Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

161 Reviews

  • Reviewed December 2019
    Stephen Sinnhuber

    Just amazing, and tough!

    My wife and I had long wanted to do this trek and when the 45th anniversary deal came up we booked last Feb. We then had months of worrying if we would make it, training, more training, buying gear, more gear etc etc! We needn't have worried. Our whole group made it thanks to Bikash and his team who were incredible throughout. Bikash ensured we ate enough (lots!), drank enough water (lots!), kept our hats on (haha) and made sure we did everything possible to avoid altitude sickness and make it. Whatever he did worked! We saw people in other groups dropping like flies and being helivac'd out. But we (11of us) were all fine! I have been on many Exodus trips but on this one the group dynamic was exceptional. The teamwork and camaraderie were second to none. I guess because the trek is very challenging. Don't underestimate this trek, it is very tough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to base camp itself after all the self-doubt we had about making it. Sitting quietly on my own looking at the vastness of the mountains around me. It's spectacular. But everywhere you trek is spectacular. Base camp is simply a highlight among many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional. Bikash was a fantastic leader along with his team of Kami, Lakpar and Yak man (haha). We would not have made it without these guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate this hike. it is tough. Make sure you are fit! It's not a race. Go as slow as you can. The guides set the pace. Follow it. Its cold so bring some good layers and rent the sleeping bag at least. The bag was very good quality. A Steripen was very useful. A thick fleece and or lightweight down/thermoball gilet (or better still jacket) is very useful inside the tea houses. Only the main room is heated and then usually only for the evening. Only eat veggie food and dont drink alcohol while on the trek. We avoided any illness as a result. Try and sit on the left of the plane going to Lukla. Luggage is advised at 5kg carry on and 10kg check in. As a result I ditched some stuff at the start hotel but it turned out we could definitely take more. One of our guys had over 14kg check-in and its very cheap to pay the extra. Handwarmers were useful but only on EBC day really. We didnt need the many we brought! The recommended money to take on the trek was spot on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the very best Exodus trips we have ever done. Amazing views, great trekking and fab company of the other clients and guides.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    David Southall

    The most amazing trip I have ever taken with memories never forgotten.

    If you wish to challenge yourself and witness some of the most amazing views on the face of this planet then this is the trek for you. Yes, you need to train, Yes you need to have a positive mind set, Yes, you will get cold, Yes you will NOT be staying in 5star hotels along your trek. YES, you will find things out about yourself, YES you will do things that you never though possible. YES YES YES you will have the greatest time. Go ahead. Book it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Everest Base Camp as a compete team and seeing the Nepalese culture of how little they have and yet they smile every day are grateful for everything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ha Ha Tenzing Sherpa was the most positive and inspirational leader anyone could ask for. His knowledge and character and laughter was simply infectious. I would request him again to guide any trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont overpack Take enough underwear and socks Limit to a 2/3. base layers/ Mid layers and let the down jacket do the rest. Drink enough water even if you feel you are not thirsty. Avoid meat on the trek.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Edward Cooper

    Trip of a lifetime!

    What a truly amazing trip! The trip of a lifetime in fact. Stunning views, amazing camaraderie, almost to too many fantastic memories to process. Everything from the spectacular flight into Lukla, to crossing the stunning bridges felt like such an adventure, straight out of an Indiana Jones movie. Special mention to our amazing tour leader Bikash Tamang and his amazing team (Kami Sherpa and Lakpa Cerpa) - these guys absolutely made the trip. So hard working, great sense of humour, super encouraging, super caring for the whole group, total professionals. When we return we want exactly the same team, we miss you guys!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to count - seeing Everest for the first time, visiting the Tengboche monastery, making it to basecamp and experiencing the amazing camaraderie of the whole group including Bikash Tamang and his amazing Exodus Nepal team (Kami Sherpa and Lakpa Cerpa)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash Tamang was the reason we all had one of the greatest trips of our lives. A true professional who was constantly encouraging the group and looking out for us all at every step of the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you train before the trip. Don't rush. Listen to everything your tour leader says and do it. They are extremely experienced.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait to go back to Nepal and have another adventure with Bikash Tamang and his team
  • Reviewed November 2019

    EBC is a sensational but tough trek

    In common with other reviewers' comments, it should be noted that the landscape between Lukla and Dingboche is like an alpine paradise, unexpectedly beautiful valleys and rivers, criss-crossed with suspension bridges and dotted with Buddha stupas. While mostly undulating, the trail is especially difficult on days where the ascent can be two hours straight up. But the leaders are cogniscent of this and allow many water stops in between scheduled breaks. Our leader, Bikash Tamang (TNT191102), was an especially experienced and supportive leader and provided confidence to those who needed it as well as providing cultural and geographical narrative from start to finish. The only reason I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the sanitary condition of many of the lodges high up in the Khumbu region and the abysmally cold bedrooms which are not insulated or well built. Do not underestimate how cold it gets at night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to a hospital in Phakding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See comments above; Bikash Tamang (TNT191102), was an especially experienced and supportive leader and provided confidence to those who needed it as well as providing cultural and geographical narrative from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider grouping together and buying a helicopter flight from Ramechaap to Kathmandu on the return leg, to avoid a 6 hour horror bus journey and instead enjoy an incredible 25 minute flight over the hilltops. Amazing. Do not pay more than USD 1600 (5 people)
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Amazing, once-in-a-lifetime adventure - but be prepared!

