Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jennifer Lawrence

    Wow!!!

    Wow, wow, wow is all I can say. This trip exceeded my expectations in every way. This was my first trip with a Exodus and needless to say I immediately booked my next one when I got home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, the places we stayed, the guides and to be honest just so much about it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. Very knowledgeable of the routes, the park and catered for our needs regardless of strength of cycling capabilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go to enjoy it and soak up as much of the scenery as you can. Not often you get to experience places like this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved it
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jennifer Lawrence

    Wow!!!

    Wow, wow, wow is all I can say. This trip exceeded my expectations in every way. This was my first trip with a Exodus and needless to say I immediately booked my next one when I got home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, the places we stayed, the guides and to be honest just so much about it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. Very knowledgeable of the routes, the park and catered for our needs regardless of strength of cycling capabilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go to enjoy it and soak up as much of the scenery as you can. Not often you get to experience places like this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved it
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Katy Smith

    Fat biking in Finland

    This was a really great trip and quite challenging even for hardy mountain bikers! The snow conditions made a huge difference the ease of the ride! Cycling in deep fresh snow was exhausting but when it was very cold and the snow was hard and compressed it was much easier! Each day was different and it was wonderful to have a couple of days in complete wilderness. The equipment provided was excellent so no need to buy kit if you don’t already have it - we did bring our own but it wasn’t essential. Some of the bikes were brand new for our trip and were top quality but even the older ones were good and very well maintained. Vesku our guide and his assistant Niila couldn’t have worked harder to make sure our holiday was comfortable and enjoyable and the food was excellent and plentiful. Vegetarians and vegans were well catered for too. We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights on 3 consecutive nights which just added to the magic!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was different and great fun so it’s hard to pick out an individual special moment. But cycling on really hard snow at -25 degrees in perfect sunshine was a real treat!! We saw the Northern lights 4 times on 3 nights so of course that has to be at the top of the list!! The first time we saw them whilst at the Wilderness hut will be a moment I’ll remember for ever! Words and photos just don’t do the experience justice!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vesku and his assistant Niila were wonderful! They were caring and very knowledgable about the region. They worked tirelessly to ensure we all had a great holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This really can be quite challenging depending on the snow conditions! But it’s well worth booking if you enjoy cycling and don’t mind a bit of hard work! But be prepared to fall off from time to time - it’s not painful as the snow is soft and deep!! The kit provided and bikes are great quality so it’s not necessary to buy kit specifically for this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is so different and magical - I’d thoroughly recommend it!!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Cornelia Szecsei

    Sauna, Sauna and more Sauna

    We were part of the first ever Exodus Fat Biking trip. We didn't quite know what to expect but it surpassed all of our predictions. Being in the Finnish wilderness was a totally unique and astoundingly beautiful experience. I've never seen such a clear, starry sky. We generally cycled in a group until early afternoon and then often headed out on the bikes alone or headed to the Sauna with a beer. The cycling was relatively challenging - there are plenty of climbs and although we are aerobically fit we didn't have any mountain biking experience (which would have been useful). The distances don't sound far but unless the paths are compact and firm it is a slow process. If the snow is too soft the bikes sink and you find yourself pushing for a while. As we were the first trip some of the routes were a bit of a test and they were already finding ways of compacting snow better so I suspect the riding will get better and better with each trip. Be prepared to fall off multiple times a day, even if you think you're an experienced rider! Falling into a mound of soft snow is quite pleasant, however, and definitely entertaining. The cabin accommodation and the scenery was what made this trip (the food was incredible too). At the Russian End there's communal sleeping in a big room, outside compost toilet and a traditional wooden Finnish sauna. We did the optional half day dog sledging which was fantastic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing in swimming costumes on a frozen river under a starry sky being doused with ice cold river water before running back into the sauna (not compulsory!). Sitting with a warm drink in front of the fire at The Russian End was also a lovely experience. They had a generator to charge cameras etc but otherwise it was electricity free entertainment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Henri was excellent and had a great sense of humour. He was often pointing out animal tracks or telling us about local history. He had very good bike maintenance knowledge and has ridden fat bikes for years.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You get hotter riding than you might expect and we were often stripping layers off at stops. On arrival you are provided with everything - base layers, socks, waterproof outer layers, head torches, shoes, rucksacks. It's high quality (eg. Salomon boots, Lowe Alpine rucksacks) so I wouldn't invest in anything specifically for the trip. Take a camera and a good book - there's plenty of down time once it gets dark.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We saw a hint of the northern lights one night at The Russian End - just a vague green hovering about the trees, but there really is no guarantee and of course they may be happening at 3am when everyone is asleep. Most people downloaded an app to look at how likely it was to happen that night.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Sheila Davison

    Fat biking Finland

    A great adventure immense fun

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The isolation of the Russian End peace quiet and wonderful night skies including the Northern Lights. Learning a new skill with confidence

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent knowledgeable caring helpful and fun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy a whole new experience.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Guy Thompson

