Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Anne Slatter

    Oh dear

    Disappointing service from the company. Itinerary description didnt really match up with events. No biologist with the cheetah tracking as advertised. Possibly inexperienced guide lacking information about anything. Most drives were done in guide silence. My Homeward info was only given to someone else a complete stranger that happened to be on the same flight. It had the wrong departure hotel on it nothing was corrected. When you are that far from home you need your info correct and in your possession

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the elephants unfortunately most animals were only seen at the waterholes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not much. A nice person but leader no

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont go with exodus but if you do insist you get info about your holiday not a generic trip that isnt yours

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldnt recommend exodus
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Douglas Robertson

    A Vast and Beautiful Country

    If you like huge landscapes and wildlife this is a must do trip. Namibia is unlike any country i have been to before and certainly felt different to other areas of Africa (im no expert!). The scale and space has to be seen to be believed and adds to the beauty - sunsets are amazing. We went towards the end of the dry season and this meant that animals were gathering at the waterhole. We were lucky enough to see herds of elephants and several rhino ... not to forget giraffes, oryx, gazelle, hyenas and many many more. We were on the camping trip and Ronney and Jonas done an amazing job to set up camp and take it down ... we tried to help but they are so good at it I think we slowed them up. They were fantastic guides, great ambassadors for the country and Jonas cooked food on a fire that i couldnt in a fully equipped kitchen. This is our fourth trip with Exodus and I will certainly be back for more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on top of Dune 45 at sunrise

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was a fantastic leader and just made the whole trip go smoothly. Nothing was a problem and he put up with our sometimes dodgy timekeeping with a smile

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    book it ..... its a fantastic place to see!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Paul Richardson

    Excellent Trip

    A very busy schedule, with lots of early starts, lots of dust and sand and quite a bit of travel over rough roads. But, it was all worth it. I would do it again. You see a wide variety of landscape and wildlife that could not be encountered any other way in two weeks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dune 45 and Deadvlei, I am a landscape rather than an animal person, so you may disagree.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronnie, and his assistants, were excellent. Nothing was a trouble to them. They were always friendly and helpful. their knowledge was excellent and their animal spotting capabilities astonishing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't get stressed about the dust, it washes out. Don't worry about it getting on your camera sensor, several photo enthusiasts (I was one) on the trip both confirmed that despite a bit of lens swapping the sensors remained clean. Ear plugs, tent canvas is not a good foil for snoring :)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've been on about 8 Exodus trips and this was probably the best.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Philip Mason

    Fantastic holiday

    The crew were fantastic. Group leader Ronney Kavari was a great leader, explaining the plans for each day and telling us what to expect with plenty of local tips. He was an exceptional spotter of wildlife and we saw large numbers of a huge variety of animals and birds. He was also very knowledgeable about the animals, birds and plants as well as the country. There was plenty of opportunities to see and photograph. Benson was the main driver and Jonas the main cook and the food was very good. All the crew were very friendly with a good sense of humour. The tents went up and came down very efficiently. The optional trips were also good-at least the ones we did: Visit to the Township was very interesting and enjoyable but quite thought provoking as well. We also went on the flight over the desert and although we enjoyed it, it was quite long and expensive and there was no commentary and the plane was very old-I don't think we would recommend this at the price. We would thoroughly recommend this trip, esp with the crew we had!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wild animals in their environment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Ronney Kavari was a great leader, explaining the plans for each day and telling us what to expect with plenty of local tips. He was an exceptional spotter of wildlife and we saw large numbers of a huge variety of animals and birds. He was also very knowledgeable about the animals, birds and plants as well as the country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to camp! Despite this being clear in the description some people found this tiring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No-fantastic trip
  • Reviewed August 2018
    John Saxton

    Brilliant

    Certainly the way to see Namibia - early starts frequently and rough roads but all fades into significance when put into perspective. If your're considering it, but are uncertain, just book it and enjoy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult. Standing on top of a massive sand dune at sunrise? The 800 year old dead acacia trees against the white salt pan, red dunes and blue sky in Deadvlei? Or elephants drinking at a water hole at sunset? I cannot decide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Ronney, was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, constantly attentive, we lacked nothing. He seems to do the camping trips end-to-end so there's a good change of getting him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In July/ August the desert is COLD. A duvet jacket is not out of place, as are fleece trousers, warm socks and a hat. The days can also be cold despite the sun, only warming up towards midday. As you go north, after the third day, it gets warmer and the warm gear becomes unnecessary. Camping is fun and confortable, the tents are easy to put up (the staff are supposed to do it, but we found it more fun to do it ourselves, which they appreciated) but getting organised in the dark in the tent is a pain. I would recommend a lantern to hang from the centre loop of the tent roof (intended for mozzie nets which aren't necessary most of the time) and of course good head torches are vital. Don't bring a cheap one. Toilets at the campsites are immaculate at virtually all the sites. As are the service station toilets - you could eat off the floor in most of them. Even the longdrop toilets (thankfully very few and none in the campsites) are clean and don't smell. The whole country is clean: I don't think I saw a single piece of litter the whole trip. It puts our country to shame. Everything gets a bit dusty and sandy. Packing clothes and sleeping bag into dustproof bags (or even drybags) helps to keep you organised and everything stays relatively dustfree. For all but the most hardened campers, an inflatable pillow is useful. If for nothing else, sitting on it helps iron out some of the jarring on the dirt roads!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Batteries AA and AAA are widely available , although quite expensive, so better to bring plenty of spares. A good camera with a lot of memory cards. If you are using an SLR then a long lens is a big advantage for the animals (I took a 500mm) but a wideangle wasn't used.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Helen Ross

