Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Colin Prince

    Feedback

    Excellent trip, great time of year to go. The trip was well put together and the cycling was safe and varied. Would say I thought it was more a 3.5-4 than the 3 it was given.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the views were amazing and the wild flowers were a joy

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni Pasella was one of the best leaders that I have had with Exodus, very knowledgable and did his best to make our trip interesting and relaxed. Marc also was very good and we always had a laugh

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for hills

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to everyone at Exodus and to Giovanni
  • Reviewed June 2019
    David Netherwood

    Great trip, but a couple of REALLY tough climbs

    We had an excellent group of five, and Giovanni and Marc our guides were excellent. The scenery, mountains, beaches, cliff tops, historic ruins are wonderful as are the wild flowers and flamingos. The hotels were all of a good quality and most had swimming pools. The cycling is harder than the 3 rating suggests. I've done a number of cycling trips, but days 2 and 3 have serious climbs on them and two of the five of us had to take the van for the last part. Foodwise, I'm a vegetarian and while there was always something to eat, it was more often grilled veg than would have been ideal. We mostly ate in fish restaurants. That said, there were a couple of standout meals that were superb. The bikes are good quality, perhaps a little heavy, and provided with panniers - best to put them in the van on the climb days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking cold beer in a cliff top bar, watching the sun go down after a hard days cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, Giovanni and Marc took turns to cycle with the group. They worked together really well and I think we all felt well looked after. They clearly are knowledgeable and passionate about the area, its history and wildlife and were delighted to share this with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get offered the choice, the wine tasting is good fun - I bought a couple of bottles and it does travel!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    May be a single rating isn't enough, I think this is a 4 on days 2 & 3, and 3 the rest of the time.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kate Ferguson

    Amazing trip

    A really great trip, Sardinia is a very beautiful place and we had a fantastic week of cycling, eating, socialising and learning about this beautiful Island from our lovely guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of a very challenging climb, the sense of of achievement and Endorphine release, the camaraderie with others in the group reaching the top, followed by the spectacular descent with beautiful scenery in glorious sunshine - magic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simone was fantastic, such a nice man who gave the impression he was really enjoying being with us and telling us about his beautiful Island. He was organised, safety conscious, knowledgeable and great company. His sidekick / driver Marc was also lovely - smiley, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Exodus seem to have a knack of finding fantastic guides who really know their stuff, are professional, organised and lovely people!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be quite fit on this trip - 3 days of significant climbing so if you are not a regular cyclist you should consider an E-bike. I loved the challenges as cycle back home but some people found it quite hard work on the more challenging days

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was surprised what an interesting and beautiful place Sardinia is - really spectacular scenery and not just on the coast. We enjoyed all the meals and nice accommodation and we were lucky to have a great group - we all got on well (mix of Brits and Canadians). Lots of laughs and lovely food and wine and beer as well as cycling! Bikes all excellent, lovely weather, no punctures - weren't we lucky!! I would highly recommend.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Paul Jefferies

    Cycling in Sardinia

    A very enjoyable week of cycling in Sardinia's south west coastal area with a lovely group. Some long climbs which were rewarded with equally long descents. The weather was sunny for the first couple of days, thereafter overcast and occasionally rainy, but this did not dampen the spirits of the group. The leaders - Michele and Simone were excellent, ensuring all the group had an enjoyable time. The hotels and agriturismos we stayed in along the route were all very good with excellent home cooked food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    it has to be the long climbs on days three and four and the equally long thrilling descents! Cyclists consume a lot of calories and there was no shortage of delicious food from breakfast, snack stops, lunch and dinner. Not to mention the re-hydrating with local beer and wine at the end of a long day cycling!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Simone were excellent. They supported all of us on the daily rides making sure everybody had an enjoyable time and took it in turns to cycle and drive the support van. They provided snacks during the rides and ensured we arrived at lunch stops on time for pre-booked lunch. Nothing was a problem for them - from fixing the occasional puncture to ordering food for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have your own pedals/cycling shoes and saddle then I strongly recommend you take them. I did not take mine and cycled in trainers, I managed ok, but it would have been a lot easier, especially on the hills if I had my own pedals and cycling shoes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to have a reasonable level of fitness tailored to cycling and have some off-road experience as there is a small amount of non-technical off-road cycling.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rex Yetton

