Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Richard McGaw

    Bucket list trip

    Everything was seamless. The balance was excellent: two days hiking, a day of Pompeii and Herculeneum, a hike, an optional day in Capri or Naples, and a closing hike. The hotel and its staff were welcoming. The views are stunning in Amalfi, and when you look back at where you came from you are amazed that you did it. I travelled to and from Agerola off the Exodus schedule and the hotel arranged it perfectly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide rescued an abandoned pup that we found on a hike. He made the effort to carry the pup until we came to someone who knew where it likely came from, and took over.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. Sevario was enthusiastic, well prepared, indulgent of perhaps too many questions, made an effort to encourage people in difficult terrain, helped rescue one of our group who stumbled off the trail and fell down a steep slope, and led someone with vertigo through challenging terrain. I never expected that he would be with the group from morning till late in the evening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the trip. Amalfi is breathtakingly beautiful. The walks in some cases are probably a little more difficult than advertised, but most of our group was 60+, and if you are reasonably fit you will have no trouble.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alan & Peta Purdy

    Outstanding - lives up to its reputation!

    This week endorses the many positive reviews already posted. It is a perfect mix of incredible scenery, just challenging enough walks, a lovely homely hotel, lots of variety in the week's programme and excursions, great food, and we were lucky to enjoy a fun group of people from England, Canada and our own New Zealand. Our guide Severio was fun, knowledgeable, thoughtful and supportive - especially when we needed to seek local medical assistance. The hotel staff are family and fabulous. Do it - it will be an experience you will never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many - the "Walk of the Gods"of course, the slog up the local three peaks mountain, Positano, Capri and hiking to the summit of Vesuvio.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't ask for better! Severio was the perfect leader in every sense, good humoured, diplomatic when required, and knowledgable - and patient with our appalling ignorance of Greek mythology!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared for the trails to be a little more demanding than the "2" rating would suggest. We thought this was probably a "3" because of some long uphill slogs and long stair descents. In hot weather it is taxing enough for we oldies! You need to have a reasonably good level of fitness and good knees to really enjoy the week. We did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This as our first Exodus trip. we would happily book another similar walking tour.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Ron Powell

    An Excellent Trip

    This trip was lived up to the billing in the trip notes in every way: excellent hotel with attentive staff and excellent food; excellent walks and free day options; and luckily for us, excellent weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks had their moments, as did the optional excursions. I hesitate to pick one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio could not have done more for us. An excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The steps can be tough, and although the days are shorter than a full Cat 3 holiday, in my opinion some of the gradients and terrain merit that rating. The Trip Notes say it all, so be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our 11th Exodus holiday and we're always asked which was our favourite. The answer is several, and this was well up there with them.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    James Callinan

    Our Italian Adventure

    This holiday exceeded our expectations on all levels even though I am an Exodus fan, having travelled on their adventure holidays many times in the past. This was a centre based holiday high above the Amalfi Coast staying at a lovely family run hotel with good facilities and great food. We had a very experienced leader called Suzy and she organised and catered for our group of 16 travellers with endless energy and great enthusiasm! Our group of friends from all over the world bonded right from the beginning eating and socialising all together and enjoying our days together. The walks were excellent and acurately described in the trip notes and three of the walks started from the hotel which was good as it did not involve coach travel on the winding, hair raising roads around the area! We had a great day visiting Mount Versuvius and Pompeii and there were several options on our free day and we chose to visit Herculanium. The weather on our holiday was perfect and the scenery spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our most inspirational moment was climbing up to the top of Monte Tre Calli mountain and taking in the breathtaking views of the coastline.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Suzanne Hesselden was excellent in all departments, she was a very experienced tour leader in walking, cycling and climbing and was very good organising our group and accommodating everybody's needs and expectations. Her energy, enthusiasm and knowledge of the area was boundless and inspired everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend to any prospective travellers to get into training for this wonderful walking holiday as the terrain can be tough going including many steps. I would grade this as a moderate rather than leisurely walking holiday and getting a little bit of training in would make sure you enjoy the holiday to its fullest.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to congratulate Exodus in organising this excellent holiday, from brochure ,website and helpful and knowledgable staff and seemless booking process, good flight times and quality and professional transportation; I look forward to choosing my next holiday with Exodus very soon.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Johnny Villalobos

