Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Emma Dart

    Awesome scenery and immersive activities

    This is truly the trip of a lifetime. It was everything we wanted in terms of wildlife viewing, amazing scenery and getting out into the wilderness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting so close to Denali on the mountain flight and landing on a glacier. Glacier hike and ice climbing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Darin and Jordan were FANTASTIC and worked tirelessly to make sure that everyone was enjoying their experience. Their organisation, safe driving skills and approachable manner really made our trip. Also great cooking skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of layers, it was really warm on some days and really cold on some nights. Be prepared for some rain and take effective waterproofs and / or ponchos. Some of the activities have waterproofs available to use which were better than ours. Make sure that you do the hike to the Harding Icefield if you can. The views are spectacular. It seemed like it was going to be a rainy day when we started but it did clear up. It is a strenuous walk, but there are views even if you don't go all the way up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take extra memory cards for your camera and spare batteries. Make sure you can charge items from a USB converter for a cigarette lighter socket in the vehicle. There are some stops at supermarkets and some of our group bought a pillow which made camping more comfortable. Thermarests are provided which make a big difference. Make sure the sleeping bag you bring is suitable. All extra activities could be paid on credit card which reduced the amount of cash we carried. There were coin operated washing machine / dryer facilities at some campsites.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Steve Johnson

    Alaska - Endless Landscape

    An amazing holiday to a stunning, unspoiled and primal part of the world. The itinerary is activity-packed but never really feels forced: there is plenty of time to take in the changing landscapes and animals that you meet each day. Not a trip for someone who doesn't like glaciers, mountains, breathtaking scenery and wildlife living our their lives as Nature intended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not easy to say as I got something out of everyday. But the flight up to the glacier at the foot on Mt. Denali on a de Havilland Beaver will stay with me for a long thing as was the memory of camping right beside the roaring Copper River and then wandering up to the lost-in-time town of McCarthy for a drink with fellow thirsy group members.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vicky was simply excellent. Her love of Alaska was obvious and genuine. She organised everything and kept us in check. And she knew some great bars!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather was great on my trip - warm and sunny apart from a couple of days. If it had rained most days then I'm pretty sure the camping would have been challenging. So be prepared: take plenty of waterproofs, etc. As others have said, some campsites are pretty primeval and so be prepared for days when you can't wash and where the trip to the toilet can feel like a trek. The mosquitoes are pretty nasty: they usually don't like me but I got bitten everywhere (seemingly through my clothes!) Alaska is expensive - apparently much more expensive than most of the USA. One or two walks were challenging and if I had appreciated that I would have got myself a bit fitter beforehand. Laundry and shower facilities are few and far between with no change machines nearby: so collect as many quarters as you through the trip. You might also want to pack a few non-bio laundry detergent capsules. In June it never got dark so you might want to think about a sleep mask (and ear-plugs if there are heavy snorers in the group!)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can highly recommend this trip if you are prepared to rough it a bit. Forget about any preconceptions you have - just go and experience one of the last few remaining frontiers.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Benjamin Brook

    Bear Necessities

    Stunning scenery and abundant wildlife

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The float plane trip and the grizzly bears. We were mesmerised for most of the day by a sow and her three cubs - all looking very healthy - apparently the salmon run has been earlier this year. The return flight was particularly picturesque. Also the nearest and safest way to photograph grizzlies is from a boat and I got some fabulous pictures.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vicky is an all-rounder. Always upbeat, great cook, so knowledgeable and highly respected by local guides/locals - practically perfect in every way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use lots of mosquito repellant and be prepared to dress for all weathers

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great, varied itinerary which gave me the opportunity to try ice-climbing and sea kayaking for the first time.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Alison Kalus

    Alaska Wildlife and Wilderness

    An excellent trip encompassing the wilderness of Alaska with plenty of wildlife viewing. Plenty of optional trips to make the holiday as adventurous at wanted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sea kayaking among the icebergs and sea otters in Columbia bay. The noise of the ice cracking, hissing and popping was surreal as we gently paddles by.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Vicky was excellent. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. She made a real effort to make the trip memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to camp in the rain and with some very basic facilities at times!
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ALASKA

