Spring Fling - Save £100 on Selected Italy Trips booked by 25th April. Click here to see Terms & Conditions.

Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Peter Talfourd

    Accurate

    Different from most cycle trips but group kept together well and no moans or groans Also guide and assistant very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Generally feeling of isolation and proximity of Russian border.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good different from usual guides being older but group age older

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Open mind as to accommodation
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jonathan Dusheiko

    Sri Lan-ka!

    Great cycling holiday through a stunning country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whizzing past white stupas with a backdrop of emerald green hills on day 5. Watching late afternoon cricket at Ella and views of mountains. Elephant up close in Yala National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh organised everything very competently,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I took a headband, removable UV-protective arm sleeves and sweat-proof sports sun cream. Don’t underestimate the equatorial sun, especially on the day after the big climb when you are also at 1900m! The big climb is not that bad if you have done some training, shortly after we arrived at the top a couple on touring bikes with heavy panniers got there as well to general amazement. Remember binoculars and a reasonable zoom camera for Yala NP. Don’t bother with full cycling gear for late afternoon visit to ruins at Pollonaruwa, more walking than cycling!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Michelle Marshall

    A great cycling trip with a taste of Mexico

    A great mix of cycling in the mornings and early afternoons, followed by lunch and time at colonial towns and Mayan sites. The cycling is not very scenic but the stops in the villages are an interesting way of seeing village and small-town life. The hotels were lovely and had lots of character and it was nice to cool off and swim in their pools at the end of each day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Mayan sites, swimming in the cenotes, floating down the channel at the biosphere and all the great food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar our leader was fantastic, always very cheerful and energetic and organised everything well. Jose and Gabo were great too and they made a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot by late morning bring a small lightweight sweat towel to mop your brow at stops. Electrolyte hydration tablets were useful to add to your water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been really nice to have had more time in Merida, we didn't get there till 7pm in the evening and only had time for quick look round before dinner - this was cut out from previous years version of the trip - Exodus please revisit this change.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Sandy Celovsky

    Incredible Trip!

    This trip was an excellent intro to Japan! It covered a huge variety from highlights of sprawling Tokyo to rural seaside and mountain villages as well as offering insight into Japanese culture through the eyes of our wonderful local guides, “Tea” and “TaiChi”. Despite the weather being colder and wetter than expected ( trust me, bring full waterproofs especially hands and feet as temps were also near zero in places), the sheer adventure of cycling along a beach, up some challenging climbs to our local ryokan and wonderfully exquisite prepared dinners, the photos relect is all smiling through the weather! The rides were punctuated with well thought out cultural stops and a wonderful selection of lunch spots. I would highly recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, it was the introduction to such an unique culture. Despite Japan being a developed country, the norms, many intricate rituals and the respectful nature of the Japanese, made this such an interesting trip with a great deal of variety. I also would include the nightly soaks in the onsens a highlight! Our group completely got into this routine around the peninsula where they were common!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One cannot say enough about our primary group leader “Tea”. An incredible person, he was the epitome of organized, safety conscious, accommodating, knowledgeable and patient. We were not sure when “Tea” slept as he seemed to always be engaged doing something for the next day, ensuring all special dietary needs were met, organizing tickets, lunch stops etc. He also turned out to be photographer at large capturing many fantastic images of the group cycling..not quite sure when he managed to capture so many images as he always seemed to be leading us with commands of “single file”!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring less evening clothing (you really do end up wearing kimonos more than half the time post cycling) and bring more cycling stuff..full array of warm weather and cold/wet weather gear. Hands and feet especially. A down puffer jacket is recommended as used more than several times and lacks light and small.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found this trip to have the perfect mix of enough cycling mileage, cultural stops and highlights. It offered a fantastic variety and having been home now for a week, I look through the photos with extremely fond memories of a wonderful adventure with a fantastic crew and group of fellow travellers!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Philip Warner

    Our wonderful journey through Jordan.

    An excellent,well organised cycling tour in a very welcoming and interesting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To me there were a few inspirational moments on the tour. The mosaics and the whole interior of the “Church of the Map”at Madaba was very inspirational. Again,Petra and camping out in Wadi Rum was quite inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Ab (Abdullah ) was excellent. He was always pleasant,had plenty of patience and hard working.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In winter months you need clothes for all types of weather. When walking to the water at the Dead Sea,I would recommend wearing sandals or some sort of rubber shoes because the layers of salt are quite sharp underfoot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thoroughly enjoyed the tour from start to finish. We had an excellent tour leader, bus driver and cycling guides. Whenever we were cycling we had a tourist police escort. The police were also quite friendly. We had more lunches than was advertised in the trip notes. Ab kept on feeding us with snacks. Beside the cycling, the tour was quite varied. There was a lot of walking, some quite strenuous at Petra,whilst it was quite relaxing at Aqaba..
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tony Jenkins

    What a fantastic trip!

