Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

372 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2022

    Christmas Cracker

    This trip exceeded my expectations and is one of the best Christmases I have ever had. On Christmas Day, we walked the Path of the Gods under a cloudless blue sky and enjoyed spectacular views of the Amalfi coastline. During five full days walking, we ascended and descended the hillsides, winding our way along pretty pathways and villages, passing through woodland and jumping narrow streams. All the while, we were aware of the impossibly dramatic and beautiful view spread out below us and the coastline fringed with the turquoise sea. We were able to visit Ravello with its picturesque Villa Cimbrone gardens; Amalfi with its stunning cathedral and chic shops and Positano with its wide shoreline (although it was Christmas Day and nothing was open). On one day, we walked around the rim of Vesuvius and even ventured into the crater (quite hot) and followed that with a guided tour of Pompeii. On the last day, some of us took a taxi to Naples to visit the Archeological Museum and sample a perfect pizza from the town of its invention.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Driving back to the hotel along the winding coast road and witnessing the most spectacular sunset I have ever seen.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader, Veriano Verde, was excellent and went out of his way to make everything enjoyable for us. He has a good knowledge of the area so was able to tell us lots of interesting things about Agerola. Throughout the trip, he was unfailingly pleasant and helpful. He even gave up his day off to take a group of people up the mountain for a walk that we had had to forego because of the heavy fog.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your walking poles and plenty of thin layers as the weather can be cool in the mountains and then hot on the coast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go on this holiday - you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed January 2022

    So much more than just a walking holiday

    When I booked this walking holiday over Christmas I knew it would include walking in a fantastic area of Italy with wonderful views but this trip turned out to be so much more! Churches, gardens , history and a mini cooking holiday all included. The trips to Pompeii and Versuvius were both excellent with two knowledgeable guldes. The hotel truly was" family run" and the two evenings we were invited into the kitchen to watch /help prepare the food were interesting and informative. Have to give a special mention to the pizza night which was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the rim of the crater at Versuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio our guide, was very well organised and efficient but in a relaxed and friendly way which made all the activities so much more enjoyable He was very knowledgeable and his enthusiasm for the area and its food and drink was infectious

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am a regular walker but some of this terrain was challenging, in particular THE STEPS!! Would definitely recommend using walking poles and if you've got bad knees maybe it isn't the holiday for you

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a quick shout out to Katie in the office who in these difficult times for traveling was calm, patient and never made me feel like I was asking a stupid question, which sometimes I was !!!!!
  • Reviewed January 2022

    A must!

    A very enjoyable trip during the 2nd winter of the pandemic; would love to go back again at another time of year but fear it would be too busy, this was just perfect. Daily walks with some amazing scenery. Hotel was just as described and run by a family of several generations with care and warmth, helpful in every way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Path of the Gods on a gloriously warm sunny day in December. Walking to the highest point of the crater of Vesuvius in mist and cold! 2 different days of such contrast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is a very experienced leader and is fully aware of the needs of individuals. Just seems to have everything simply organised all the time. Everyone knows him and he's always able to contact someone about something! Great sense of humour and willing to go the extra mile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There's lots of steps but you walk at your pace and just enjoy the scenery. At least one walking pole is a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pre-dinner cocktails in the hotel are great value, such a wide range, a different one every night and still many more to try! The food was very good.....4 courses if you can eat that much! The restaurant on the evening off was superb.
  • Reviewed November 2021

    Bonhomie, gelato and beautiful towns

    The trip is full of spectacular scenery. The towns in particular, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, and Ravello are lovely, and great to photograph. The walks usually have a view of the dramatic coastline, and include the Path of the Gods, worthy of a T-shirt. The group was really friendly, which really made the holiday for a single traveller.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Villa Cimbrone, Ravello, was spectacular. The villa, statues and gardens and the view from the 'infinity terrace' were great on a blue-sky day in October.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was great. He was a very experienced guide. He took good care of the group, arranged the itinerary according to the weather forecast, and gave us a lot of local information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking is not as easy as the trip notes suggest. The coastline is very rugged. One walk has over 2000 steps downwards, and on others the paths are steep and rocky. Walking poles are recommended (some were available at the hotel).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel and food were good. There is a nice mix of included meals, and days where you can check out the local cafes and restaurants. Bomerano is a good location (at the start of the Path of the Gods), but it is not easy to explore further towns on foot, eg on your day off. The arranged minibus transport, when not included in the trip price, are quite expensive.
  • Reviewed November 2021

    Stunning walking

    This trip takes you through the most beautiful parts of the Mediterranean walking with a guide and also discovering the wonders of Pompeii and Vesuvius. The hotel had a nice feel as family run, spotless and comfortable rooms, we were well looked after for breakfasts and dinner each day, and the barmen fixed some mean cocktails for us.!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day long walk of the valley of the Gods and Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Seve is half Sicilian, half Greek, and was all you would expect from a good guide and more. He was highly knowledgeable of the area, well connected with the locals, experienced, and understood and managed group dynamics very well, and had a very good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking can be a bit demanding with many steps some days but so worth it with the experiences you get. My advice would just get some exercise in a week or o before you go. I'm 95 kg and 62 and did ok.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The town of Agerola makes for an excellent base. Most activities started with walking from the town. It is small but not touristy like Amalfi and Positano and felt like a lived in and authentic place .I would do this all over again in a blink of an eye!
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Walking the Amalfi Coast in the days of Covid

