Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jan Ellis

    Backroads of Sri Lanka - Fantastic!

    We loved our trip to Sri Lanka and would not hesitate to recommend it. The itinerary is very well planned and there is a really good mix of cycling and sightseeing.  We visited temples, caves, a tea factory, a gem factory, a spice garden (complete with massage), several wildlife parks and walked up the famous Sigirya Rock as well as stopping at a number of very individual refreshment stops.  The accommodation was good throughout as was the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to pick one but all 16 of our group completing the hill climb to Nuwara Eliya, seeing the elephants at Yala national park, climbing Sigiriya Rock, meeting the local people at some of the tea stops were all highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What really made the trip special was the leader, Suresh.  He has led this trip over 70 times so much of the itinerary had been developed by him, including some really special stops at the houses of local people who Suresh – and successive groups of Exodus cyclists – have been able to support and help through difficult times.  Wherever we went it was clear that he was greatly respected and no problem was too big for him to sort – and we threw a few at him just test him out!  He is very proud of his country and passionate about telling you its history, its wildlife and its culture – his knowledge is amazing!  He really brought our various stops to life and they would have meant much less to us without his guidance.  He was also amazingly adept at spotting wildlife in the bushes while cycling along at speed!  And all combined with a very engaging personality and some enduring catch-phrases. The support crew of Sandy, Upali and Lasa were also excellent, making sure we always had plenty of water, guiding us at junctions and making sure our luggage was always ready and waiting for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is action-packed with some long days in the saddle so a reasonable level of fitness is advisable to make the most of it. I would advise taking some energy gels and electrolyte tablets to help with hydration. Be prepared for cycling in heavy traffic in some of the towns, particulary Kandy, however we had no problems and there’s always the option of hopping on the bus. There were a lot of dogs around but we didn’t find them aggressive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling is a great way to see country, starting in the Cultural Triangle with rides to the Buddha caves at Dambulla and the complex of temples en route to Polonnaruwa and then climbing up through tea plantations in the hill country before a long ride south to the coast. A very memorable trip made special by the excellent leader and a great group.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    keith sawyers

    Superb action packed trip

    This was simply the best trip we have been on. We loved every element. Cycling through the back roads allows you to get under the skin of the country and the people - both were simply beautiful! It was a triumph of organisation and was superbly led.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had it's own highlight but spending 2 nights at a beach hotel on the Indian Ocean at the end of the holiday after many days of tough riding was particularly memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was simply superb. Knowledgable, organised, personable with a great sense of humour. The best we have ever experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worthwhile to come with a reasonable level of fitness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get yourself there - you will not regret it - magical trip!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Satu Hietanen

    Great cycling, beautiful scenery and good food

    This is one of the best cycling trips I've done. There's a good variety on cycling terrain (mountains, backroads, beach, towns, villages) and the scenery is great throughout the trip. And you see a lot of wildlife on and off the bike. Plus lots of temples to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hill climb to Nuwara Eliya. Visiting local people on our tea breaks and learning more about their way of life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh and his team were excellent. Everything run smoothly throughout the trip. Suresh's local knowledge taught us a lot of the Sri Lanka life that you don't find in guide books. And he always had a surprise (a positive one) up his sleeve... And the best curry - guaranteed!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the local bus drivers... They drive very fast and rather close to you... When in doubt, wait and let them pass. The weather is very hot and humid - remember to stay well hydrated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it - it's a great trip overall!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Barry Price

    excelent trip

    This was a very well organised trip. where the guide could not do more to help people. it is good that from when you get the bikes to when you finish there are no transfers, you can cycle all the way. Plus the scenery is very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling through the back roads and small villages

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very helpful especially with my food restriction ( being a coeliac)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot so drink a lot
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Angela Jackson

    Probably one of the best cycling holiday in the world!

