Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jan Challis

    Fabulous trip

    This was one of the best trip I have done. Its a fabulous mix of cycling, culture and wildlife/flora and you get to stay in some lovely hotels and guest houses. Its pretty full-on - every day was packed out - and the cycling is challenging. Its hillier than I anticipated (or undulating inclines as our guide described them) and although we used back roads they are still very busy with traffic. Our group was small (8 people) and ranged from good club cyclists to occasional/recreational cyclists. We stayed together as a group most of the time and had numerous snack water breaks

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many great moments on this trip.... Attending the ceremony in the Temple of the Tooth in Kandy was very moving. Seeing wild elephants on the road as we cycled through the jungle. The fantastic massage in the spice gardens after a long days ride. Ruwan's cookery demonstration and the feast we enjoyed afterwards. All the birds, wildlife and beautiful flowers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan and his team were fantastic - I can't praise them enough. Ruwan's knowledge of the wildlife/fauna and enthusiasm to share the culture of their country was infectious. Nothing was too much trouble and they all went out of their way to ensure we had an amazing experience. It's the little things that make such a different. Coming round the corner and seeing the drivers at the side of the road with a huge smiles and plates of fresh fruit. Taking time on the free day to show us around Kandy. Organising meals at some lovely local restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take extra cycling kit - there's not a lot of time to wash stuff and in the humidity it doesn't dry quickly. We opted out of the long ride from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya and got the train, which was a wonderful experience. We travelled 2nd class which was crowded, takes hours and you risk not having a seat but the views are fantastic and having the chance to talk to local people and share food was very special.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jo Thomas

    Sri Lanka cycling

    We’ve done several moderate cycling trips with Exodus and I was working up to this one, as I loved the sound of the itinerary from first starting to research where we might like to travel. I’m glad I did some less challenging ones first, and I was definitely the weakest link on this trip in our group of fit and rapid (mostly) club cyclists. But I was (they said) never far behind, I completed every last inch of the trip and was extremely proud of myself for completing the Nuwara Eliya ascent, albeit slowly. All this was made possible by Suresh and his fabulous team and the support and encouragement of the group (especially the patient and long suffering Ken who stuck with me at the back and talked me up the hills). We loved Sri Lanka and the insight we gained from Suresh, and his determination to make sure we discovered his country to the fullest extent. He certainly deserves his title as Tour Guide of the Year. Guaranteed (his buzz word). The trip was well organised, we were lucky to be able to stay in some of the accommodation which we were told is not always possible. All in all a varied, enjoyable and very rewarding trip. What on earth do we do next to follow that ? Thank you Exodus. Thankyou Suresh.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlights for me were the Hill Club hotel in Nuwara Eliya where they brought us almond tea as we limped in after 11hours out and about. And a hot water bottle for our beds. Climbing Sigiriya rock. And the multi faith temple visit. And the visit to a family home for dinner in Ella. The jeep safari was also very memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a round pin adaptor, and a double/triple extension lead to use with it. Most hotels have UK style plug sockets but some of the more rural hotels do not and we weren’t always able to borrow an adaptor.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jan Ellis

    Backroads of Sri Lanka - Fantastic!

    We loved our trip to Sri Lanka and would not hesitate to recommend it. The itinerary is very well planned and there is a really good mix of cycling and sightseeing.  We visited temples, caves, a tea factory, a gem factory, a spice garden (complete with massage), several wildlife parks and walked up the famous Sigirya Rock as well as stopping at a number of very individual refreshment stops.  The accommodation was good throughout as was the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to pick one but all 16 of our group completing the hill climb to Nuwara Eliya, seeing the elephants at Yala national park, climbing Sigiriya Rock, meeting the local people at some of the tea stops were all highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What really made the trip special was the leader, Suresh.  He has led this trip over 70 times so much of the itinerary had been developed by him, including some really special stops at the houses of local people who Suresh – and successive groups of Exodus cyclists – have been able to support and help through difficult times.  Wherever we went it was clear that he was greatly respected and no problem was too big for him to sort – and we threw a few at him just test him out!  He is very proud of his country and passionate about telling you its history, its wildlife and its culture – his knowledge is amazing!  He really brought our various stops to life and they would have meant much less to us without his guidance.  He was also amazingly adept at spotting wildlife in the bushes while cycling along at speed!  And all combined with a very engaging personality and some enduring catch-phrases. The support crew of Sandy, Upali and Lasa were also excellent, making sure we always had plenty of water, guiding us at junctions and making sure our luggage was always ready and waiting for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is action-packed with some long days in the saddle so a reasonable level of fitness is advisable to make the most of it. I would advise taking some energy gels and electrolyte tablets to help with hydration. Be prepared for cycling in heavy traffic in some of the towns, particulary Kandy, however we had no problems and there’s always the option of hopping on the bus. There were a lot of dogs around but we didn’t find them aggressive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling is a great way to see country, starting in the Cultural Triangle with rides to the Buddha caves at Dambulla and the complex of temples en route to Polonnaruwa and then climbing up through tea plantations in the hill country before a long ride south to the coast. A very memorable trip made special by the excellent leader and a great group.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    keith sawyers

