Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

118 Reviews

  • Croatia Cycling the Dalmatian coast

    My son (23) and I (57) have just returned from this trip and I’m now looking to book another Exodus cycling trip! We have not done a trip like this before and we’re little nervous! There was no need! The group leader Mario was excellent and made sure everyone was comfortable with the pace and really was an exceptional lead and a great ambassador for both Croatia and Exodus. Our group of 11 was mixed age and ability but everyone got on well and had a fantastic time! Amazing scenery, beautiful crystal clear waters and quiet roads. Organisation was brilliant, water, snacks, when and where to break…bus and trailer availability etc. Nothing was too much trouble and Mario really put in loads of effort to ensure everyone had a great holiday. Hotels were good and better than I expected. If you have doubts about whether you should book… just do it! It was fantastic!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day trip to Mljet, swimming to lakes and spotting a 2 tailed Pasha ( butterfly!) for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Mario was excellent and made sure everyone was comfortable with the pace and really was an exceptional lead and a great ambassador for both Croatia and Exodus. Our group of 11 was mixed age and ability but everyone got on well and had a fantastic time! Amazing scenery, beautiful crystal clear waters and quiet roads. Organisation was brilliant, water, snacks, when and where to break…bus and trailer availability etc. Nothing was too much trouble and Mario really put in loads of effort to ensure everyone had a great holiday. He was tolerant, easy going and friendly … even when he had to repeat himself several times because people hadn’t listened to the instructions ! Mario really contributed to making this holiday one of my best ever holidays!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be put off by the ‘Undulating’ nature of the routes… the descents are amazing and the support vehicle is always there if you need it! ….. I am not a cyclist… just reasonably fit.. and I managed the trip no problem. Bring beach shoes… there are sea urchins!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can’t wait to book my next trip!
  • Reviewed June 2022

    This was my first ever Exodus holiday, and it exceeded all expectations!

    This was a very well organised trip, I went in late May so the weather was warm but no too hot. I really enjoyed the cycling and I met a bunch of great people. Our group was 15 big and it being my first Exodus trip I was a little nervous, but as soon as I met the leader and other travelers I felt at ease. I am already looking at booking another holiday with Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Mjet was amazing, it was a completely unspoiled island, and it really felt like you were cycling through a paradise, there were butterflies everywhere and the sea was crystal clear blue, the hike to the top of the island was also amazing, and the view from the top was epic, we even had a swim, and in late May the sea was a good temperature. I would recommend you bring some water shoes as it's quite stony.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was a very good leader, he was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. He really made an effort with everyone, especially on the more challenging parts of trip giving people motivation, and having general chats. In the mini-bus about 15 minutes before arriving at our cycle drop-off's he would give a detailed itinerary of the rides so we would know what to expect. He he also helped me with fitting my own pedals that a bought along which was really helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would have to say take the optional trip to Mjet, and take some water shoes if you decide to go swimming as it's a bit stony.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The demographic of people on this trip was great, a really good mixture of age and groups vs solo travelers, and as a solo traveler in my late 30s it really suited me and we all got along really well and I made some friends! Also the food, wine and beer was amazing out there!
  • Reviewed June 2022

    Had a wonderful time

    My wife and I very much enjoyed this trip - our 6th or 7th Exodus cycling trip. Croatia was surprisingly beautiful, the food was good, the cycling was just right (not too hard, not too easy), and the group were all fun - and were all of broadly the same fitness levels as cyclists (no super-fit fanatics, no completely unfit laggards)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day in Dubrovnik, with an excellent local guide, was a highlight for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Competent, friendly, good-natured. I would personally have liked a bit more information about history and culture of the places we were cycling through, rather than googling it myself.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this trip without hesitation. The only heads up I would give is that a surprisingly large proportion of restaurants and other retail establishments in Croatia do not take credit cards. If you are concerned or cautious about the risk of COVID (as we were) you should know that pretty much all meals and other interactions were outdoors, and that people in Croatia seem to have reached the conclusion that COVID is no longer a factor at this time - much as people in the UK and the US apparently have too (writing as of May 2022) - no masks, no precautions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My only criticism would be of the hotels - the first was very good, the second almost made Fawlty Towers look good (unable to provide sheets for a double bed, and not particularly ashamed of it either!), and the third was OK but certainly could have been better (eg. no lifts in a multi-story building). However none of this affected our enjoyment of the overall trip. Exodus says that their trips are COVID-safe, but nobody (including the tour leader) were aware of any particular precautions or requirements that participants (including the tour leader himself) were vaccinated, so this was basically a fiction.
  • Reviewed October 2021

    It's amazing what you can do in a week!

