Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Flash Sale - Save 15% off any Guided Group holiday. Click here to see Terms & Conditions. 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Oliver Mills

    Varied and exciting tour of a fascinating country

    An excellent 2 week trip exploring the culture, nature and history of a beautiful country which, despite its complicated history with war, was one of the most friendly and welcomes places I've visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspirational is not quite the right word, but I loved the first hike when we reached the top of a lookout point where all around you you could see mountains and lakes. I also loved cycling through rice fields.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phi was friendly, knowledgable and easy to talk to. He struggled to motivate the group when the overnight cruise was cancelled due to predicted poor weather, which never materialised, much to our frustration. I liked how he recommended local specialities at each restaurant, they were delicious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light and make the most of the washing facilities provided, as small bags are required for a number of stops. Expect wet weather in the north/centre and very humid sun in the south. Bring a poncho and be aware that the itinerary may be forced to change due to weather conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Growing up in England, you are not taught about the Vietnam War (or the American War as they call it), so learning about it in Vietnam was truly eye opening and horrifying. This trip combines culture, history and nature in equal measure and its multi-activity style meant each day was different and exciting.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jayne Riorden

    A great week with a great bunch of people

    This was the trip just as I expected it - Petra being the highlight, but Wadi Rum coming a close second. Or maybe Jerash? Mount Nebo? The only disappointment was Aquaba -

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inevitably, the two days in Petra, particularly starting early on the second morning (7am) , walking through the Siq and reaching the Treasury almost on our own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isaa was very helpful, a little earnest to begin with but loosening up by the end. He imparted an enormous amount of information, perhaps too much so! I would have preferred if we had not had to go around as a group At each site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do make the effort to make the early start on day 2 at Petra. Do have a torch and wet wipes for the camp - it gets dark very early and the loo block, where you won’t want to spend too long, is a bit of a walk away! Do make sure you not only have your swimming costumes but also your water shoes for the private beach at Aquaba - the sand is far more uncomfortable here than at the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you plan to spend an additional day in Amman, before or at the end of the tour, be aware that we get an awful lot done in the last afternoon namely the Jordan Museum (Dead Sea Scrolls), the Roman theatre plus 2 little museums, the Citadel, a rush through the downtown market and lunch at Hashem’s. We found Darat-al-funun (Little House of the Arts) just north of Downtown - it’s a very small art centre with peaceful, shady terraces where you can have iced coffees, smoothies etc and walk through the gardens to the ruins of a Byzantine church. You could also have a more leisurely walk around the market, stopping to buy figs, dates or some of the wonderful selection of nuts! From there walk to Rainbow Street (do ask for directions, Jordanians are very kind and will try very hard to help). Have lunch at [email protected] which is in a street off Rainbow Street, near the bottom. It has a lovely terrace cafe and despite its name, we were the only tourists!(apparently very lively at night). There’s nothing too special about Rainbow Street but the gift shops offer you the chance to buy better souvenirs without the pressure of the sales staff you get at the regular stops during the trip.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Neil Baker

    Jordan - Thoroughly Recommended!

    A great experience, you get to see so much, from crusader castles to the Dead Sea and the delights of Wadi Rum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well this comes down to two: - Petra, just amazing, nobody told me it was such a massive site. You will need a couple of days at least to fully explore. - Wadi Rum and staying over in the Bedouin camp, once again an unmissable experience. Just don't bother with the camel ride, that's just slow and boring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was just great, plenty of personality and did a good job of sheparding the group around. He did spout forth a lot history and I know sometimes his facts weren't 100% accurate but hey I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yep the hardest part is the lack of alcohol, it's not illegal they just do not serve it in the eateries. So beware and brace yourself for an almost dry trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great quality of Jordan is the people they are genuinely warm and friendly, which always helps.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    David Brady

    Maximum damage, maximum fun!

