Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Deepak Malhotra

    Fabulous sightseeing and walking holiday

    Fun group, stunning scenery, enjoyable walks, lovely hotel, food and wine - what's not to like?!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around Pompeii and understanding what really happened....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was truly fun, friendly and tried her best to look after us all. She was also very patient!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Charles Clark

    A really good, well balanced holiday with an inspired leader

    Walking the Amalfi Coast was a really delightful holiday. True enough, walking in the hills in the middle of summer is not everybody's idea of fun but most of the walking was at either a reasonably cool height or close to the sea breezes. Almost all the walks were at least partly in shade which made a lot of difference in a week of cloudless skies. The walking was not that difficult and needed only a moderate amount of fitness. Plenty of breaks for fluids were factored in. Walking was interspersed with two days off. One at Pompeii and Vesuvius; a second with a range of alternatives. Very comfortable friendly hotel with excellent simple Italian food. Delicious!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods over to Positano was beautiful with spectacular views down the coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was an outstanding group leader. It would be hard to improve on her skills. We were a pretty mixed bunch. Sixteen of us, aged sixteen to eighty from Britain, America and the Antipodes might have been a bit of a challenge for any group leader but she got it absolutely spot on. Those of us who saw it will never forget her dance with the goatherd at the Bomerano World Music Festival!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the overall grading of the holiday is about right, be prepared to do some sustained uphill walking, even if the distances are not that long and the ascent each day is fairly moderate. Anyone who is reasonably fit and active can manage this.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Margot Ahlquist

    An experience to treasure

    A spectacular trip led by a gem of a tour guide in Martina. It was the perfect mix of activity, discovery and relaxation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was more than one. Arriving in Amalfi after a challenging walk and trekking around the Vesuvio crater were highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina is an incredible tour leader! She is very knowledgeable, fun and organized.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Lorna Dickson

    Andiamo!

    Fantastic holiday which exceeded my expectations for my first walking holiday with Exodus. The scenery on all the walks was breathtaking, the stops for "elevenses " and lunch were spectacular and exploring the picturesque towns and diving into the sea at the end of the walks was amazing. The itinerary was well-balanced with time to explore the towns/villages after or before the walks. The hotel and food was excellent and we enjoyed the cooking and pizza demonstrations. They also catered very well for dietary requirements. Our guide Vania was excellent and as a group we got on very well! Overall, an incredible holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Paths of the God walk - the longest but most enjoyable of them all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was an excellent guide - she was enthusiastic, organised, engaging and great fun to be around. She set a good pace for the week and supported members of the group who suffered from vertigo by helping them through the challenging sections. What really stood out was how well liked Vania is by the local hotel staff and cafe staff etc; her kindness and enthusiasm is recognised by all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say sections of the walks were more moderate than leisurely. There are a lot of steps in most of the walks and some up-hill sections were steep. Some sections are exposed. The heat added an extra challenge. Read the trip notes!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Louis Victor

    Glorious walking and an excellent itinerary

    This was our first Exodus guided walking holiday and the whole experience was an excellent one. The Amalfi Coast is beautiful and this itinerary showcases the highlights superbly, with a varied selection of walks and a host of beautiful sights. I would say that the level is more 'moderate' than easy as all walks included some trickier sections and there are many, many steps but the rewards for effort are wonderful with amazing views following each other in quick succession every day. The balance of the week was great, with good chances to recover between the walks, and the Hotel due Torri was a very good base, with lovely staff, large, cool rooms and excellent food. Finally a word for our leader/guide Vania - she was an absolute delight and a real highlight of the trip! We are already looking at the Exodus site to plan future holidays but I would say that this is a great one for Exodus newbies to start with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the crater of Vesuvius was sensational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was terrific - so genuine, friendly, knowledgeable and engaged. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she really helped the group to gel, contributing to a fabulous week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully, they are very comprehensive and honest but some people in our parallel group managed to be surprised by the walking levels, etc. Also remember to bring your proof of holiday insurance... you can't take the walks without it!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    nicola patterson

    Don't think about it - book it!!

