Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ray Morris-Hill

    Spectacular Italian Coastal Scenery

    Beautiful coastal walking with so much to see and enjoy. The weather in September was just perfect -mid 20's Celsius every day. Check out my short holiday video here https://youtu.be/YMSI8ye1kQc to get a taste of the area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the magnificent coast from Tre Calli on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Satva was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun. She was keen to get us walking as a group so everyone felt part of the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some training in before the trip - there are a lot of steps and the downhill can really stretch your calf muscles! Bring sticks as they will help a lot. Good walking boots are a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pompeii is extraordinary but when we were there it was overrun by lots of tour groups. Amalfi was also very busy. Most of the walking routes are quiet.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mary Ziebell

    Beautiful hikes, beautiful sea and sky

    Coming back to Due Torri was really nice after hiking and exploring all day. The family run hotel is comfortable and they took great care of our group. The cooking demos were really fun and the food and wine was really good. The hikes were good physicial work outs, not to mention the scenery was spectacular. This tour is rated properly as moderate, but I would not consider the hikes as walking tour. Being a hiker in the mountains where I live, I was able to negotiate and feel physical good, but some people in our group did struggle. The 'path of the gods' hike was the highlight for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'path of the gods' hike was the best. Standing up above the sea, looking out, knowing I had got there on my own two legs was a thrill. The view just filled my heart with such joy. Also, the hike around the crater at Mount Vesuvius was unbelievable. What an experience.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was our group leader and I did like him. At times his pace was a little too fast and there were a couple of occasions where we had stopped for a rest and he just took off again, leaving a couple of us still sitting. Other than that, was a good leader, he did take care of us and lead us on some awesome hikes. My friend Beverly's luggage did not arrive in Naples with us and I'm pretty sure Severio and the Due Torri staff did some Italian/connection magic to get her luggage to her the next day

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is my first trip with Exodus and was pleased with how it went.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Annabel Ewbank-Smith

    A steptastic holiday!

    This was a great holiday in a beautiful area, fantastic coastal walks with amazing views of the cobalt sea, trekking through lemon groves past olive trees, fascinating towns and villages, and even a swim in the Mediterranean. There were a lot of steps but the trip information did warn of this. The Hotel Due Torri seemed to think it was a privilege to host us!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the crater of Vesuvius and enjoying the views from the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Satva obviously loves her job and inspired us all with her enthusiasm, knowledge and love of the Amalfi area. Nothing was too much trouble and she even gave language tips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get in some training on steep uphill and downhill slopes, and extensive sections of steps.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Beverly Rietmann

    Wonderful hikes - terrific staff.

    It goes without saying that the hikes on the Amalfi Coast are spectacular. My particular favorite was the hike around Vesuvious. My tour had a very inauspicious start - my luggage did not arrive with me and airport personnel were unable to provide information about where it ended up. Due to the above-and-beyond efforts of my tour leader, the hotel staff and their local contacts I got it back in just one day. Kudos to Exodus for employing such competent and caring people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when my missing luggage was wheeled I to the dining room while our entire group applauded.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the term "walking" with a grain salt. That was HIKING, folks!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Beverly Rietmann

    Wonderful hikes - terrific staff.

    It goes without saying that the hikes on the Amalfi Coast are spectacular. My particular favorite was the hike around Vesuvious. My tour had a very inauspicious start - my luggage did not arrive with me and airport personnel were unable to provide information about where it ended up. Due to the above-and-beyond efforts of my tour leader, the hotel staff and their local contacts I got it back in just one day. Kudos to Exodus for employing such competent and caring people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when my missing luggage was wheeled I to the dining room while our entire group applauded.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the term "walking" with a grain salt. That was HIKING, folks!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Karen White

