Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martin Mowbray

    Review

    Best Exodus tour yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personalized attention from Exodus staff

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best yet

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't consider travelling with Exodus if it cancels Cuba tours for political reasons - as is rumoured
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martin Mowbray

    Review

    Best Exodus tour yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personalized attention from Exodus staff

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best yet

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't consider travelling with Exodus if it cancels Cuba tours for political reasons - as is rumoured
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Fantastic - thoroughly recommended!

    Really interesting trip. It has a great balance with plenty of cycling but still having time to explore our destinations and some time to relax too. It's a beautiful country with friendly local people. The hotels were generally of a good standard and although 2 were not great, they certainly weren't awful. I appreciated that sometimes in getting from A to B you have to go through less developed areas. I enjoyed the food immensely, especially when we went to smaller restaurants away from the hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The local children running out to shout hello as we cycled past. Seeing elephants in the wild was pretty magical too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was no surprise to find out that Suresh is one of Exodus's top cycle leaders. Nothing was too much trouble for Suresh including tracking down clothes that people had left at hotels or cafes along the way! He was funny, sociable, totally in control of all aspects of the trip and I felt safe in his care. I should add that the whole team were great and always had a smile of their faces whilst looking after us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can't underestimate how tough the heat can be. Get as fit as you can before coming on this holiday and you will get more out of it. The tuk tuks and local buses are bonkers and you need eyes in the back of your head sometimes! Cycling through busy towns was only a very small part of the cycling but I would recommend that you feel confident cycling in heavy traffic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a wonderful trip. Best so far... guaranteed. Just book it!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Denise Collins

    Excellent

    Challenging cycling, interesting and varied, excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Achieving the climb to the Hill station

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Well organised Always professional and extremely helpful Funny Charismatic Inspirational Great integrity Thoughtful and kind
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Denise Collins

    Excellent

    Challenging cycling, interesting and varied, excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Achieving the climb to the Hill station

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Well organised Always professional and extremely helpful Funny Charismatic Inspirational Great integrity Thoughtful and kind
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Yvonne Halpin

    Amazing - highly recommend!

    I would highly recommend this tour of Sri Lanka. It was a fantastic way to see the real Sri Lanka and get to meet the local people and see how they live their lives. We NEVER went hungry! Excellent quality of food - at the hotel/lunch spots and at each tea stop. I will really miss those lemon puff biscuits :) There was a good level of diversity in the type of cycling we did. A good mix of flat roads (on main roads and dirt roads), plenty of hills (undulating and longer uphill climbs) and a couple of great long downhills back down the side of the mountain. I was not a distance cyclist before I went on this trip. I had a good base fitness (running/gym) and did about a months worth of training on a mountain bike before I went and I was able for it. A fantastic tour - do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It feels fantastic to complete 'The 2000m Climb' - it really is life saving cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide (suresh) was excellent. There was nothing he wouldn't/couldn't do. His attention to detail was fantastic. He watched everything, so much so that he was sorting issues before we even knew they were issues. He was always around when you needed him and regularly checked in with everyone on the tour to make sure we were OK and having a good time. I also must comment on the support team. Upali (bus driver), Suranga (second guide cycling) and Amitah (van driver) were always ready for us when we got to the bikes each morning. They were always smiling and even filled our water bottles! Nothing was too much trouble for them and, together with Suresh, they made an excellent team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Probably no harm to take a travel sickness tablet before you set out on the safari in Yala. It was a bumpy ride (which added to the experience). Also for women, I recommend wearing a sports bra - again, it was a bumpy ride! :)
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Rod & Mo MacInnes

