Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janel Hannis

    Epic trip in Epic Country!

    Having done about 10 trips with Exodus now, this one excelled.. It is challenging, rewarding, interesting, fun, exciting, all mixed in with a heady charm offense that India is.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the climb up the Jalori Pass, (3200m); one minute in the snow-line, 56 downhill kms later, in the soaring heat - 38degrees I'm guessing! Extra-ordinary contrast in one day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Difficult to manage a small group of 4, but did a good job nonetheless. Interesting information about the country and always jolly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really... If you pick this tour you are obviously quite fit, so just stay hill fit.. A range of suitable clothing and wet weather gear is useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just an awesome trip, I would eagerly do again!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gordon Goldsmith

    Taj Tigers & Temples

    Amazing trip , well organised & staff where very reliable & friendly Day to day changes in the Itinerary or timetable did not effect our enjoyment too much But changes were partly due to a larger group than expected , (25) Having met our initial group, about 10 joined up later on the first day which we where not expecting & the dynamic's of the group where somewhat affected for most of the trip ! An example to highlight this happened when the second group ( who also previously knew each other )wanted to go Elephant riding . The 'original ' group had to seat it out as we all did not approve & had not asked for this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gurudwara Sikh Temple in Old Delhi ALL the early morning starts … great

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay Gupta was a very good guide Knowledgeable , witty ,very accommodating with some overbearing aspects of certain group members He also managed to be diplomatic at all times & showed lots of patience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No not really If you have never traviled before , its all in the notes supplied Do not feel concerned about things like water , safety etc... India is changing very fast !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Possible inclusions for the trip A few more walk-a -bout's at times in interesting areas & suburbs Reduce group size so there can be a few more ,'smaller & interesting hotels , some in the city centres Rather than on this trip where they were predominately 'out of town' , so no opportunity to eat out
  • Reviewed May 2019
    nicole jordan

    good

    The home stay was awful, it would have been good to have an option to have a stay at hotel instead. It's not my idea of a holiday being a strangers house. People nice enough. Some environmental issues that were offensive, think Exodus should be insistent that the locals improve on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was beautiful and cycling the back waters was magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good, his english was not brilliant so hard to engage with him but he was attentive, thoughtful and did everything to make us have a pleasant time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a sheet or lining for the home stay and expect the worst and you will ok.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a good holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    nicole jordan

    good

    The home stay was awful, it would have been good to have an option to have a stay at hotel instead. It's not my idea of a holiday being a strangers house. People nice enough. Some environmental issues that were offensive, think Exodus should be insistent that the locals improve on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was beautiful and cycling the back waters was magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good, his english was not brilliant so hard to engage with him but he was attentive, thoughtful and did everything to make us have a pleasant time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a sheet or lining for the home stay and expect the worst and you will ok.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a good holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Ann Dowson

    We saw tigers!

    We travelled to India solely to see tigers in their natural habitat and we were not disappointed. We saw tigers in each of the three national parks we visited as well as many other animals, most notably three sightings of a leopard. The accommodation used on the trip was, we felt, of a good standard. We appreciated the pool at each of the hotels and went to the pool every day after the morning game drive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Kanha National Park our jeep drew up to a crossroads to see a tiger walking along the road on the right. The driver turned the jeep so we were facing this big, male tiger. The tiger continued to walk along the road towards us and the driver reversed the jeep a short way, the tiger continued his walk towards us and we reversed again. This went on for 1km! We saw the tiger scent mark and casually stroll along. This was just an incredible encounter with only our jeep present. It was beyond our greatest expectation and when we saw how excited the driver and guide were after this experience we knew just how special it had been.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very well organised and efficient. He was always approachable and we were happy with the manner in which he organised the group briefings. He was friendly and easy to get along with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even when travelling in April I still required a thin fleece for the early morning game drives. You do not need to pack a lot as clothes dry so quickly in the heat. Remember to take a small bag for your camera, tissues etc on the game drives.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We should have been informed before the start of the trip that the arrangements in Nagpur were changed. We did not receive the notification and it was only by luck that we returned to the hotel for the rescheduled transfer to Pench. In Agra we would have preferred more time at the Taj Mahal. The trip prior to this to the marble shop did not interest us. Although the hotels in the National Park were of a good standard the hotel we stayed in on the last night in Delhi fell short. Initially we had planned to stay on in that hotel as our return flight was not until the following morning. We were so glad they could not accommodate us and we found a much better hotel at a very reasonable price near to the airport. We think that Exodus should use a higher standard hotel for the last night.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sally Clayton

    Brilliant family trip to India

    I was slightly apprehensive about taking the other half and my daughter to India, but it was fantastic. We were very well looked after, didn't get sick and had an action packed adventure - taking in the sights and scenes of a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taj and Tigers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Ajay was very informative, great with the kids and full of information and gave good context to historical, religious and modern day living in India. He also was calm and helpful sorting out the return travel when the originally booked Jet flights all got grounded!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about getting really sick, its very unlikely that it will happen. Take a waterbottle to fill up on the bus to avoid unnecessary one time use plastic waste. The trip is fast paced especially at the beginning - but go with it, there will be some great hotels and swimming pools along the way for you to rest up!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    D Gray