    Wow! What can I say to do justice to this trip? Breathtaking views, amazing walks to picturesque villages nestles on the steep cliffs of the Amalfi coast. Brilliant food and friendly family service at the hotel including getting in to the kitchen to see how they make the fresh pasta and pizza! The walks are not technically difficult but in the 40 plus degree heat they became a little challenging but were well worth it for the incredible views. Our guide Severio was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him and he always had a ready smile. I would happily do this trip again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting at the top of Mount Tre Calli having a picnic lunch looking down over the town of Positano was the highlight for me, you cannot describe the views we had over the Amalfi Peninsula. Well worth the long uphill slog to get there,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I said above, Severio was brilliant. Knowledgeable, encouraging and nothing was too much trouble for him. He even gave up his day off to arrange and accompany our group on a trip to Capri Island. Always willing to go above and beyond the call of duty!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hiking shoes are necessary but full hiking boots are not needed, some of the walks can be done in a pair of trainers which gives your feet a break from the hiking shoes. Make sure your day pack is big enough to carry a swimsuit and towel to use in many of the villages we finish up in! A refreshing dip is perfect at the end of a hot sweaty walk!
  • Reviewed July 2018

    A brilliant first walking holiday

    Enjoyed every day of our first walking holiday, met a lovely group of people, good age range, good mix of couple and single travellers. Scenery was spectacular, hotel due torri was first class - friendly and welcoming as were the locals. The walks were well planned by Paul, our guide which just left us to enjoy the scenery (even the steps). Would recommend the small additional fee for the guide in Pompei and Vesuvius. Exodus have this holiday well planned including amazing drivers of coaches and taxis. This was our first holiday with Exodus and would definitely go with them again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last walk up Tre Calli had the most amazing views, unspoilt countryside and the feeling of being on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul our leader was brilliant, friendly, organised and seemed to enjoy sharing the secrets of the Amalfi coast with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do even more practice walks up and down steps than you think necessary.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Catherine Arter

    I can quite understand why this holiday is an Exodus best seller....

    Much of what I would say has already been said in reviews below. This was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday in every respect. Moderately challenging walking, at a leisurely pace, in gorgeous scenery, with a delightful, professional and knowledgeable young guide (Martina Cipola) just about sums it up. Then add a relaxed and congenial family run hotel, with excellent food plus amiable travel companions and it's easy to see why this is a winner. Ideally based in the hills above the coast, away from the crowds was perfect - I loved exploring the authentic little town of Bomerano. We (my daughter and I) really had fun and lots of laughs!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick one out - perhaps the beautiful walk from Amalfi, taking in industrial archaeology, lemon groves and a steep climb - to be rewarded by Ravello.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing - bright, fun, caring, knowledgeable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I don't usually use walking poles, but I did find them useful on the long downhill sections. Take at least one warm item - the temperature differences can be quite marked during a typical walking day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a big thank you to everyone who made this such a lovely holiday!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sarah Crawley

    Amazing scenery great friends and awesome guiding.

    We had a wonderful time walking the amalfi coast and managing to fit in Pompeii, Herculean and Capri. We didn't walk that far each day but it was a lot of ascending and descending with so many steps. Incredible views, wonderful family run accommodation. Brilliant guides in martina and enrico.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the path of the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for this holiday. We are fit running regularly and we still found some of the walking tough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do the trip to Herculaneum on the Saturday morning before you fly out and do capri on the Wednesday. It is expensive but worth it. If you like shoes Italian handmade shoes are great and much cheaper than standard shoes in the uk.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lynn Findlay

    TDA180616

    Fantastic holiday beautiful sights an amazing area to visit. The tour guide Martina Cipolla could not have done more. She was very knowledgeable open friendly and great at making sure everyone's abilities were catered for. The hotel was lovely friendly staff food was brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking Mount Vasoovius

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant could of asked of more from her

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No only enjoy
Call us on 020 8772 3936