Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Lynne Hopkins

    Authentic Andalucia

    Just back from a fantastic trip. Was great to be based in the Spanish countryside. The Cortijo is such a lovely, relaxing, chilled place. Good mix of places visited on the itinerary. To bring in the New Year in Seville was a special experience. There wasn’t a place visited that I wouldn’t want to return to. Indeed I’d happily do the whole trip again. We were fortunate to have a week of blue skies and sunshine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chilled location of the Cortijo in the Spanish countryside, among the olive groves and everyday life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was very informative and enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Lynne Hopkins

    Authentic Andalucia

    Just back from a fantastic trip. Was great to be based in the Spanish countryside. The Cortijo is such a lovely, relaxing, chilled place. Good mix of places visited on the itinerary. To bring in the New Year in Seville was a special experience. There wasn’t a place visited that I wouldn’t want to return to. Indeed I’d happily do the whole trip again. We were fortunate to have a week of blue skies and sunshine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chilled location of the Cortijo in the Spanish countryside, among the olive groves and everyday life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was very informative and enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sarah Gray

    A wonderful trip

    Cortijo Rosario is a fantastic base for a holiday in Andalusia. The itinerary includes some local walking as well as trips to Seville, Granada and a few wonderful pueblos blancos. As we joined our holiday to the "Walking in Adalusia" trip which followed on we had an extra day on the Saturday and so ventured to Cordova with the help of transport arranged for us by Michael. We heartily recommend doing the double week; there is very little overlap and the emphasis of the second week was quite different from the first. Michael was a great leader; enthusiastic, knowledgeable and helpful and after two weeks the Cortijo felt like home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Possibly the alcazar in Seville, possibly climbing to the top of Olvera castle and having an amazing 360 view for miles around, possibly arriving at the gorge edge in Ronda or perhaps sitting on a hillside in the dark listening to a singer and looking across at the floodlit Alhambra in Granada; it's just about impossible to decide. Actually it might be watching the thin red line of dawn stretch into a wide golden band just before the sun peeped over the horizon from our balcony every morning; glorious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was organised, efficient, helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We're missing him and also Joke and Cartouche very much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Can be hot and dry but can also be warm and wet. Go prepared for either. It's a fantastic trip and if you can't decide between the cultural and walking trips do both!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Diane Leaver

    A different Spain

    Not so far from the Costas in distance, but a million miles away in terms of beauty. A region of stunning cities, towns and villages, surrounded by olive groves and soaring raptors. The 9am departure from the Cortijo and the 7pm dinner meant that the days felt slightly rushed, albeit it is promoted as a ‘relaxed’ trip, so I guess the late start reflects that.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blown away by Seville and Granada and plan to return. Our guide’s recommendations for dinner in both cities were spot on and we had a fabulous meal both nights. Ronda was even more impressive than I hoped - definitely worth a visit, especially if a few of the group can share the cost of taxis.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was informative and organised. His knowledge of Spanish history was really interesting. Unfortunately his initial enthusiasm seemed to wane by mid trip, which was a shame. However he was suffering from dental problems so that may explain it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Room 2 in the Cortijo has an incredibly uncomfortable bed and a ridiculously small shower. Unfortunately I see a previous complaint about the bed in May 2017 and disappointingly nothing’s been done about it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Despite the comment above, the Cortijo is lovely and the pool is fab at the end of a hot day. Joke and Cartouche are very welcoming and have an extensive bar! I found Roger’s dinners very good and his English, American and Spanish breakfasts were a great start to the day. I loved the dogs and cats of the Cortijo, they added an extra element to the trip.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Annick SPIBEY

