Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Andrew noble

    A relaxing diversion, with interesting things to see on the way

    My wife has been keen on a trip through vienna for a while. We chose the passau to vienna trip as other reviewers rated it higher than the similar vienna to Budapest. Both follow the danube. The best thing about this trip is that being relatively gentle paced it allows time to visit places on the way, which is really the whole point. We saw a WW II concentration camp (utterly horrific) , visited a trappist monastery and tasted their beer and spirits, saw an awful lot of other churches, monasteries and gardens. The whole cycling route is dotted with pleasant cafes. The route plan recommends good restaurants and we were not disappointed. Austria is accustomed to vegetarian and vegan diets. The palaces and museums of vienna are spectacular, the kaisers crypt is worth a visit. We recommend a great veggie restaurant in vienna called Tian. The guide notes are very simple but in a good way. I recommend having a phone with Google maps or similar when you get to the cities though... Much easier to navigate the busy streets. The bikes on hire are a good standard, though we like to bring our own saddles and pedals. We took the option of an extra few days in vienna, I knocked a star off because the information on this part was not so well organised. We were given turn by turn instructions but no accompanying map and there was some confusion about whether we were supposed to have a vienna pass. (this would have saved us a lot of money it turned out later)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thing that will stay with me is what we saw in the mauthausen concentration camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take in the sights on the way. A set of waterproofs and overshoes were useful on our only wet day.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Alex Burgess

    A fantastic Austrian Experience

    This trip was perfect. From forests and mountains to wine producing valleys this stretch of the Danube provides stunning scenery and lovely villages and towns such as Grein and Melk along the way. Well sign-posted purpose built, smooth cycling paths made this trip effortless and friendly, comfortable hotels along the way made this trip one I'd highly recommend if you are looking for an easy-going trip. As there are only a few stretches on quiet roads and a couple on paths alongside busy roads (the rest on quiet cycle tracks) and the distances are manageable you don't need to be a confident cyclist to enjoy this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the former concentration camp at Mauthausen was a chilling reminder of the atrocities carried out by the Nazis in World War Two. A very worthwhile visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it! It couldn't be simpler. We flew in to/out of Vienna and took a train from Vienna Airport to Passau but you could also fly in to Munich and take a train from here to Passau if you wanted to. Don't pay for entry to Melk Abbey (you can walk up to the Abbey and wander around the courtyard without paying).
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Thidara Udomritkul

    A excellent first self-guided cycling trip

    We cycled this route in May 2016 and we had a wonderful time. The cycle route is well maintained, the navigation was very clear with the resources provided and the scenery was spectacular. Vienna was a suiting end to a very scenic trip.  A great first self-guided cycling trip to try. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the cycle route to Krems. Passing through endless fields of vineyards and green farmland with the Danube river in the background was a great experience. There were castles and majestic palaces atop the Austrian hills and we passed many local wine producers and quaint villages on this cycle day. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We cycled independently however the introductory briefing on the first day was informative and friendly. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We booked our train in advance from Vienna to Passau and a first class upgrade was cheap for the 3hr train journey. The Mauhausen Memorial is approximately 5km off route (uphill!) but it's well preserved and definitely worth a visit. The memorial is on Day 4 between Linz and Grein. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first self-guided cycling trip and it is a excellent introduction. Cycling through Austrian countryside along well-maintained and traffic free paths was a brilliant experience. The hotels are all excellent quality and I would highly recommend this trip! 
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Roger Dyer

    Cycling the Danube.

    What a great trip, we had great weather for the cycle ride, we met some lovely people too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at each destination at the end of each day without getting wet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you get to Vienna airport, walk across to the railway station and get a direct train to Passau. They run every two hours and we were not told of this service.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    My partner and I did the self guided ride and enjoyed it very much. It gave us the chance to feel we really experienced the lovely Austrian scenery, pretty villages and towns with a sense of achievment to have done a 300 +km ride. My partner is 79!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved riding through the fields of corn, through the vineyards with the vines laden with grapes and through the dappled light in the forests. The Danube was always  a source of activity and interest and we crossed it many times on the quaint little wooden ferries .The towns of Grien and Melk were particularly lovely places to stay overnight.There were some interesting side trips offered. Luggage transfers went smoothly. All the hotels were of a good standard and Hotel Nibelungenhof in Traismaure was really excellent with wonderful warm hospitality and superb food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were on our own

