Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bruce Mills

    The Best So Far!

    A fairly challenging cycle tour of Sri Lanka, taking in some of the culture, wild life and sites and sounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 2,300m climbing day through the tea plantations (with life saving cake) and finishing with a very special evening in Nuwar Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, what gent! The best so far! Suresh, made us all feel incredibly welcome, nothing was too much and always had a plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets very hot, sun tan lotion, water! But mostly Suresh has it covered with plenty of tea (ginger beer, roti and cake) stops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Sri Lanka was fantastic, the people are wonderful. I loved the trip from the moment I got on Sri Lankan Airways, wishing I could repeat it over again on the last day. Thanks you Suresh.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bruce Mills

    The Best So Far!

    A fairly challenging cycle tour of Sri Lanka, taking in some of the culture, wild life and sites and sounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 2,300m climbing day through the tea plantations (with life saving cake) and finishing with a very special evening in Nuwar Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, what gent! The best so far! Suresh, made us all feel incredibly welcome, nothing was too much and always had a plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets very hot, sun tan lotion, water! But mostly Suresh has it covered with plenty of tea (ginger beer, roti and cake) stops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Sri Lanka was fantastic, the people are wonderful. I loved the trip from the moment I got on Sri Lankan Airways, wishing I could repeat it over again on the last day. Thanks you Suresh.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    David Brady

    Maximum damage, maximum fun!

    This was my first group ride and, as such, didn’t know what to expect. However, from arrival at the airport and meeting the group leader, it was obvious that this was going to be fun and a little challenging at times, mainly due to the heat and humidity. I have to say that the whole trip was very well planned out, with plenty of good cycling, fabulous sightseeing, food and drink sampling, with friendly locals along the way. Many happy memories, new friends and a longing for the next trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several of the amazing sights, wonderful temples, massive variety of great food; some good challenges on the bike too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is one of those people who make managing a group of 16 people, bikes, itineraries etc look easy. Calm assurance and reassurance, if need be, along with a permanent smile and sense of humour, helped us all through the cycling even when the going got a bit tough. He’s a great asset to Exodus and I’d recommend him for ‘tour guide of the year’ without a moments hesitation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and pedals if possible, as this can make a big difference to you; keep well hydrated throughout and eat sensibly.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Carol Merritt

    Cycle the Backroads of Sri Lanka

    Fantastic! Sri Lanka is a hidden gem, a beautiful country and to explore it on 2 wheels you see it at it's best. I've enjoyed all our cycle trips with Exodus, but this one in particular benefits from door to door cycling and it's only the transfer from Colombo airport/return which you have to jump into the minibus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the river bank watching families swimming, women washing their clothes and water buffalo further downstream, not to mention all the wildlife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was brilliant. I couldn't believe our luck as he has previously won Guide of the Year. Superb and the best leader in our experience. We will vote for him as Guide of the Year and hope he wins again. He couldn't do enough for the whole group and had his eye on personal attention to detail with each individual.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it, you'll love this trip.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Ronald McAulay

    Backroads of Sri Lanka

    Sri Lanka is a really beautiful country and there is no better way to see it than on a bike with a group of like minded people cycling alongside. This was a special holiday full of interesting and fascinating things to see. It offered a real mix of both challenging and easy enjoyable cycling. Our guide Suresh was nothing short of marvellous. His attention to detail combined with his sense of humour and his care to make sure we always had what we needed was exceptional. I have been on three Exodus holidays so far and this one must surely be the best so far....guaranteed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While on safari we were lucky enough to witness a leapord and her cub come walking towards us to take water at a waterhole. They drank while watching out for danger and then wandered back off into the wild. The moment lasted about five minutes or so and was simply magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was marvellous. His attention to detail combined with a great sense of humour was excellent. He went the extra mile on many occasions to make the holiday memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On one or two of the days the cycling is quite challenging where long distances have been combined with significant hill climbs and very hot temperatures. The bus is always available to get onto but don’t underestimate the effort required to make it to the end or top. This holiday is rated a four in effort level and having completed two other cycling holidays that were rated threes, I can confirm that there is a difference!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday was a special one - made so by the combination of a number of things: a good mix of people; a beautiful country; some challenging but very enjoyable cycling; fantastic weather; a wonderful support team; excellent organisation; fascinating things to see; good accommodation and a great guide.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Eileen Phillips

