Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    David Davis

    Great introduction to Croatia

    A very well organised trip, the bulk of the cycling distance clocked up early on in the week, the scenery was fabulous as was most of the trip. I'd not been to Croatia before and I'd happily return. Alan our guide had it all very well organised, a perfect approach as you never felt under any time pressure to get a move on or anything else! A good group too all added to make this a superb trip, the only downside was you have to come home when you really fancy staying on a few more days!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick out one in particular but probably the last day of cycling along the pelesjac peninsular coast - you just wanted it to go on and on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan, one of the best leaders I've experienced (I've been on 10+ Exodus trips and usually had good leaders), there was never any time pressure, everything happened (seemingly to us) as though it was effortless. A perfect balance of information, experience and great people skills. He stood out for all the right reasons.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It will be over before you know it so consider adding time onto the beginning/end of the trip if you can to experience a bit more of Croatia. Expect Dubrovnik to be full of tourists - but enchanting all the same.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Geraldene Cummins

    Excellent holiday, I didn't want to come home

    I had a great time cycling around Croatia. Our guide was excellent as was the scenery and food. Cycling is a great way to see the country and enjoy the views. We went swimming every day after the ride and was taken to lovely restaurants in the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the coastline in the sunshine and seeing the lovely clear waters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marijo was fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. You couldn't have asked for a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are hills so make sure you have a good level of fitness. I used the support bus one morning as it was a steep climb in over 30 degrees which was too much for me. The food was really nice and everyone in the group was lovely and we all had a nice time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You must visit Croatia. It's really beautiful and the people are welcoming.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Laura Robertson

    Fantastic Tour of the Croatian Islands

    My partner & I had a super time cycling round the Croatian islands in June 2018. Our tour leader, Mario, was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for him. It was very well organised and the itinerary was busy but it meant we got to see a lot. Some of the views from the cycle were fantastic. One thing I would say is it is very hilly and I would maybe rate it more than a moderate. On the second day of cycling there was a 25km uphill climb which was pretty tough in the heat. There are plenty of stops though and no one is left behind. There is also a support bus for anyone that does not fancy the hills and you can join in the cycle from the top of the hill. The first accommodation was a need of refurbishment and a little disappointing. The room was pretty basic. The other two hotels were nice, especially the one in Lumbarda. The restaurants we went to were all really nice and we got to sample lots of local dishes. Overall I would recommend this trip - we had a super time and great memories from it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was a real sense of achievement to reach the top of the hill of the second days cycling and the views were amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader, Mario, was super and really looked after the whole group. He shared lots of local knowledge with us and was really organised and he ensured everything went smoothly for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack padded shorts and a water bottle.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Catherine Kenney

    Such a brilliant holiday

    This was a holiday to remember! The organisation of the whole experience was exemplary and the leader, Dino never stopped working to make sure that everything worked well. The views were constant and breathtaking. Cycling on day 1 and 2 is more challenging than on the other days but there is always support from the bus if needed. The group was lovely and a mix of singles and couples.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    conquering the hills! Seeing the views, drinking it all in.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great. His organisation was brilliant. He worked constantly - nothing was too much trouble and he was smiling and kind throughout. He made sure that the strong cyclists and those who weren’t so strong all had a holiday and enjoyed the trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow! Enjoy it - look up and see the views.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Gillian Orme

    Excellent for single travelers

    It was my first holiday as a single woman and I was a little nervous. Now I can’t wait to book my next trip with exodus. The guide Alan was excellent - I always felt well looked after and if I found myself a bit behind on some of the climbs I never felt under pressure or at risk of getting lost. Alan’s descriptions of difficulty and distance were a great help and accurate. There was an age range of 20 -70 but we all got on brilliantly. Meals were all taken together ( the possibility of having to eat alone had been another concern for me before booking). The scenery was stunning,, the sea was warm and beautifully clear, motorists were considerate, the food was great and the local people lovely. Personally I preferred the countryside to Dubrovnik but I’m a country girl - there was the most amazing sweet shop in Dubrovnik old town tho 😁

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people - the group I was cycling with and the locals were so supportive cheering everyone as we made it to the top of a tough climb. The views from the top of the hills and swimming in the lake a a few of the best bits - too many other good bits to list them all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was great. always felt safe, knew where I was going, I felt fine at the back even if I couldn’t always see the person in front because I knew I wouldn’t be left behind . Alan would always keep track of where everyone was. He spent time with everyone in the group cycling at their pace not trying to get people to speed up or slow down. There were briefings often so we all knew what was happening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I considered taking my own road bike - dont - the bikes were excellent and fitted perfectly even though I’m only 5’3 . Even a hybrid bike would not have coped with to few off road sections. They also provided a handle bar bag that was really useful. Take a cash card or cash - as well as credit card - we used cash for most meals and some places didn’t take cards at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for making my first holiday for 5 years such a fantastic experience.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    LYNNE HORNE

    MAGNIFICENT COASTLINE

    Cycling the Dalmation Coast has to be one of the best cycling holidays so far. A really well run trip, with a tour guide that definitely went the extra mile and scenery that was out of this world. Well worth a try!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    THE MAGNIFICANT VIEWS

    What did you think of your group leader?