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can google the map on your phone Im sure it would be a big help as the Trip notes let us down on several occasions. Dont worry about the bikes, they are excellent and almost ride themselves. Stefan who set us up with the bikes in Passau was most helpful and accomodating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were only given one set of trip notes and one bag and we found this difficult. Please issue these to all riders. We would have preferreed to be accomodated in a smaller town than Linz. It was the small towns that were an important part of our enjoyment of the trip, Grien, Melk and Traismauer were lovely.The trip notes were obscure at times and this combined with our not so hot navigational talents meant we rode many more kms than necessary.For example Linz- Grien We could not find Werksstrasse after the Mittenkirk Bridge.Pg 21 of trip notes. says "take care" re the branching road.. It would have been simpler to say follow the Donauradweg signs turning right on the path before the fork in the road. This lead us to do 8 extra km on out longest day. Melk - Krems Traismauer. The trip notes say simply "continue" to Hotle Nibelungenhof. We needed to know which way to continue. We got lost again. Traismauer- Vienna. We had been given train tickets from  Traismauer  to Tulln but when we got to the station at 9.30am we were told there are no trains, we gathered they only depart at peak hour. This was frustratiing as we had anticipated riding 40km, not 80 that day. Arriving in Vienna. This turned into a nightmare and we took 2 hours from the outskirst to our hotel. Pg 34 says "turn right at the JV Schemmeri Bruche" It is very hard to see the name on this brige- and we missed it- however there are 2 huge lions on it. It would have been helpful if we were looking for the lions not an small obscure name. Try and simplify the directions to hotel Donauzentrum. We took nearly 8 hrs to ride that leg and were exhausted at the end.It would be helpful if you gave the full addresses of the hotels, at the end of the day you want all the help you can get to arrive there!We felt that the trip was maybe a lillte pricey when we discovered the accomodation costs.  
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    Thoroughly enjoyed this holiday . In general the accommodation was good and staff were friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the Wachau wine growing area. Lovely scenery and saw some of the grape harvest! Arriving in Traismauer we were given a friendly welcome and the best traditional Austrian meal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided and managed by Rad and Reisen- not Exodus. When we arrived at the Donau Zentrum hotel inVienna the staff in the hotel didnot know much about the bikes. Also, a Kindle was damaged during the luggage transfer . This was packed inthe middle of the case and something very heavy must have been place on top. When we tried to claim for it we were told that only the luggage itself was insured by Rad and Reisen.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think going bed and breakfast is better and more flexible than half board. There are plenty of places to eat en route. Bring a gel seat cover!
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    Our bicycling trip (Passau to Vienna) was a wonderful family adventure for myself, my husband, and our adult son and daughter (ages 28 and 26). Everything was extremely well-organized by Exodus, and the staff there quickly responded to any questions or issues that arose, both before our travels and during. We had some difficulty locating the place where we were to pick up the bikes despite following the instructions provided, and few people in the area seemed to know of them. We eventually found it, but as it was raining hard, we were all somewhat sleep-deprived, and the distance from our hotel was longer than we had expected with only major roads on which to travel, we asked the bike rental company for a ride back to our hotel, which they did for 60 Euros. That process felt more stressful than necessary, but once we started out the next morning from Passau, everything was perfect. We loved biking along the Danube - the paths are well marked, the scenery is stunning, and the information provided by Exodus was extremely useful. We would definitely book again with Exodus and look forward to our next adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many special moments - the sheer beauty of the Wachau Valley and the area around the Schlogener loop, the many stops for beer in the charming villages along the route, the visit to Mauthausen -not exactly inspirational, but powerful, moving, and meaningful - and the opportunity to spend special time with family. 
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    We had a lovely week cycling the iconic Danube bike trail, had wonderful weather, enjoyed the little villages and towns set in the most beautiful countryside, sampled the local food and wine, and still had time to visit the numerous baroque churches and monastaries on the way. A perfect week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     arriving in Vienna and doing our own sight seeing tour by bike through the city, ending with a piece of Sacher Torte at the Sacher Hotel / Cafe (behind the Opera House) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes, travel instructions and cycling guide several times beforehand. We found all the information thrown at us on arrival by the hotel receptionist very scant and confusing. We had to return several times to reception before getting to grips with it. Exodus should remember that a receptionist is not a tour guide or group leader and does not necessarily have any local knowledgeThe bikes were very good and comfortable. Unfortunately it was quite complex to get to the bike hire place and back into PassauThere are many opportunities to catch the local trains for short rides to your destination which we did a couple of times. The trains are all very bike-friendly.  The Exodus and Radundreisen tripnotes differ slightly, but crucially at important points (pick up point for one of the hotel transport in Grein, and hotel facilities description)  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, we had a wonderful week!  Having previously been so impressed by Exodus organisation, we were disappointed with this one. 3 hotels (out of 7) were "out of town"; for 2 of them we needed to be picked up by the hotel as they were 6-8 km up in the hills, and one even wanted to to be paid for return transport the next day! The third one was miles out of town in Vienna at the end of a most unpleasant ride to it in a huge shopping complex. With all 3 it was most disappointing that we were unable to enjoy the localities in the evening and had to simply stay in the hotels.(the one in Vienna did not even have a restaurant despite the trip notes referring to one)   
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    We did Vienna to Budapset last year and everyone we met said Passau to Vienna was better - it was. The cycling, scenary and towns on the way exceeded our expectations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Bishops palace at Melk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    n/a

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We joined the tour via Nuremberg (rather than Vienna as suggested). A city well worth visiting. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One small problem we had was on arriving at our first hotel they could not find our reservation. This took 45 mins to resolve.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    Very well set up and organised tour. Everything on the Exodus side ran like clockwork!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pedalling beside the Danube through spectacular scenery on perfectly smooth cycle paths.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was a self-directed tour so the group leader was of course brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is as easy as it gets - anyone could do this!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We plan to do the next stage in a year's time.
Call us on 020 8772 3936