Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Yvonne Carson

    Fantastic experience

    This trip is fantastic! So well organised by the amazing guide, amazing wildlife and scenery and great cycling. Be prepared for the heat and the humidity, but the terrain is not too difficult. Accommodation was mostly very good or excellent, one not so good hotel. This is an experience to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wild elelphants at the side of the road!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn’t fault Suresh. Best leader I have met. Lovely person. Well organised. Very high standards. A credit to his country and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    enjoy every moment. Take anti bacterial gel, as toilet facilities can be basic out with hotels. Don’t need US dollars, Sri Lankan Rupee is best. Food is mostly rice and curry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved this trip.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Sue Hoddell

    sri lanka

    great cycling, diverse landscapes and a real flavour of the country. a well put together programme and full on with little time unoccupied. some challenging rides on generally good roads and plenty of time in the saddle. Good accommodation and food. don't expect much time to relax

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    enjoyed the ride up through the tea plantations to the high point, even more enjoyable as part of it was done in torrential rain but little danger of getting cold. the wildlife park trip scored well on spotting the animals and showed a wide range of animal life in the park

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wasantha was kind and thoughtful, always respectful of the group members

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    we were lucky with the weather but the rain we did experience was awesome, be prepared as it can really throw it down

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    was not too taken with Kandy, staying there for the extra day fitted the cycling itinerary but there were nicer places to have spent a little free time
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marie Longworth

    Excellent trip!

    Great cycling, fab food, wonderful people, stunning scenery! Oh and the best guide ever! Guaranteed!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I suppose like everyone completing the cycle to Newara Eliya! Epic cycle made even more challenging with the torrential rain!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have done about 10 Exodus cycling trips and I have to say that Suresh has been the best! His organization skills, attention to detail and great sense of humour meant that we felt totally spoiled and supported on this trip! I certainly would not have completed the climb to Nuwara Eliya without him as he stayed with myself and another person for the last 10 K or so. I had total faith in him to get us there safely! He helped everyone at the end of the trip and I was glad to stay at the hotel in Colombo longer as opposed to spending a whole day at the airport. Thanks for helping me with that Suresh! I must also mention Saranga, Anitha and Upali. I probably saw more of Saranga and he was the back cyclist and I spent a lot of time at the back! His quiet presence was reassuring and he took the bike off me and parked it regularly when I got off. When you saw Upali directing u to the left or right it usually meant that the cycling was finished!! Whew! Anitha was a gentle giant who always filled our water bottles before we even asked! He was so lovely and kind!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Where to start? Eh don’t expect to lose weight! The food was fab! We seemed to be always eating! Train for distance and hills for this trip. I had done some training but could done more. Bring less clothes as you have an opportunity to have washing done.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    simon worsley

    Fabulous Sri Lanka!

    Wonderful journey through the varied landscape of this friendly country- through paddy fields and tea plantations, taking in historic temples and monuments, and pausing at local cafes for delicious local fare. Some epic climbs and descents, on excellent and well maintained bikes, with a fantastic support team and superb tour guide (Suresh). We felt that the trip gave us a good insight into the culture/scenery/history/flora/fauna of Sri Lanka, the accommodation was generally excellent, and where more basic it was characterful and adequate. Overall, this trip was an epic, and highly recommend it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The grinding climb up to Nuwara Eliya through a torrential downpour and thunderstorm, with night falling before we reached the summit, then the hair raising descent in the dark, and arriving at the warm haven of the Hill Club. Unforgettable and possibly outrageous, but none of us would have stopped and taken the bus!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is simply the best tour guide I have ever encountered, period. Commanding yet courteous, informative and inspirational, ensuring that we were all looked after and assisting the group bonding. After the end of the tour, he even helped out one of the group make her boat transfer to the Maldives after an oversight by the agents neglecting to ensure that her ticket had been validated by the resort- above and beyond expectation....

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do ensure good sun protection. Electrolyte tablets for rehydration. We didn't take the usual lycra padded shorts, but used MTB short equivalents with sheep skin saddle savers, and had less problems with butt soreness than most in the group. Make sure that you are hill climbing fit- we had 4 full days of fairly strenuous cycling back to back. Consider taking bike lights- would have been grateful for my "twinklies" on the final ride in the dark to Nuwara Eliya.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip- would thoroughly recommend.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Rachael Dodgson

    A totally amazing trip!

    This was my first cycling tour with Exodus and it was absolutely excellent. Sri Lanka is a fascinating country with lots to see. The cycling was great - some of it was pretty tough - especially the day to Nuwara Eliya but doable for anyone with a good level of fitness. The scenery across the country was beautiful and the food was fabulous. The accommodation was generally of a very high standard. Two places were fairly basic but we only stayed in them for 1 night each so it was fine. This is a great trip and if you’re considering booking it you should - you won’t regret it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably as for most other people completing the days cycle to Nuwara Eliya felt a great achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was a fantastic trip leader, well organised, patient, funny and always willing to go the extra mile for people. The rest of the team working with him also deserve a mention - they were always professional, hard working and happy to help with anything. I was really impressed with them all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is with making the effort to get fit for this trip. I did spinning classes 3 or 4 times a week for 6 or 7 weeks before I went and that made a huge difference to my overall enjoyment of the trip as I was able to keep up with ththe cycling. And don’t think you will lose weight on this trip. Despite the cycling the food is fabulous and never ending...
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martin Mowbray

    Review

    Best Exodus tour yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personalized attention from Exodus staff

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best yet

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't consider travelling with Exodus if it cancels Cuba tours for political reasons - as is rumoured
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martin Mowbray

    Review

    Best Exodus tour yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personalized attention from Exodus staff

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best yet

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't consider travelling with Exodus if it cancels Cuba tours for political reasons - as is rumoured
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Fantastic - thoroughly recommended!

    Really interesting trip. It has a great balance with plenty of cycling but still having time to explore our destinations and some time to relax too. It's a beautiful country with friendly local people. The hotels were generally of a good standard and although 2 were not great, they certainly weren't awful. I appreciated that sometimes in getting from A to B you have to go through less developed areas. I enjoyed the food immensely, especially when we went to smaller restaurants away from the hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The local children running out to shout hello as we cycled past. Seeing elephants in the wild was pretty magical too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was no surprise to find out that Suresh is one of Exodus's top cycle leaders. Nothing was too much trouble for Suresh including tracking down clothes that people had left at hotels or cafes along the way! He was funny, sociable, totally in control of all aspects of the trip and I felt safe in his care. I should add that the whole team were great and always had a smile of their faces whilst looking after us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can't underestimate how tough the heat can be. Get as fit as you can before coming on this holiday and you will get more out of it. The tuk tuks and local buses are bonkers and you need eyes in the back of your head sometimes! Cycling through busy towns was only a very small part of the cycling but I would recommend that you feel confident cycling in heavy traffic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a wonderful trip. Best so far... guaranteed. Just book it!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Denise Collins

    Excellent

    Challenging cycling, interesting and varied, excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Achieving the climb to the Hill station

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Well organised Always professional and extremely helpful Funny Charismatic Inspirational Great integrity Thoughtful and kind
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Denise Collins

    Excellent

    Challenging cycling, interesting and varied, excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Achieving the climb to the Hill station

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Well organised Always professional and extremely helpful Funny Charismatic Inspirational Great integrity Thoughtful and kind
Call us on 020 8772 3936