    TOP CLASS

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    THIS TRIP INCLUDED THE SUPPLY OF A BIKE BAG, SO ONLY TAKE YOUR GEL SEAT AND WATER BOTTLE
  • Reviewed November 2017
    nigel bradshaw

    Beautiful country

    The trip was well planned and executed by Exodus, the cycling was varied and contained just the right amount of challenge to make it interesting. Late September was a good time to visit as the days were sunny without being too hot and the evenings mild, places (with the exception of Dubrovnik) were not too busy either. Do take advantage of the free day to visit Mijet island - its well worth a visit and dont forget your swimming gear!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the old City of Dubrovnik at twilight on our penultimate day. If you havent been it is a truly beautiful place. Do visit the hilltop overlooking Dubrovnik too - either by walking up or the cable car, there is an interesting Bosnian War museum there and a surprisingly good cliff top cafe (not for vertigo sufferers!) with stunning views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario was fairly new to the job but proved himself to be enthusiastic, hard working, good humoured and nothing was too much trouble for him. Very good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid the Hotel Sumratin in Dubrovnik if at all possible. At the time of our staying there it was ranked by Trip Advisor as 62 out of 68 hotels in Dubrovnik.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my sixth Exodus trip and was well up to their normal good standard, unfortunately a great trip ended on a slightly sour note when we were accomodated in the Hotel Sumratin in Dubrovnik on out last two nights, however, Exodus have assured me that they will discontinue using it in future.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tracey Lawrence

    Recommend this (NOT EXPLORE - see below)

    I would highly recommend this cycling holiday. Not only do you get to take in the breathe taking views and islands on 2 wheels, but there is plenty of time to relax and explore whilst providing a few challenging hills with the reward of a stunning view at the top! Our guide Alan and driver Danny were attentive, informative and in my top tour leaders :) With the support of the cycle trailer and a bus to accommodate anyone who can't or doesn't want to complete a hill (or if you are injured) there is comfort in knowing this tour is still a holiday and not a fitness challenge. The island are beautiful, mainly tarmac back quiet roads, the locals friendly, the food delicious.....a few hotels were very dated and need of modernisation and I'm glad I left the trip early and didn't spend 2 nights in the Dubrovnik accommodation. I would add that I considered Explore tour and the 70km day put me off.....we saw this group along the way they arrived in at 8pm on their long day... and noted they did not have a support vehicle like Exodus and some of their group were not happy about this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Full moon rising...our tour leader planned this perfectly

    What did you think of your group leader?

    superb!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    meals were a lot more expensive than I had budgeted for and the pre ordered food was sometime £10 - 15 for a lunch that was cheese, ham, bread and olives!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    francis josephs

    An outstanding cycle trip

    If you'd like a highly scenic ride in a lovely country, then this is the trip for you. We cycled up and down hills with amazing sea views, and visited stunning towns, villages and vineyards. We stayed at some lovely places, swam in the sea and ate very well. Alan was one of the best leaders I've experienced, and our group was lovely. They ranged in age from 30s to 70s; some were strong cyclists, others not. However all were catered for, and the support bus was always available. There were no long transports, and the ferry trips were great. The climate was pleasantly hot, and the wine flowed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The islands were great, especially Korcula, and the town of Korcula- a medieval gem. Dubrovnik is unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was wonderful: kind, attentive, and highly knowledgeable, with a great sense of humour. On the road he ensured our safety, supported the weaker riders and also enabled the best riders to go for it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss this
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Michael Lawless

    Sun, Sea & Scenery

    This is our first Exodus trip , me and the wife fear we have experienced the best trip on our first tour! This trip was outstanding. The guide Marijo was fantastic, he is professional, knowledgeable and great fun! A real asset to Exodus. The trip is great for the leisure cyclist, mixing the right amount of cycling with sightseeing and socialising. The country is truly beautiful, the people have a sunny temperament which matches the fantastic weather. We met a wonderful and diverse group of people, who were great company and a joy to holiday with. We are now already planning our next Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many it's hard to single one out. Mijet is a must, do not be tempted to take the rest day as it is a very gentle days cycling and you will miss out on a stunning island and a great day out. The first two days are the hardest but you do need to justify all the great food and drink you consume.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marijo will be an impossible act to follow. He is so personable that any little problem with the ferries, restaurants etc are so smoothly dealt with that it all ends in handshakes and laughter. In danger of missing a connecting ferry which would have meant a three hour wait, he sweet talked a van driver in front of us to let us take his place on the ferry! Marijo is not just a guide but becomes part of the holiday group, great fun on and off duty! Truly an exceptional guide. Tome the driver needs a out shout as well. A very happy chap who couldn't do enough for everyone. He also distills a mean homemade grappa!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not expect too much from the hotels and breakfasts! The holiday is great value for money. When you consider the amount of great staff care, great equipment, the cost of the ferries and the comfortable van used to carry us and the bikes, savings had to be made somewhere. This is a full on holiday so you do not spend any time at the hotels anyway! Best tip: most restaurants / bars don't like credit cards. So take cash or get it from ATMs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really, perhaps Exodus could try and find a better hotel in Dubrovnik, as this is definitely the weak link.
Call us on 020 8772 3936