    Superb action packed trip

    This was simply the best trip we have been on. We loved every element. Cycling through the back roads allows you to get under the skin of the country and the people - both were simply beautiful! It was a triumph of organisation and was superbly led.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had it's own highlight but spending 2 nights at a beach hotel on the Indian Ocean at the end of the holiday after many days of tough riding was particularly memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was simply superb. Knowledgable, organised, personable with a great sense of humour. The best we have ever experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worthwhile to come with a reasonable level of fitness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get yourself there - you will not regret it - magical trip!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Satu Hietanen

    Great cycling, beautiful scenery and good food

    This is one of the best cycling trips I've done. There's a good variety on cycling terrain (mountains, backroads, beach, towns, villages) and the scenery is great throughout the trip. And you see a lot of wildlife on and off the bike. Plus lots of temples to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hill climb to Nuwara Eliya. Visiting local people on our tea breaks and learning more about their way of life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh and his team were excellent. Everything run smoothly throughout the trip. Suresh's local knowledge taught us a lot of the Sri Lanka life that you don't find in guide books. And he always had a surprise (a positive one) up his sleeve... And the best curry - guaranteed!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the local bus drivers... They drive very fast and rather close to you... When in doubt, wait and let them pass. The weather is very hot and humid - remember to stay well hydrated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it - it's a great trip overall!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Barry Price

    excelent trip

    This was a very well organised trip. where the guide could not do more to help people. it is good that from when you get the bikes to when you finish there are no transfers, you can cycle all the way. Plus the scenery is very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling through the back roads and small villages

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very helpful especially with my food restriction ( being a coeliac)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot so drink a lot
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Angela Jackson

    Probably one of the best cycling holiday in the world!

    Two weeks of full on great cycling and when we were not cycling we were climbing rocks, learning how to cook, going on safari, walking round a tea factory, having a massage, learning about the spices of Sri Lanka, swimming in sea, watching whales, elephants, coloured birds and wandering around a temple or two. No time to spare and always something to see or do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hill climb to Nuwara Eliya, the birds and wildlife we saw when cycling, the incredible scenery and climbing the Sigirya Rock. But I particularly like the way this trip supports local families and businesses who provided some of the tea stops and the back stories provided by Suresh on how they came to do this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh makes it his mission to ensure that everyone has a good time all the time. He had everything covered, making sure that your luggage gets to your room, that everyone gets the best room, the best view, the best bike, the best tea and the best curry - guaranteed!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get yourself fit so you can enjoy the cycling. There are lots of dogs as mentioned in other reviews but we did become expert at spotting the ones likley to give chase from those happy to lie perilously close to the edge of the road. Unfortunately Sri Lanka does not come out well in dog welfare. There is a good variety of food and not all of it is curry. A breathing mask would have been a help to deal with the vehicle pollution in Kandy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it and enjoy.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Claire Tritton

    The perfect way to see Sri Lanka...

    A fabulous trip - cycling is the perfect way to experience Sri Lanka. The trip is varied, interesting, enjoyable and fun. Loved it all - the local tea stops, the wildlife, the scenery, the food, the people, the temples.... A wonderful experience in a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights it's hard to choose.... Seeing wildlife as you pedalled along was incredible, peacocks, kingfishers, monitor lizards, monkeys and even an elephant and crocodile and just so many amazing birds I'd never seen before. The people... So warm, welcoming and friendly. I will remember the beautiful smiles, the greetings of good morning whilst pedalling through villages and the children excitedly running to wave and greet us. Visiting Sigiriya Rock, Dambulla Rock Temple, the long scenic downhills, the beautiful hill country area and seeing a leopard at Yala national park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb... Best guide I have ever had. Suresh gives 100% every single day. He is extremely organised and very aware of group and individual needs and works tirelessly to ensure everyone is having a good trip. Suresh has a good sense of humour and he goes the extra mile to give the group so many wonderful experiences. He is very knowledgable and passionate about his country - you learn so much about culture and wildlife. An outstanding guide - we were very grateful for his enthusiasm, endless energy and for making it such a fun, enjoyable and interesting trip. Also he gave us some great advice for our extended time in Sri Lanka. Thank you Suresh!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of dogs around... Some just sleep on the road, others wander in front of you, some just bark as you pass by but you occasionally get one that will chase you. We didn't have any problems at all but if you are a person who is really scared of dogs this might be an issue.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any extra days to extend your holiday in Sri Lanka I would recommend it. Taking a few days to chill out after the trip was really good.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Colin Rugg

