Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Philip Marlow

    A great first group guided holiday

    A first rate holiday with some great walks and time to relax over some fine lunches in places I would not have found on my own. The hotel was a very peasant family run place and the food delicious. This was our first guided group walking holiday and I intend to do another, quite probably with Exodus, who I thought were great from the first booking call to the holiday itself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was absolutely wonderful and I enjoyed the company of the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Severio was excellent. He was well organised, knowledgeable and really led the group up in a nice friendly way. He went the extra mile by doing things like in organising walks/trips for us our day off and the final Saturday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is little preparation needed as Exodus take care of you all week. The walking is moderate as the brochure/website suggests. I see in the comments that much is made of steps! There are steps but they do not spoil the walking and frankly are the only practical way of reaching the coast from the village where we stayed.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Margaret Newman

    Excellent trip

    This was my fifth holiday with Exodus and once again it was most enjoyable. The combination of spectacular scenery, picturesque towns and visits to Vesuvius and Pompeii make the Amalfi coast an ideal destination to visit. Hotel Due Torri is a comfortable family run hotel. The staff are all friendly and the food is excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great walks with spectacular views and the opportunity to swim some days. The walk round the vast crater of Vesuvius and the visit to Pompeii.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania is an excellent guide. She is friendly, knowledgeable and well organised and always has a smile

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are a lot of steps on some of the walks and walking poles do help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2018

    Take this trip!

    My sister and I have just completed this tour and we absolutely loved it! The walks were tougher than we expected but worth every aching muscle at the end of each day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the end of the first day when we looked back at our achievement! We also really enjoyed the hike up to Monte Tre Calli although it was probably the most work.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Vania, is a lovely young woman, a gem, and a credit to the company. She was well organised, always courteous and ready to laugh and talk with our group. I would happily take another walking trip with Vania.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use walking poles. And read the reviews! I didn't read many before the trip. We didn't really know it would be so hard on calves and knees. The poles really helped. Also you're looking down a lot to see where you're walking. Don't forget to stop and look at the views. They are truly beautiful!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel we stayed at for the week was comfortable (apart from very hard beds) and clean. Food was plentiful and scrummy. Staff were amiable and attentive. Cooking activities were fun too. The vibe here is quite relaxed. Have a good look around the village of Bomerano, too. It's very pretty.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Christopher Cutner

    Brilliant Trip

    This is a lovely well-balanced holiday. Some really good walks but also a free day and a day to visit Pompeii and Vesuvius. Hotel staff made us all welcome and served great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great walks with spectacular views. Plenty of opportunities to take photos and just take in the scenery, as well as time to swim in some places. Pompeii was just amazing - so much bigger than I ever thought and you see here a Roman city where people lived, traded, went to the theatre, bought food and drink from the various "bars" around the theatres. Then to finish the day with a walk right around the crater rim of Vesuvius. Wow!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Suzi was wonderful. She loved what she did and enthused about the people and the countryside we walked through. She clearly had made many friends with the locals who all made us very welcome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy yourself!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Colin Spence

    Great hotel Great Food Great Guide

    Our second Exodus trip and we were not disappointed . Superb hotel with wonderful friendly staff. Great walks led by Vania our superb guide for the week. The scenery is stunning, our fellow travellers were from all parts of the world and it was a pleasure to have their company for the week

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first walk of the week a wonderful circuit of the mountain overlooking the hotel. And all the meals at the hotel which were truly superb!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was truly excellent ensuring all the group felt part of the family. Her expertise and local knowledge were invaluable but more importantly her positive attitude encouragement and sense of humour were undoubtedly what made the holiday so exceptional for us both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks involve numerous steps and going downhill could be a little tough on the calf muscles so make sure you get a little bit of practice in before the trip.!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As usual with Exodus you will be so well looked after so all you have to do enjoy. A truly excellent trip.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Colin Spence

    Great food Great hotel Great guide!

