Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Michael Appleyard

    A Vietnam Experience cycling included

    A Brilliant trip showing all aspects of Vietnams culture, more than a cycling trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To cycle up and over the Hai Van Pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Linh was a brilliant team leader who's knowledge of all aspects of the tour was brilliant. He was very entertaining and looked after all aspects of the tour. The support team were also brilliant and dealt with cycle repairs snacks at stops, and transport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a brilliant trip, the cycling is not too difficult apart from the Hai Van Pass, however 14 out of 15 team members managed the climb. Be prepared for long Coach transfers.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Michael Appleyard

    A Vietnam Experience cycling included

    A Brilliant trip showing all aspects of Vietnams culture, more than a cycling trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To cycle up and over the Hai Van Pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Linh was a brilliant team leader who's knowledge of all aspects of the tour was brilliant. He was very entertaining and looked after all aspects of the tour. The support team were also brilliant and dealt with cycle repairs snacks at stops, and transport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a brilliant trip, the cycling is not too difficult apart from the Hai Van Pass, however 14 out of 15 team members managed the climb. Be prepared for long Coach transfers.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Marion Tuck

    Vietnam Cycling

    Fantastic trip: great support, excellent bikes, food, hotels and most importantly a fascinating and beautiful country. The Vietnamese are an amazingly calm and friendly people. Highly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That's an odd question, but if anything the calm and generous nature of the people gives much food for thought. In our society everyone is rushing about their business trying to get from A to B with no consideration for others, getting wound up in traffic jams, road rage etc. In Vietnam the traffic flow is something to behold! Unnerving at first, but the mopeds merge and move like a flock of birds or shoal of fish and it all works - no one gets cross and there seem to be few accidents. (And its fantastic cycling through it all -other than in Saigon and Ha Noi which are much busier.)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was a great group leader, kept us informed (amusingly so at times, due to his accented English!). Dealt with issues arising such as disruption to schedule caused by adverse weather and the odd mishap along the way calmly and professionally. Friendly and very good humoured, very much part of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would suggest arriving a day or so before official start date as little time to explore Saigon and likewise a couple of days at the end as no time to explore Ha Noi. Be aware that the days can be fairly long, necessitated by the distance to be covered. Worth it though!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were well looked after by our support team (leader, drivers and mechanic) who replenished our water bottles at each stop and provided fresh fruit, nuts and other snacks to keep us going. The food is excellent and despite the mileage I don;t think anyone lost weight on this trip!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Diane Owen

    A fabulous experience

    This was my first holiday to a far away place and a completely different culture. I came back feeling totally relaxed and felt I had had a real experience that was priceless. The organisation of the trip was first class and even though I found the pace a little faster than was comfortable , I think I came away with a vast number of experiences, all of which were valuable .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sight of Halong Bay. Although it was more commercialised than I had anticipated, I can understand that this is how it must be if tourism is a vital part of the Vietnamese economy. It was stunning, and the fact that we had a golden sunset on arrival made it all the more special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Chi , along with his support staff, were superb from beginning to end. He was working very hard behind the scenes, especially when a typhoon washed away part of the railway line and we could not take our overnight train to Hanoi. An alternative approach with an extra night in a hotel and an internal flight was implemented seemlessly -credit to Exodus as well for this. Always smiling and even showing himself to be a good dancer on the boat, he seemed to share the English sense of humour with our VERY lively group. As a non fish eater he always managed to get an alternative meal sorted out for me before we had arrived at any restaurant. Very impressive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the flight itinerary. You might want to consider whether direct flights would suit you better, and a few days to acclimatise before the cycling begins might also be a good idea. Ignore the advice that you don't need to take many clothes- you are wet every day either through sweat or a downpour. It was around a week before we were in one place long enough to get laundry done. If you are happy washing clothes in your room you might just get away with it, otherwise its nice to have clean clothes for the evenings. We found items marked for sale in US dollar amounts on numerous occasions. Everytime a conversion occurs someone is taking a cut so have a supply of both. The traffic "rules" may unnerve you at first....watch your leader and calmly go with the flow and you will be fine. Train on a mountain bike

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a superb trip although in order to achieve everything you do have some long bus transfers that you need to take in your stride. The itinerary is packed and there are many early starts. If you are hesitating about going, just do it and you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Sally Middleton

    Exceeded expectations

    This was our first ever cycling holiday. My husband and I are fairly fit but not cyclists. I worried I would not cope but just having some base fitness from three to four gym sessions a week was enough to get me through. From start it finish this trip surpassed my expectations. From the brilliant support crew and leader, Son, the seemless organisation, high standard of hotels, great food using often local family restaurants, beautiful countryside, Friendly people, and a wonderful group of travelleres to share the experience with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Son, our leader was the most inspirational person of the trip. A small thing easily missed. On a long rainy day we sheltered on the porch of a local lady. Son went to tip her for the intrusion but she didn’t want anything. I think she enjoyed the novelty. As we left he quietly left some money under a stone on the porch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Son was simply brilliant. Friendly from the start and always smiling, he kept us safe, informed, on track, organised and motivated. This is a man proud of his country and wanting to share it with us all. He had great knowledge on Vietnam’s history and it’s people. He was passionate about being a responsible traveller by encouraging us to not use plastic bags, straws etc, to use local people where ever possible. Son effortlessly handled the few problems as they arose, us the ‘guests’, his wonderful support crew, and the local people we encountered. He has a special place in our hearts and certainly contributed to the positive trip we experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For a ‘moderate’ rated cycle trip use the provided bikes. You are there to enjoy the views and we were kept together as a pack so having a better bike than everyone else seemed pretty pointless. The bikes are fit for the purpose and cope perfectly well for the type of terrain. The only problems that occurred on our trip were from the bikes that some people chose to bring with them. Skinny tyres on rough roads. Four punctures in a day kept the support crew busy. It just seemed like an unnecessary ball ache. Trust in Exodus to provide suitable bikes. Take a thin snood. When hot wet with ice cold water from the support vehicle, wear on head under helmet, protecting your neck from the sun. Long sleeved shirts to protect against the sun...you don’t need cycling tops just sports gear is fine. Padded shorts essential!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Looking forward to booking another cycling trip soon.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Stephen Lewandowski

    Best trip I've been on...