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A fantastic holiday from start to finish. The hotel was comfortable, food was great and the staff very friendly. Our guide, Enrico was extremely knowledgeable and took us on some fantastic walks. View were absolutely stunning. I would definitely recommend this holiday although you do need to be fit for all the hills and steps!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just about every stunning view was inspirational! Have to admit I didn't expect to enjoy the visit to Pompey as much as I did - it was fascinating. Walking around the crater of Vesuvius was surreal. The walk to Ravello was my favourite walk. It's difficult to choose a best bit as it was all brilliant!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico was very friendly and continually made sure everyone was OK. His knowledge of the area, the plants, the culture etc was exceptional. He was extremely likeable and we were very lucky to have him as a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes! I would not rate this holiday as easy to moderate. I would rate it moderate. I am reasonably fit but even I struggled on the last day with even more steps. The walking is in beautiful countryside and coastline but there really are thousands of steps to climb up and if you are not fit, you may struggle. Having said that our leader Enrico always had a "Plan B" and for those that were struggling, there was always the option of a bus for the second half of the walk so that no-one completely missed out. Proper walking shoes are also a must. Several of our group also found that their walking poles helped on some of the walks. Take a good camera - the views are stunning!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say thank you to Enrico and all the staff at the hotel who all helped to make this such a great holiday. I was also lucky that everyone in our group was really friendly too. I also enjoyed the few extra things included such as the pasta making demonstration one evening, the visit to a cheese factory and the pizza making demonstration one evening. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday - just book early as it is very popular and now I know why!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rebecca Wilson

    Bestselling holiday for a reason

    This was my first time to go on a holiday with Exodus and it lived up to all my hopes. This is a very popular destination so we were divided into groups within the overall group, each with our own leader. Severio was excellent - informative, confident, knowledgeable about the area and thoughtful about making sure the walks catered for everyone's varying levels of fitness and ability. He also gave good advice on things to do with our free day. Our group gelled very well, and we were lucky with the weather as we arrived just after the heatwave but avoided too much in the way of torrential downpours, apart from one day - and the itinerary was adapted so we still got to do the 'Walk of the Gods' - it felt fitting to leave this lovely, scenic walk til the last day. Equally impressive for the views was the 'Tre Calli' but all the walks were lovely in their own way. They weren't too challenging in terms of distance, but definitely tough on the legs in terms of the steep ascents and descents and the many steps - those with dodgy knees, take heed and take sticks! The family-run hotel Due Torri was lovely - great hearty dinners each day, cooking demos and the chance to get involved and get to know the staff, and a good selection of breakfast choice though they could probably do with a slightly more efficient coffee machine! I have many happy memories of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A draw between getting to the top of the Tre Calli and having our picnic there with stunning views, and walking down into Positano together on the last day as a group, tired but happy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio as mentioned above was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sticks and be warned about the steep ascents and descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to Pompeii and Vesuvio with the local guides was excellent too.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Val Evans

    Amalfi 12 August

    This was my first big trip alone and Severio and all the group made me feel very welcome. It was hot but Severio gave us plenty of stops and the views were amazing. The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel comfortable. The food was varied and excellent. There was a good balance between walking, relaxing and other activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the rim of Vesuvius -only Exodus clients were doing that The 'walk of the gods' and the views from all the walks. The food and the cooking demos

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is very knowledgeable, has lots of useful local connections, is thoughtful to everyone and works hard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate -go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just don't know which trip to do next.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Andrew Gray

    amalfi aventure

    Had a lovely time in Amalfi. Hotel staff was wonderful, trip had good balance between adventure, views, walks, cultural interest and food. The group was amazing and the group leader was fantastic. The trip would have not been as fun and cheeky if Severio hadn't been our group leader. Thanks to his knowledge and fun personality we had a great time. we had a great time in Amalfi and would recommend it to all my friends. Thank you as well to all the new friends we made on this trip. All were great fun and we had such a laugh ,,,, we leave it at that .... we wont mention any names ...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Vesuvius walk was a great moment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent - top marks all the way

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if going in the summer, plenty of water and sun protector. enjoy the food and the views are amazing, take the trip ....
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Ben Wielgus

    Fantastic scenery, great food and central base mean a relaxing trip with plenty of exercise

    All of my previous Exodus trips have involved moving around every 1 or 2 days so this was a real treat to be able to unpack, relax and settle in. Coming back at night felt like coming home - the staff were so welcoming and there was plenty of food around.... we certainly needed it as the walking was strenuous but not overly challenging. The biggest thing to be aware of is the mixed ability of the group which means we needed to be considerate of different speeds and abilities but this meant we got plenty of time to look around, enjoy the scenery and talk to each other.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Vesuvius and walking along the crater was an absolute highlight for us and brought a sense of adventure to an otherwise relaxed walking trip/

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We loved our guide Satva. She's local and therefore deeply passionate about the history and food. Most of the guides we met were local and that added a huge amount to the experience. Loads of fun too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's worth doing the side trips whenever possible, even if your legs are a little achy. We chose to go to the ruins of Herculanum rather than Capri but it could even be possible to squeeze in both if you can fit the visit to Herculanum on your last day before your flight.
Call us on 020 8772 3936