Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alex Davids

    Superb weekend introduction to arctic activities

    In our two active days there the area experienced the heaviest snow fall this year, so we did not get to see the Northern Lights 😕, BUT I still had an unforgettable weekend driving a husky sled and snowmobile, being pulled by a reindeer in a sled, having lunch in the ice hotel, and spending a night in a wilderness cabin. I definitely want to go again next winter for longer so that I can indulge in some of those activities for a longer time. Amazingly I was never cold despite a low temperature of -13C. They provided arctic clothing and you had to make sure that you had on a few layers below: long johns, thermal vest, a fleece or two, a beanie and a pair of warm socks were mine. They gave you boots, gloves, balaclava and arctic outer suit. The trip was superbly run and is highly recommended

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We started with the husky sleds and after that some of our group already felt that if that was all we did, the trip had been worth it. That evening's snowmobile drive in falling snow and wind was unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darra was superb: he clearly communicated changes in plan due to the weather and put the group's safety foremost. He was informative, friendly, organised - just what a group leader should be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are travelling on your own, you are not allowed to share a husky sled or snowmobile. If you feel uncomfortable driving one of these on your own, you can always be a passenger with the group leader or activity leader. Bring layers to wear: it is better to be too warm than to be cold.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sue Nicholls

    Awesome

    Absolutely fantastic holiday everything and more that we could of ever dreamed of

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the whole holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darren was really good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Warm socks
  • Reviewed February 2019
    nik koehli

    Lapland wilderness

    A fun packed long weekend in the heart of nowhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the northern lights against all the odds in the evening of a cloudy snowy day in the wilderness with no light pollution! But in addition the dog sledding, ski-doing and reindeer rides were really enjoyable. The scenery was amazing with the forest trees laden with snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very organised and coped with the group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was -23 C whilst we were there and had in previous weeks been -35 C . The kit worked very well for me on the body but I found hand/feet warmers very useful. If you remove gloves to take photographs try not to drop them in the snow and put them back on quickly!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was fine, but with limited options and not as good as on our previous Exodus trips.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Barbara O'Neill

    Good description

    Amazing trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the aurora

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of thermals and a rucksack

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A memorable trip
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Hannah Gibbs

    A proper winter wonderland!

    This trip outdid all my expectations - a brief yet action-packed weekend of winter activity topped off by a spectacular Northern Lights show outside our wilderness cabin. It was remarkable just how much we seemed to do in the two full days we were there - dogsledding, midnight snowmobile riding, reindeer sleigh ride as well as learning a bit about traditional regional culture and spending the night in a cosy wilderness cabin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all the activities but had particularly hoped to see and get some photos of the Northern Lights. The forecast hadn't looked too good but we were surprised to see a very faint glow on the first night after arriving at the hotel, a slightly more visible (albeit brief) show whilst on the snowmobiles, and finally a good hour's worth of lights dancing around the skies above the cabin and snow-covered forest on the final night. I may have been close to getting frostbite (it was up to -30 degrees) whilst trying to set up my camera but it was totally worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Becky was excellent - knowledgeable, capable, and enthusiastic to share her love for the region. It helped to have a really great group of fellow travellers too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Due to bad weather at Helsinki and some flight delays, our luggage did not arrive until the evening of the day after arrival. It might be a good idea to pack a set of thermals and a few basic items in hand baggage as a precaution as although you are provided with full outer clothing, you will still need the base layers. There is a small gift shop at the hotel that sells thermals but the range may be limited. I would also echo the advice given by Exodus re photographing the aurora - to get decent photos it helps to have some knowledge of using manual mode and long exposures, and a remote shutter release is also recommended. Mobile phone batteries also tend to die very quickly in the sub-zero temperatures.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very lucky with the aurora but even if we hadn't had an amazing light show there is enough packed in to the weekend to make it worthwhile. I'd definitely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    JUDITH Hulse

    Finland northern lights adventure!

    The most fun its possible to have in a few days, fast paced dog sledding, snow mobiling in the forest at night, staying overnight in a wilderness cabin and seeing the beautiful northern lights! Wow, life does not get much better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Northern lights each night but especially on the third night at the wilderness cabin. I just lay in the snow and watched them, a very exciting and exhilarating sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Becky was an outstanding guide. From giving us a talk about the Northern lights, leading us on a snow mobile tour through the forest at night to cooking our delicious dinner and breakfast at the wilderness cabin, her knowledge and enthusiasm for Finland could not be faulted. She is truly an asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wrap up warm! Get hand and foot warmers as your fingers and toes will feel the cold first! Several layers of thermals, head torch, walking pole, and your driving licence for the snow mobile. The kit provided is very good but you may prefer your own liner gloves and balaclava. A

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An outstanding trip. If you are even considering this holiday my advice is BOOK IT, you will not be disappointed!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Diane Hurley

    Northern Lights, Finland

    A fun, full-on holiday packed with great active experiences including dog sledding and snowmobiling. If you think you are going to be driven by someone else, think again. You are doing the driving! For most of this, it was a first!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Northern lights on the last night when we were staying in the Wilderness cabin - after a very nice dinner, by the wood burning fire, we wandered down through the forest to the frozen lake. There we could see the amazing movement and colours lighting up the night sky.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Becky was amazing. Very cool and collected, multi-skilled. One day giving us an interesting talk about the science behind the Northern lights, then leading us all at a hectic pace on a night ride, snowmobiling through the snow covered forests in search of the lights, the next cooking us a tasty dinner in the Wilderness Cabin.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I had a log cabin all to myself with no radio or tv and being a Londoner I am not used to complete silence. Bring a device that can play some music to you if you are the same. Internet doesn't work well in the grounds. The other good tip was to keep your mobile warm and close to your body as the freezing temperature saps the battery very quickly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great holiday - thanks Exodus!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Katherine Sandford

    Excellent wintery weekend!