    This Exodus holiday is one of the most popular and I have wanted to "do it" for years. It combines guided walking, swimming in the sea and pool, a week's stay in a small and friendly hotel Due Torri above Amalfi, history and sightseeing, and great hospitality, food and wine. This September 2020, we seized the moment ("CARPE DIEM") and my husband, his brother, and I booked the September 5 week. We realised we were taking a risk, but now we are so relieved we did, as it prepared us to cope with the uncertainties of living with Covid this UK winter. A perfect sunny week without crowds, a wonderful guide (Severio) and such a great, sociable group of 12. We were welcomed at the hotel and in the town of Bomerano - this was the first time they had all opened since March and our guide had been working at the Hotel. As soon as UK relaxes its quarantine rules, be sure to take this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the warmth and hospitality of the Italians. And definitely Cocktail Hour at the Hotel Due Torri Bar - in particular those gins and tonics before dinner. For my husband completing the Path of the Gods. He is not the walker he used to be before an accident 40+ years ago, but he is proud he made it. And we are grateful to Severio and the group for tolerating his lack of speed! I should mention that this walk was definitely less exposed than Trip Notes had led some of the ladies in our group to expect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was just great with excellent organisational skills. He was sociable, knowledgable and forebearing with all the group. And best he was Italian with a good understanding of English. We were very lucky. And he even helped me to buy at the local supermarket a kilo of Parmigiano and a pot of Sicilian olives to take back to UK.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks involve a lot (thousands) of stone and concrete steps - both up and downhill. So bear that in mind if your knees are bad. Bomerano, where the hotel is, is 650 metres above sea level. However there is always the opportunity to complete the walks by public transport and meet up at the bottom. Trip Notes do prepare you, so read them. I regretted missing a guided visit to Herculaneum on our free day, and chose Capri instead, enjoying a dish of spaghetti Vongole at an excellent restaurant recommended by our guide. Next time. We had great guides for Pompeii and Versuvius, part of the holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of my favourite Exodus holidays and I was not disappointed.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Katie Szkornik

    A wonderful , relaxed week of walking on the Almalfi Coast

    I really loved this trip to the Amalfi Coast, and it was just what I was looking for in terms of a relaxing, but active, New Year break. A nice mix of walking and culture, with no early starts or late finishes and plenty of time for a relaxing coffee or two after walks had finished. The Hotel Due Torri where you stay for the whole week is a family run hotel with a nice atmosphere, delicious food, and a fabulous range of cocktails (the limoncello spritz was the 'drink of the holiday'!). Enjoyed the opportunity to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum, as well as a trip to the crater of Vesuvius. Thanks also to our tour leader Teresa for helping to make this a fabulous week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Pompeii. Fascinating guided tour and Pompeii really exceed my expectations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresea was great. I especailly enjoyed all the local food treats she shared with us during our walks! It was also nice that she sat and ate dinner with the group every evening, and made an effort to really get to know everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not always warm in southern Italy! I wore four layers the day we went to Pompeii and was just about warm enough. If you go over Christmas and/or New Year make sure you pack some warm clothes, and hats and gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be great if Exodus could offer a greater range of trips over New Year. I've met many poeople who want to spend Christams with family, but then like to get away shortly after for a week or so. Most companies only offer a limited range of trips at this time of year.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Dougie Gray

    Stunning views

    What more can we say,,, fabulous walks, great hotel with great staff. Our guide Vania is fantastic making everyone feel welcome right from the beginning! Her bright breezy funny chat was great and very informative. She always had an answer for all our dumb questions!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views along the coast from the higher view points on our walks!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania couldn't have been better! Very knowledgeable, welcoming, great English,, I could go on and on!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Nigel Glenister

    First Taste of Italy

    This can only be described as the best way to see the Amalfi Coast. What a beautiful place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view offered from the walks of the Amalfi coast and beyond were amazing. Many of the walks end with a boat trip back along the coast, this allowed you to look back along the route of your walk, giving you a different perspective of the walk. Amazing and relaxing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is a highly experienced tour leader, with excellent knowledge of the area and history of Italy. We were extremely well looked after.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was great, the owners make you feel at home all week.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Cheryl Huyck

    Exceeded Expectations

    Our first hiking vacation and the whole experience was incredible. Our guide, Louise, was energetic and so very passionate about her joy of hiking as she lead our group of 16. Strangers we were on our day or arrival but friendships formed quickly as we enjoyed our mutual love of exploring new countries and hiking the most amazing trails. Each day was fantastic as Louise expertly guided us safely along the paths we walked, encouraged us when we needed encouragement and was helpful in so many ways. Hotel was well located, meals delicious and accommodations comfortable. Each staff member @ our hotel worked hard and made us all feel welcome. Would highly recommend this itinerary. Glad we did this in mid-late September. Weather still warm but not blazing hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the rim of Mt. Vesuvius on a crystal clear day with great guides and companions. But then there was the incredible Pathway of the Gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Truly loves hiking and an experienced guide. Would love to hike with her again some day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear appropriate hiking shoes, use walking sticks and keep your eyes open.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip. Would do it again if time allowed.