Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Yvonne Halpin

    Amazing - highly recommend!

    I would highly recommend this tour of Sri Lanka. It was a fantastic way to see the real Sri Lanka and get to meet the local people and see how they live their lives. We NEVER went hungry! Excellent quality of food - at the hotel/lunch spots and at each tea stop. I will really miss those lemon puff biscuits :) There was a good level of diversity in the type of cycling we did. A good mix of flat roads (on main roads and dirt roads), plenty of hills (undulating and longer uphill climbs) and a couple of great long downhills back down the side of the mountain. I was not a distance cyclist before I went on this trip. I had a good base fitness (running/gym) and did about a months worth of training on a mountain bike before I went and I was able for it. A fantastic tour - do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It feels fantastic to complete 'The 2000m Climb' - it really is life saving cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide (suresh) was excellent. There was nothing he wouldn't/couldn't do. His attention to detail was fantastic. He watched everything, so much so that he was sorting issues before we even knew they were issues. He was always around when you needed him and regularly checked in with everyone on the tour to make sure we were OK and having a good time. I also must comment on the support team. Upali (bus driver), Suranga (second guide cycling) and Amitah (van driver) were always ready for us when we got to the bikes each morning. They were always smiling and even filled our water bottles! Nothing was too much trouble for them and, together with Suresh, they made an excellent team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Probably no harm to take a travel sickness tablet before you set out on the safari in Yala. It was a bumpy ride (which added to the experience). Also for women, I recommend wearing a sports bra - again, it was a bumpy ride! :)
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Rod & Mo MacInnes

    Sri Lanka With Suresh And The Team

    So many experiences in a wonderful country with such a wonderful guide - DO IT - you will not be disappointed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to 'The Hill Club' after an epic climb and with our fellow cyclists savouring that first (that day) Lion Beer!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Several years ago we we had our first cycling holiday in Vietnam and had the pleasure of being guided by 'Yan The Man' (subsequently guide of the year) on a fantastic holiday which we did not think could ever be bettered. However this year found us on our 5th cycle holiday with Exodus and Suresh and his excellent team ensured this one was the best yet! Big of frame, enthusiasm and fun Suresh was a total pleasure to be with. His love of his country and intimate knowledge of it's geography, wildlife and history ensured that he was able to give context and description for all we experienced. It was clear he was well respected in the way others interacted with him, whether hotel staff, householders or total strangers he happened upon. He was well able to gently 'crack the whip' when required and we very much knew that although it was our holiday Suresh's instructions were always for a reason, primarily our well being, safety and comfort. It was clear that Suresh cared for his guests and he was constantly checking how things were from meals, accommodation through to cycle stages and throughout put us all very much at ease knowing that there was nothing our guide would not do for us or could not fix. There are so many fond memories of Suresh; from his buffet exhortion of "Maximum Damage!" from the CD disc he gave to us all of photographs he had taken through the holiday of us and other sights, to arranging taxis once we had taken our leave of him, but the highlight was Suresh appearing at the meal table with a cake to celebrate our wedding anniversary along with framed photograph. Suresh has been conducting this tour for many years but it is the mark of the man that he has clearly never lost the the delight and 'buzz' from leading, sharing and giving.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take isotonic tabs for your water bottle together with a spare water bottle

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Suresh was well assisted by the rest of his team who were always there to assist and Serenga was awesome on his traffic stops to get us out at junctions, together with his knowledge of the flora and fauna of the country.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Simon Thomas

    A great holiday with a good mix of cycling (some tough), culture, sightseeing and team bonding.

    A great holiday with a good mix of cycling (some tough, and one day in particular-the climb to Nuwara Eliya, not for the faint hearted!) with culture, sightseeing and team bonding all thrown into the mix. But fear-not as if you don't fancy the climb then there's always the option of the train from the word go, or the ever-present bus or cycle van bringing up the rear if your just not sure and want to see how far you can get. And this is also the case on any ride on any day of course. We were lucky to have an excellent, award winning, guide but the standard generally is very high, not least because being a guide in Sri Lanka is one of the most sort after and hard to get jobs, with the result that they all take huge pride in their work. We thourougly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. Any minor issues were quickly dealt with. No major issues occurred because of the degree of organisation, planning, (by the company) and diligence on the part of our guide on the trip itself. Thoroughly recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to Nuwara Eliya!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb! (Suresh.)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this holiday!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bruce Mills

    The Best So Far!

    A fairly challenging cycle tour of Sri Lanka, taking in some of the culture, wild life and sites and sounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 2,300m climbing day through the tea plantations (with life saving cake) and finishing with a very special evening in Nuwar Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, what gent! The best so far! Suresh, made us all feel incredibly welcome, nothing was too much and always had a plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets very hot, sun tan lotion, water! But mostly Suresh has it covered with plenty of tea (ginger beer, roti and cake) stops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Sri Lanka was fantastic, the people are wonderful. I loved the trip from the moment I got on Sri Lankan Airways, wishing I could repeat it over again on the last day. Thanks you Suresh.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bruce Mills

    The Best So Far!

