Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Cathy Parmenter

    Great cycling and site seeing combination

    This trip is a great way of seeing a selection of famous sites as well as getting glimpses of the real India from cycling on back roads, waving at friendly locals, looping round cows, avoiding wandering pigs, nipping past sleeping dogs, pausing to allow flocks of sheep and goats to cross, overtaking bullock carts and even camels. The sometimes parched scenery may not be as lush as south India but there are plenty of sights to see along the way and regular snack stops to break up the longer cycling days. The longer rides tend to be pretty flat and there are some stiff but achievable hills too. But there's always a back up vehicle for anyone who has had enough and plenty of snacks and sweet chai to keep you going.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal literally took my breath away, the Amer Fort in Jodhpur was amazing and the City Palace in Udaipur was spectacular, but there were many fascinating insights into local life too whether seeing a couple making rope along the roadside or watching bricks being made by hand.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanjay and Manu were both excellent, highly experienced guides who worked hard to make sure that everything went smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are travelling in January, it is probably going to be colder than you think. I was glad of the down jacket I had worn to the airport and even wore it for cycling a couple of times until me and the day warmed up. Personally, I felt most comfortable wearing my over the knee mountain biking shorts as village women always have their legs covered but no one had any issues when wearing shorter shorts. Two pairs of cycling under shorts were sufficient as there are enough two night stops for them to get washed, three would be better if you have them. You'll need something warm to wear on cold evenings too as we ate outside a couple of times. But I guess that won't apply to later departures.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Gary Brown

    Good cycling but a shame about the pollution in the cities.

    We've visited India twice before, the first time 20 years ago and then again 10 years ago, and so as keen cyclists we were excited about the prospect of cycling around the back roads of Rajasthan. The cycling was fantastic, along quiet country roads through small rural villages where everyone waves and shouts hello. Brilliant! But beware - after the cycling you end up in large cities where the levels of pollution are now so bad that it is not only unpleasant to walk around but potentially very bad for your health. I and 3 others ended up with chest infections and 2 of us couldn't cycle again for the remainder of the trip. Our trip was over Xmas and New Year and the hotels, although perfectly clean and adequate, had no heating and it was very very cold at night - we had to ask for extra blankets just to be able to sleep. Our leader Manu and all the support crew were excellent but the bikes were a little tired. Would I recommend this trip - No! Although the cycling was great the pollution in the cities is horrendous!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling and the excitement of the local children.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus like to promote responsible tourism and yet their tipping policy makes a mockery of this. Why is it necessary for the clients to subsidise the wages of the leader and support crew? Surely Exodus (and the company they subcontract to in India) should be paying these local people a decent living wage? I would certainly prefer to pay a little extra in the cost of the holiday if it would do away with this unpleasant tipping procedure.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Philip Atkinson

    Fantastic trip through Moghul India

    This was a great trip to be on, saw amazing sights; buildings, landscape, wildlife as well as having a chance to see and interact with local people. We cycled through some varied and interesting landscape as well as some that was dull. The roads were quite a mix, some better than the guides remembered from their last trip, others much worse. The heat was relentless on a few days due to lack of shade and start times being later due to coach transfers, this did cause problems and maybe needs more thought. I have to say that, after a few days cycling, most of us improved but the 34km extenI think the trip will be a five in future but it needs some tweaking of itinerary and trip notes to get there. sion on day eight seemed to be wasted as the countryside was probably the worst we came across, uninspiring. Overall a great trip though with a few adjustments to trip notes and tweaking of itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few, sorry! 1) The forts and palaces generally, especially at Jaipur and Udaipur 2) cycle up to Kumbhalgarh and visit to the fort 3) Morning guided heritage cycle around Jaipur, everyone thought that was fantastic 4) Ride through Sariskar NP buffer zone on day 10 5) Day 13 cycle through backroads to Fatehpur Sikri 6) And finally, the visit to the Taj Mahal, amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two tour leaders who shared duties, Sanjay who was the most senior and Tapesh. I thought they were a good mix and ensured we had the chance to meet locals, especially in impromptu situations. They looked after everyone on the rides and catered for the varying levels of fitness and determination. Socially they were good fun as were the cycle rides. They made the trip in my opinion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t underestimate the heat and it’s impact on performance. Drinking plenty is difficult when the water in your bottle is 40C so try and mix with other drinks or take some squash or similar. Travel light, a bar bag is a useful thing to take rather than rucksack. Have camera handy for photos as you pass through small villages and chai shops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were a couple of fairly negative people in the group who were disruptive towards the end, I thought the group leaders dealt with them quite well considering. Not sure of the benefit of the extra 34km on day 8, just made us late into Jaipur because of traffic. Also, there was no mention of the length of some of the transfers, the ones to Jaipur and also to Pushkar were very long but nothing in trip notes to indicate that, should,be more honest/explicit. On a separate note, the support staff were all very good and worked very hard.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Ray Powell

