Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sarah Skinner

    Fabulous scenery and cities

    A great holiday, with a good mixture of costal & mountain scenery and the vibrant cities of Sarajevo & Kotor. Food exceeded all my expectations, particularly at the two lunches included at a farm in Montenegro & the village in Bosnia. Our guide Alen was excellent, providing amazing insight to the cultures and history we saw along the way. To quote a t-shirt, no-one boring ever said let’s go to Bosnia!, highly recommend to those with a spirit of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo, a city I knew for all the wrong reasons in the 1990’s is now a vibrant city with a lovely old town full with a great cafe culture where you could easily spend an afternoon people watching. At the same time it also has a lot of excellent museums and galleries, some very sobering, but all very well presented and worth visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen was excellent, he imparted a lot of knowledge of the cultures & places we visited. He also showed we were in safe hands as he dealt in a calm & professional manner when when of our group had an accident while walking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unless you have a great desire to go to a crowded place with bars with blaring music & full of kids, suggest you stay the second night in the beautiful scenic Kotor bay rather than Budva!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Cherie Logan

    Guide excellent, tour ok, accomodation lacking

    I recommend you. Is it these countries to help them develop their tourism, so they can rebuild their countries for the future. The world can learn from their past, spreading their stories to prevent wars like they experienced. They are not sophisticated regarding tourism, but they are finding their way because the government does not invest enough and therefore citizens are using tourism money to invest in rebuilding themselves. The stories of resilience and the spectacular scenery make these countries a must see now, before they get to commercially sophisticated. The only tour downside was the quality of accomodation on the tour which I felt were 1-2star level and did not live up to the price of the tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The countries were stunning, sometimes raw and compelling which was refreshing (its sobering to see mortar and sniper damaged buildings that show their recent past). The citizens were warm, friendly and couldn’t do enough for tourists as they need to build a strong tourism industry to create more jobs to help each country prosper.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour leader (Sabina) was excellent and made our trip great. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, careing, friendly and shared personal family stories that bought the regions historical past and impacts to life for us. Would travel with her as a guide in a heartbeat. She spoke exceptional English, had great humour and supported everyone individual needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    2 of the 3 short hikes/walks were ok if you were average fitness, the 3rd and last hike really did need people to be a bit above average fitness, though you could sit it out and do something else on you own if you wanted.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    N Thomson

    Great mix of scenery and culture

    This is a good combination of interesting cities and mountains ,with a reasonable pace and comfortable air-conditioned bus;our guide and driver were excellent, with reasonable accommodation and generous meals throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kotor,Cetinje ,the Montenegrin scenery;Sarajevo in general and atmospheric Mostar all impress

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina is an excellent cheerful guide who manages the tour friendly and efficiently, she imparts her keen enthusiasm for these countries and is willing to share her personal insight into their history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Like others have said,just visit and enjoy the experience.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Zoe Medlock

    Superb mix of natural beauty and culture

    The trip exceeded our expectations. You start on the coastline of Croatia and Montenegro, which is totally stunning. The drive into the mountain is breathtaking and the scenery continues to delight throughout the trip. The exposure to the impact of the 90's war is sobering and I was glad to be able to learn so much about it. Our tour guide Sabina did a fabulous job of keeping us running to time but creating a relaxed atmosphere. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the bobsleigh track.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very efficient, funny and thoughtful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    S Orton

    A little bit of everything at a great pace

    Bosnia and Montenegro have it all; beautiful coast line, spectacular lakes which are oh so blue , mountains and charming towns and cities. This trip goes at an excellent pace with at least 2 nights in each place and no early starts or very long drives. Our tour guide Sabina was exceptionally good at explaining the conflicts of these countries enhanced with her own personal experiences. Nothing was ever too much trouble and she anticipated the needs of every member of the group including providing advice post tour. Hotels were of a good standard and well located.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed Mostar and visiting the bridge but also there were some lovely walks in spectacular scenery by pretty lakes and rivers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above. A real ambassador for her country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The history is complex and although explained by the tour guide and local guides having some pre knowledge of the context of the 1992 conflict would assist. Bring a sarong to cover shoulders / legs for mosques. Need bosnian marks for bosnia. Have to get in the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will definately want more time in these countries. Suggest adding time on the Montenegran coast at the end . There is also very little time in Sarajevo a city with so much to do so plan carefully your must see sites.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    C Duensing

    Bosnia and beyond

    The trip was everything I had hoped for and more. It is extremely well balanced in that it offers an excellent mix of town and countryside based activities, a mixture of coast, mountains with walking and culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in Ludomir And visiting Mostar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour guide Sabina was outstanding. She brought the information to life by brining in her own stories and memorabilia. I rarely use the term ‘going the extra mile’ but I really think it is fitting here. Sabina went well beyond anything that can be expected of a tour guide, looking after the needs of all individuals in the group, helping with personal crises and even planning beyond the end of the trip,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe read up about the history of Yugoslavia in advance. The trip works very well without this, but you would probably get even more out of it. Stay on for some more time by the coast afterwards

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, it was perfect!!!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mark Galbo

