Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Annie (Ann) Railton

    Never again!

    Having done the colours of Rajasthan in 2014 I was not expecting a lot from this trip as I had seen most of the major sites before, however a last minute illness stopped my friend from going so I did travel anyway. I have to say I was more than disappointed with the standards of the hotels, I can’t say given a choice again I would stay at anyone of them. There was also a great lack of down time, as a matter of fact there wasn’t any, it seemed like a very rushed trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting home!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gaj was helpful, friendly, not terribly informative, a lot of the specific sites we had other more local guides which was fine who always had a little extra to take us to, like a shop/factory.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have travelled a number of times with Exodus and have recommended them to friends but I think you have this trip wrong, very wrong. A long flight from the UK followed by a flight to Varanasi the next day followed by an uncomfortable and frankly unpleasant overnight train ride to Agra was just too much. Too much in too short a time. I think I need to start looking at other providers.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Be Clough

    Excellent

    A great taylor made trip, maximum of two nights in anyone place, most (2 exceptions) of the guides were absolutely excellent, one driver for all but the first 4 days. Good hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight for me was the Pushkar camel festival and on hindsight I would have had another day here.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had different guides in each location with lots of local knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a lot to do on an evening once you’ve eaten, take lots of reading
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Joe Crook

    Excellent introduction to India

    Delhi to Jaipur for Pink Fort Jaipur to Ranthambore to see a tiger - and YES, we did see a tiger, plus crocodiles and other stunning scenery and wildlife. Ranthambore to Agra - Taj Mahal - I thought I would be indifferent to this but was blown away - the visit takes you there at sunrise - before the worst of the crowds - stunning. Agra to Varanasi by overnight train - the train was a bit of a shock to the system but delivered us safely. Evening boat trip on the Ganges to see the funeral pyres and the religious ceremonies - thought-provoking and moving. Morning boat trip on a much quieter Ganges - Awe Inspiring - take the time to stop and think about where you are - and what this place means to so many millions of people - sunrise over the Ganges, from ON the Ganges - very profound moment. Another overnight train back to Delhi - we knew what to expect this time so less of a shock. Sadly train was delayed so the planned 12 hour trip took 20 - but the scenery is interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Floating on the Ganges watching the sun rise over the Ganges - I am not a person of faith, but I was struck and genuinely moved by how lucky I was to witness an event that would be life-affirming to countless millions of others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jatin - the fixer. Never flustered. Never impatient. ALWAYS with a solution - a real professional. Plus, warm and generous, well informed and very informative. Your first visit to India can be a daunting experience. Jatin was a reassuring and comforting presence, and, simply, a very nice man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive a day early. Many in our tour alighted from a 7 or 8 hour flight from the UK and got straight onto a 5 to 7 hour bus trip..... I'm very glad we had day and a night in Delhi before setting off on that one. Also, ensure you take plenty of anti-septic hand gel with you. I really don't know if they saved us from 'Delhi-belly' but if nothing else, it gives you great peace of mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm rather disappointed that when Exodus organised a transfer from the airport to the hotel, they charged me £41. When the hotel arranged a taxi back to the airport at the end of the holiday it cost 900 or 100 rupees - £9 or £10. I'm prepared to pay a little over the odds for the reassurance of being met and helped to find a car, but £41 does still feel at least twice what I think would be fair.
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Ronish Baxter at Agra Tour

    I, Ronish Baxter was on Agra Tour in month of September, 2018. I like the place agra on the basis of heritage. There are a lot of old and ancient places to visit such as Taj Mahal, Buland Darwaza any more. I think if a person is religious then also anyone can go for agra tour because neat by Agra there is Vrindavan and Mathura where we can do our religious deed. As, we know Agra is famous for Taj Mahal which is in the list of seven wonders of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to Taj Mahal and I felt like heaven. It is true that it is Wonder of the world. White Marble, Awesome. No words to express my feeling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good and co-operative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, anyone can go for. It is economical and safe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for this pleasant trip ~Ronish Baxter
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Michael Saynor

    India

    Good trip but lack of sleep can catch up with you .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    religious festival on the bout trip the river Ganges .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The very best Jatin helped to make our holiday .
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jean Pollard

    Magical and crazy in equal measure!