    This was my first group ride and, as such, didn’t know what to expect. However, from arrival at the airport and meeting the group leader, it was obvious that this was going to be fun and a little challenging at times, mainly due to the heat and humidity. I have to say that the whole trip was very well planned out, with plenty of good cycling, fabulous sightseeing, food and drink sampling, with friendly locals along the way. Many happy memories, new friends and a longing for the next trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several of the amazing sights, wonderful temples, massive variety of great food; some good challenges on the bike too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is one of those people who make managing a group of 16 people, bikes, itineraries etc look easy. Calm assurance and reassurance, if need be, along with a permanent smile and sense of humour, helped us all through the cycling even when the going got a bit tough. He’s a great asset to Exodus and I’d recommend him for ‘tour guide of the year’ without a moments hesitation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and pedals if possible, as this can make a big difference to you; keep well hydrated throughout and eat sensibly.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    S J

    Cycling Puglia and Matera

    I have just returned from a fantastic week, exceptionally well organised and led by Michele our superb guide. Through his infectious laugh, confident and approachable manner he quickly developed an excellent group spirit. It was great to cycle through such a rich and varied landscape, visiting many UNSECO sites. He found amazing restaurants for us to eat at every night and organised a fantastic array of dishes for us to try. He was well informed about all the places we visited and for those that wanted to he would show us around.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The way the group of like minded individuals quickly gelled as a group and shared many life experiences and loads of laughs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb. This was my first trip of this kind. As a sole traveller he instantly put me at my ease. He was always happy and cheerful, ensuring everyone thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With the spring flowers, lack of tourists and a great climate for cycling April was a great time to go. Invest in a good pair of bib cycling shorts - well worth it!! The cycling was relaxed and you could cycle at your own pace.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    J John

    Comprehensive

    The guide was informative and well organised. We visited all the key sites in the week and had time to explore. Not a lot of time to relax, but the emphasis was on visiting the sites of special interest. There were two afternoons with opportunities to sit, by the Dead and Red Seas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Jerash. Both places were huge and had so much to explore. The time available was insufficient to familiarise oneself with the area properly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was polite, efficient and friendly. He knew the areas well and how to get the most out of the time available. He also organised a couple of unscheduled treats for us - a picnic and an evening meal under the stars.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be surprised by early starts and having to keep to a schedule. A rucksack or light handbag is essential for day time use.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jayne Tucker

    Sri Lanka Mixed Activity Holiday

    Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with great food and lovely people. We had a busy ten day itinerary with Exodus, with 8 different places to stay over 9 nights. We enjoyed the cycling and walking, the walk to the top of Adam's Peak was challenging. The scenery when white water rafting was beautiful and the visit to a working Tea Plantation gave a fascinating insight to one of the biggest industries of the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sun rise from the top of Adam's Peak and watching about 250 elephants gather at dusk at the National Park

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was an excellent guide and made the trip extra special for us all, anticipating our needs and ensuring that our holiday was memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is about 3 hours travelling from place to place each day, but this is interspersed with breaks. We were fortunate that there was plenty of room on our bus to spread out and used this time to relax.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A rest day in the middle of the trip may be helpful as there is a lot of travelling involved, and an early start most days to take advantage of the cooler weather first thing.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Tony Thompson

    Excelllent way to discover Japan ‘s varied scenery, culture and cuisine

    Japan is a country I have wanted to travel through for a long time and this itinerary seemed to cover most of the stuff I wanted to see and do. The fact we managed to visit during cherry blossom season, and that the weather was unseasonable kind to us was a bonus. Also, it has to be said that this trip would not have been the same without expert guidance and help from our tour leader, Akemi Nozawa. Nothing was too much trouble, she even managed to find a Fugu restaurant close to the hotel in Tokyo, enabling me to tick off another of my lifetime bucket list items!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several; The shrines and temples The onsen and Ryokan Mnt. Fuji The snow monkeys The food

