Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Liliana Zlate

    Amazing trip

    I wanted to do something like this for a while but didn't get the chance. Going on this trip was amazing and now I am grateful I was able to do it. Everyone was very nice, the porters were amazing(the chef even made a birthday cake for me), Beto and Mel really good and even though I struggled a bit on the second day the trip was just perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being just a few meters away from reaching the Dead Woman pass and having my group cheering up for me. I was the slowest one in the group and reached the pass about an hour after the first person there. I later found out that Beto(our guide) asked them if they want to wait for me and they all said yes. Having an amazing group makes the trip a lot more memorable

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Beto was amazing. He looked after us very well, took us to (mostly) nice restaurants, had a lot of knowledge about what we are doing and knew all our names from the first day. He helped me so much and I was able to finish my trek. Mel our back guide was such a warm and kind person, she knew exactly what we needed and helped us with all the little things and thanks to her most of us now have llama selfies 😊

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Like most people say, everyone can finish the Inca trail but... Do yourself a favour and do some excercise before you start. Altitude sickness is real but so is lack of fitness. Just so you get an idea: I'm 35, work in a hospital and I'm over 90kg and finished but I did struggle going up, down was way easier for me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please Exodus do something about the hotel. The first 2 nights we were given ground floor rooms, looking up to a corridor, very loud and no privacy.the last 2 nights after we complained we got roos on upper floors with better views and decor. There are many hotels in Cusco and I'm sure we could have had a nicer view than cleaning trolleys. That was the let down of the holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Not Leisurely

    We chose to arrive in Lima a few days early which were glad about because there is a very early start on day after the scheduled arrival day. Also some people had connecting flight problems which meant they were late joining the group. I honestly it is misleading of Exodus to indicate that this holiday is leisurely. It may not be physically demanding, but long travelling days, early starts and a packed itinerary make this a full on tour. Don't be put off because great rewards await but do be aware of what is entailed. The same holiday over 3 weeks would be leisurely but 2 weeks is pretty crammed. We were a little concerned about the altitude before we went but only one person on the trip had any (minor) problems. So rest assured most people cope well and those that don't are usually put right with a little oxygen, which is carried on the tour bus and available in most hotels. Peru has a lot to offer and this trip gets to much of it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The peace of Machu Picchu after the crowds had gone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hardworking, well organised, very caring. You will be in good hands with Edwind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read a little about elongated skulls, Nazca lines and Inca stonework before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did the flight over the Nazca lines in the afternoon and the flight was fairly bumpy. The main downside was trying to hold the camera steady to get any decent shots.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Chinthika Piyasena

    Exceeded expectations

    Well organised, brilliant guide and unbelievable porterage team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The work of the porters was humbling and I liked the effort made by the guides for us to get to know them better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly. Very knowledgeable. Diligent. Caring - went out of his way to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walk is more strenuous than the rating on the website of 3/10.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like the website to highlight better the options to extend the trip. It is tucked away in the middle of the trip notes and missed when making booking and planning the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gabi S

    Lifelong ambition realised

    The whole holiday exceeded our expectations. Our guides were exceptional and our group gelled immediately. The number of flights and time spent in airports was tiring but didn't detract from the overall wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really can't decide. It was all amazing! That iconic view of Machu Picchu; the scenery; the wildlife in the Galapagos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adolfo Salazar in Peru and Berny Jacome on the Cachalote Explorer were THE BEST!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read all the trip notes; they are excellent. Take good waterproof jacket for Peru/Machu Picchu and a pac-a-mac type for Galapagos. You may well not need it in Galapagos and you won't want to carry anything bulky. The ATMs in Galapagos were few and far between and only gave out relatively small amounts. Try to make sure you have enough currency to cover everything before you get to Galapagos as the credit card machine on the ship may not work!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would go back in a heartbeat. If time and money had been no object, we would have done the two itineraries in the Galapagos, back to back.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sophia Spurgin

    Fabulous Holiday

    I had a fabulous holiday to two inspiring places - Machu Picchu and the Galapagos Islands. Although the journeys were long and tiring everything worked like Clockwork. We were lucky to have like-minded fellow travellers who we got to know really well by the end of the holiday. The Galapagos was particularly good and the boat ad it's crew were excellent. We were well looked after with hikes, snorkelling and excellent food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed our trip through the Mangrove with turtles and penguins and taking photos at every opportunity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders who were exellent : Adolfo Salazaq who looked after us in Peru. He was always cheerful and through his contacts, always got us where we needed to be. He joined us to meals and answered our questions well. We liked him very much. Berny Jacome in Galapagos was superb. He was extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant and confident in his job. His skills as a guide were impressive in someone so young. I would highly recommend you use him wherever possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Thom McKee