    This holiday was extremely enjoyable. The itinerary is well planned and the route takes you to a variety of destinations. Not having been to Croatia before I didn't know there were so many beautiful small islands and I loved the ferry and catarmaran rides. The coastal route we took was dramatic and the World Heritage sites in Split and Dubrovnik very interesting and worth visiting. The Adriatic Sea was warm, blue and inviting, good for swimming even in October. The hotels we stayed in varied in size from medium to large. I particularly liked the one just outside Dubrovnik as I had a sea view. Tourists were plentiful in Split and Dubrovnik but in the other places we stayed there was an end of season feel and it was quiet on the roads and in the resorts. The food was good and our guide was always able to recommend a nice restaurant for our evening meal. The weather in October was good for cycling - not hot, partly cloudy most days and one day it rained!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two positives: Making use of opportunities to go swimming. Using the hair dryer to dry out my cycling kit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan is an outstanding leader. He did a superb job of leading the 16 of us. He had everything planned and organised and he was calm and attentive. Alan told us a lot about the history and culture of Croatia. Alan is genial, has excellent communication skills and a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for changing weather conditions and bring lots of layers of clothing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cycling is very enjoyable (when it doesn't rain) and the Dalmation coast well worth exploring.
  • Reviewed October 2021

    Lovely Scenery, good cycling

    This was the last trip of the season and unfortunately the weather was not the greatest, but this was unusual for the time of year. However this was more than made up for by the excellent tour leader Alan and driver Jadran who looked after us brilliantly. The views are stunning and the cycling not too arduous. I had only booked the tour a couple of weeks before departure and so had very little time to get on my bike and train for the trip, but I made it up every hill, albeit at the back, and for those that did not want to tackle the route there was always a seat on the minibus. Croatia is a beautiful country and the locals are rightly very proud of it. The food is great - a lot of seafood and meat, but not so good if you are vegetarian as there was usually one uninspiring option on the menu, and nothing for vegnas. I would pick start or end of season when there are fewer tourists, as Dubrovnik still felt busy as the season closed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the hill on the first day, in the rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was outstanding. Calm, organised, patient and with a very good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a decent wet weather cycling jacket if you are going at the end of the season. Not brilliant for vegetarians
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Daniel Morris

    Croatian Delights

    Fabulous cycling on Croatia’s Dalmatian Coast Islands. Lovely roads, unspoilt villages, scenery to die for and good food. Hotels were unfortunately the exception- exceptionally poor.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenic rides along coastal tracks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dino was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Insist on better hotels
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Rachel Christie

    Excellent

    A really lovely holiday a good balance of cycling and relaxing/socieliting time Can’t wait to choose another

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The freedom of cycling along the coast

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Alan was friendly open and helpful but still in control

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you do plenty of hills in prep I wasn’t quite fit enough or get an e bike

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really beautiful place
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Christine Clampett

