Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Andrew Oldham

    What a Fantastic Experience

    I signed up for this on a whim, having done the standard Exodus Vietnam trip 5 years ago. I thoroughly enjoyed that trip but saw no reason to return. This trip caught my eye as it covers the bit we previously flew over and I was happy with what was repeated. I have enjoyed half day cycling trips on adventure tours but am no great cyclist. Whilst I did some training - a short ride to work most days and a longer ride every couple of weeks - I expected to retreat to the bus on occasions, particularly for uphill stretches. Friends did not think I would be able to cycle 100km..........

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the Hai Van pass having completed every available kilometre of cycling. Whilst I was a physical and emotional wreck on arrival I coul not believe what I had achieved. The cycling is very well structured and each day becomes a little harder so you build up gradually. The 100km day is actually not the toughest day as 30km is downhill from a pass that you have been largely driven up. The support from the Exodus team was superb and a major factor in my achievement- regular refreshment stops (the first hit of the ice cold lemon drink is amazing) with fruit, nuts and biscuits ensured no-one lost weight! The smiles of the staff as they directed us at junctions was great and those at the back had a great time with the engineer. The group was superb with a wide range of ages and everyone supported each other, no matter what their fitness or ability.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loc was a fantastic leader and he was brilliantly supported by an excellent team. Nothing was too much trouble and he listened to us, informed us, entertained us and organised us superbly. He is clearly an excellent cyclist and an excellent cycling trip leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The scenery and greetings from the locals make this a great trip and a great way of seeing real Vietnam. I booked an extra night at each end to give me more time in the cities. If this is to be your only trip to Vietnam then I would strongly recommend this as there is little time to do normal holiday stuff. The cycling days are long so you won't get much time in places unless you are staying for 2 nights in a place. Some practice beforehand is sensible, especially if you are not a regular exerciser/cyclist, but the support staff are great and if you are struggling they are happy for you to drop out of parts of the route. The island is a great break, all the accomodation was very pleasant (and except for the train had wifi!) and often better than pleasant. Embrace the traffic and enjoy the chaos - they drive steadily and with a lot more respect than UK drivers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes were new and excellent, take a water bottle as the bike had a holder and the staff refilled bottles left on bikes automatically. Having read a previous review I also took a velcro pannier (Decatholon sells them) and my own saddle. ATMS were easy to find but levy a charge whatever card you used.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Marilyn Scott

    Very well organise and planned. Our group was friendly and supportive

    Enjoyed every day. Great group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stepping out of my comfort zone in a supported environment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Worked well with group. Very organised .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take part in the varied experiences. Take up challenges and 😊 enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A terrific adventure, well planned, friendly group and plenty of variety. Highly recommend. Great weather and great experiences.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Nick Bamberger

    Fantastic trip to Vietnam

    Excellent trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling on the small roads and of the beaten path

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic could not have done a better job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect the unexpected. Just enjoy the journey

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Train journey is not a luxy
  • Reviewed June 2018
    A Woods

    Cycling Vietnam

    Cycling Vietnam was an amazing and fun trip from start to finish. Beautiful scenery and varied landscapes with a good mix of urban and rural cycling. Delicious food at every point. The Vietnamese could not have been more welcoming - especially the excited kids that cheered us along the country roads. The tour was well organised with team leader (Lok) and support team (Xiu, Nhan and Truong) providing outstanding service throughout. The tour covers a huge distance from south to north (with bus and train support!) and along the way we had the chance to soak up Vietnamese culture and history - paddi fields, cashew nuts, traditional fishing methods as well as the legacy of colonialism and war. The city stops varied from chocoloate-box-perfect Hoi An to cosmopolitan Hanoi and everything in between (including a few hair raising roundabouts!). The cycling was a joy throughout. A great way to visit a great country!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Helena Stage

    Vietnam Cycling Enthusiast

    This was my first trip to Vietnam and cycling the country was an amazing experience. Traveling with our local guide Son, a terrific leader who managed 16 cyclists of various abilities with good humor and patience. We stuck together through the maze of traffic, construction, honking in the midst of bustling cities and quiet and tranquil villages. The tour provided so many wonderful experiences and a very compelling story of Vietnamese culture and traditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the people to be most inspiring - they work so very hard and are accepting and welcoming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Son was top notch - very organized - he made sure everyone was safe on the ride as well as provided insights into the culture, the towns/cities that we visited. His team did everything to insure that our holiday would be memorable. Loved the fresh fruit and lemonade provided on our stops. A must to prevent dehydration. Our bus driver, van driver and mechanic....kudos to them for working 24/7 keeping up with all of our activities and making sure we were comfortable and our bikes in good shape.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For anyone who has not been to Asia, Vietnam is so very special. It is perhaps not the 5 star beauty of Bali or the majesty of Angkor Wat or have the many awesome temples of Thailand, but it's own special charm grows on you as you travel through the country. Ha Long Bay!!! Whale Island ...two special places for me. The cycling was harder than expected mostly due to the heat and humidity. Also the traffic and noise in the busy cities may make it more difficult for some cyclists. I would definitely recommend training as we had some time constraints to finish each day's ride so that we could make it to our final day's destination.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As many others have said...just do it... this tour is designed to experience Vietnam with such a local level and feel. The tour only uses local Vietnamese companies and I found that to be so valuable to have our tourist dollars go to the local people.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    LINDA REID