    Sri Lanka With Suresh And The Team

    So many experiences in a wonderful country with such a wonderful guide - DO IT - you will not be disappointed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to 'The Hill Club' after an epic climb and with our fellow cyclists savouring that first (that day) Lion Beer!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Several years ago we we had our first cycling holiday in Vietnam and had the pleasure of being guided by 'Yan The Man' (subsequently guide of the year) on a fantastic holiday which we did not think could ever be bettered. However this year found us on our 5th cycle holiday with Exodus and Suresh and his excellent team ensured this one was the best yet! Big of frame, enthusiasm and fun Suresh was a total pleasure to be with. His love of his country and intimate knowledge of it's geography, wildlife and history ensured that he was able to give context and description for all we experienced. It was clear he was well respected in the way others interacted with him, whether hotel staff, householders or total strangers he happened upon. He was well able to gently 'crack the whip' when required and we very much knew that although it was our holiday Suresh's instructions were always for a reason, primarily our well being, safety and comfort. It was clear that Suresh cared for his guests and he was constantly checking how things were from meals, accommodation through to cycle stages and throughout put us all very much at ease knowing that there was nothing our guide would not do for us or could not fix. There are so many fond memories of Suresh; from his buffet exhortion of "Maximum Damage!" from the CD disc he gave to us all of photographs he had taken through the holiday of us and other sights, to arranging taxis once we had taken our leave of him, but the highlight was Suresh appearing at the meal table with a cake to celebrate our wedding anniversary along with framed photograph. Suresh has been conducting this tour for many years but it is the mark of the man that he has clearly never lost the the delight and 'buzz' from leading, sharing and giving.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take isotonic tabs for your water bottle together with a spare water bottle

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Suresh was well assisted by the rest of his team who were always there to assist and Serenga was awesome on his traffic stops to get us out at junctions, together with his knowledge of the flora and fauna of the country.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Simon Thomas

    A great holiday with a good mix of cycling (some tough), culture, sightseeing and team bonding.

    A great holiday with a good mix of cycling (some tough, and one day in particular-the climb to Nuwara Eliya, not for the faint hearted!) with culture, sightseeing and team bonding all thrown into the mix. But fear-not as if you don't fancy the climb then there's always the option of the train from the word go, or the ever-present bus or cycle van bringing up the rear if your just not sure and want to see how far you can get. And this is also the case on any ride on any day of course. We were lucky to have an excellent, award winning, guide but the standard generally is very high, not least because being a guide in Sri Lanka is one of the most sort after and hard to get jobs, with the result that they all take huge pride in their work. We thourougly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. Any minor issues were quickly dealt with. No major issues occurred because of the degree of organisation, planning, (by the company) and diligence on the part of our guide on the trip itself. Thoroughly recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to Nuwara Eliya!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb! (Suresh.)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this holiday!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bruce Mills

    The Best So Far!

    A fairly challenging cycle tour of Sri Lanka, taking in some of the culture, wild life and sites and sounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 2,300m climbing day through the tea plantations (with life saving cake) and finishing with a very special evening in Nuwar Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, what gent! The best so far! Suresh, made us all feel incredibly welcome, nothing was too much and always had a plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets very hot, sun tan lotion, water! But mostly Suresh has it covered with plenty of tea (ginger beer, roti and cake) stops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Sri Lanka was fantastic, the people are wonderful. I loved the trip from the moment I got on Sri Lankan Airways, wishing I could repeat it over again on the last day. Thanks you Suresh.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bruce Mills

    The Best So Far!

    A fairly challenging cycle tour of Sri Lanka, taking in some of the culture, wild life and sites and sounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 2,300m climbing day through the tea plantations (with life saving cake) and finishing with a very special evening in Nuwar Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, what gent! The best so far! Suresh, made us all feel incredibly welcome, nothing was too much and always had a plan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets very hot, sun tan lotion, water! But mostly Suresh has it covered with plenty of tea (ginger beer, roti and cake) stops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Sri Lanka was fantastic, the people are wonderful. I loved the trip from the moment I got on Sri Lankan Airways, wishing I could repeat it over again on the last day. Thanks you Suresh.
Call us on 020 8772 3936