    This is the best guided trip I have been on, the guide, Long Le was fantastic. If you want a diverse experience with some good cycling and good weather included this may be the one for you. The guide took care of everything to keep us safe, informed, entertained and motivated for the next day. Great country to cycle in, great people meet, fantastic history and good food. YOLO

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The history and culture is fascinating and diverse, dig earlier than French occupation and you see a lot more influences in their history. Recent history , last 100 years shows the resilience of the Vietnamese people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long Le, is a brilliant guide and cyclist, very kind and considerate and a real Mr Motivator. When he is not Mr Motivator he is very knowledgeable about the history, culture and politics. He was the perfect guide and friend to us all, I still miss him now! I think everyone of us invited him home with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get used to cycling before you go, i.e a bit of training.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You can't go wrong if you follow Long.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Peter Hislop

    Has it all, must do and indulge

    This trip incorporates the wide variety of activities and sights that the country has to offer. Cycling, walking sailing, train & coach are some of the various types of travel experienced from the lowland to their highlands and the vast variety of landscapes that Vietnam has to offer this trip allows you to experience this breadth of experiences in a fantastic organised holiday and tour guide participation is second to none.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Its hard to pick out individual items as its so full of wonderful exhilarating experiences and that's part of trip and the guide skills. Each day is packed with differing things and they are great full days.The obvious places are Hoi An, Whale Island and Ha Long Bay, the trip overnight on the train is not to be forgotten nor those decedents down on our bikes will never be forgotten over 10 km in some stunning scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Son, was so well informed in his Country's culture and developement that it come over in his love of his job. Nothing was to much troblem His attention to detail shown through and his ability to offer differing views and thing to see never failed to help and inspire us. Cycling: his attention to H&S came over time and time again which is very helpful as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it...you will NOT be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sometimes it would be nice to have opportunity to visit the town we are at in the evening. Maybe a simple hand out of place to see if you wish type of option
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Ellen Aust

    Cycling in Vietnam

    I found it the perfect combination of cycling, travelling by bus, visiting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At the end of most days I thought, “ wow, this day was great”. I did not expect to say that each day. Always a new surprise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I always liked when Son would talk about his country and give his personal opinion about Vietnamese culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Know and believe that whoever designed this trip, highlighted the best experiences you could have between Ho Chi Minh city and Hanoi.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Consider bringing grips for the handlebars if you experience tingling fingers when you ride. Next time I will bring grips that have the added piece for wrist support. ( if that is allowed). The bikes were great! Always in top condition.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jackie Woodroffe

    Fantastic trip

    This was the most amazing holiday and a fantastic way to see and learn about Vietnam

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The group Leader Lam's " Story Times" told us about what to do expect for that days cycle , information about where we were going and history about the country . Thank you

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam was incredible and made the trip so enjoyable. He got to know all of us very quickly and had our dietary requirements catered for

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the trip notes to ensure you take everything with you. I took my own saddle which I definitely recommend

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most of the cycling is in the first 10 days. The days start early usually by 7am and you reach the hotel by 4.30pm. C The hotels are a very high standard and the food is amazing
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Patricia de Jong

    Cycling in Vietnam...Saigon to Hanoi

    The trip far exceeded my expectations. From pickup at the airport to our hotel and drop off at the end of tour all was timely. The group leader Tri and The crew were great, the mix of persons on our tour was good and hotels, food, snacks, bikes were all good. I had trained a little and some days were hard but if it got too much then you just hopped on the bus at the break stops. Scenery, people, crazy scooters and traffic....that just flowed. The opportunity to go biking through villages that buses would not get through. Villages, country roads and biking out of cities all were great experiences. Night on a lovely boat, train ride.....all part of the great travel experience. Great balance of biking and down time combined with some walking city tours. I loved my holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was achieving some of the daily bike rides, and surrounding scenery. The people who work so hard....they are a true inspiration.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tri was our leader, hats off to him for doing such a wonderful job of looking after our group of 18 along with the crew team Tiny (in the back keeping an eye on us slower ones and there to fix our bikes), Happy Budda (our bus driver, who always got us to each destination safely and the cold wipes he put on our neck at the end of bike road and lovely snacks provided to keep our strength up) Can, who was the truck driver for our bikes....always there on time and bikes always lined up ready to go. All of whom guided us in the right directions. Tri kept us all briefed with good safety instructions, great places to eat which were varied and interesting places. Safety was important for me and I always felt safe in the above company. Thanks so much Tri and team for making this one of my best holidays and a great first time experience in Vietnam which I will share with friends and family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will not be disappointed cycling Vietnam was a great experience. Take time to arrive a day or two in advance to get used to the hot weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tri your the best.......we all stuck together like "sticky rice" and one great family all helping and encouraging each other. Thanks Tri. 👍
Call us on 020 8772 3936