    CYCLING HO CHI MIN TO HANOI

    Cycling Vietnam was an excellent way of seeing the countryside and meeting the local Vietnamese people who were extremely friendly and always willing to help. The cycling involved flat, undulating and hilly sections so there was a good mix and the road surfaces were all remarkably good. The guide Lam gave you the opportunity to cycle at your own speed, with plenty of stops for rehydration and refuelling as it was incredibly hot and humid. At any junction the bus or the truck was there to point you in the right direction. It was extremely well organised and everything went like clockwork from start to finish. We were well looked after and well fed. The countryside varied from paddy fields to more mountainous areas which were green and lush, but not as picturesque as I had anticipated. We had to spend a fair amount of time on the bus, due to the large distances we had to cover, however, we would never has seen or done so much without doing so. The bus was comfortable with plenty of room for us to spread out.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay was quite amazing and we had a lovely over night trip on a boat, we went sea kayaking which was great fun. We had a trip out to an island TITOP ISLAND, and had fantastic views of the bay from the top. Cycling up the HAI VAN PASS was also a great experience and seeing everyone completing the ride when it was 33C. The group was excellent and we had lots of fun and laughs along the way, so that made the trip for me, along with sights and sounds of Vietnam.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam our group leader was just excellent - so organised, pleasant, cheerful, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble for him. The mechanic Y was brilliant - the bikes were well maintained and kept clean, if there was a problem it was sorted immediately. The truck and bus drivers were always there to lend a hand, giving out drinks and food and always smiling. A great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to do some cycling before you go as it is harder when conditions are hot and humid, especially if you want to climb the HAI VAN PASS - a challenging 10km climb. Be prepared for crazy drivers both cars and scooters - there are thousands of scooters going in any direction and popping out from side roads, riding in the opposite direction so you have to be very careful on all roads, especially in busy cities. Not for the faint hearted. However, it is Asia and anything goes. If you want to spend time in Hanoi book an extra day, as we didn't really have time to explore the city.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall the trip was very good and I thoroughly enjoyed the cycling. However, the day we cycled in HUE, a very large populated city with thousands of scooters and cars going in all directions, I found extremely dangerous and very unpleasant and was glad when we were off the bike. One of our group had a very unfortunate accident and came off and fractured her arm. Our accommodation was excellent, although I wasn't too impressed with it on Whale Island due to the amount of ants in the room which was a bit off putting. Snorkelling off Whale Island was very disappointing, the water was a bit murky and we didn't see many fish - I've seen more in a fish tank, plus there was a lot of litter on the sea bed and at times floating on the water surface. Also the ladder on the boat was not the safest as the rungs were not flat for your feet and climbing into the boat proved to be a challenge!!!! However, the water was warm and it was good fun, and the crew provided us with a lovely lunch. It was also disappointing to see so much litter at road sides and in the water, even at Halong Bay, but perhaps that's inevitable with the large number of tourist boats. Cycling in Vietnam was very interesting and a good experience. I learned a lot about the Vietnam war, the Vietnamese culture. The CHI CHU tunnels was a very worthwhile trip. The Vietnamese are very friendly and welcoming. Eating out was extremely cheap, as were clothes and souvenirs.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Paul Martin

    Start to Finish Delight

    The trip exceeded my expectations due to the fine(Hot!)weather we enjoyed.The wonderful nature of the Vietnamese folk,the quality and attention to detail of our support team,plenty of refreshment/regrouping stops.The team leaders desire to ensure we learned a little of the history,good and bad,of his homeland and the direction it was heading in these more modern times. As well as the above,the hotels were great,although had I been arriving at these establishments solo,in cycling gear and somewhat road weary,I would have been a degree more self conscious.That said,there was never anything less than a warm smile and a welcoming cool fruit drink,and even flowers placed around our necks at one halt. The rest days were well placed and welcome,all in all adding up to one of the most memorable trips I have enjoyed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up and over the pass after leaving Danang,and enjoying the descent that followed the climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam was a delightful fellow,very thoughtful and informative with ever a wide smile.The same could be said of his three assistants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat extremes if you are a northerly hemisphere resident,but the stops are frequent and refreshing.Commit to enjoying cycling in the city traffic,as daunting as it at first appears,I felt quite safe as all the other many road users are aware of one another and considerate.Lam, the trip leader exerted his presence as leader of a group cyclists,with good affect.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Cerian Mellor

    What are you waiting for, just book!