    An amazing wildlife tour, Alaska is beautiful with an overwhelming landscape. The tour included  a variety of activities for different abilities. The camping is 'rustic', with good facilities. Our leaders Mark and Alia  were friendly, helpful and very organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Denali grizzlies, glacier hiking, a wildlife cruise around Prince William Sound and flying over the Cook Inlet in a float plane all take some beating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leaders were very well organised with the camping equipment and campfire cooking. They provided a nice variety of meals and opportunities to visit supermarkets when necessary. They were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about Alaska and organised activities efficiently. There were a couple of long travelling days which they made comfortable by stopping off at viewpoints and short walk opportunities and they were happy to stop at any time for wildlife viewing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take advantage of the laundry facilities throughout the tour, take waterproof clothing, and a pair of binoculars and a good camera are a must!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic tour in an unspoilt wilderness.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ALASKA

    Varied trip through a stunning part of the world. Lots of activity, plenty of wildlife and glaciers and mountains everywhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the ice climbing was a real highlight, climbing out of the glacier was a huge rush. Also loved the sea kayaking round icebergs. On a more sedentary day, the Kenai Fjords wildlife cruise supplied us with a spectacular amount of wildlife including an extremely active group of humpback whales.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vicky and Amanda were faultless leaders: their aim of getting us to enjoy every day was obviously one that they really cared about. They communicated their own love of Alaska to the group throughout the trip, I'd be delighted to travel with them again. Their culinary skills were amazing: able to cater to a host of dietary needs on 4 gas rings. Also couldn't be faulted for their in depth knowledge of the best dive bars in town!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes don't mention walking poles, but the FAQs do - I'd say take them, some of the walks were pretty steep and I wished I'd taken mine with me. Some of the campsites are indeed 'rustic' with limited options for showering in the second week and no running water at all at the final campsite felt a bit unnecessary. The Alaskan mozzies are as fearsome as their reputation too, not much you can do to deter them in all honesty, just be ready to itch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was without doubt one of the most beautiful places I've been, every day had jaw dropping views and ithe itinerary was more active than I had expected which was great. Most times the choice was open as to how active to be, so everyone in the group was able to go at their own pace which worked really well. We were lucky to have amazing weather through the whole of the trip - I could imagine that the camping may not have been so much fun had it been tipping down and cold for two weeks, but that's the risk you take. I guess. The final day of sea planing and bears got a big build up and it was a good day, but for me not necessarily the highlight.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ALASKA

    Fantastic combination of wildlife and scenery in Alaska's top destinations. The combination of stunning glaciers, fjords, mountains together with humpbacks, moose, bears, sea otters, beaver and caribou made this an unforgettable holiday  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many - the top three were :a) Watch humpbacks breach in Prince William Sound and Kenai Fjords National Parkb) The 90 minute scenic flight over the Bagley icefield from McCarthyc) Watching two grizzlies, each with three cubs on our bear watching trip 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders, Rebecca and Leah were very good. They organised the group well, got the right level of group participation from the outset and interacted with and informed the group very well.Rebecca's cooking was exceptionally good  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only advice3 would be to take after bite in addition to deet spray as the mosquitos in certain areas were a problem

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were lucky enough to experience good weather for the majority of the trip. Would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys stunning scenery and wildlife.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ALASKA

    A trip of a lifetime with breath-taking scenery! A good balance of challenging hikes and other activities like the whale watching cruise and scenic float plane flight. Its definitely aimed at people who like to be busy and active on their holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hike to Harding ice field was fantastic with amazing views and ever changing terrain to hike through.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were fun-loving and quirky. Their enthusiasm and passion for Alaska was contagious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its nothing like I imagined or expected. Go with an open mind and you will love it.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ALASKA

    Wow, what a trip, lots of wildlife and the scenery was ever changing but amazing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pick just one but the Glacier Flight in Denali National Park was fantastic, flying so close to Mount McKinley, seeing how the glacier has changed the valley. Also the float plane bear viewing trip was amazing. We go so close to the bears but they did not seem bothered by us at all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was strange having two tour leaders but Mark and Alia did a very good job, provided lots of alternative options for the group not wanting to hike and were willing to amend things when the weather was poor.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take a mosquito head net, they were the worst for 40 years and we all got bitten.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Alaska is an amazing place unlike any other on the planet, with lots of glaciers, waterfalls and wildlife
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    WILDLIFE & WILDERNESS OF ALASKA

    A varied trip with good wildlife viewing opportunities.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day spent bear viewing was fabulous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ryan was always friendly and a very good cook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a very good camera with a zoom lens for wildlife pictures.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is varied and Alaska is huge.  Thus the walking opportunities are limited - both by the weather and the amount of distances covered.  This is a wildlife and wilderness trip - not a hiking trip.
Call us on 0208 772 3936