    We have just returned from EBC, and it really was quite the adventure. Great scenery (when the clouds lifted!), fabulous trekking, lovely company and lots of laughs. We had a wonderful team - Leader Ajay ('Ozzy'), Sherpa Kaji, Norbu and Newang, our Yak man. We made it to EBC in the snow! Be as prepared as you can, expect long days trekking with lots of both up and down, embrace the culture and you'll be rewarded with incredible views and a great sense of accomplishment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to EBC obvs, but also chatting to Sherpa Kaji (who has summited Everest 9 times), visiting the memorials, sitting in the Monastery listening to the monks chanting, seeing the expedition tents at BC, seeing the Khumbu icefall, hanging out with our trek mates..…….

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay ('Ozzy') was fantastic - he looked after us so well, was a delight to be with, was open and honest about everything. Couldn't have been better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are unable to cope with squat loos, smells, very cold bedrooms, and basic living conditions, then perhaps this isn't the trip for you. If you can cope with those things, then you'll be fine, enjoy the experience and it is all so worth it. Loo roll, wet wipes, Imodium, water treatment equipment, and sense of humour are your friends. Discuss the use of Diamox with your leader. We also valued our Powerbanks, Merino underwear, hand sanitisation gel, well broken-in walking boots, and snacks (although you can buy them along the way). Oh and playing cards! Food is basic but plentiful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were pleasantly surprised by the number of places we could actually get a hot shower. Many tea houses have invested in Gas showers, and they were very welcome (you do have to pay.) Remember prices for everything go up the further from Lukla you get. Take more ££ than you think you'll need, and make sure you change any spare back (into dollars only, not pounds) before you pass through passport control at the airport on your way out. Dengue fever is currently a significant problem in Kathmandu - take precautions to prevent mosquito bites (see trip notes).
  • Reviewed June 2019
    paul bester

    breath-taking, in both senses

    having done a few mountains before, I was just hoping to get a view of Everest, but was amazed at just how unexpectedly-beautiful the route was. the initial lush green valleys were replaced with breath-taking views of majestic mountains. every turn produced another stunning vista. i found it really difficult to relay just how big those mountains are to anyone who hasn't been there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the sheer size of the Himalayas gives a humbling sense of ones place on earth. I simply could not go through life without seeing the "big one" up close- (relatively speaking).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a true gem. he is an experienced and confident leader, beyond his years. besides his general information, I learned so much about Nepalese culture from the one to one chats, while ambling at the back of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    it's a challenging trip, but certainly not limited to the super-fit.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Hughes

    Everest Base Camp - a journey to heaven!

    This trip met and exceeded my expectations by miles! I have never seen scenery so beautiful in my life , it was truly wow! It was the hardest thing (trek wise ) I have ever done and breathing at times in the higher parts was tough but it was more than compensated by the experience. A big shout out to Bikash T ( TNT190427) who was a brilliant leader and encouraged us a long the way and ensured we paced ourselves the result of which we all made it to Base Camp! His team were all brilliant too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Base Camp after such a long journey to get there. I never thought in my lifetime I would see this and it literally took my breath away and was very emotional when I arrived!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated above Bikash was a great leader and was certainly always reassuring me whenever I had any nervous moments and was easy to talk to and great sense of humour too !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how tough this trip is. The more preparation you put into this , the more you will enjoy it. It is worth it! Also , it gets expensive to buy snacks the further you go up, I would recommend bringing energy bars etc from home it save you money. And, finally , when the leader says pace yourself , take notice, as walking too fast is not a good idea at that altitude!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip and life changing experience!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Hayley Kennedy

    Fabulous! Holiday of a lifetime!

    Fabulous trip. Great Guide (Bikash T, TNT190427) great staff. Great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp as I’d been doing the trip for charity so felt such a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Legend! Fab guy! Had a great team around him as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you need, electricity, wifi etc are expensive Train hard and get fit, you will enjoy it more! Work as a team to Ensure you all get there and achieve together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sophie Daubeney

    An experience you’ll never forget...

    Overall an amazing experience. Beautiful views. A unique, friendly group of fun people! There was a real team spirit, and I was never in doubt that anyone wouldn’t make it to Base Camp. The guides were fabulous, and enhanced a really special experience! Would definitely recommend this trek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up in Kyanjumar lodge and seeing Ama Dablam towering overhead. A real pinch me moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was amazing! Such a kind, patient and fun leader! Felt very supported and encouraged throughout the trip, particularly on the tougher days. He was also incredibly knowledgeable about local culture and history. Can’t recommend him enough. It must be said that all the guides and the yak man were awesome too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare, prepare, prepare! Be of a good level of physical fitness- this trek is no walk in the park! Don’t forget the essentials; loo roll, hand sanitisers, lip balm and sun cream (don’t underestimate the importance of these small luxuries)!! And enjoy!! This trip will be once in a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    jacqueline walton

    Excellent trek

    As expected, an excellent trek. Fantastic scenery; lovely insight in to Nepali villages and epic mountains!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get our select group of ’Trevor’s Angels’ to the top of Kala Patar!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He was extremely personable and knowledgable but also very aware of how we were all doing. At the slightest sign of anyone not being 100% , he would check how they were doing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely get your visa beforehand - we did the online bit but still had a huge wait. The only way to avoid the wait is to send passport off for visa in UK. Sadly, if others in the group don’t you will still have to wait but outside! Stock up on anything that will help counteract the Khumbu cough - lemsips, throat sweets ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although not an easy trip, taking it slowly and mental determination will see you through!