    Beware of the Altitude

    Only rated as good because my wife and I were only able to complete the rain forest part. The trip notes mention consulting your GP about the altitude sickness pills. Ours advised against. As a result of the jump from rain forest to Cusco on a 1 hour flight, my wife ended up in hospital for 6 days due to altitude sickness and a pulmonary edema. We really enjoyed the rain forest and have previously enjoyed many holidays with Exodus. It's a pity the trip notes do not stress how it is really essential to take the altitude sickness pills - this is what all the doctors in Peru also confirmed. The situation also wasn't helped by the hotel in Cusco with cold rooms and showers that took for ever to get warm. The night before ending up in hospital my wife had endured a freezing cold shower and then went to bed shivering until she fell asleep. It turns out this also did not help her condition and was very likely a significant factor in the edema developing. Thankfully Smithy, our guide, was quick to spot the symptoms so medical attention was brought in fairly early.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Travelling along the river in the mist.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Smithy was good company, knowledgeable and did his best to accommodate us. There were only 4 in the group so he was able to suggest and arrange alternative activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unless there is a medical reason not to, take the altitude pills. Otherwise, find another route to start the Inca Trail. Machu Pichu itself should be fine at about 2,400m, it's just getting there without the sudden increase to over 3,000m that Cusco entails is the problem
  • Reviewed May 2019
    steven cliffe

    superb introduction to everything Peru

    a whirlwind ride across some of the most spectacular and diverse scenery on the planet coupled with breathtaking archeological sites. The experience of this trip will last a lifetime

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    flight across Nazca lines one of the most mysterious places on earth Machu Picchu.....so wow of a spectacle it brought me to tears

    What did you think of your group leader?

    awesome facilitator and organizer making everything happen for a full on trip seamless

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    certainly a trip worthy to a top of the bucket list destination

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus are fantastic at their expertise You are in good hands for sure Can't wait for my next trip with them
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Don West

    Hiking the Inca Trail

    Very challenging four day hike to Machu Picchu. The hike itself was absolutely beautiful, with incredible views all along the way. Our guides, Julio Santos (lead) and Josval were excellent. Julio was full of interesting facts at every site we were to stop at along the way, and Jos was more than willing to help may our experience a memorable one. The porters, the head chef and his assistant were outstanding. Their professionalism, and extreme efforts were appreciated by all. The food was incredible! A great experience I would recommend doing the hike to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire hike. Day three campsite above the clouds, with a beautifully preserved ruin below. Touring Machu Picchu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio Santos was a fantastic lead guide. To lead fourteen individuals on a four day hike through the mountains is no easy task. There are so many different logistics that he has to address from start to finish. He did an outstanding job with it all, and was never too busy to answer any questions I had along the way. He did it all with a smile, and positive attitude. Thanks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get in climbing shape, acclimate with a day or two of walking in Cusco (Diamox also helped me- I live 22 feet above sea level), and travel light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my second trip with Exodus (Cycling In Greece last May being my first). Both were wonderful experiences. Exodus made my planning very easy, and stress free for both trips. I did book my own flights coming from the U.S.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Stephen Wall

    Andes

    Challenging but an experience of treking in remote, dramatic landscape aay from the 21st century!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descending into a steep sided valley with views of Mount Veronica

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a rough trek at high altitude

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support of the porters and chef was superb
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alison McGregor

    Inspirational Challenge

    Joining the group as a solo traveler is often intimidating but the people, the guide and the team have made this a memorable and fantastic experience. Our guide embraced us all with our different abilities backgrounds and personalities and created a fantastic group and team. Between us we had an adventure of a lifetime supported by the most fabulous trekking crew.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view of the Andes from our campsite on the 3rd night. Beautiful inspiring and simply amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was excellent, he went out of his way to ensure everyone managed to the trail and more than that enjoyed it. A mix of ages and abilities but he made it work. People smiled in the rain and beamed at the views, his knowledge and Peru. Nothing was too much trouble people felt important and special and look after. His knowledge and theories on the inca's were great and his local experiences brilliant. THANK YOU!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to it - it is challenging but not as hard as you think, the comfort part of the trip is exceptional and makes it that bit more special and is worth the extra cost. Catering was just way beyond what you would ever expect

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes the porters were simply amazing always smiling always encouraging and so efficient. A big thank you also to both Wilbert Gozzegos and Alesondro Usca our 2 cooks. I am gluten free and cannot eat red meat, but eat day they achieved some simply delicious and amazing food and could not have been more helpful. I don't think I have ever experienced such good gluten free cooking on a holiday - normally i survive on all the food I take with me but this time I didn't need any of it. They are the best.
Call us on 020 8772 3936