    Cycling with a bump

    A great first experience of India

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Handing out pens to local school

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manu was very good and was always around to help us out when we needed it

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have good travel insurance
  • Reviewed February 2018
    curtis wierenga

    loved cycling in rajasthan

    This trip was great! The cycling wasn't overly difficult. The trip offers a wide range of sites to please everyone. Our guides and crew were excellent, the bikes were great as was the support vehicle. We always had drinking water and snacks while we cycled. They took great care of us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through some of the small villages on our last day of cycling. There is no better way to be immersed in the Indian culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manu was fantastic, very professional but also alot of fun at the same time. Great sense of humour! We have travelled many years in many countries with many guides and Manu ranks right at the top!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy! Don't be afraid of the food or drinking water or the sheer number of people. It is fantastic
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jon richards

    cycling through Rajestan

    This was a good trip, seeing the classic UNESCO sites of Jaipur, Agra & Taj Mahal, wildlife reserves, train rides, moderate cycling as well as some really off the beat village life. The hotels were mainly of a good standard with pools & the staff were excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sites at Agra & Taj Mahal which were amazing. Some really fond memories of village life, visiting local schools, houses etc - Exodus really excel at this. The safari was ok, probably enjoyed the bird sactuary more

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tapesh & the whole team were brilliant - well organised, considerate, communicative etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hot so take good screen, hat etc. Hardly any mossies, so didn't bother with Deet. Take alcohol hand wash to avoid the bugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are lots of visits to palaces & forts which get better as the trip goes on to the well know UNESCO sites, some of these early ones are optional. There are some quite long bus transfers to the cities where these sites are - I believe changes are being made to the schedule to reduce the amount of these. The cycling scenery is fairly dry, and in my opinion much lusher with less urban centres to get to, on the Kerala or Sri Lanka trips. So if you want to see the UNESCO sites and have good (rather than excellent cycling), this would be a good trip. For a more relaxing trip, with lusher scenery & v few bus transfers, the Kerala trip might appeal more
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Janet Joy

    Cycling through Rajasthan

    India is an amazing place - totally different & totally mad but what an experience it was. This is a busy holiday packed with so many different places and many wonderful memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many different memories- the overnight train ride, the mental traffic, tut tut rides! the wonderful people and children welcoming us everywhere we went, the amazing Taj Mahal, chai tea ! - the total India experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manu was was brilliant. Very knowledgeable, very organised, great sence of humour & a totally top chap.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy trip but make sure you go at your pace and enjoy the different experiences and savour India.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Manu & his fantastic support team were brilliant. They were all so happy and helpful - nothing was ever too much for them and they really helped to make the holiday so special.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    glen kite