    Cycle the Backroads of Sri Lanka

    An amazing experience with Exodus & Suresh as tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The challenging ride to Nuwara Eliya & feeling a great sense of achievement. Visiting the impressive rock cut Buddha statues at Buduruvagela.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is a Legend. His deep passion for his country & wealth of knowledge ( historically & geographically) made the trip a memorable experience. Suresh greeted us every morning with a broad Sri Lankan smile & would give a short briefing before guiding us safely through the back roads to the next overnight stop. With Suresh's expert guidance we also visited World Heritage sites, spotted animals on Safari & was delighted by his culinary skills in the kitchen. During the trip any requests were dealt with immediately- organising massages, early morning runs, bird watching at dawn, to name a few. Nothing was too much trouble. Suresh is one in a million & a first class Tour Leader for Exodus in Sri Lanka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good fitness level is definitely required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend the trip but would have preferred the premium option.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Sarah Hamer

    Backroads of Sri Lanka - cycle

    To see Sri Lanka on two wheels was just the most amazing experience for us. Cycling through tea plantations, rice paddies, local villages and wildlife sanctuaries. A stunning country with the friendliest of people. Being part of a group made the holiday like one big party with friendly banter from breakfast through to lights out in the evening. Early starts met with the usual groan but what a way to spend the day flying along the roads enjoying all the sights along the way. A well organised trip with an excellent leader in Suresh. Nothing is too much trouble. A must do for the those out there thinking about your next Exodus adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunset and the sunrise the next morning in Ella listening to the call to prayer across the valley with the mist swirling around the mountains. Peaceful and just magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    How many words can we use. Suresh. Amazing. Witty. Helpful. Great listener. Entertainer. Historian. Super fit. Playful. Comedian. Kind. Considerate. Our group were 16 who became one large family all of us chatting and having the best time with Suresh being the party organiser. A great trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it and ask for Suresh as your tour leader. Nothing is stopping you. This has to be the only way to see this beautiful country. Get out there and see it.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Diane Smith

    Cycling and so much more.

    This is a cycling trip for anyone of average cycling ability, or above, who also wishes to sample all the culture sights, sounds and tastes that beautiful Sri Lanka has to offer. Accommodation varies from simple guest houses to nice hotels, but it is as stated in the trip notes and perfectly adequate in all instances to refresh and rest after a fantastic day. The food is delicious, be it served in a street café or hotel buffet, and options for those who don't like their food too hot are always available.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every minute spent cycling through this country is inspirational. The scenery and wildlife are awesome and the friendly locals (in particular the children) ensure you are never lonely. They will take time out of their daily schedule to wave, cheer and speak as you pass; making you feel humbled to be so welcomed to their beautiful country. Time taken to enjoy a fantastic jeep safari in Yala National Park, climb Lion Rock at Sigiriya, go whale watching and explore the old towns of Kandy and Galle are also extremely memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have never travelled with any other tour guide who commits himself so totally to ensuring that his clients have a fantastic holiday in the way that our guide Suresh Bandara did. His love and knowledge of his country shine through and he shares this with the group in the most enthusiastic and entertaining manner. He constantly goes the extra mile to cater for the individuals interests (for example organising two extra early morning bird walks for interested parties) and has a knack for identifying when a special occasion is being celebrated and organising a special surprise. The safety and comfort of the group are clearly paramount to him and cycling is always undertaken at a pace to suit everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light. Apart from your cycling clothes you don't need a lot more. The Sri Lankan people are quite reserved so shorts which go below the knee and long light trousers are more useful than very short shorts when not cycling! You will also need long sleeves and trousers to protect against the insects at night in some locations. It is fun to haggle the price when shopping in Kandy and Galle, however you will find the hotel shop in Kandy is very good value for anything from jewellery to trousers and they are prepared to barter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will be hard pushed to find a cycling tour which has more of an impact on you than this one. If it is your first cycling tour go for it. You will be so well looked after and encouraged that you will return home determined to book your next one.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martin Pilcher