    Two weeks of full on great cycling and when we were not cycling we were climbing rocks, learning how to cook, going on safari, walking round a tea factory, having a massage, learning about the spices of Sri Lanka, swimming in sea, watching whales, elephants, coloured birds and wandering around a temple or two. No time to spare and always something to see or do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hill climb to Nuwara Eliya, the birds and wildlife we saw when cycling, the incredible scenery and climbing the Sigirya Rock. But I particularly like the way this trip supports local families and businesses who provided some of the tea stops and the back stories provided by Suresh on how they came to do this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh makes it his mission to ensure that everyone has a good time all the time. He had everything covered, making sure that your luggage gets to your room, that everyone gets the best room, the best view, the best bike, the best tea and the best curry - guaranteed!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get yourself fit so you can enjoy the cycling. There are lots of dogs as mentioned in other reviews but we did become expert at spotting the ones likley to give chase from those happy to lie perilously close to the edge of the road. Unfortunately Sri Lanka does not come out well in dog welfare. There is a good variety of food and not all of it is curry. A breathing mask would have been a help to deal with the vehicle pollution in Kandy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it and enjoy.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Claire Tritton

    The perfect way to see Sri Lanka...

    A fabulous trip - cycling is the perfect way to experience Sri Lanka. The trip is varied, interesting, enjoyable and fun. Loved it all - the local tea stops, the wildlife, the scenery, the food, the people, the temples.... A wonderful experience in a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights it's hard to choose.... Seeing wildlife as you pedalled along was incredible, peacocks, kingfishers, monitor lizards, monkeys and even an elephant and crocodile and just so many amazing birds I'd never seen before. The people... So warm, welcoming and friendly. I will remember the beautiful smiles, the greetings of good morning whilst pedalling through villages and the children excitedly running to wave and greet us. Visiting Sigiriya Rock, Dambulla Rock Temple, the long scenic downhills, the beautiful hill country area and seeing a leopard at Yala national park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb... Best guide I have ever had. Suresh gives 100% every single day. He is extremely organised and very aware of group and individual needs and works tirelessly to ensure everyone is having a good trip. Suresh has a good sense of humour and he goes the extra mile to give the group so many wonderful experiences. He is very knowledgable and passionate about his country - you learn so much about culture and wildlife. An outstanding guide - we were very grateful for his enthusiasm, endless energy and for making it such a fun, enjoyable and interesting trip. Also he gave us some great advice for our extended time in Sri Lanka. Thank you Suresh!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of dogs around... Some just sleep on the road, others wander in front of you, some just bark as you pass by but you occasionally get one that will chase you. We didn't have any problems at all but if you are a person who is really scared of dogs this might be an issue.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any extra days to extend your holiday in Sri Lanka I would recommend it. Taking a few days to chill out after the trip was really good.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Colin Rugg

    A fantastic fortnight in Sri Lanka

    Sri Lanka is a beautiful country. The people are friendly, the food is excellent, the scenery is fantastic and the history and culture are amazing. Cycling on the backroads gives you a chance to experience all of this first hand. A truly memorable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was something positive every day but for me completing the hill climb followed by fantastic descents with stunning views was a highlight. The wildlife was amazing - and not just in the National Park! I have also been inspired to get creative in the kitchen!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exodus should consider itself lucky to have Suresh as a tour leader. He is the kind of guy who even though you may have only just met you feel like you've known him for ages. He looks after everybody and you know that he is putting his customers first. He has a great sense of humour and puts everyone at ease but behind the scenes you know he is working tirelessly to make sure everything is just right. He also has great knowledge of the history and culture of Sri Lanka which made the trip even more interesting. The rest of the team, Upali, Charmara and Tissa also did a fantastic job. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In some places there are dogs. The vast majority are asleep but occasionally one might bark and give a bit of a chase. They are not a big problem, just something to be aware of if they make you nervous. There is a lot of noisy traffic in Kandy. If you don't like cycling in heavy traffic with car horns blaring out then you might want to consider going in the support vehicle for the first couple of miles on that day. But we stick together and go slowly slowly and we all made it! It can get a bit chilly at 2000m altitude so you might want to consider packing a light fleece/sweatshirt.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though I mentioned dogs and the traffic in Kandy, for me personally these weren't a problem and just added to the fun. Don't worry if you don't like spicy food. There are milder options or even non-spicy options available. There's a lot more on this trip than just cycling. There are plenty of little trips and surprises organised by Suresh which help make the holiday a great experience.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Robert Alexander

