Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Russell Jones

    Great trip!

    A very enjoyable trip with lots to do and a full and varied itinerary. This was our fifth Exodus trip and once again we had a great group with a mix of ages and nationalities. Organisation was excellent and you'll get to see a lot of the Balkans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our stay in a Sarajevo and a tour of the "Tunnel of Hope" was both horrifying and uplifting at the same time. It was interesting to hear personal stories from our guide who lived through the brutal siege. I now understand much more about how and why this conflict started, the complex politics of the region and ongoing issues that still need to be resolved. Another highlight for me was a trip to a mountain village for a hike and locally prepared lunch. The views were magnificent and it was great to see how the locals lived.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen Causevic was an excellent leader. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole trip ran very smoothly. He knew all the best restaurants and had plenty of suggestions for things to do in our free time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a fair bit of sitting in a coach and take car-sickness pills if you are that way inclined! Our first bus was a bit too small for a full group of 18 including driver and guide with luggage having to be squashed into the passenger space. It was very quiet and comfortable though, as one would expect from a Mercedes. The the mountain roads were pretty challenging and a larger vehicle would have struggled to negotiate some of the bends and oncoming traffic. Take some walking boots or trainers and a waterproof jacket.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Ingrid Crauwels

    Bosnia & Beyond

    A very good trip, not only do you learn about the beauty of the country side, but also you learn a lot about the history and the last war in 1992-1996. A lot to see in the cities. It is one of those regions where you want to go back to.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational was our trip from Sarajevo to Lukomir, Bosnia's highest village at 1469m. From the village we went on a walk to the Rakitnica canyon. The mountains and the canyon are breath taking. After the walk, we had lunch in the village, the lunch was prepared by one of the families who still lives there. Another highlight are the Kravica waterfalls and the swim in the lake. Be aware that the water in the lake is ice cold, but still it is nice to have to opportunity to swim under the waterfalls.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Alen, was fantastic. You couldn't wish for a better one. He knew a lot about the history of the country, and what was going on during the war.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you arrive in Zagreb, even that you are in transit for your flight to Dubrovnik, you are not allowed to take drinks through, not even bottles that you might have bought in the tax free. The security will take it off you. You have to go through security and passport control again. However the flight from Zagreb to Dubrovnik will wait even if you only have ½ hour between 2 flights, or even if you flight arrived with a delay. So, you don't have to worry about it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Felicity Stephen

    Bosnia and Beyond

    This trip was full of remarkable contrasts - the Bay of Kotor and travelling back to our hotel by boat; the windy climb by road to Ostrog Monastery; the wooded walk around Montenegro's beautiful Black Lake; a lunch feast at Podgora; crossing borders on a suspension bridge over the Piva; Sarajevo - an extremely moving place to visit and stay; the Tunnel of Hope; Lukomir and the people who continue to live there (wonderful hospitality); the beauty of Mostar; climbing the fort at Pocitelj; the Dervish house at Blagaj, and our guide Alen's inspired/inspiring talk there following the call to prayer... and so much more. The group was large: 18 - but with such a brilliant guide and such a lovely bunch of people - I am not complaining (though generally prefer smaller groups!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention, so can't single out just one. All of the above! My walking boots (at least that's what they were supposed to be) decided to fall apart, the beginning of our walk at Lukomir in an area of truly outstanding beauty! So, I stayed behind in one of the villager's houses with another in our party; although disappointed to miss out on the walk, we were privileged to be invited into this home. We watched the women prepare lunch and were given refreshment; more than that - we were warmly embraced by smiles, laughter and kindness - an exceedingly memorable morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where to begin? Alen really was a five stars guide and leader; he kept on 'conjuring out of the hat' in terms of knowledge, stories, insight, jokes! attention to detail, consideration, organisation and... the list could go on. I was very impressed by his skill in managing such a large group - though we were well behaved! And he was plain likeable too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and come back to spread the word about the fabulous people and places of this region.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes. Sounds corny perhaps - but may peace reign in Bosnia and Beyond. Such a mix of culture and beauty - the manmade and the natural - should be respected, nurtured and cherished. In summary, this was a brilliant trip (over too soon).
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Shaheen Jeewanjee

    Bosnia and Beyond (AVB:2016-09-13)

    Very good all around experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tunnel Of Hope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch Out For Pick Pockets In Sarajevo
  • Reviewed September 2016
    John Morris

    Bosnia and beyond

    Wonderful scenery-mountains,high valleys and gorges and also cities-Kotor,Sarajevo,Mostar and Dubrovnic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tunnel at Sarajevo and the story behind it,also the visit to Lukomir,the highest village in Bosnia,and now sadly only permanent home to 8 people.Lovely friendly people and a superb lunch provided by our hostess.From there we did a good walk down to the edge of the Rakitnica Canyon-fine views.The drive to the village was excellent,on an unsurfaced road through remote valleys with just an occasional flock of sheep.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't be bettered.Very personable,humourous,excellent English,spot on organisation etc,etcHis knowledge of his country was encyclopedic in all aspects.Our driver,Vildad,was also excellent-safe and very competent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Madeleine Clark

    Bosnia and Beyond

    I was impressed by the variety of landscapes and places on this trip: lakes, waterfalls, forests, mountains, canyons and rivers, as well as monasteries, mosques, churches, famous bridges , palaces and fortresses. And all in 11 days without ever feeling rushed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed our time in Sarajevo learning about its recent history and observing how the city is slowly getting back on its feet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen was an excellent leader with near perfect English. He was professional, efficient and knowledgeable. He shared his personal experience of the siege of Sarajevo with us which was very nice of him considering how dreadful it must have been to live through it. He was also good fun with a nice sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It might be preferable to visit this area at a quieter time of year. In late July Mostar and Dubrovnik were particularly crowded with tourists,
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Josephine Nelson

    Stunning scenery & welcoming countries await.

