Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Polly Vallance

    Brilliant adventure week!

    This week had all we were looking for ...... heaps of action, a beautiful scenic country & a relaxing place to be. We did all the activities included in the week (white water rafting, canyoning, kayaking, biking & zip lining) & did additional paragliding & advanced canyoning. Such a fun active area to be in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Oh my ....... too many - we all loved them ! Too many awesome highlights to single out a particular one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn’t have a group leader as we were just a group of 4. But the company that organised all our activities were awesome & any questions were dealt with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO ON THIS TRIP!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a superb sleek fun filled week full of adventure, excitement & fun. A beautiful area & the hotel was all we could have wanted. Perfect!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Katy R

    Amazing insignt into a fabulous country

    This trip was FULL ON. The activity level maybe doesn't reflect the amount of actual physical exercise taken on the trip, but it does reflect the pace. It was completely non-stop from touchdown at Hanoi airport, to hikes and village walks through the hills of the north and absorbing all the culture of Hue and then down to Saigon and the beautiful Mekong Delta. 6am starts and late nights made for a lot of naps required on the bus but to pack this inspiring and amazing country into 16 days was a definite success!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay has got to be up there as an all time highlight, the kayaking was brilliant too! Along with the guest-house in the Mekong delta and the cycling tours through the countryside Hanoi on a Saturday night for tired, jet-lagged brits who had only been in the country a few hours was a bit overwhelming but Saigon was a dream!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unfortunately this is where the trip fell short of 5 stars. Having travelled with exodus before and only experienced amazing, intelligent, organised and inspiring guides full of knowledge and humour, perhaps I was a little spoilt. Linh was both disorganised and overly-regimented in his planning. He constantly failed to tell us vital information regarding the days structure ahead which meant that an already packed trip was full of confusion. He was indecisive but at the same time failed to take on suggestions from the group about what they wanted to do. We were given very little freedom or flexibility with regards for activities and he had a very odd idea of time eg City tour in Hoi An was supposed to take 1 hour, ended up taking 3 hours then straight to dinner then another tour after dinner = very tired tourists. He also showed no interest in conversing with any of the group and preferred to lecture us in the coach (very interesting if a little egotistical at times) yet was not open to any two-sided discussion over dinner. In my experience, exodus guides have been quite the opposite and this is just a one off (for anyone reading who has now been put off!). I was also under the impression that Linh did not often take the 'trails' group and usually did the cycling tour - perhaps that is his real forte!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes lots! When going to the home-stays with the village tribes, pack lots of clothes and socks (you will need them) and also all the young girls in the villages were desperate to have their nails painted! So bring a pot, it won't take up much space and will really brighten their day! (Wish I had had this advice before going) There won't be many opportunities for buying souvenirs etc so make sure you take time in Hoi An to do that. If you're at all travel sick then stock up on pills - the coach journeys have wonderful scenery but that comes at a cost! You don't need to bring many clothes either, laundry services are cheap and quick and so are the clothes if you need an extra t-shirt or something. The food has a reputation for being dirt cheap, however the places we were taken to were cheap compared to British standards but don't go expecting dinner to cost £5 If you go in August it is constantly hot and sticky, lots of sun cream, lots of DEET, expect to be a sweaty mess most of the time!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip overall was incredible. We got to meet the local people and see some amazing sights and eat the local food, really get stuck in to the Vietnamese culture. The high pace was really tiring but worth it to get everything squeezed in to two weeks. The only thing that let us down was a very poor guide, however as it is such a crucial part to any holiday that's why I had to give 4/5 :( Thank you exodus and thank you Vietnam!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Kim Norton