    A lovely Island

    I went with four friends which made for good companionship and plenty of laughs, We made sure that we mixed with the group and made some good friends, and hopefully enhanced their enjoyment. We were lucky with the weather which threatened to have some storms but we seemed to have sunshine most of the time. I loved the morning coffee stops and the daily beach stops for a swim. Some of the rides were quite challenging and surprised the first timer in our group. The resulting downhill sections were fabulous. Most hotels had swimming pools which were very welcome at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long downhill rides after the steep climbs. The nice beaches and hotels with swimming pools. Having a beer with the group at the end of the ride. The final night as a group in Cagliari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leaders. Simone and Giovani were excellent. Giovani was very knowledgeable about the island and its history, which he was keen to tell us about. He was quite strict but we soon warmed to him and brought out his softer side by using some banter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hills on day 2 and three are very challenging. I have done grade 3 climbs on previous Exodus trips and these were long and challenging. Knowing that the hills would be a challenge and no longer a spring chicken, I had an e bike. I have embraced e mountain biking at home on the South Downs and it is fabulous. Although the e bike I had wasn't an ideal design, it certainly helped and enhanced my enjoyment. My advice would be to have one if you have any doubt. Why suffer? the e bikers were able to chat on the hills and enjoy the scenery, whereas the normal bikers couldn't talk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like coffee stops, nice beaches and swimming pools, this is the trip for you. Beware of the hills!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Glenda Cornwell

    Review

    Very well organised and enjoyable trip taking in some amazing scenery both coastal and inland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the variety of the cycling, especially the off road bits. Learning about how Sardinia's past was related to the monuments we passed and the food and culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lovely, friendly, patient, friendly and jovial hosts who always tried to please everyone, all the time. Great fruit breaks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some hills were quite long and steep. If you want to enjoy more, consider getting an electric bike! However, the van was available all the time allowing you to hop on and off throughout the day giving a great flexibility.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Watch out for the mosquitoes! Take repellent with you.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Liz Leonard

    Brilliant - but really glad we had e-bikes

    Great way to see the beautiful Sardinian West coast, including salt pans, flamingos, the dramatic coastline & turquoise seas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Costa del Sud was truly spectacular; the annual San Salvatore festival in Cabras; the giant sand dunes of the Costa Verde and the islands of San Pietro & Sant’Antioco. All of it really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Alessandro & Simone were superb: multi-tasking, great local knowledge, dealing with logistics, accommodation, restaurants, fixing bikes, making us a superb lunch. And they were brilliant when one of our group had a bad fall. They are both passionate about their country & it showed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My knees are knackered (little/no cartilage) and although I cycle at home, my knees would never have coped with this trip without an e-bike. There are some very challenging hills. Even the keen cyclists in our group felt that it would be better described as Moderate/Hard. With an e-bike it was still a challenge but a very satisfying one. Also it was incredibly hot - if the trip was offered mid-late September/early October, I think it could be even more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our only criticism was that the days were often long, starting at 9am & arriving at our next hotel at around 5ish. Personally I think the days should have ended at 4pm so you had a bit more time to either explore or have a swim before dinner. It’s a pretty full on itinerary!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Robert and Wendy Mann

    Well organised

    The tour was well organised and Michaela, assisted by Ado, dealt with everything very well. The bikes are very good but be prepared for some stiff climbs on the first two days and the Mistral at any time. Don't forget your Camelbak or your sunblock.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of any hill then flying down the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, he managed everything superbly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some preparation.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A printout of each day's travel, as with the trip in Sri Lanka, would be good.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Pope

    Cycling Sardinia

    A good trip, if a little light on interesting places to stop and look at during the day, and a little heavy on very hot beaches. This was I think our 8th cycling trip, and one of the least interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of some nice mountains, although nothing to match what we saw further north after the cycling when we hired a car to drive up to Olbia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, except that he did not seem to grasp that, for the English at least, the sort of people who go on cycling holidays are in general not the sort of people who want to lie on the beach in the middle of the day. On his last attempt to rouse us from a shady bar to go to the beach 100% of the group declined to go, preferring to push on to the lunchtime restaurant. He was absolutely brilliant is dealing with my dietary requirements as a coeliac.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Difficult to persuade Sardinian restaurants to provide any vegetables! If you are a vegetarian be prepared to live on pasta with tomato sauce, and salads consisting of little but iceberg lettuce.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Brid and Tony Delap

    Absolutely wonderful trip

    This was an amazing cycling trip which included stunning scenery, roman ruins, beaches, disused mines, coastal plains, ferry trips to two islands, country roads (some dirt tracks) and even a crossing of a shallow river!! Our guides Michele and Allesandro really made this trip wonderful and hastle free.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our final day cycling over the coastal plains of the Costa del Sud, even though challenging at times, the amazing views over the pristine beaches, cliffs and 16th century watchtowers made it all worthwhile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Michele was exceptional. From the moment we arrived at the airport to our farewell in Cagliari, he was always there to answer our questions, translate and offer recommendations. Even for something as trivial as buying shampoo, he escorted us to the door of the supermarket. Some meals were included with the package but for all others he made recommendations and accompanied us to fabulous restaurants. We also had the flexibility to do our own thing, if we so wished, but we were a very close group and we really enjoyed the company of Michele and Allesandro, our driver. They were great guides, both of them had a great sense of humour but were also exceptionally knowlegeable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first few days were unseasonally dull with a little rain. Make sure to pack a warm layer and a water proof jacket.
Call us on 020 8772 3936