    Fantastic walking / Trekking holiday

    Thanks Exodus to provide such Fantastic experiences in our holidays and this one was very unique all the trails were beautiful with a learning touch of Italian culture ( andiamo/ limoncello/ mozzarella/ preggo) every time we stop for lunch in a local area sometimes in the middle of nowhere but with a good aftertaste . The hotel Due Torri Geovanni and Nicola and the staff were simply Excellent with there hospitality and sense of humor. Plus the hotel location is brilliant in Bomerano a small village in the area of Argerola at a walking distance to a small plaza ( piazza) where you can have a good coffee or local beer . Enjoy it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day we walked the Tree calli was the beginning of our inspirational journey followed by the outstanding Path of the Gods Trail ( Sentiero degli Dei )that was Incredible in all ways, Stunning views of the coast and mountains .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania di Paoli , she was excellent on her duties and all the time looking after every one . Great sense of humor very nice person to be around. Not only leading us through the amazing trails but always with excellent advices about the area and what to do during free time . You will be lucky to have her as a leader .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good walking shoes , comfortable clothing for the time of the year , walking poles , hat . And remember this is a WALKING & TREKKING holiday. Enjoy it .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We went to Capri in our free day and was excellent we took our’s leader advise to visit in anacapri San Michello Church and the chair lift to Lazaro Mt and the views were stunning.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Joanne Nasuti

    Challenging walks, beautiful views of Almafi Coast.

    The walks are scenic in beautiful Almafi. I reiterate that this is not appropriately rated a 2 and I do not understand why Exodus stubbornly refuses to change the rating. I have done two "6" rated walks with other operators, Kilimanjaro Ronghai route and ABC in Nepal, and while this trip was easier, it was not so much easier to warrant a 2 rating. I was told that the walks are done at a leisurely pace. The first day I was walking at my quick New York pace and managed to keep up with the leader. She asked all walkers to try and stay together, which meant that those going at a leisurely pace had to rush to keep up. I later chose not to do the more challenging sections requiring descending on loose scree because I did not want to hold up the group. Despite our quick pace we only had about a hour of free time at the Almafi Coast and Positano. Our lunches were very quick as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ferry pulling up to Capri and going between the rock structures and the boat captain singing "Volare." This was on our free day,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable about the area. She did a very good job looking after my niece who was 23 and taking her first Exodus trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just keep in mind that this is a challenging trip. Also, on the free day in Capri, ignore the advise of the tour leaders who may try to discourage you from taking the grotto tours. Our leader discouraged me, and I regret it after hearing how much everyone who did it enjoyed it. Capri itself is very commercial and touristy. I would spend more time at Anacapri and doing boat tours at sea level.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus should try to schedule the walks to allow for more free time for lunch and for visiting the various towns. This was my first walking trip as my other 5 Exodus trips were cycling, and I understand that cycling allows for more free time in villages, but I felt that the times we had in the towns were still too short.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jo Haley

    Absolutely amazing Amalfi!

    I booked this trip at the last minute, bagged the last space and feel very lucky. The walking, the views, the history, the food, the wine and my group (the best ever ;-) and excellent guide Severio made this trip fantastic and unforgettable. So much is packed into this itinerary with the beautiful walking trails, stunning views, watching pasta, pizza and cheese making, walking with a volcanologist on the crater rim of Vesuvio, and guided tour of Pompeii. I felt fortunate to also take advantage of optional trips to Capri and Herculaneum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Path of the Gods. I just loved the views - breathtaking. The place where we stopped for lunch was charming and the food delicious. Finishing the walk with a dip in the sea at Positano was perfect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio kept everyone highly entertained and well informed. He seemed to know exactly when we needed a break on our walks, made sure we kept hydrated. He would warn us and help us through any tricky parts of the routes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The itinerary is busy. Getting around this part of Italy is not cheap if you're thinking of doing your own thing at any point. There's really very little time for shopping, which was absolutely fine for me but may be a problem for others. Definitely bring swimwear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Grazie mille for a wonderful time.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Asha P

    Walking The Amalfi Coast - AMAZING!