    Awesome Vietnam experience

    The whole experience exceeded my expectations. The trip had a great mix of experiences, my personal favourites being the Halong Bay boat trip and Mekong delta homestay with added birthday cake (surprise from our guide, Tung) for the August birthday celebratees.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard for me to choose one, but I am inspired by how welcoming and friendly the people are and their resilience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Tung, had an amazing knowledge of the region and always ensured everyone was in their happy place 😊. Vote Tung for guide of the year!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay an extra day or two after the tour ends, to rest. Although the tour is well paced it is still tiring if you are not used to the busy city travel.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Tracey Podger

    spectacular Slovenia

    Surely one of the most beautiful countries - unspoilt, natural and breath-taking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    it was all inspirational - being amongst nature, it's beauty and power. The Soca river is a wonder in it's own right and as you travel via various modes of transport it takes you through mountains and valleys equally stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader worked hard to meet everyone's needs and was flexible with the itinerary. He was knowledgeable and keen to share his country and experience with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of sun cream and if you aren't keen on heights the zip wire might not be for you...but there are plenty of other activities to enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    highly recommended
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Grant Cadden

    Go on this trip!

    The week was really fun and well organised. Plenty of different activities in an amazing location. Great activities, food, accommodation and leaders- would definitely recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the canyoning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were really accommodating, fun and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Would recommend the paragliding and advanced canyoning optional activities.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Diana Hurley

    Slovenia multi-activity

    |As above

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Zip lining. Canyoning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great guides

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own cycling gloves/mitts as they didn’t have any
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Daniel Scrivens

    Amazing!!!

    This was my first exodus adventure and it most certainly won’t be the last. This week had everything. Slovenia is an untold beauty which must be discovered. The socha river is a magnificent turquoise and being able to do multiple activities on it is amazing. Slovenian people are very friendly, warm and welcoming. Kobarid is much smaller than expected but is a lovely quaint little village with plenty of restaurants to try. The team were amazing and helpfully and the group was a wonderful mix, with people from all walks of life. I would love to go on another trip with them all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Freya Hodson

    Amazing!

    I had the best time on this trip, so much fun and all the activities and guides were amazing. And the place was stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, Slovenia is breathtakingly beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, the whole team couldn't do enough for you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip now! You will not regret it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Martin Wiselka

    Trails of Vietnam

    This was an action packed adventure holiday with different places to visit and activities each day. The itinerary allowed time for homestays in three different places including a very remote and rural hill farm and the homestays, trekking and cycling activities helped us to understand the country better and meet some of its wonderful people. There were so many photo opportunities in each destination. The trip truly allowed us to experience the varied climate, cultures and cuisine of Vietnam, including opportunities to sample some excellent home cooked local meals. The activities were moderately strenuous and the Leader always ensured that everyone was happy and included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the countryside around Hue visiting the local market seeing people tending their fields, water buffalo taking a bath and herding ducks across the road. Staying at the mountain homestay sharing a house with the local family

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Tan Nguyen was outstanding and ensured that everything occurred like clockwork in the complicated itinerary. He went out of his way to include everyone and ensure that everyone was enjoying their holiday and did everything with a smile on his face and great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a very active holiday with many new experiences every day. Requires moderately strenuous physical fitness and activity. Padded cycle shorts recommended. Climate very varied, from surprisingly cold in the northern mountains to sweltering heat in the Mekong delta.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vietnam is an amazing country and this trip helps you to experience its culture and highlights. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Penny Daffarn

    Brilliant holiday

    This is a packed 2 weeks, travelling the length of Vietnam on a huge range of transport. Coach, airplane, overnight train, boat, kayak, bikes and hiking. We got up close and personal to real Vietnam people, staying several nights in home stays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sunset from a boat in Halong Bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bao, was always smiling, and competently managed the logistics of this complicated trip. The next mode of transport was always there waiting for us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes say walking boots, but not really necessary, stout shoes would be fine and then you don't have to carry heavy boots around. There are several times when we had to take overnight bags, once even for 2 nights, so plan for this. Cycle helmets are available, so again, not really necessary to bring your own. Book yourselves on the all the optional trips, they are all worthwhile. The exchange rate is around 29,800 dong to the GBP, we found it very useful to have a print out of some key amounts to get our heads round the prices! This is a busy trip, but not too physically challenging, the hiking and cycling are at a moderate level. It is very hot in Saigon, so be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fabulous trip, well organised and a real insight into today's Vietnam