    Cycling through Rajasthan

    A fantastic whirlwind assault on the senses - incredible sights, smells and wonderful children waving us on throughout the villages. Delhi was very smoggy and choked to death with traffic, but still amazing views from the coach window as we battled the congestion, but after the overnight train, the visuals start.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were invited, or press ganged into a wedding, which was a real feast for the eyes, to see how a diiferent culture celebrate here - horses, parades, fireworks and entire banquet filled the hotel grounds. Of course the Taj is an excellent feat in building, but Udaipur palace interior was filled with impressive craftsmans skills. Though ultimately, its the people, the smiles, the friendliness that catches your heart

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manu and Rigsin were exceptional, the knowledge of India and its people, a question was never unanswered. Whilst we were there, we had the problem of the 'black money' - which caused a huge problem for everybody, and given the circumstances Manu helped out wherever he could, and even beyond his duties. Ali and Ramu always helped with water and the bike maintenance, and Mr Singh an amazing driver through those conditions

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather before you go - it was much hotter than the average temperature on Exodus website If you see something, buy it, as youll never have the chance to buy it again - we found Johdpur market (clock tower) wonderful, but held out for Jaipur, which was disappointing and a very long day on and off the bus. Its a great holiday, but be prepared for non stop adventure - rest when you get back home!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Jaipur day out was laboured, too much to see in a short space of time, therefore withered with the guide, as you really had to listen hard to understand, plus added trips to the factories, were not for me Udaipur looked wonderful, but no chance to walk around as on a very tight schedule, we cycled, then straight out to eat later that evening Food at times went from fantastic at the lakeside in Udaipur, to very expensive roadside cafes, and uninteresting western style restaurants
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Deborah Dawson

    Our Indian adventure

    An enjoyable holiday, greatly enhanced by sharing it with a fantastic group of like-minded people. A fabulous way to capture the spirit of Rajasthan. With the added bonus of mixing the 'sights' with a glimpse of 'everyday life'. A little disappointing not to have sampled more 'local' food. The leader preferring hotels or 'tourist' type restaurants. Would have liked to have seen more of the sights around Delhi, rather than driving round in circles by bus. Compared to our previous trips, there was a lot of time spent on the bus. The cycling was great. A mixture of easy and more challenging routes. I do however question Exodus's assertion that everyone is able to ride at their own pace. There were no particularly slow people in our group, however there were times when the slowest were pressured to get on the bus, despite the group being happy to wait. Conversely others were required to slow down to keep the group together, this was often frustrating for both ends of the spectrum. This may have been due to there being only two guides cycling, only one of which was of reasonable fitness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the villages were the most interesting and enjoyable times. The sleeper train was a surprisingly enjoyable experience also.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader spoke good English and enthusiastically shared his local knowledge with the group. He wasn't however so enthusiastic about the cycling element and lacked cycling fitness which sometimes compromised safety. The assistant leader is more of a cycling enthusiast with the fitness to match but unfortunately showed little interest in the monuments and sights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of high energy snacks. Unlike on similar trips, these were not provided or easily bought. Our group were often hungry and energy reserves dipped on some of the more challenging cycling days. We soon learnt to take food from the breakfast buffet to refuel later on. We found we needed more money for food than the trip notes suggest. We were encouraged to tip more than the trip notes suggested also. There are opportunities to get laundry done.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great Exodus holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed, however it didn't quite match the standard of other Exodus holidays we have had.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Louise Masson

    Cycling through Rajasthan

    A great 2 week trip visiting many cities, Palaces and Forts in Rajasthan. Great accommodation, variety of activities and fun guides. Cycling is varied and we were well looked after.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cannot say just one as many days were varied and fascinating places to visit. Agra, for Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. Ranakpur was incredible, Jodhpur,Jaipur, Udaipur and Pushkar all different....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bhupesh ( Boo) and Anand (AK ) were very amazing! Very knowledgeable, fun and went out of their way to ensure we had all that we needed!( Including pharmacy, iPhone shop for smashed phone, birthday fireworks treats!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is some time for shopping built into the trip, however not specifically in your free time, which might be better as not everyone in the trip found this time well spent...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Standard of accommodation was one of the best for this type of trip and very well received. Would like to see this more often!
Call us on 020 8772 3936