    OUR HONEST REVIEW

    WE SPENT A WEEK IN CORTIJO ROSRIO - ALGAMITAS, SEVILLA, 41661 THIS SMALL FARM RENOVATED IN THE SPANISH STYLE IS VERY COMFORTABLE, WITH A SWIMMING POOL AND ATTRACTIVE PLANTS AND FLOWERS AROUND. OUR BEDROOM DIDN'T HAVE A BALCONY AND WAS BASIC, WITH SINGLE BEDS, A VERY SMALL SHOWER ROOM BUT IT WAS SUFFICIENT FOR US. THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD WITH MANY TYPICALLY SPANISH DISHES ALL SERVED IN A PLEASANT DINING ROOM OR ON A LONG TABLE ON THE TERRACE FROM WHERE WE COULD ADMIRE THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE. YOU COULD HELP YOURSELF WITH TEA/COFFEE/ SOFT DRINKS AT THE BAR, ALL DAY AND AT NIGHT WHEN ALL THE STAFF HAD GONE, GIVING A FEELING OF HOME FROM HOME. THE STAFF IS COURTEOUS AND FRIENDLY. OUR GUIDE, MIGUIEL, IS, EXTENSIVELY KNOWLEDGEABLE, WITH PERFECT ORGANISATIONAL SKILLS AND A DELIGHTFUL PERSONALITY. HE ENCOUNTERED DIFFICULTIES WITH THE BOOKINGS FOR THE ALHAMBRA, WE COULDN'T ALL VISIT TOGETHER, BUT IT WAS NOT HIS FAULT AND IT ALL WORKED OUT IN THE END.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    VISITING THE CITY OF GRANADA AND ADMIRING THE EXTAVAGANZA OF ART WORK IN THE ALHAMBRA

    What did you think of your group leader?

    MICHAEL NEWCOMB'S WARM AND FRIENDLY PERSONALITY HELPED THE GROUP TO GEL AND WE ALL FELT LIKE FRIENDS AT THE END OF OUR STAY. HIS KNOWLEDGE OF SPAIN AND ITS HISTORY IS EXENSIVE AND HIS ENTHUSIASM CATCHING. THE WEEK WAS PACKED WITH INTERESTING WALKS, VISITS AND SO WELL ORGANIZED THAT IT ALL TOOK PLACE WITH VERY FEW PROBLEMS (HE SORTED THEM OUT ANYWAY) AND THEREFORE LITTLE STRESS.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    DON'T FORGET A PAIR OF CONFORTABLE WALKING SHOES.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    THIS HOLIDAY I THINK IS VALUE FOR MONEY.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    David Rushton

    Authentic Andalucia

    I'd always wanted to visit these iconic Spanish cities and wasn't disappointed. Seville and Granada were both great and we also managed to fit in both Cordoba (see below) and Ronda. If it's possible to do both of these options make the effort, they are both really worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    La Mezquita in Cordoba, it genuinely took my breath away. This was an optional visit on the itinerary but most people in our party went and everyone said how glad they were they made the decision.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is great. He was very thorough, organised and patient. He went out of his way to broaden the experience for us by organising evening strolls to 'The Mushroom' in Seville and the Mirador overlooking The Alhambra in Granada both of which were very rewarding. His pre-visit briefings were excellent and he was always around to offer help and advice when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    From our experience, visiting late September was a good choice, hot but not too hot! If at all possible try to fit in Cordoba, La Mezquita is jaw dropping, particularly if you can get there relatively early and dodge the big tour parties who always seem to mess up your photos. Selfie sticks should be made illegal!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    IMHO the trip should incorporate the Granada and Ronda trips into the itinerary. This means getting a relatively late flight back from Malaga but it's worth it. If you are in danger of getting Palace/Cathedral/Fort fatigue, this isn't really the trip for you so you might as well max out on the grandeur of Andalucia while you can. Also, The Alhambra gets really busy with big tour groups. If there is any way of modifying the itinerary to avoid the worst of these it would improve the overall experience.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Chuck Lawrence