    Fabulous Experience

    The overall trip experience was superb and the opportunity to see the tigers at three different National Parks was incredible. The inclusion of a visit to Agra (and its attractions) was a great way to finish a wildlife holiday. The overall itinerary was well thought out, the accommodation and transport were good, all local staff were always friendly, helpful and efficient. Himanshu’s knowledge, manner and professional leadership were particularly outstanding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments: seeing the tigers at close range; seeing so many tigers (our group saw 25 different tigers, at 28 sightings); visiting the Taj Mahal and the opportunity to experience a little of the Indian culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Himanshu is an outstanding tour leader. He is friendly, professional, efficient, calm, caring and really went “the extra mile” to meet the individual needs of everyone in our group. All of this he successfully did in a calm, professional and positive manner, nothing was too much trouble. His extensive knowledge of the tigers (their names, family history, behaviours etc.) was exceptional. His genuine enthusiasm and passion for the tigers and their preservation, inspired us and added greatly to the whole wildlife experience. Himanshu’s additional understanding of what makes for good wildlife photography was a real bonus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good things come to those who wait and to those who get up early! Collectively our group had 28 tiger sightings, the tigers when we encountered them were a sight to behold. Sometimes we had no tiger sightings for a few days, other times a few well camouflaged stripes sleeping in the grass, then we were treated to fabulous displays of a tigers walking on the road past the jeeps, going to the water hole, drinking and taking a bath … awesome!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Usually we had 2 game drives a day, a 5 hr safari in the morning (departing at 5am) and a 3 hr safari before sunset (departing around 3.30pm). In the mornings we were served tea/coffee before departure, then searched for tigers until around 9am. Tiger depending, the jeeps then went to a fenced-in area, for breakfast and a bathroom-stop. Breakfast was a ‘packed-lunch format’ served on a table cloth on the bonnet of the jeep. It was a mixture of western and Indian foods, great. The game drive then continued, after which we returned to the Safari Lodge. We were greeted by hotel staff with face cloths and a cool drink. Afternoons were then free to sit by the pool, sleep, purchase lunch or do whatever folk chose. After the evening safari dinner was usually served between 7.30pm and 8.30pm. The food at all of the Safari Lodges was varied and delicious. We used a number of different modes of transport. We travelled by taxis between the three National Parks, the taxis were comfortable and air-conditioned. The jeeps at the parks were great, bring a scarf or neck gaiter for the dust. The Sleeper Train was fun – just don’t expect to get much sleep! The standard of cleanliness and comfort on the train was better than we had expected, one night was perfect. The minibus was comfortable and air conditioned. All drivers were friendly and welcoming. Our local guides in Agra and Delhi were knowledgeable with good English. All in all this India Tiger Safari trip was an excellent experience, to be recommended.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sandra Pinnock

    Hiking in the Himilayas

    Such a varied and personally challenging tour! At 73, I wondered how well I would deal with the serious elevation hike up to the Ridge. The guide, Rajeev, made hard choices when the weather was difficult. The 3 guides supported us every day so we all did our best. The view at sunrise of the mountain from the Ridge made the effort worth it. The other stops in Darjeeling and Sikkim and Kolcutta gave us a good idea of this part of the country. A well planned and varied experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing the Himalayas from the Singalila Ridge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Although younger than the hikers, he acted with knowledge, consideration and organisation. He took all into consideration to guide us quietly. He did not sidestep making hard decisions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. Pack for all weather possibilities. We had hail in April.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    JANICE DUNCAN

    Taj and Tigers= terrific.

    26 encounters with tigers,(I lost track of how many different ones - think it was 17) one sloth bear and a leopard. That’s a safari. Loved the landscape and all the animals from Langurs to Deer to the beautiful Indian Rollers.Tiger moments from 3 brothers in a water hole to single sightings were wonderful. Taj Mahal took my breath away.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the Sloth Bear appearing just before we left the park for the evening. A late and lovely surprise. Did the whole tree scratch just in front of us. Much to all our delight,3 out of four of our jeeps were there and able to enjoy the encounter. Loved the excitement after a tiger walked just behind our jeep and I realised I was shaking with the adrenaline buzz.. I had too big a lens on my camera but boy will I remember the moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kryshna was helpful, knowledgeable and entertaining. He was very organised. Jet Airways folded whilst we were In India but there was no stress for us as the back up team had alternatives for us all in a couple of days. Kryshna liased with the office and all was sorted out.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is all in the lap of the gods when it comes to sightings. We were very lucky although we were helped by the heat as they were all at the water holes. The jeep system has been criticised by others but I think it is good that the Park Authorities are trying to control numbers and tourist behaviour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy. The sheer arrogance and power of a tiger is a sight to behold
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Patricia Barlow

    Assam Explorer

    This was a very enjoyable and varied trip to a relatively unknown part of India. It did not disappoint. There were many highlights along the way including the trek to the Living root bridges at Cherapunjee. I was a little apprehensive about doing the longer trek to the double bridge but it was not technically difficult. There were a lot of steps down through beautiful scenery but the steps themselves were not deep and the steeper sections had a hand rail at the side. There were times on the way back that I thought I would never make it back to the minibus but we all did the trek at our pace . It was so worth it to visit such a unique structure. There was a shorter trek to another bridge so all members of the group had the opportunity to do a trek at their own level. The trip was full of contrasts and for me there were several highlights. These included seeing the Rhino and Elephants in Kaziranga National Park, the Ferry ride across the Brahmaputra, visiting the Village of the Mishing People on Majuli Island and everything in Nagaland. We were lucky enough to be in Nagaland at the time of the Aoleang Spring Festival and walk through the streets of Mon with hundreds of local people in their tribal dress before seeing the displays in the stadium - a really fantastic expeience. Our guide Navin worked incredibly hard to show us North East India - it was truly wonderful!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kaziranga National Park , the Trek to the Living Root Bridges, Seeing and meeting the different tribes in the different states of the North East of India, Mujuli Island - all of it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Navin was a wonderful guide . He was constantly working to make sure we had the best experience , he was efficient , professional and very patient

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the Trip notes then you are prepared for the type of accommodation, travel times and distances and always have a torch and poncho at the ready

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great Exodus trip
Call us on 020 8772 3936