    Beautiful scenery, wonderful people, tremendous food and days packed with activities and smiles. Traditionally, as an independent solo traveller, I wasn't sure about a group trip. But, attracted by the idea of a cycling holiday and in need of a hassle free adventure in an amazing location, this seemed like the perfect solution. It absolutely did not disappoint. From the friendly and efficient booking process, through well organised travel and transfers, to an immediate and warm welcome upon arrival, the Exodus arrangements could not be faulted. The cycling built up over the first few days allowing acclimatisation to sun and saddle, so whether good cyclist or weekend warrior, this trip is very achievable for those with a general fitness. Son Nguyen and his team offered superb support throughout the trip, and facilitated access to local people and experiences that are mostly not afforded to two-week tourists tied to hotel chains, bus tours or backpacker haunts. Vietnam has so much history, culture and culinary delight to offer and being part of a great group of like-minded people, game to try as much as possible during their adventure, made this trip just perfect. Thanks Son and crew, for making us so welcome in your country!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many moments stand out that it would be unfair to say which was the most inspirational. Hanoi is a magical city I shall undoubtedly visit again for its vibrant life, but it might not have been appreciated so much without having passed through beautiful, tranquil countryside full of colour, laughing children, and stunning scenery. The camaraderie around achieving the 100km mark and the 10km Hai Van Pass was a highlight too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Son did a great job at bringing Vietnam to life for us. Patient, organised, thoughtful and a good leader even when the weather meant changes to the plan - to us it felt seamless, and there was a smile & laugh for every occasion. He also did a good job of pricking our environmental consciousness with good reminders about single use plastics - keep up the good work!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Elaine Smith

    Vietnam - vitality and variety

    If you want a non-stop, full-on journey with never a dull moment trip (and really don't want a lie-in in the morning) - then cycle from the bottom to the top of Vietnam! Well to be truthful you don't actually cycle the whole distance - but it sounds good! You actually cover 500 k on your good quality bicycle. The reality is to travel the whole country you have no choice but to spend a fair amount of time on the minibus, but it wasn't a problem - just a fact. Pleasantly surprised by the quality of hotels - hard to fault anything about them. The cycling goes from miles of completely flat through villages and countryside (where you whizz along at 14-16 mph regularly), to pleasantly undulating, with just two 'proper' climbs - one of which is 10k and seriously steep. One spectacular downhill journey for miles as a sort of pay-back!! Fabulous food (lots of stopping off at local families along the route for lunch). A great group of 18 folk of varying ages and levels of fitness made the holiday fun and fabulous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A couple of highlights for me - two nights on Whale Island (what a really fabulous place), a couple of nights in Hoi An which was great fun if you like cooking and getting clothes made, and the 14 hour train journey from Hue to Hanoi was just brilliant. Getting to grips with the traffic and cycling through some busy towns was hilarious - bonkers at times, but such good fun. Spotting the most unusual thing that could be transported on the back of a scooter was an entertaining hobby for sure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The whole of our team of four was fantastic. They were superbly led by Son - who was unflappable, kind, experienced, efficient and funny and worked really hard to help us understand what Vietnam is all about!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Various reviews say pack light - it's good advice (although sadly I ignored it)! There's lots of packing and unpacking along the way so the less you take the easier it is. For example - you really do only need one swim suit, not 3, one or two pairs of sandals, not 4!!! Also there are so many shopping opportunities you need space to bring those additional essential purchases home!!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Anna Greenwood

    Vietnam Cycling

    What a trip!..18 of us threw ourselves into an adventure for 2 weeks!Thank you Son ,our trip leader ,.for supporting all 18 of us through all the "undulations".The especially selected "Happy Rooms"...- the continual patience of all the crewĺ. Carefully paced cycling made it doable for all of us. Such a shame about the rubbish on the side of the road. Great food..suppose..always ģç Highly recomend this trip.Book it now Anna Greenwood

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride over The Hai Van Pass!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant!...fun..knowelagable. ..thoughtful with a wonderful understanding of our sense of humour! Very patient!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some training helps!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it before it's too late!
Call us on 020 8772 3936