    Action packed

    Very good ,well organised holiday. Enjoyed the hotel and camping food . No day was boring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard. Climbing sand dune 45 at sunrise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was an excellent leader. Communicated well with the group and took good care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of warm clothing in July August We were surprised how cold it was at the start of the camping Temperature in the north much much warmer .We went from one extreme to the other. Camping is not glamping but one step up from my last camping trip as we had proper toilets and showers . Quite a lot of travelling involved ,sometimes on bumpy terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very good holiday , but I would agree with ‘ not for the faint hearted’
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Aaron Wood

    Awesome Safari

    Whilst the driving at times becomes slightly tiresome the sights and nature where fantastic. The group were wonderful and the guide Ben was extremely informative.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At Etosha watering hole where we saw 30 elephants walking with there young

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was incredible

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a cushion for the trip and definitely bring some decent binoculars and camera

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend it to anyone who loves animals
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Patricia Barnett

    Loved it!

    My husband and I have never done a trip like this and we have never camped before. We loved it. The tour is interesting and varied. The walk in the dessert was spectacular, climbing the Dune was quite hard, but watching the sun rise made the climb worth every step. Eating supper round a camp fire was really nice and sociable and the food was really good. We are vegetarian and we were well looked after. We saw hundreds of animals: giraffe, rhino (and a baby rhino), lions, elephants and their babies, springbok, zebra, ostrich, fabulous birds, warthogs, hyena, jackal, many types of deer and antelope, baboons... We wish we could do it all over again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was the herd of elephants that came to the waterhole in Etosha. So many other animals came too. It was a really beautiful experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Ben, was excellent. He looked after us with care and consideration. He had excellent knowledge on every question that was asked and he was very good at finding the animals for us to see. The crew (the driver and the cook - Jonas and Orbert) were also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    July was a good time to travel because it was not too hot during the day. The temperature does fall at night so a really good sleeping bag and a blanket (if you feel the cold) is a good plan. The facilities at each site vary so it is better if you can be flexible. You need malaria tablets, but there were very few insects at that time of year - it may be different at other times. We are very cautious so we had insect repellent clothes. You can get clothes washed at the hotel in Swakopmund and one or two other places, so you need to plan clothes carefully. Some of the roads are very bumpy, but then we were travelling through the dessert. It would definitely help if you have a head torch with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have a little bit of adventure tucked in your spirit and you like so see animals in the wild - this is a fantastic trip.
  • Reviewed March 2018

    Discovering Namibia

    If you haven't been to Namibia and you like wildlife and stunning landscapes - book now! Our trip was absolutely amazing, and so much more varied than I thought it would be. I must thank our two local guides on the trip, as without them we would not have seen half the wonders we did. They were knowledgeable, helpful and unfailingly cheerful, which made our visit so much more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights it is difficult to single out any one element, but I suppose our stay in Etosha National Park must rank with any wildlife experience I have ever had. Watching lions mate whilst springbok leapt in the background, being charged by an angry bull elephant, and seeing a family of cheetah stalk their prey, will stay in my memory for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I must thank our two local guides on the trip, as without them we would not have seen half the wonders we did. They were knowledgeable, helpful and unfailingly cheerful, which made our visit so much more enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We booked a flight over the Skeleton Coast when we were staying in Swakopmund and this was a wonderful way to see the landscape from a different perspective. I would mention however that if you are my height or taller (I am 1m 80), then the leg room on the plane is not generous and you are in the air for over two hours. Also, I would recommend taking a small compact camera with a good zoom, as my DSLR with a bulky zoom lens was much too cumbersome.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Julian Penge

    Discover Namibia - Camping Trip

    What a fantastic trip in an amazing country! This is my eighth Exodus adventure in the last 6 years, and again, I wasn’t disappointed. From start to finish it was an exemplary journey. The trip itself was very comprehensive, from walking through a gorge at sunset to climbing a sand dune at sunrise; to dolphin watching in the morning and quad biking in the dunes in the afternoon. Both the wildlife viewing and the variation in geomorphology were outstanding across this beautiful county.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife viewings were fantastic, especially the leopard and bull elephant we saw next to our vehicle. We were extremely lucky; it was as if the leopard was posing just for us. These animals are generally very solitary and evasive and seeing one so up close was just incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rooney our group leader was superb; his driving skills and knowledge of Namibia were incredible. How he spotted some of the wildlife from the distance, I will never know. His two deputies, Jonas and Ruben, were also very hard-working gentlemen who looked after the twelve of us very well from dawn to dusk. They were very efficient in setting up and dismantling our tents, loading and unloading our vehicle and their cooking skills were great. What a great team to look after us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling across this large country was very comfortable and safe; and both the tarmac and dirt roads were in excellent condition. The townships and campsites were very clean and the people were very friendly. I would just recommend bringing a good sleeping bag - and an excellent camera for the beautiful landscape and wildlife on show!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To date, I have visited nine African countries and this trip to Namibia is easily number one. What a beautiful country, what a great adventure! Definitely a five star trip for me!
Call us on 020 8772 3936