    This trip is not for the faint hearted and although it is classed as 'leisurely' there is a bit of walking in high temperature and lots of steps, especially at the train stations. Most mornings were 05.30 start with many hours transferring between places either by air con. mini bus or sleeper train. The hotels ranged from ok to wonderful. The sights were beautiful and historically interesting. Our guide was excellent and very proud of his country and his religion. All the cities are traffic heavy specially with local tuk tuks, the noise is deafening from all the horns hooting, it is very dusty and sometimes smelly. Tuk tuk rides are exhilirating and frightening but glad we did it! If you don't like curry (I tried really hard) food that is available in the places the guide takes you to is limited but ok e.g. a few pasta and noodle dishes. The only meat you will find is chicken, often still on the bone but hidden in the rice and also mutton. At times this was a hard trip but I wouldn't have missed it for the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The part I had wanted to do the most was visit Varanasi. We went at sunrise and sunset and the experience was magical and different both times. The funeral pyres on the ghats was very moving as was the boat trip and the evening ceremony that takes place at the edge of the Ganges every evening. The sights and sounds will stay with me for ever. The Taj Mahal is incredible and strangely familiar, again we went at sunrise. On the last day in Delhi we took ourselves to the Sikh temple at the suggestion of our guide and it was so welcoming and amazingly beautiful. Our family group of 5 were given a tour by a sikh lady volunteer who took photos and selfies as well as told us some of the history. Lovely memories. Seeing a tiger on safari. Everything in between.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronit our leader was exceptional. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. He happily answered all of our questions and explained what we saw and the history behind them very well. He looked after us when out and about and gave us hints and tips of what to do and not to do when being approached by people wanting to sell you something. There are a lot of street vendors at the different sites. I had 'Delhi belly' and he was very concerned and helpful. Ronit was happy to tell us a liitle about himself and his life.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The overnight train is tough. The bunks are hard but you are given clean sheets, pillow and blanket. The second time we put the folded blanket underneath us to give a bit more thickness. We also took a small inflatable pillow and used this as well. It can get cold in the air con. especially on the side top bunk. It was better to be with other people from our party but this wasn't possible on the first trip. At one side of the carriage there are 2 squat toilets and on the other 1 squat and 1 more conventional. Take toilet paper and wipes and lots of hand sanitiser. We took a bike chain as suggested but didn't feel the need to use it. The trip from Varanasi to Delhi is 12 hours and there is often delays. Our train broke down in the middle of the night and our journey took 16 hours! Change your money at the airport as although some hotels offer the service the tight time schedule didn't allow for much free time. Take diarrhoea tablets and sunscreen. The dress code for women is more relaxed than described on the website unless visiting temples or mosques etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to see some upsetting things. Very poor people living on the streets. Beggars knocking on the bus window. Disabled people struggling. Lots and lots of cows absolutely everywhere. Lots of dogs in a poor condition. It can be very dusty you might like to take a mask. The country is full of surprises and there is never a dull moment. Your senses will be overloaded. Go with an open mind. Dont be frightened to haggle but be kind as the majority are trying to make a few rupees to make life more bearable. Smile and say 'Namaste' and enjoy every minute.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Nicole Walker

    Words aren't sufficient

    ...to describe or explain the wonderful experience and memories this tour provides. The itinerary is arranged to provide Visits around the culture, religion, history and wildlife of the country but the experience includes so much more- noise, smell, bright colour, chaos, food- be open to everything and you will not be disappointed . The tour is necessarily "full on" but the sights and experiences outweigh the pace.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst the Taj Mahal was an obvious highlight the additional activities arranged by our Leader Nabin Gurung were the highlights specifically visiting the children in a rural primary school as well as the sunset boat trip on the Ganges to experience prayers at night- a vision which will be a life long memory.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nabin was so knowledgable teaching us many things, answering all our questions at our beck and call no matter what time of day or night, no request too big or small. He arranged additional activities instead of down time to ensure we maximised our visit . It was clear he really cared about our experience and his professional and super organised approach to everything made the tour perfect. He was personable and got to know each of the group and our sense of humour and needs personally. He made sure all of our experiences were equal especially whilst viewing the tiger at rathembore. Nabin was an excellent leader providing the highest level of customer service.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for an almost non stop tour but don't be put off by that - book this tour now!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Pam Bell

    Highlights Indeed!

    As a first timer to India, this trip provided a memorable experience of colour, noise, marvellous historic architecture and lovely friendly people. Plus a totally amazing sighting of a tiger.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a tiger in its natural habitat was beyond any experience had so far. A close second was the magnificent Taj Mahal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mayank was outstanding. Calm, professional, friendly and always aware of all our needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some very long road journeys. Arrange at least an extra day for your own sight seeing in Delhi, at the end of the trip. The train back from Varanasi can arrive very late, curtailing the chances of seeing much before the flight home.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Elisa Tarr

    Fast paced amazing tour of northern India

    A great way to see lots of places in the 'golden triangle' in a safe well organised way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Buying a 'flying' carpet from co-operative in Jaipur Experiencing Holi festival Watching the sunset over the Ganges

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very smiley, friendly, knowledgable and helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At the train stations spending 100rupies to have porter carry larger bag is very helpful Don't be afraid to ask any questions of the guides & group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Expect delays when travelling by train
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Lorraine Matic

    Highlights of Northern India

    India is not everyones choice of trip but it’s been mine for awhile . Not wanting to travel alone Exodus was recommended by a friend . From my first phone call till the end of my tour date. I have been guided informed and surprised by the quick responses and information given, even the trip notes have been carefully thought through. Yes I was apprehensive of sharing the trip with 15 other travellers which was quashed after the first day .. We all shared a common interest and became friends .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My goal on the trip was to visit the Taj Mahal which is totally majestic . Each day held a surprise and inspired I expected to find Varanasi hectic and crazy yet I found it strangely peaceful and quite emotional . The Sikh temple in Delhi is a true inspiration and their work is very humbling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mayank is a true ambassador for Exodus .. he took care of every single detail that was possible . I felt secure to the point of feeling quite lazy as a backpacker as he took care of every qualm . Intelligent organised and witty !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read your trip notes .. relax and enjoy !!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you ❤️
Call us on 020 8772 3936