    A fantastic fortnight in Sri Lanka

    Sri Lanka is a beautiful country. The people are friendly, the food is excellent, the scenery is fantastic and the history and culture are amazing. Cycling on the backroads gives you a chance to experience all of this first hand. A truly memorable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was something positive every day but for me completing the hill climb followed by fantastic descents with stunning views was a highlight. The wildlife was amazing - and not just in the National Park! I have also been inspired to get creative in the kitchen!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exodus should consider itself lucky to have Suresh as a tour leader. He is the kind of guy who even though you may have only just met you feel like you've known him for ages. He looks after everybody and you know that he is putting his customers first. He has a great sense of humour and puts everyone at ease but behind the scenes you know he is working tirelessly to make sure everything is just right. He also has great knowledge of the history and culture of Sri Lanka which made the trip even more interesting. The rest of the team, Upali, Charmara and Tissa also did a fantastic job. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In some places there are dogs. The vast majority are asleep but occasionally one might bark and give a bit of a chase. They are not a big problem, just something to be aware of if they make you nervous. There is a lot of noisy traffic in Kandy. If you don't like cycling in heavy traffic with car horns blaring out then you might want to consider going in the support vehicle for the first couple of miles on that day. But we stick together and go slowly slowly and we all made it! It can get a bit chilly at 2000m altitude so you might want to consider packing a light fleece/sweatshirt.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though I mentioned dogs and the traffic in Kandy, for me personally these weren't a problem and just added to the fun. Don't worry if you don't like spicy food. There are milder options or even non-spicy options available. There's a lot more on this trip than just cycling. There are plenty of little trips and surprises organised by Suresh which help make the holiday a great experience.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Robert Alexander

    Sri Lankan Highways and Byways

    A well balanced programme of moderate and sometimes very challenging cycling with lots of cultural interest as well. Our group of 16 like minded people were challenged by some rather unseasonable wet weather during the first week but in many respects this made the trip even more memorable. The cycling was a particular challenge due to the volume of traffic in towns ( lorries,vans,motorcycles and an abundance of tuk tuks ) as well as the notorious hill climb to Nuwara Eliya ( which we completed in very heavy rain ) ; however, I think we all went home feeling a great sense of achievement . Retrospective pleasure ? I was pleased to see that Exodus are supporting small enterprises - our stops for tea, bananas,roti etc were a delight. The hotels were mostly of exceptional standard and our meals at hotels and local restaurants were brilliant.Perhaps I'm biased being a big fan of spicy food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the hill climb to Nuwara Eliya followed by our stay at the Hill Club hotel . The hill country ride to Ella and our subsequent walk to the stunning Ella Gap viewpoint. I also particularly enjoyed the day when we descended 1000 metres in altitude and on to Tissimaharama over a distance of 102 kms.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is a top guy. No wonder he's won the Exodus leaders award previously. He must be in line again. Everything was well organised with intelligent alterations to the itinerary to cater for the wet weather we encountered. Nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately Suresh sustained an injury to his ankle which prevented him from cycling for a few days. I think that many leaders would have handed over to someone else but he carried on ( bandaged and using a crutch ) and still with a smile, despite the fact that he was in pain. Brilliant! Mention should also be made of the back up team to include Upali the driver and Sandy the mechanic. Hard working, helpful and friendly people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for traffic fumes in built up areas - particularly Kandy. I saw one motorcyclist using a face mask but that was it . If face masks for cycling work ( I'm certainly no expert on this ) it might be worth considering using one at times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lovely country and friendly people. it was a very memorable trip made more so by the excellent leader and a very special group who all 'got on' extremely well.
Call us on 020 8772 3936