    An absolute must-see and do trip! Everything about the trip was incredible!.....from as soon as we arrived at the airport to be picked up and taken to our hotel to the very last day and moment we were dropped off for the return journey back. Our tour guide Martina is such a warm-hearted, thoughtful, bubbly individual who everyday had the biggest smile and made sure each of us within the group were getting the most from our walking and enjoying all the scenery along the way, she is a fantastic leader with lots and lots of enthusiasm! The hotel we stayed in, Ztorri, is perfect! The hotel staff are extremely lovely welcoming people who accommodate anything you might need while staying there. They always went the extra mile catering for me being the only vegetarian in my group and food was always so delicious and fulfilling. The room I stayed in was immaculately clean and bed very comfortable to get a good night sleep each day, and I especially liked the mini kettle provided in the room with tea/coffee!! Each day I would be greeted with so many smiles and all the staff are lovely to each other too which for me creates the most nicest atmosphere to be in......they honestly are a true Italian Family who I could see work very hard to keep their guests the happiest they can be....I definitely would recommend this specific hotel to all my family and friends when they are in Amalfi, as I know they will be looked after like royalty, be served the most delicious Italian food, and will have their expectations exceeded and much more! The Amalfi Coast is beautiful more than you can imagine, the walks we did took us to panoramic views of the Amalfi and all around is crystal blue sea, with all the history and incredible scenery among us. For me I particularly loved the time we had in Ravello the most, as they have a place called Villa Cimbrone there which is the most breath taking garden I have ever seen.......the moment I entered I knew I could spend the whole day there....it is so beautifully created with all the different plants and paths and views of the coast, that I cannot fully describe the beauty of it.....its somewhere you will be speechless as the views and environment are just that incredible....I think it should be a top three wonder of the world! You will see for yourself if you go!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Villa Cimbrone in Ravello

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A highly knowledgeable and most enthusiastic and kind leader, Martina is amazing in every way!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to do this trip and it will be one of your most memorable memories ever! It sure is for me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Exodus for organising/creating such a wonderful trip, and thank you to Martina and the Hotel staff at Ztorri for making the experience so wonderful too!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Terry Lovelock

    A holiday to remember

    An good stay in the Amalfi region, with excellent but challenging walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All walks, site visits and local activities were well organised and informative. The walk of the gods was particularly stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was excellent in all respects. She was very cool, calm and collected and her interpersonal (people skills) were exceptional. Her English was fluent and entertaining. She was very conscious of the groups needs and ensured that the group stayed together, despite differing abilities within the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough for the challenges ahead. It is not easy walking. A good pair of stout walking shoes and poles are essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Too much time was spent in Amalfi and Positano, kicking heel. The walks should start later in the day to limit the time spent in these venues.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Paul Ellen

    Fabulous views, beautiful coastline.

    Challenging and enjoyable walks rewarded with spectacular views across the Amalfi coastline.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Monte Tre Calli and seeing Positano and the coastline for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina Cipolia has an outgoing personality and is very passionate about hiking, the Amalfi coast region and Italy in general. She set the hiking pace at a level where everyone could keep up. There were plenty of opportunities for taking photographs. On our free day she organised for our transport to Herculaneum.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Exodus website mentions bringing water bottles. If you are taking this trip in the summer months it is recommended you bring water bottles which can hold 2 litres.
Call us on 020 8772 3936