    Fat Biketastic Winter Wonderland

    This trip exceeded our expectations. We went on the last trip of the year in mid April which I thought may be risky weather wise. Despite my concerns was still there was plenty of snow and temperatures were sub zero. We had the advantage of daylight from 5am to 9pm. We had some sunshine and some fresh snow (often lots of both in one day) which was lovely. The weather made for mixed riding conditions, from easy to ride hard pack, to fresh powder, which is more challenging. Technically, the most demanding element is the fresh snow (even though the snow mobile grooms the tracks first). There were plenty of comedy slow speed tumbles but no-one gets seriously hurt. Physically, there are some long gentle, and short steep, climbs but nothing too demanding. There are plenty of breaks and no-one gets left behind. The last ride to the visitor centre is the most demanding but also one of the most rewarding. The logging lodge accommodation was in a secluded location 45 minutes drive from Oulanka base camp. We had a small group of only 5 so we all had our own rooms. The logging lodge was great for our small group and felt very homely with it's wooden interiors and log burning sauna. The food was always excellently cooked, locally sourced stuff. Lots of elk and warming soups with berry deserts. Having a small group who got on well made the experience more personal and very enjoyable. Though I'm sure the bigger groups had a great time too. On our free day we did the full day husky ride. This was a little pricey but an excellent experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The serenity of biking through a pristine winter wilderness in the falling snow. The adventure experience of staying at the rustic Russian End wilderness lodge by the Oulanka river. Being lucky enough to spot a majestic Elk on the track one day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henri was an excellent guide. We bombarded him with all sorts of ridiculous questions which he was only too happy to answer. He is calm, cool and collected with a good sense of humour. He really does know his stuff and you feel you are in safe hands at all times. He is very friendly and approachable and it is largely thanks to him that this is such an excellent trip. Marcus was a great help clearing the tracks and transporting our stuff to the Russian End and was great company when he was with us. Jessica was a great host who prepared a mean salad and could carry a great tune when singing Finnish Folk Songs!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some reviewers thought the difficulty was under graded on this trip. I think Exodus are spot on with their 4 rating. If you are reasonably fit and have some mountain biking experience you won't have any problems. Sit facing forwards in the minivan if your the travel sick type. The icy roads are a bit of a roller coaster. If you do the husky ride leave your bags in the owners house on arrival rather than filling the sledge with them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some of the accommodation pictures on the Exodus website are of Basecamp Oulanka - which is not where you stay. The logging lodge is a 45 minute drive away. It wasn't a problem but it's worth pointing out that the 6 non en suite rooms in the logging lodge are 4 bed bunk dorms. All be it very tidy ones with only the two bottom bunks being used by the guests. It would have been nice to have a go at cross country skiing too. It's a full schedule of biking but maybe there is some way a few more optional activities could be squeezed in to the afternoons or something. It was tough choosing just one thing on the free day.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Sandra Hazeldon

    Wilderness Adventure on a fat bike.

    If you're considering doing this trip - do it! I loved every moment, the scenery was stunning, my trip companions were lovely, the biking was awesome, the food superb, the organisation top notch and the accommodation was perfect. Anymore superlatives?! We had perfect weather - cold, dry and sunny with clear skies which definitely helped to make this such a wonderful week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many but a special mention for the Northern Lights, the lodge by the Russian border, drinking G&T's in the sauna followed by dunkings with frozen river water, riding in the snow in wilderness silence and the stunning scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henri is a star, a fantastic and knowledgeable group leader, very ably assisted by the rest of the Basecamp crew. He is extremely well organised and went out of his way to ensure we had a good trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mountain bike experience is a definite advantage as balance skills are very useful. All clothing needed for the outdoors apart from base layers is provided but if you've got your own of equal suitability then take them. I took my own and feel I was comfier in clothes that fitted me properly, that I was used to wearing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to fall off and know that snow isn't always a soft landing!!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Philip Crist

    Fun, Scenery, Saunas and Northern Lights too

    the most fun I have had in the snow with my clothes on. Accommodation was great, the log cabin at the Russian end was amazing. Having to cut a hole in the frozen river to get water for the sauna - and what a great sauna that was - all added to the experience. Fatbiking in the snow was a new skill set, never fully mastered, and I lost count of the times I put my foot down for safety only to sink into two foot of snow. Henry was a great tour guide and was definitley part of the holiday. A great group of people having a great time. And the Northern Lights are amazing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Northern Lights sauna at the Russian end and the ice cold water dunking that went with it The scenery The thrill of the downhills

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henry was great and was definitely a key player in making the holiday work

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light. Most of the outdoor kit is provided and you do get very warm cycling. I typically wore cycle shorts and a light cycle top with the over trousers and jacket on top

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking of doing this - book it it is great
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Anne Waddington

    Beautiful sunny and snowy wilderness scenes but no northern lights

    Fat biking was a great way to see the beautiful winter scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching enormous snowflakes falling steadily in the beautiful forests. The wood stove heated saunas followed by frozen river dip was a fantastic experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good. Very helpful and competent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring ear plugs, flip flops and a couple of thin base layers. Cycle shorts maybe. It was so mild some days that I wished I'd had my softshell but I managed fine without. It seems the weather is very variable. Expect your bike skills and balance to be tested. I've been mountain biking for many years and still had a fair few non painful falls into snowdrifts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really helpful group leader and assistant, they went out of their way for us. I would have preferred uk style brakes but otherwise the bikes were great. Fat biking was challenging in the soft fresh snow and a lot easier when the snow had compacted so I think they need to have a variety of routes of different distances to suit the weather.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Michael Cooper

    FAT BIKING FINLAND

    Superb week in the 'Great Outdoors' which over and above the cycling provides an introduction to Finnish life without seeing to many Finns with the exception of the Base Camp staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling off road on snow laden trails through beautiful Finnish terrain and having the opportunity to experience a genuine Finnish sauna at the end of the day especially at Russian End!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jessica was very passionate about Finland, the Oulanka National park and the 'Great Outdoors'. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and even sang for the group. More than ably supported by Henri, Marcus and Yongi.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Possibly better enjoyed if you have some mountain biking skills but any competent cyclist will be able to participate. Take ear plugs for the 2 nights at Russian End. This trip is only for persons who enjoy being outside, active and are comfortable with basic but comfortable accommodation. e.g. at Russian End for two nights there is not any electricity or running water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The standard and variety of the food which also included many Finnish dishes added to the experience.
Call us on 020 8772 3936