the Esmerelda was beyond all expectations. It is a VERY hectic week and the optional trips do add up so factor them into the cost as they are all worth it. If possible try to leave as early as possible each day as the temple visits can be a bit rushed and pretty hectic. Expect long days and short nights but there is just so much to see! Each and every site is beyond fantastic. You will certainly want to come back to Egypt very soon!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The setting of the Temple of Isis is stunning and everything about the Esmerelda was just brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrew's energy, patience, knowledge and sense of fun really did make this trip. He was absolutely brilliant and it felt like travelling with old friends from day one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the time at the pyramids is extremely limited. In hindsight I wished I'd spent more time close to the pyramids rather than on a camel ride. Try to ensure that the trip doesn't stay at the Basma Hotel as it is a huge disappointment and rather grim. Be aware that there is limited wifi during the trip which can make checking in and filling in any forms for the return trip a bit stressful. You will also spend many more Egyptian pounds than you think so get out plenty. ATMS often don't work and you can spent ages hunting for ones that do! Have lunch at the Old Cataract Hotel - you won't regret it and its very reasonable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this trip! It will feel like you have spent a month in Egypt, not just a week and you will have the most incredible memories!
  • Reviewed December 2021

    Culture, history, hiking, swimming, lots of variety. Fantastic trip

    From 2 days hiking Petra to floating in the dead sea, from snorkelling in the red sea to sleeping in the desert. Great variety, great food, some biblical heritage and bedouin culture all brought to life through fantastic guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rather surprisingly standing on Mount Nebo in the area where Moses had stood and looking towards “the promised land” of Israel, the holy land brought an unexpected awareness of the sense of biblical heritage of the country. Of course Petra is a particular highlight. I chose this trip above others because of it allowing two full days there and actually I could easily have spent longer. The whole area was much bigger than I was expecting and the hiking opportunities were a great part of the trip for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Muayad is a fantastic group leader. Knowledgeable, enthusiastic, great people skills, warm, kind and welcoming. A hugely important key to the successful gelling of the group and everyone responded well to him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider flying out at least one day earlier to have time to wander around Amman by yourself. Although make sure you agree the taxi fare into town first. I paid five Dinar which I thought was acceptable but somebody else paid 20!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a great trip. This was my first trip to the Middle East and it felt safe. (We were accompanied discreetly by a tourist police guide). Can recommend it.
  • Reviewed December 2021

    Most amazing trip to the Isle of Serendipity

    I am so glad I decided to book this tour to Sri Lanka, I had the most amazing holiday! What a beautiful, wonderful, welcoming country this is, I cannot recommend it enough. I usually travel along, but decided to join a group for the first time so I didn't have to organise everything myself, and the trip exceeded expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed everything, the variety of the different visits and activities was really appreciated. I loved learning more about the history of Sri Lanka and visiting archaeological sites and temples. Visiting caves that contained giant prehistoric Buddhas cut into the rock was mind blowing! Cycling along the canals (Sri Lankan canals are much more beautiful than British ones) and drinking freshly picked coconuts was also very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was a fantastic and very experienced, patient leader . He organised everything so we could focus on enjoyed the trip and activities and was as incredibly knowledgeable and supportive and kind to everybody in the group. He also took us to some great restaurants that we would never have found without his local knowledge. Roshan ensured the trip went without a hitch and made it a really special holiday for us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The facilities were great, if you forget to take anything you won't have a problem. The hotels were all very accommodating. The bus we traveled on was very well kitted out (air conditioning, limitless water). I felt safe at all times as a female traveler. The food is absolutely incredible, the best cuisine I've had on a holiday by a long shot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot recommend this beautiful island enough, I am so glad I went on this trip. The wildlife is so diverse and absolutely incredible!!
  • Reviewed December 2021

    Exceeded all expectations

    I booked this trip very last minute as the travel restrictions lifted slightly. Booking team were excellent. Jordan is a beautiful, friendly and very safe country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The obvious choice would be walking along the siq and the first glimpse of The Treasury, for me though it was walking up to the Monastery and the incredibly facade that greeted you as you turn the final corner. Add to that the most incredible view over Petra and the surrounding mountains. A very special place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was well organised and managed well to keep us all on track with timings. Hard going as we were quite a large group that like to dawdle. I found sometimes it was information overload but that’s just my opinion. His daily jokes had us all laughing! I do feel though he was so restricted by the Exodus itinerary and their exact timings would be good if there was a bit of flexibility built into the leaders timetable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and an adventurous spirit. The desert night was chilly but ask for extra blankets they will happily provide them. Don’t worry too much about dress code they are not as strict in Jordan as some countries

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As always these trips are so dependent on the group and I was so lucky again to meet a fabulous group of people who truly made the trip the amazing experience it was. I really loved Jordan. A float in the Dead Sea is something you cannot miss….
  • Reviewed December 2021

    Don't expect a lie in!