    Bosnia and Beyond

    The trip was fantastic!!! The transportation was comfortable and efficient, the accommodations were very nice and well organized, the group leader, Evelin Balta, was the best due to his passion of the region, knowledge of the history and sites, and overall concern for everyone in the group. I would highly recommend this trip due to the comprehensive coverage of the region, the excellent food, and great sites and destinations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were fortunate to be in the country during the World Cup. Watching how passionate the people were about the game and in particular with Croatia advancing, it was really exciting. Also, when we went to the local farms and homes to learn about their lives and have a most incredible meal of the local region was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Evelin Balta is one of a kind. His energy and spirit of youth makes you want to join him in everything he suggested. His passion for the region, its history, the people, and overall positive aspects of each country was inspiring and truly educational. His concern for each and every one of us was very appreciated. He made sure we were prepared for each activity, made sure our meals were to our specification, included everyone in the conversation but also went out of his way to connect personally to each and every member of the group. He is a treasure to the company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. It is a fascinating part of the world, the food is something to experience, and the people are friendly and very diverse. It is a shining example of how different cultures, beliefs, and backgrounds can all live together in harmony.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Russell Jones

    Great trip!

    A very enjoyable trip with lots to do and a full and varied itinerary. This was our fifth Exodus trip and once again we had a great group with a mix of ages and nationalities. Organisation was excellent and you'll get to see a lot of the Balkans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our stay in a Sarajevo and a tour of the "Tunnel of Hope" was both horrifying and uplifting at the same time. It was interesting to hear personal stories from our guide who lived through the brutal siege. I now understand much more about how and why this conflict started, the complex politics of the region and ongoing issues that still need to be resolved. Another highlight for me was a trip to a mountain village for a hike and locally prepared lunch. The views were magnificent and it was great to see how the locals lived.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen Causevic was an excellent leader. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole trip ran very smoothly. He knew all the best restaurants and had plenty of suggestions for things to do in our free time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a fair bit of sitting in a coach and take car-sickness pills if you are that way inclined! Our first bus was a bit too small for a full group of 18 including driver and guide with luggage having to be squashed into the passenger space. It was very quiet and comfortable though, as one would expect from a Mercedes. The the mountain roads were pretty challenging and a larger vehicle would have struggled to negotiate some of the bends and oncoming traffic. Take some walking boots or trainers and a waterproof jacket.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Ingrid Crauwels

    Bosnia & Beyond

    A very good trip, not only do you learn about the beauty of the country side, but also you learn a lot about the history and the last war in 1992-1996. A lot to see in the cities. It is one of those regions where you want to go back to.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational was our trip from Sarajevo to Lukomir, Bosnia's highest village at 1469m. From the village we went on a walk to the Rakitnica canyon. The mountains and the canyon are breath taking. After the walk, we had lunch in the village, the lunch was prepared by one of the families who still lives there. Another highlight are the Kravica waterfalls and the swim in the lake. Be aware that the water in the lake is ice cold, but still it is nice to have to opportunity to swim under the waterfalls.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Alen, was fantastic. You couldn't wish for a better one. He knew a lot about the history of the country, and what was going on during the war.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you arrive in Zagreb, even that you are in transit for your flight to Dubrovnik, you are not allowed to take drinks through, not even bottles that you might have bought in the tax free. The security will take it off you. You have to go through security and passport control again. However the flight from Zagreb to Dubrovnik will wait even if you only have ½ hour between 2 flights, or even if you flight arrived with a delay. So, you don't have to worry about it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Felicity Stephen

    Bosnia and Beyond

    This trip was full of remarkable contrasts - the Bay of Kotor and travelling back to our hotel by boat; the windy climb by road to Ostrog Monastery; the wooded walk around Montenegro's beautiful Black Lake; a lunch feast at Podgora; crossing borders on a suspension bridge over the Piva; Sarajevo - an extremely moving place to visit and stay; the Tunnel of Hope; Lukomir and the people who continue to live there (wonderful hospitality); the beauty of Mostar; climbing the fort at Pocitelj; the Dervish house at Blagaj, and our guide Alen's inspired/inspiring talk there following the call to prayer... and so much more. The group was large: 18 - but with such a brilliant guide and such a lovely bunch of people - I am not complaining (though generally prefer smaller groups!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention, so can't single out just one. All of the above! My walking boots (at least that's what they were supposed to be) decided to fall apart, the beginning of our walk at Lukomir in an area of truly outstanding beauty! So, I stayed behind in one of the villager's houses with another in our party; although disappointed to miss out on the walk, we were privileged to be invited into this home. We watched the women prepare lunch and were given refreshment; more than that - we were warmly embraced by smiles, laughter and kindness - an exceedingly memorable morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where to begin? Alen really was a five stars guide and leader; he kept on 'conjuring out of the hat' in terms of knowledge, stories, insight, jokes! attention to detail, consideration, organisation and... the list could go on. I was very impressed by his skill in managing such a large group - though we were well behaved! And he was plain likeable too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and come back to spread the word about the fabulous people and places of this region.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes. Sounds corny perhaps - but may peace reign in Bosnia and Beyond. Such a mix of culture and beauty - the manmade and the natural - should be respected, nurtured and cherished. In summary, this was a brilliant trip (over too soon).
Call us on 020 8772 3936