    A fairly challenging cycle tour of Sri Lanka, taking in some of the culture, wild life and sites and sounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 2,300m climbing day through the tea plantations (with life saving cake) and finishing with a very special evening in Nuwar Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, what gent! The best so far! Suresh, made us all feel incredibly welcome, nothing was too much and always had a plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets very hot, sun tan lotion, water! But mostly Suresh has it covered with plenty of tea (ginger beer, roti and cake) stops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Sri Lanka was fantastic, the people are wonderful. I loved the trip from the moment I got on Sri Lankan Airways, wishing I could repeat it over again on the last day. Thanks you Suresh.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    David Brady

    Maximum damage, maximum fun!

    This was my first group ride and, as such, didn’t know what to expect. However, from arrival at the airport and meeting the group leader, it was obvious that this was going to be fun and a little challenging at times, mainly due to the heat and humidity. I have to say that the whole trip was very well planned out, with plenty of good cycling, fabulous sightseeing, food and drink sampling, with friendly locals along the way. Many happy memories, new friends and a longing for the next trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several of the amazing sights, wonderful temples, massive variety of great food; some good challenges on the bike too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is one of those people who make managing a group of 16 people, bikes, itineraries etc look easy. Calm assurance and reassurance, if need be, along with a permanent smile and sense of humour, helped us all through the cycling even when the going got a bit tough. He’s a great asset to Exodus and I’d recommend him for ‘tour guide of the year’ without a moments hesitation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and pedals if possible, as this can make a big difference to you; keep well hydrated throughout and eat sensibly.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Carol Merritt

    Cycle the Backroads of Sri Lanka

    Fantastic! Sri Lanka is a hidden gem, a beautiful country and to explore it on 2 wheels you see it at it's best. I've enjoyed all our cycle trips with Exodus, but this one in particular benefits from door to door cycling and it's only the transfer from Colombo airport/return which you have to jump into the minibus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the river bank watching families swimming, women washing their clothes and water buffalo further downstream, not to mention all the wildlife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was brilliant. I couldn't believe our luck as he has previously won Guide of the Year. Superb and the best leader in our experience. We will vote for him as Guide of the Year and hope he wins again. He couldn't do enough for the whole group and had his eye on personal attention to detail with each individual.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it, you'll love this trip.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Ronald McAulay

    Backroads of Sri Lanka

    Sri Lanka is a really beautiful country and there is no better way to see it than on a bike with a group of like minded people cycling alongside. This was a special holiday full of interesting and fascinating things to see. It offered a real mix of both challenging and easy enjoyable cycling. Our guide Suresh was nothing short of marvellous. His attention to detail combined with his sense of humour and his care to make sure we always had what we needed was exceptional. I have been on three Exodus holidays so far and this one must surely be the best so far....guaranteed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While on safari we were lucky enough to witness a leapord and her cub come walking towards us to take water at a waterhole. They drank while watching out for danger and then wandered back off into the wild. The moment lasted about five minutes or so and was simply magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was marvellous. His attention to detail combined with a great sense of humour was excellent. He went the extra mile on many occasions to make the holiday memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On one or two of the days the cycling is quite challenging where long distances have been combined with significant hill climbs and very hot temperatures. The bus is always available to get onto but don’t underestimate the effort required to make it to the end or top. This holiday is rated a four in effort level and having completed two other cycling holidays that were rated threes, I can confirm that there is a difference!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday was a special one - made so by the combination of a number of things: a good mix of people; a beautiful country; some challenging but very enjoyable cycling; fantastic weather; a wonderful support team; excellent organisation; fascinating things to see; good accommodation and a great guide.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Eileen Phillips

    Cycle the Backroads of Sri Lanka

    An amazing experience with Exodus & Suresh as tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The challenging ride to Nuwara Eliya & feeling a great sense of achievement. Visiting the impressive rock cut Buddha statues at Buduruvagela.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is a Legend. His deep passion for his country & wealth of knowledge ( historically & geographically) made the trip a memorable experience. Suresh greeted us every morning with a broad Sri Lankan smile & would give a short briefing before guiding us safely through the back roads to the next overnight stop. With Suresh's expert guidance we also visited World Heritage sites, spotted animals on Safari & was delighted by his culinary skills in the kitchen. During the trip any requests were dealt with immediately- organising massages, early morning runs, bird watching at dawn, to name a few. Nothing was too much trouble. Suresh is one in a million & a first class Tour Leader for Exodus in Sri Lanka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good fitness level is definitely required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend the trip but would have preferred the premium option.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Sarah Hamer

    Backroads of Sri Lanka - cycle

    To see Sri Lanka on two wheels was just the most amazing experience for us. Cycling through tea plantations, rice paddies, local villages and wildlife sanctuaries. A stunning country with the friendliest of people. Being part of a group made the holiday like one big party with friendly banter from breakfast through to lights out in the evening. Early starts met with the usual groan but what a way to spend the day flying along the roads enjoying all the sights along the way. A well organised trip with an excellent leader in Suresh. Nothing is too much trouble. A must do for the those out there thinking about your next Exodus adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunset and the sunrise the next morning in Ella listening to the call to prayer across the valley with the mist swirling around the mountains. Peaceful and just magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    How many words can we use. Suresh. Amazing. Witty. Helpful. Great listener. Entertainer. Historian. Super fit. Playful. Comedian. Kind. Considerate. Our group were 16 who became one large family all of us chatting and having the best time with Suresh being the party organiser. A great trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it and ask for Suresh as your tour leader. Nothing is stopping you. This has to be the only way to see this beautiful country. Get out there and see it.
Call us on 020 8772 3936