    Wow, what a great trip. I had a fantastic time and I am so glad that I did it. There were so many highlights. To start with the cycling was varied and interesting combining flat, uphill and undulating sections along the way as well as cycling by rivers, along country lanes, a bit of city cycling, cycling through tea plantations and many more. The food was delicious throughout and there was lots of choice. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fish and jumbo prawns in Cochin but there was also a wide variety of tasty curries to choose from along the way. All of the accommodation was relaxing, comfortable and air conditioned/had fans. The amount of different places visited was great too ranging from Hindu temples, Christian churches, tea plantation, spice plantation, bird sanctuary etc. The guides on the trip were exceptional. Abhi, the tour leader, always had a smile on his face and always had an answer for any question that you asked him. He was also very encouraging on the cycling side of things as well as pointing out lots of interesting things along the way. He also made you feel welcome and was very organised. He was great. Franklin, the driver, was also great. He was always there to help with your luggage, fill up your water bottle or offer some food for your trip. He was also encouraging too. I would just like to say a quick thank you to Virginia, Alan and Scott who were my travel companions. I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to travel with. They were fun, good to talk to and helped make me feel comfortable while cycling. Thanks. Finally, I would like to say that if you are thinking about doing this trip then just do it as you will have a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was the day where we were cycling through the tea plantations. I really enjoyed the cycling (including 3000ft of climbing!) and the scenery was spectacular too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Abhi always had a smile on his face and always had an answer for any question that you asked him. He was also very encouraging on the cycling side of things as well as pointing out lots of interesting things along the way. He also made you feel welcome and was very organised. He was interesting to talk to and a great human being.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It got up to nearly 46 degrees when I went on my trip so I would highly recommend wearing a cap/buff or similar under your cycling helmet as it gets so hot on your head otherwise. I would also recommend cycling gloves and padded shorts/underwear as it can get very hot and sticky. Good quality sun cream is essential too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend going on this trip as it is varied, fun and exceptionally well run.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    lyn Morrow

    cycling the cape and wine regions

    It was great trip thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery along the coast was stunning. Accommodation was wonderful the bus and bikes in very good condition.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of the passes without stopping along the way. Also the group support and that of the our leader Warren

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Warren was exceptional. He was passionate knowledgeable easy to approach for a chat and of course very conscious of our safety at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the moment holidays don't last forever.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Trevor Topp

    Culturally Immersive

    This was my fifth Exodus Cycling Adventure (Sri Lanka, Madagascar, Vietnam, and South Africa: Drakensburg & Kruger). As with my previous Exodus experiences, the logistics of transportation and accommodation were expertly arranged. Leader Rit and his Laoatian co-lead Mr. Sack ensured things ran smoothly and unobstrusively. The bikes were in good repair, though we did our best to put them through their paces. The trip is appropriately graded as a "4" - moderate/challenging....indeed there were a few short climbs that were a bit steep, but were not long, and were doable. Yes, the roads in Laos were rough, but that is quintissentially Laos on pavement! At no time did I feel unsafe with regard to the pavement or Chinese transport trucks. It's a great trip for meeting locals...we got involved in some village celebrations along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking beer with the locals in a village on the edge of the Mekong who were celebrating the arrival of a new baby. We just happened to drop in for a look around....we were warmly welcomed by all!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Sharon Burton

    A fantastic journey through Vietnam

    This has to be a trip of a lifetime. Cycling through a country that is unspoilt, dramatic countryside, mountains, lakes, coast, busy, manic towns and cities where the traffic stops for no-one. It is a country like no other and needs to be experienced to be believed. Be prepared to never come up for air. The people are so friendly and helpful and the food so delicious. Our group bonded well which made for the trip and our support team looked after us well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Whale Island and being blown away by its remoteness and uniqueness Cycling up the Hai Van Pass. Cycling 30km down a mountain pass where the temperature ranged from feeling like being in a fridge to feeling like being in a sauna. Finally, Halong Bay Cruise. Cycling through the craziness and mayhem of towns and cities but being expertly guided through safely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tong was good fun, very knowledgeable and knew his stuff. He was also very fit and cracked the whip every day. He was also very motivating and inspirational and kept us on our toes. He also looked after our health and safety implicitly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days in the saddle, intense heat and to get very sweaty. Please try and get fit before you travel as it would be a shame to miss even 1 hour of cycling. The scenery is so varied, the towns are manically busy so be prepared for some hairy moments but the guides ensure you are safely taken through the craziness of it all. It has to be seen to be believed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will not be disappointed with this trip if you go with eyes wide open. It certainly exceeded my expectations. I didn’t expect the cycling to be so difficult and I am a fit person so it helps to even do some cycling before you go. Be prepared to see a lot of rubbish as the country doesn’t seem to have got its head around recycling yet and it’s a shame to see the countryside and coastal areas littered with rubbish. However, that is a minor criticism in what is a beautiful country. My memories will live with me forever from this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    David Barker

    Wonderful Country, Wonderful Ride

    A challenging ride, for a rating of 3, through the beautiful countryside and coastline of this small part of Africa. Stopping for a few tastings of wonderful wines and visiting many iconic landmarks along the way. Add to this the natural enthusiasm and deep knowledge from the guide and a lovely group of people to share - this really was the most memorable and amazing trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride from Simonstown to Cape Town on the last day. The climb through Chapman's Peak, the crystal clear Ocean, the lovely beaches with waves breaking were all amazing - then to finish by cycling past the 12 apostles and ending at the hotel was both inspirational and emotional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was very knowledgeable, has a deep love of the country and clearly is a very accomplished rider. He went out of his way to accommodate the little things that such a tour inevitably brings (a late request for optional trips, additional sections to ride, additional wine tastings etc) and did this with his full enthusiasm. Thank you for making this a truly memorable holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is relatively hard ride for a rating of 3. This should not put people off as there is full vehicle support, but ensure the training has been done and be prepared to hop on the vehicle at certain times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy this lovely country.
Call us on 020 8772 3936