    Our second Exodus holiday and we were not disappointed. The glorious scenery and some beautiful walks led by our truly excellent guide Vania was backed up by some wonderful food at our base hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first walk up and around a mountain close to the hotel set the tone got the week. It was strenuous but Vania ensured we all had a comfortable and enjoyable walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truly excellent she ensured everyone in the group was included and felt a part of the family for the whole week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do a little preparation before you go by tackling some hills . The downhill steps of which there are many can be a little taxing on the calf muscles

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was so enjoyable the group was like a mini United Nations! And we all got on really well. The organisation of the trip was what we have come to expect from Exodus I.e superb
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Bob Karnofski

    Wonderful Vacation tour

    First tour with Exodus and Im very impressed. From the initial communication, information prior to leaving and the ease with which everything was accomplished. The hotel was great - clean rooms (there was a norovirus outbreak among several groups and I noticed my room was thoroughly cleaned when it occurred.) The only thing was the pool wasn't heated - so it was FREEZING. So only used once and very quickly! The hikes were amazing, but I believe this should be rated at a Level 3 not 2. Some hikes were very challenging, averaging 7-8 miles each hike and steep areas, loose shale, etc. One hike had 3,000 stairs along the way, another like 2000. It is a VERY steep area. But our guide was awesome, arrangements were made for one hiker who it was too difficult for. The food was EXCELLENT. The staff amazing and very accommodating and friendly. Visited Capri on the off day and was given lots of information on how to navigate. Pompeii and the hike up Vesuvius were a highlight!! Allin all I had a great time, meet some incredible people from around the world whom Im sure we will stay in contact with. I will definitely take another Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was stunning. I love history so how (and why) people chose to settle here and just the construction of the trails, stairs, terraces. Pompeii was simply stunning. How people could accomplish what they did and the ingenuity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mikala was just incredible. Outgoing, friendly, great sense of humor. Felt very secure with her and also the sharing of her knowledge of the region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great trip - you will be well taken care of by not only Exodus staff but the hotel and restaurant staff. Just a caution - while the trip was amazing - would probably be rated one level higher. You will need trekking poles. They do have some at the hotel to loan
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Colin Ryall

    Excellent trip

    My first walking holiday of this kind was better than I expected. Well organised, great group of people and excellent leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoying walking in wonderful scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was Excellent. Always had a smile.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Christopher Hyatt-Twynam

    Good

    Excellent guide Severio Good hotel except we all got sickness bug which must have been from the hotel. The hotel were of no help during this time Hotel duo torri

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pompeii and Vesuvius

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train on hills

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Longer coffee breaks. Local village walks would have been good. It was a bit boot camp for me. Early starts and too long walks

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Christopher for his review, although we regret that he did not feel that the Hotel Due Torri assisted when members of his group were unwell.  Having investigated the cause of the illness, we have found no evidence to indicate that the hotel was the source of the illness, but a number of measures were taken by Exodus and the hotel to prevent the spread of infection and we are pleased to confirm that these were successful.  We remain very sorry, nonetheless, that members of Christopher’s group were unwell as we recognise that feeling poorly whilst on holiday is incredibly disappointing.

     

    Marta Marinelli – Product Manager for Italy

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Eve M

    Fabulous trip

    It’s over ten years ago since I did a walking trip and this is the first one in Europe. I found the walking to be as described in the notes. The only thing that they don’t tell you is that ‘lactic acid city’ is going to hit those muscles for a few days unless one has done enough hill walking, especially after the 2,000 plus steps down to Amalfi. Do take at least one walking pole as it definitely helps to support limbs and steady one’s descent where the path is uneven and rocky. Our tour guide, Vania di Paoli, was a lovely guide. She was caring, patient, efficient and organised and she was always there to brief us on the day’s walk, in the evening, before dinner. She set a very nice pace for the group and found us some interesting spots to eat our lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many moments that inspired me but the walk to, and around the top of Vesuvius inspired me the most. It was a cloudy, moody day and perfect conditions for walking up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I liked my group leader very much and would be very happy to travel with her again. She had to deal with one or two challenges and handled them calmly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As above; do some preparation before the trip. Make sure that you have a Camelbak, or equivalent, and drink plenty of water so that you do not become dehydrated.
Call us on 020 8772 3936