    Great overview of Andalusia

    The trip was very relaxing - I enjoyed having the farmhouse as our home base while venturing out to the surrounding countryside and famous cities of Andalusia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having dinner at a strategic vantage point that allowed us to watch the sun set on the Alhambra in Grenada.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was excellent; he was fun to travel with, informative, and very enthusiastic about his job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in the summertime, make sure you are okay with hot temperatures. The farmhouse was wonderful, but there is no air conditioning. The fans help, but the rooms are very warm and stuffy at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This tour provides a great introduction to Andalusia; you are able to see a lot of sights during your short week's stay in southern Spain.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Chuck Lawrence

    Great overview of Andalusia

    The trip was very relaxing - I enjoyed having the farmhouse as our home base while venturing out to the surrounding countryside and famous cities of Andalusia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having dinner at a strategic vantage point that allowed us to watch the sun set on the Alhambra in Grenada.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was excellent; he was fun to travel with, informative, and very enthusiastic about his job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in the summertime, make sure you are okay with hot temperatures. The farmhouse was wonderful, but there is no air conditioning. The fans help, but the rooms are very warm and stuffy at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This tour provides a great introduction to Andalusia; you are able to see a lot of sights during your short week's stay in southern Spain.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Vivienne Stewart

    Authentic Andalucia

    We had a fantastic week expolring Andalucia. The Cortijo is great, except for the bed. Really uncomfortable and rickety (Room 2) - we both came back with sore backs. The only decent sleep we got were the two nights in hotels. The rest of the facilities are fab though. Word of warning about the food at the cortijo- if you are a goody don't raise your hopes. Some was good but most was acceptable fuel for the day. And the paella finale was all about the looks and nothing about the taste. But that's being picky because the trip notes etc really big up the food. Sliced packet bread, processed cheese and desserts that are bought as powders and mixed with milk or vienetta gives you the context. The sun loungers and pool were very welcome at the end of the day. The programme was great, so much to see and do. We certainly weren't bored. Apart from the afternoon of day 2, there is very little chill time. That was fine for us but worth mentioning. We took naps on the minibus to catch up on sleep as the transfers are between 1-2 hours. Stunning scenery, fantastic history and history. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So much to mention. Setenil (one of the white villages built into the hillside, walking in Torcal national park, the Alhambra. Every day was packed with inspiration. One thing to mention is the light and vibrant colours. May was a great month to go.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary was great, patient, helpful and gave good advice. She became an integral part of the group. The staff at the cortijo were mixed. Doug was brilliant but Maria and the other two ladies were temperamental. Inflexible over meal times when we needed to leave early for the days activity, and bullish if anyone left food (starting as a joke but quickly becoming uncomfortable). We saw them having heated exchanges with Mary which she clearly found embarrassing and tried her best to shrug off and hide from us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat. Even in May it can be searingly hot. We had 36 degrees in Cordoba.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The comments I've made don't detract from the fact that this is a great holiday and one I wouldn't have missed.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Sharon Salit

    Well chosen highlights of Andalucia

    Well-chosen highlights of the Andalucia region and good mix of hiking, countryside and city. We had such a fantastic group of people and leader that the trip would have been wonderful in any event. But it was also well-designed and organized by Exodus. Only negative was that the accommodations at the Cortijo are basic. We had a small room facing the back with no view. The bed was too small for us so they squeezed a twin mattress into the room. So it was quite cramped. The setting is lovely which mostly offset this deficit since not much time is spent in the Cortijo. If one is fortunate to get a larger room with a view it would be a nicer experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ah, there were so many. The Alhambra is magnificent as was our visits to the white villages, Ronda, Cordoba. The tapas lunch at Los Bandeleros in the nearby village of Algamitas was absolutely delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary was a wonderful group leader. Very organized and attentive to details, worked well with the group and took good care of us. We thought it was odd that Exodus was not licensed to provide tours in the major cities, but it turned out to work out alright. Mary provided maps and advice on key highlights in each city. At major sites, audio guides were usually available to provide needed information.
Call us on 020 8772 3936