    Girls on Tour

    This trip was a bit too "timed" for me. Whilst really well organised and hosted we seemed to be always on the move with little time for a reasonable lunch or a look around especially the first 2 days. I feel we could have spent more time on the island of HVAR - this is a truly lovely place - and HVAR town especially where we only had an hour. The hotel at Jelsa was in a fantastic location - however, a bit basic and in need of a good upgrade of facilities and a breakfast menu review. Sadly we had a terrible night here with 35 knot winds and shutters rattling. I had to stuff newspaper up the side of the main door to stop the wind blowing in through the large gap. the next day everyone was exhausted from lack of sleep. Korcula was fab - hotel great - and here we had good food and a few days rest electing not to do the trip to Mleet or the ride the following day. My job is a physical one so the lack of sleep had used all my resources up! Last ride to the ferry to Dubrovnik was really beautiful and our stay in Dubrovnik at Hotel Vis was very comfortable. The hotel is right on a beach so we swam and chilled on both days. Best bit here I think was the tour of the City with a super guide and then supper in the old City. The free day is fantastic for a good look around and the cable car ride to view the City and see how it is laid out is well worth the money. Our host Marin was great! Very good at helping when needed and not in any way intrusive. He had great knowledge of the area and kept us on schedule to catch the many ferries needed to get from island to mainland etc.. As a vegetarian I did struggle a bit with the food available. Marin helped immensely as my friend also cannot eat Gluten so we weren't the easiest of guests to feed. The quality of the restaurants booked was really good and everyone was really helpful. The group of people on the trip gelled really well and on the last night on Korcula stayed up into the small hours singing songs from Queen to Ilkley Moor Bar Tat!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time in Dubrovnik - looking around in the evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our host Marin was great! Very good at helping when needed and not in any way intrusive. He had great knowledge of the area and kept us on schedule to catch the many ferries needed to get from island to mainland etc.. He was good company in the evenings and had a great sense of humour especially when reporting on the weather - which was very wet at times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always pack a set of waterproofs! We had a couple of days of rain and started the ride to Dubrovnik wearing bin bags as waterproofs!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think you could extend the time on HVAR as it felt really rushed.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Stephanie Haddrell

    Cycling The Dalmation Coast Croatia

    We thoroughly enjoyed our first Exodus tour. The cycling was amazing, very beautiful scenery, and excellent bikes. The tour guide Dino and Driver Tommy were super, very attentive, informative, friendly and efficient. The hotels were generally good. However the first stay in Hvar was basic, the shower was not attached to the wall and the fan was noisy- we were expecting air conditioning, and the site was run down with steps to the beach and appartments being hazardous. The breakfast was fine and the location very good for cycling. The two other hotels were fine. The rating for the tour was 3/10. I was a little confused by this as a first timer. I consider myself to be fairly fit and cycle regularly 20+ miles and expected a level 3 trip to be comfortable for me, yet I found the climbs quite challenging. Perhaps there should be more detail in your explanations of grading.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day provided exceptional scenery and beautiful places of interest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent very professional, informative, considerate and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise travellers to extend their stay to allow time to recover and or prepare for the trip, and to visit the cities of Split and Dubrovnic at their leisure. I would also advise to bring rehydration tablets to add to water and snack bars to get them up the hills! I would also add that August was too hot!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The restaurants we visited were all very good and gave us the opportunity to experience Croatian cuisine. I think for days when we were cycling it would have been preferable to have more frequent shorter stops with snacks provided bananas, nuts and fruit for example, rather than a long lunch break. This would give riders energy for the climbs, reduced cost and allowed a little more time at the end of the day to relax and enjoy the hotel and surrounding areas. The evening meals were all great and the michelen star restaurant in Korkula would be one lunch which I would keep!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Alia Medniuk

    A fantastic introduction to Croatia

    Croatia is beautiful, seriously hot in July when one is out exercising in the midday sun, and the scenery and fabulous coastal roads made for some epic bike rides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting the whole group to the end of the first day 12 km climb in 39 degrees was no mean feat, but we all did it and enjoyed a couple of well earned ice creams at the end of it. Whizzing down the hair pin roads with incredible coastal views was fantastic fun afterwards!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Dino, was spectacular, and couldn’t do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was just hard enough to be a nice challenge to earn an extra ice cream, but not so arduous it didn’t feel like a holiday. If you’re a proper vegetarian, be warned for some very uninspired eating, and be aware that most of your calories will come from ice cream (not such a bad thing...).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 8th, or 9th exodus trip (I’ve lost count..) and one of my favourites. A great group as ever makes all the difference. Ours was just that.