Spring Fling - Save £100 on Selected Italy Trips booked by 25th April. Click here to see Terms & Conditions.

Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Linda Young

    Excellent holiday

    Excellent walking, fantastic views. A very well organised trip in a lovely friendly hotel. Our guide Vania was wonderful, friendly, enthusiatic and with a great sense of humour, a most enjoyable holiday.Thankyou to the rest of our group and Vania for being great company and making this such a special holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the walking, especially the rim of Mt Versuvius

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was faultless, funny and great at her job, the best!!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be reasonably fit as although most walking is relatively easy, there are some steep inclines and declines , so may not be suitable for those with knee and ankle problems. walking poles help.... warm clothing on Mt Versuvius rim may be needed early/late season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus booked our flights as a group booking with BA, but it is BA who allocate seats. unless specified it is possible/ likely that you can be sat apart. we were sat 3 seats apart going but 9 rows apart on the return flight. also BA is a cashless plane, and at lunchtime they ran out of sandwiches and porridge. so my advice is to be better prepared.... Exodus say they will look into this issue if it is more widely reported, so please do.....
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Godfrey Bancroft

    Superb in every way.

    The hotel, food, scenery, walks and especially our guide (Vania De Paoli) superb in every way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the highest quality. Company and humour of our group was brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania De Paoli. 'Simply the best.'

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A trip not to be missed.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jackie N

    Amazing trip, highly recommended

    This trip is excellent and I could not recommend it more highly. Breathtaking scenery, excellent accommodation in a beautiful family-run hotel and some of the very best Italian food you will ever eat. Our guide (Vania) was fantastic, enthusiastic, efficient and full of good recommendations. The walks are not too strenuous if you are reasonably fit, but be prepared for some short but steep ascents and longer descents, with a lot of steps/stairs on some routes. Good footwear and walking poles recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Path of the Gods and also the walk up the rim of Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was great: professional in her leadership, very enthusiastic and always full of smiles and energy. Excellent English too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Herculaneum is well worth a visit on the free day, even if you have already seen Pompeii. The two sites are different and complementary in what they teach you about Roman life. Make sure you get a guide (Vania recommended and booked an excellent one for us).
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Glenys Gibbs

    Walk of the gods and more

    Very well organised, lovely friendly hotel. Our representative, Vania, was a a delight and nothing was too much trouble.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk of the gods was one of the highlights plus the walk on our free day from Anacapri.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was a very hard working, caring leader. Nothing was too much trouble. Lots of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    March may be a bit early to see the area at its prettiest, but it was relatively quiet so I think maybe that was a bonus.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    William Wagner

    Amalfi Coast

    A wonderful week, great guide. Itinerary was great, and very comfortable accommodation. Be prepared for steps and inclines I think one day was 3000 steps, but everybody made it !! Visits to Pompeii and Herculaneum were really good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The path of the gods has amazing views. Villa Cimbrone gardens at Ravello again fantastic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group Leader Vania was really good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will probably want walking poles, the hotel does have some....
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Eric Flemingww

    Diamond Holiday

    Initially thought that as we had a large group...max size at 16 people, that it would be too many people having previously been with group sizes of 7-8. My ‘fears’ were unfounded as the group got on very well and during walks the group kept up with one another and paced to suit slower individuals. Hotel was excellent in Bomanero which was a small town with a small selection of shops and restaurants. Walks were varied and offered excellent views of the coast and short stops in small towns on a couple of the walks. Amalfi was not too busy in November but think it would be very busy and possibly too busy in the high season as would Ravello and Positano

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First view of Amalfi as well as visits to Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. She was a Scilian young girl called Martina Cippola. She was very organised and ensured we had evening meeting to discuss next days walk etc. She also provided a lot of information about the areas we were passing through. Some group members did not want to complete some of the harder section on various days and she ensured that those persons were able to use local buses etc to get them back to our hotel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of steps to negotiate, predominantly in a downward direction, so make sure your lower limbs can take the strain. Ensure that you carry a light wind proof top and a waterproof top/trousers if the forecast is for wet weather . If you don’t have one I’d recommend investing in a hydration system so that you can take on fluids without the need to take off your backpack to get to your water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend going off season as less hassle with crowded visitor sites such as Pompeii and Isle of Capri the last being an optional boat trip.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Eric Fleming

    Diamond Holiday

    Initially thought that as we had a large group...max size at 16 people, that it would be too many people having previously been with group sizes of 7-8. My ‘fears’ were unfounded as the group got on very well and during walks the group kept up with one another and paced to suit slower individuals. Hotel was excellent in Bomanero which was a small town with a small selection of shops and restaurants. Walks were varied and offered excellent views of the coast and short stops in small towns on a couple of the walks. Amalfi was not too busy in November but think it would be very busy and possibly too busy in the high season as would Ravello and Positano

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First view of Amalfi as well as visits to Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. She was a Scilian young girl called Martina Cippola. She was very organised and ensured we had evening meeting to discuss next days walk etc. She also provided a lot of information about the areas we were passing through. Some group members did not want to complete some of the harder section on various days and she ensured that those persons were able to use local buses etc to get them back to our hotel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of steps to negotiate, predominantly in a downward direction, so make sure your lower limbs can take the strain. Ensure that you carry a light wind proof top and a waterproof top/trousers if the forecast is for wet weather . If you don’t have one I’d recommend investing in a hydration system so that you can take on fluids without the need to take off your backpack to get to your water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend going off season as less hassle with crowded visitor sites such as Pompeii and Isle of Capri the last being an optional boat trip.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jenny McIntyre

    Amazing Amalfi!

    A wonderful week with lovely group, excellent and friendly guide, and fantastic weather! Brilliantly put together itinerary, and comfortable accomodation. Be aware that the distance on the walks does'nt indicate the undulations! Be prepared for steps and inclines! Worth it for the incredible views!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it, although walking round the entire rim of the crater of Vesuvius was superb!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was par excellence! Friendly, knowledgeable and fun-making sure all in the group were ok.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember your walking poles!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thankyou for a wonderful experience.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Dave B

    Not just a walking trip

    If you think it's just a walking trip then you're in for a pleasant surprise. There are a good variety of walks (although there a lot of downhill steps, so you should do some preparation for this otherwise your knees will complain !) ... but you also get cookery lessons, trips to Vesuvius & Pompeii, and optional trips to Capri/Herculaneum, plus a bit of exploratory time at the end of the walks. The days are full, with early starts on a couple of the days. The food at the hotel is great. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say one: Many, many fantastic views (worth getting to a 'high' point for a sunrise or sunset if you can) Pompeii was much more impressive than I expected (& brought to life by our guide) Travelling on the Capri buses was memorable !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great :) - if you get Martina then you will be very well looked after

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You'll read it in a lot of the reviews ... there are a LOT of steps, and most of them are downhill. You really will benefit from doing some longer downhill walks before you come to prepare your quads/calves/knees, it will make the holiday much more enjoyable if you do. Using two walking sticks will be very beneficial.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you don't know any, then learn some Italian before you come ... it is appreciated :) If you can't make the group transfer then it's easy to book your own transfer from the airport to the hotel. If you do book, you'll have a fab time.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
Call us on 020 8772 3936