    This trip exceeded all my expectations. Having done the Balkan Discoverer tour last year I was intrigued what the other Balkan countries had to offer. The scenery was stunning and the choice & quality of food was great. As we were a small group our guide Evelin was able to recommend & take us to lots of different restaurants. Each one was better than the last so we sampled lots of local cuisine. The area is full of interesting history & hardships especially in Sarajevo. The travelling was no hardship, although the times in the trip notes are not accurate as on occasion the roads were very windy. The bus was adequate & the driver very careful. The mix of walking activities & sightseeing with very knowledgeable local guides was just right. The weather was very hot & some of the timings did mean that we were out in the midday sun walking. Lots of opportunity to swim in the sea & a beautiful waterfall (rather a commercial set up) but definitely worth a swim. I cant recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Sarajevo and understanding the history. its was very moving to see first hand the hardship & how the city is recovering & now living with a mix of cultures. Brilliant! The scenery is just beautiful along with the various old towns built into hill sides. The sea was lovely to swim in & the waterfall great. The lake & river were rather chilly but worth if it you are feeling brave :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Evelin Balta was the guide on my previous trip the Balkan Discovery too so I was pleased to find him leading this trip. He is very knowledgeable & more than happy to share lots of information about the area. Always offering to help he is the perfect host ensuring we were all ok. He never stopped! Something Ive not seen other guides do was he always kept calling the next stop/hotel/local guide to ensure they were ready for us so that we didn't have any hitches. A great extra touch to ensure our experience in his country was the best it could be. Really appreciated it. Fantastic job Evelin. Thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have plenty of water for the walking in the heat. For some of the mosque visits shorts had to be covered up so be prepared gents to put on a skirt! These have been some of the best countries I have visited, very accommodating for visitors. English is widely spoken & the range of food available will cover even the fussiest eaters. There is tons to do in your spare time, lots of places to explore or relax having a swim.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would urge anyone to take this trip it is so interesting. Even if you don't fancy the walking (I didn't do them all) it was fine to wonder around yourself. Evelin made sure I knew where I was & what I could do whilst I was waiting for the rest of the group.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Jeremy Andrews

    Great way to see stunning Balkan scenery

    It was well thought out, with a comfortable vehicle and good hotels (with the exception of the Hotel Komodor in Dubrovnik) and both the driver, Damir, and the tour leader, Evelin, were excellent. The trip is basically an extended taxi ride through stunning mountain scenery, punctuated by a few short walks, so getting a good view from every seat in the vehicle matters. Having air conditioning that worked well both in the vehicle and in the hotels is also important. Of the four trips I have done with Exodus, this was the one that most exceeded my expectations---indeed it was one of the best organised trips I have done in thirty years of group travel. Full marks to Exodus, local agent Green Visions and tour leader Evelin Balta

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    *
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Dennis Jenkins

    Balkans: Montenegro and Bosnia & Herzegovina

    This was a trip covering a wide range of experiences. Starting in Dubrovnik, the transfer to the very attractive Kotor was in itself a taster to some of the superb scenery we were to encounter later in the tour. Kotor and the old town of Bdva enabled us to sample the Montenegro coast followed by some spectacular drives into the interior. The Durmitor National park provided opportunities for walks for many of us and then further spectacular drives took us into Bosnia & Herzegovina visiting the very interesting cities of Sarajevo and Mostar. Having 3 nights in Sarajevo and 2 nights in Mostar gave us the chance to get to know these cities reasonably well. All of the drives were broken up with interesting places to visit including some wine tasting at the Tvrdos monastery on the return to Dubrovnik.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many highlights especially the stunning scenery. The visit to the isolated village of Lukomir and the hike to the Ratinica canyon in the area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Evelin Balta was excellent. He took great care of the group and was always keen to discuss some of the turbulent history of his country(Bosnia) and particularly showed a great passion for the great outdoors. He was always very helpful in deciphering menus and took us to some interesting restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay a few extra days in Dubrovnik. Although we had been there before, we found it was an excellent wind down after the tour, especially by visiting Cavtat and Lokrum Island(by boat) to avoid the cruise boat crowds during the height of the day. We stayed at the Hotel Aquarius, a very pleasant small, family run establishment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent trip. It now needs following up with either the Serbia/Macedonia/Albania trip or the one going just to Albania. They are all interesting and have not yet succumbed to mass tourism.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Gyan Fernando

    Great Balkan Adventure

    Starting from Dubrovnik airport we crossed quickly intoKotor, Montenegro. Having enjoyed the beautiful city of Kotor we then drove to Cetinje through a series of 25 hairpin bends! Spectacular! Durmitor National Park and its gorges was our next highlight. Then came the Zabljak Plateau and finally into Sarajevo. Apart from this great city we saw the remote and semi-nomadic village of Lukomir, a not to be missed experience. We next found ourselves in Mostar another great place. Finally it was back to Dubrovnik!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the remote and semi-nomadic settlement of Lukomir in Bosnia. Also Mostar and Sarajevo itself!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Evelin Balta was a very nice guy with a great sense of humour. He also was good at keeping his sheep together and was good at organising things for us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend an extra few days in Dubrovnik

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I combined this trip (Bosnia and Beyond) with another trip (Balkan Discoverer). Others might want to do the same.
Call us on 020 8772 3936