    Sri Lankan Highways and Byways

    A well balanced programme of moderate and sometimes very challenging cycling with lots of cultural interest as well. Our group of 16 like minded people were challenged by some rather unseasonable wet weather during the first week but in many respects this made the trip even more memorable. The cycling was a particular challenge due to the volume of traffic in towns ( lorries,vans,motorcycles and an abundance of tuk tuks ) as well as the notorious hill climb to Nuwara Eliya ( which we completed in very heavy rain ) ; however, I think we all went home feeling a great sense of achievement . Retrospective pleasure ? I was pleased to see that Exodus are supporting small enterprises - our stops for tea, bananas,roti etc were a delight. The hotels were mostly of exceptional standard and our meals at hotels and local restaurants were brilliant.Perhaps I'm biased being a big fan of spicy food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the hill climb to Nuwara Eliya followed by our stay at the Hill Club hotel . The hill country ride to Ella and our subsequent walk to the stunning Ella Gap viewpoint. I also particularly enjoyed the day when we descended 1000 metres in altitude and on to Tissimaharama over a distance of 102 kms.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is a top guy. No wonder he's won the Exodus leaders award previously. He must be in line again. Everything was well organised with intelligent alterations to the itinerary to cater for the wet weather we encountered. Nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately Suresh sustained an injury to his ankle which prevented him from cycling for a few days. I think that many leaders would have handed over to someone else but he carried on ( bandaged and using a crutch ) and still with a smile, despite the fact that he was in pain. Brilliant! Mention should also be made of the back up team to include Upali the driver and Sandy the mechanic. Hard working, helpful and friendly people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for traffic fumes in built up areas - particularly Kandy. I saw one motorcyclist using a face mask but that was it . If face masks for cycling work ( I'm certainly no expert on this ) it might be worth considering using one at times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lovely country and friendly people. it was a very memorable trip made more so by the excellent leader and a very special group who all 'got on' extremely well.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ian Browne

    Backroads of Sri Lanka

    The Sri Lanka cycle ride was probably the most enjoyable of all my trips with Exodus of which I have completed 8

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several great moments therefore I am inclined not to nominate one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh Bandara is possibly the most accomplished bike tour guide I have traveled with who was very instrumental in adding numerous special touches to the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sri Lanka is a great journey by bike however it is perhaps the most expensive I have traveled in Asia so far.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to compliment the team behind Suresh as well this includes Upali, Vijay and our backstop cyclist Sandy
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Dave Oakes

    A wonderful cycling trip around this jewel in the Indan Ocean

    A wonderful trip around a great country brilliantly led by Suresh with his excellent team ensuring everyone got the most of the holiday. A really well put together itinerary balancing cycling, culture, wildlife and fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not easy to pick one particular highlight but with virtually no transfers we were able to take in the sights, sounds and smells (of the wonderful cooking) as we moved from place to place by bike. Whilst the cycling was tough at times there was time to see historical monuments, visit a few temples and witness the way different religions worship and prey, sit by the pool and beach, take a short hike up a mountain, watch wildlife, eat the wonderful food and of course sample the local beer! The variety has been superb - the scenery and climate changed as we explored this gem in the Indian Ocean allowing us to see paddy fields, tea plantations, wetlands, forests and more. The roads were in general pretty good - better than most backroads I cycle on in the UK - and we tended to avoid most of the traffic. The people of Sri Lanka are the icing on the cake. The children wave and say hello as you whistle past on your bike and in general we got a very warm welcome everywhere we went.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Exodus team were exceptional and its easy to see why Suresh has been recognised for his abilities. Not only did he make sure everything run like clockwork but he worked tirelessly to make sure we got every ounce of enjoyment from the trip, pulling out a few pleasant surprises along the way (I'm not going to say more - you will have to go and find out for yourselves!). Suresh was well supported by Upali, Sandy and Vijay who kept us safe, watered, fed and happy... I didn't have to pick up my suitcase for the whole trip and am still trying to work out how they found out who's bag was who's.... They clearly enjoy their jobs and it mattered to them that we had the best of holidays. Thank you so much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a brolly for the occasional shower and be prepared for some early starts.
Call us on 0208 772 3936