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Akemi could not have done more. She was always cheerful, ever available and sorted out the couple of problems in the group very quickly and efficiently. On our free days she worked out and wrote down train and bus timetables, even down to platform numbers, for our varied itineraries, which made the act of travellng solo so much easier and enjoyable . She even had time to help me improve the little bit of Japanese I had learned before the trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of cash, unless you eat in the bigger places, or at stations, it is difficult to find places that take credit cards. Two places I attempted to use my card, where the signs on the door said that they accepted them, could not process the transaction even though the cards had prior authorisation in the U.K. I was successful in a large chain sushi restaurant though. Don’t depend of free WiFi, especially out and about as it is very patchy and very slow. Some of the hotels we used were ok ish. I hired a mobile WiFi from Nina WiFi (with a discounted deal) in the U.K. and collected it from the airport. The only place it lost signal was travelling through tunnels. In places the connection and upload speeds were better than I get on my home broadband!, The ability to navigate with Google maps was a godsend. Try the local food you will not be disappointed, there’s more than just sushi and noodles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only disappointment were the flights, they were terrible. Exodus, you really need to do something about this. Not for the first time day two of the holiday has been spent recovering from a journey that did not need to be as long as it was. Twenty odd hours going out and door to door thirty two hours on the return trip. There are plenty of direct flights to Japan, with the cost of this trip we should be using them.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Judith Simpson

    Jordan Adventure

    This trip provided us with a wide range of activities and cultural visits across the Kingdom of Jordan. An ever-changing landscape is studded with Castles and world famous sights. From Neolithic artefacts to T.E.Lawrence, we felt we had uncovered some of the long history of the people of Jordan. We received a very warm welcome wherever we went; the children and teenagers were keen to try out their English lessons with us. Food was excellent (and plentiful) on each occasion, with a range of choices for vegetarians, and our hotels were very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Attempting to float in the Dead Sea; mud bath to go with it! Reaching the top of the mountain near El Deir / The Monastery, at Petra. Sunset in Wadi Rum. Snorkelling over the coral in the Red Sea......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eyad / Eddie Banna was an excellent group leader; friendly and efficient, with good use of English. He was very well-informed about the historical / cultural /religious significance of each city / site of interest, and he prepared us in advance for what we were about to see and do. Eyad also retained his sense of humour when we became ensnarled in traffic, and kept us entertained with anecdotes en route.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to wear your sun hat, sun glasses and sun block! As a female traveller I went with a bag of modest wear (long sleeved shirts, scarves etc) but found the dress code did not appear as strict as I had expected. Walking trousers, knee-length skirts / dresses and shirts with short sleeves are fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We left Jordan fully satisfied that we had "Seen it All" What an amazing experience!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Raj Muker

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    An amazing lifetime experience that was challenging which made it all so satisfying. The mountains, terrain and general scenery was breathtaking, never forget the colour of the sky.......deep deep blue!!! The living conditions were definitely NOT like home but that's part of the challenge and you come away so appreciative of what you have.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This might sound selfish but making it to Base Camp and the next morning to Kala Patthar was absolutely exhilarating and the sense of achievement was overwhelming. Also to do it with a group of people who had like minded ambitions was very satisfying and it so good to have someone to hug to share the moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There is not enough nice words in the English vocabulary to describe Bikash and his team. Bikash was a great leader, his sense of care game through glowingly very early which immediately gave us assurances that we were in good hands. He made our ambitions his ambition which ensured we all successfully made it to Base Camp. He gave us that extra care and gentle touch when we needed it as it wasn't all smooth sailing in trying to keep healthy. Exodus you have a gem of a person on your team , a person who is so passionate in what he does and makes ordinary peoples dream come true. Hope our life cross paths again Bikash so I can give you another big hug to say thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a good level of fitness, be positive and keep healthy and Base Camp is at your mercy!!! Listen to your guide leader, warm clothes, eat and drink well, and enjoy the occasion.
Call us on 020 8772 3936