    This trip has lots of early starts, in fact most days and long days on the road. Reasonable quality hotels are used throughout, excluding the overnight train which was basic first class. It was disappointing that the best hotels had the shortest stays. Trip content was good but often intense, sometimes it felt like too much was being crammed in, but I would argue that the time devoted to the Cairo food tour was excessive, in fact I used it to get a better look at Misra St. Maybe there is room for some rescheduling here, particularly given that the day leads up to the overnight train journey. After the train journey, although the long days continued the intensity relaxed a bit enabling the highlights of the Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel to be enjoyed. Although the Nile cruise was relaxing, I was not prepared for the convoy of cruise boats, although I understand that this is to enable better security for this stretch of the Nile, it does detract from 'cruise' element.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the temples that had been moved from the area to be flooded and appreciating the work that went into the deconstruction and the ensuing reconstructing on a site that looked as though it was the original setting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The local tour leader was efficient and considering this was the first departure for this company (Exodus) for a long time, did an admirable job. My only criticism would centre on a curious dialect in pronunciation, eg 'city tour' = Seti Tomb!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long hot dusty days often sat in traffic jams, also be prepared to roll with the flow, do not expect good timekeepng or explanations as to why something is late or not happens at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is scope to look at the scheduling on some of the days in control of the company, eg days 2-4. Also not sure if the current content for the Nubian day could be tweaked to help the flow of the day.
  • Reviewed November 2021

    Excellent trip

    Excellent trip. Well organised and great itinerary. The scenery was better than expected. I went in late November in off peak season and it was the right temperature and busyness. I can imagine in peak season the experience might be different - Wadi Rum has lots of cars using the same tracks as us and Petra was busy in places. The trip notes say tipping is voluntary, it’s not, it is mandatory and you will be told to pay more if you don’t give enough which can be awkward. Overall an excellent trip and one of the best I have been on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping was great. Views were amazing and was nice to sit around the fire. Stars were the best I’ve seen.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ab was fantastic, as were all the support staff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go off-season.
  • Reviewed November 2021

    A fantastic trip full of beauty and enjoyment

    Sierra de Aitana is a beautiful part of Spain that is full of majestic hills and mountains; delicious local food and drink; charming towns and villages; and welcoming locals who will go the extra mile to make sure you have a great time. I have been hiking in many different countries and this trip stands out for me. The guide, Jose, is very friendly and approachable, and looked after the group with care and attention. He is from the area so knows it like the back of his hand. The accommodation was comfortable and set in a charming and peaceful location. I got to enjoy the sunrise over the valley from my bedroom window each morning. The food is delicious! Jose made amazing sandwiches and there was plenty of food to eat at dinner in order to fuel up for the next day's activities. The elderly lady who does all the cooking is incredible and a sweetheart. During the rest day I got to visit a chocolate factory (my bag was a bit heavier coming back!) and the picturesque coastal towns of Villajoyosa and Altea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting high up on the mountain ridges and looking at the sea glistening in the sun. I particularly savoured such moments given what we have all been through during the pandemic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was a brilliant guide and above all a great person. I particularly liked how Jose told us about the area's history, culture and agriculture. He provided detailed briefings about the hikes and weather conditions, and ensured the group was aware of any risks while on the hikes. He has a great sense of humour and made sure everyone felt included regardless of their hiking experience. He is calm and his experience in the mountains clearly shows. I would hike with him again without question.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You won't regret booking this trip! Do have the right clothing for hiking and take note of the kit list. You will need a good level of fitness and experience of hiking from morning to late afternoon. Jose will tailor the hikes to the group's overall fitness level but the fitter you are the more you can focus on enjoying yourself and taking in the stunning views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I appreciated the lengths Jose went to make sure everyone had something enjoyable to do during the rest day. He arranged transportation, provided maps and directions, and ideas for areas to explore.
  • Reviewed November 2021

    Wonderful walking in Spain

    Have just returned from a hugely successful trip to Sierra de Aitana and can thoroughly recommend it! The trip had all the ingredients of an Exodus holiday that will live long in the memory: a knowledgeable, organised and thoughtful guide in Jose who grew up in the area and knows the hills and mountains like the back of his hand; a charming hotel with welcoming staff and delicious home-cooked food; a beautiful and varied landscape with eye-popping scenery and, in my case, a really friendly group who were great company throughout the week. The trip was a real antidote to the onset of Winter in the UK being mild even at this time of the year. I would imagine that it is equally attractive in the Spring and Summer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to get up high in the hills and enjoy the dramatic scenery and views of the sea. It requires some effort obviously but that is more than repaid by the pleasure of being in such a lovely landscape.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was excellent, a confident guide who knows the area so well and was able to mix up the walks to suit the weather on any particular day, taking into account important issues of safety. He is very knowledgeable, being able to provide lots of local context during the walks which really added to the experience. His sandwiches were delicious (!) and he mixed extremely well with the group, not imposing himself unduly but making himself available to provide help and advice when it was needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to take advantage of this lovely spot and pay a visit! The trip notes are comprehensive and provide a good guide on what to take. You need a reasonable level of fitness to get up high to enjoy the views but Jose makes sure it isn't too gruelling and takes account of the inevitable range of fitness levels in the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is about an hours drive inland from Alicante on the coast and there is an opportunity to visit the seaside towns on the rest day. Again, Jose provided all the necessary info and arranged transport etc.