    I absolutely loved this weekend, it's non stop fun and adventure! From husky sledding, snowmobiling, relaxing in the sauna and seeing the northern lights, we covered every wintry activity going in Finnish Lapland!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were 3 main highlights of the trip for me, which were: 1. Seeing the Northern Lights for 2 nights on this 3 night trip! Our guide Darren told us that the aurora borealis had not been seen at all for the last month prior to our arrival. We were obviously very lucky as on our 2nd night, we went out on the snowmobiles and saw them. Wide green arcs spread out across the sky that changed shape and glowed brighter and fainter as we watched them, it was very exciting and we stayed out until 12.30 pm in minus 27 degrees celcius! We saw them again on our 3rd night at the wilderness lodge from the frozen lake. A beautiful sight that I will never forget. 2. Husky sledding - this was so much fun! Our guide was great and clearly very passionate about his dogs and making sure they are well cared for. The dogs are so excitable and have so much energy! 3. Relaxing in the sauna and then rolling about in the snow afterwards. This was great fun and very relaxing!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not walk away from the path during your time at the wilderness lodge. One did in our group and she ended up knee height in snow and the men in our group had to go and rescue her!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend anybody who would like to experience the arctic wilderness to book this weekend. I was just disappointed that I couldn't spend longer there, I will be back!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Jennifer Wain

    Finland Northern Lights

    An exciting trip. If snow-steeped Lappish landscapes, huskies, reindeers and adrenaline-pumping activity appeals, then this is a great option for you. We were fortunate enough to gaze at the Northern Lights (magical!!) which will stay with me forever. With some more closer care and guidance re safety this would be an Excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the Northern Lights near the cabin by the frozen river. Husky ride comes in second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a good guide overall. He provided excellent advice for snowmobiling, warned everyone against drinking and his presentation on the Northern Lights was first rate. However, it has to be said, I was disappointed when I later learned of his response to being woken after the group heard me screaming for help outside our cabin in the wilderness on the second night. He mentioned, “oh, she'll be ok", and immediately went back to sleep. Did he not care that I might have been injured? I had walked along the wrong path to the cabin from the river and started sinking rapidly in snow. Although not his fault, I was extremely scared (my torch wasn't working) as the route I followed was unstable, metres high in snow in places. I sunk nearly up to my waist alone in the dark and screamed for what seemed like an eternity, while holding on to a tree, not far from the cabin, before eventually a lady went to brush her teeth and heard me. Then two men from the group came to rescue me. It was so dark I didn’t know what to do, but then again, even with a light, I wouldn’t have dared to move far in the snow… I was so relieved to have been found. I had been screaming for at least 30 minutes and didn't know whether I was going to freeze during the night or potentially drown. I think Exodus should make more effort to warn travellers in advance about basic safety trips which may be obvious to locals and Winter travellers but not necessarily so to others. For instance, the hazards of walking in snow around the cabin locations should have been made clearer and your company could do with sharing survival tips in the unlikely event of ending up alone after an accident etc. I subsequently learned that a snow cave could prevent you from freezing to death during the night and I’ll never forget this and the other tips shared by one of the men from our group who had been in the navy. It was -25 degrees Celsius outside. I could have died!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Absolutely essential - stick with your group. The wilderness can be treacherous. Make sure your torch works a few times before using it! Also, avoid keeping your gloves off for too long to avoid frostbite. Get camera-friendly ones instead. Have fun, just don't take your life for granted...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The huskies were the best. I didn't want to leave them.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Jennifer for her review, although we were concerned to learn of her experience at the wilderness cabins. We are in touch with Jennifer on an individual basis and our health and safety specialist has followed up on her experience with our local manager.

    Paolo Bonato - Product Manager for Finland

  • Reviewed March 2016
    Vanessa Arnell Cullen

    Wonderful Adventure

    I took my 21 and 16 year old daughters on this trip in feb 2016 and what a fabulous adventure we had. Finland is truely beautiful in the snow and Exodus yet again know how to pack your time full of wonderful activities. We saw the amazing Northern lights 2 nights in a row and what a magical appearance they made however I purposefully booked this weekend in case the lights did a no show; you would have a wonderful time even if they didn't. Some things you need to know - It is cold v v cold (-30) however the equipment provided FOC is excellent quality and you'll have everything you need. - The trip isn't for the faint hearted driving a snow mobile across the wilderness with your daughter on the back took concentration however, leading the huskies was easy peasey and so amazing ... book it, you won't get better

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sharing the wilderness and northern lights with my daughters to inspire the adventurers within them. However what made this trip is the choice of activities, venues and area Exodus chose for us to experience and the travellers in our group we shared the experience with (building the log fires for the sauna in our wilderness night cabin and jumping in the snow during our sauna was great fun) Thanks Exodus for yet another AWESOME adventure

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darren worked hard to organise and provide all that was needed

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full on weekend and the cold weather
Call us on 020 8772 3936