    "Best holiday so far.........guaranteed!"

    A great trip that had everything including dramatic scenery, lush countryside, wonderful cycling, adventure in a safari park, beautiful beaches and of course lots of tea!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We really enjoyed the safari and seeing elephants, crocodiles and leopard in their natural habitat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh took care of our every need from the moment we arrived and met us at the airport. He goes above and beyond in ensuring that we all had a fantastic experience, taking any stress away from us so we could enjoy every moment. His excellent relationships with the locals tells you that this is someone who is well respected among the community, which in turn means you get the best out of seeing how the people live and work.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Well everyone talks about that hill! My advice is to enjoy it - take it at your pace and see how you get on. If you are an accomplished rider then you will love it, if not, then it is a great challenge! There is of course the support bus always at hand. There is also the alternative of the train, for which 1st class tickets need to be booked months in advance. 2nd class tickets are available on the day but be prepared to stand the whole way! The tea and water stops are great but do not include electrolytes so you might want to take your own.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our second Exodus cycling holiday and we are looking to book for 2019 but this will be hard to beat......................or will it??
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Jane Owen

    Cycling the friendliest island in the world

    Highly recommend this trip as the best way to see Sri Lanka. Not only is it a most beautiful country that has such varied landscapes and sites to see each day, but you do it all by 2 wheels with very little overland journeys in a minibus. Its also a fantastic mix of cycling and sightseeing. What's more the local people are so friendly everywhere you go...could it be the friendliest island in the world?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me personally my greatest achievement and moment of inspiration was climbing Sigiriya rock rather than the cycle challenges that I didn't find too challenging, as I had to conquer my fear of heights for the climb! Really thanks to Neelaka our guide and the rest of the group who were so calming and encouraging. I am so glad I got to the top as the 360 views of Sri Lanka were just stunning and I will never forget this moment in Sri Lanka. My other great moment was the cycling moment and satisfaction of reaching the top tea hills at Nuwara Eliya after the all day ascent from Kandy. The faster cyclists and the guides cheering everyone in at the top was memorable as was the relief of arriving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Neelaka was outstanding. I have always found the standard of Exodus leaders good and have been with other companies that were good, but Neelaka was a cut above the rest. He was such a great mix of always so professional but letting his fun and sunny personality shine through and was always generous with his time to impart his immense knowledge and insight about the country, its culture and its places. He dealt with any concerns so calmly and efficiently and together with his team got the entire group of 16 people (no less) of quite varied cycling abilities, round the country with no problems whatsoever, with a smile on everyone faces and great memories. He was ensured we had memorable tea and lunch stops - a fantastic variety of local cafes with delicious local savoury snacks, local families houses and many treats of fresh coconuts and ice cream! Most people had done a few trips in their time but the general consensus was that Neelaka was everything you could want in a guide and more. The cycle guide and mechanic Sandy was also excellent in looking after everyone's cycle needs and supporting all 16 cyclists.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its worth getting cycle fit before this trip as it is very hot cycling which can make the distances feel longer. I also found that it is OK wearing lycra in Sri Lanka - they are used to weirdly dressed cyclists by now! But slap on the sun block and take a hat for when you are sightseeing off the bike. The food is generally amazing but some of the hotels and restaurants get a bit repetitive on offering the same curries.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm now just trying to plan when I can return!
Call us on 020 8772 3936