Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Eric Flemingww

    Diamond Holiday

    Initially thought that as we had a large group...max size at 16 people, that it would be too many people having previously been with group sizes of 7-8. My ‘fears’ were unfounded as the group got on very well and during walks the group kept up with one another and paced to suit slower individuals. Hotel was excellent in Bomanero which was a small town with a small selection of shops and restaurants. Walks were varied and offered excellent views of the coast and short stops in small towns on a couple of the walks. Amalfi was not too busy in November but think it would be very busy and possibly too busy in the high season as would Ravello and Positano

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First view of Amalfi as well as visits to Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. She was a Scilian young girl called Martina Cippola. She was very organised and ensured we had evening meeting to discuss next days walk etc. She also provided a lot of information about the areas we were passing through. Some group members did not want to complete some of the harder section on various days and she ensured that those persons were able to use local buses etc to get them back to our hotel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of steps to negotiate, predominantly in a downward direction, so make sure your lower limbs can take the strain. Ensure that you carry a light wind proof top and a waterproof top/trousers if the forecast is for wet weather . If you don’t have one I’d recommend investing in a hydration system so that you can take on fluids without the need to take off your backpack to get to your water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend going off season as less hassle with crowded visitor sites such as Pompeii and Isle of Capri the last being an optional boat trip.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Eric Fleming

    Diamond Holiday

    Initially thought that as we had a large group...max size at 16 people, that it would be too many people having previously been with group sizes of 7-8. My ‘fears’ were unfounded as the group got on very well and during walks the group kept up with one another and paced to suit slower individuals. Hotel was excellent in Bomanero which was a small town with a small selection of shops and restaurants. Walks were varied and offered excellent views of the coast and short stops in small towns on a couple of the walks. Amalfi was not too busy in November but think it would be very busy and possibly too busy in the high season as would Ravello and Positano

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First view of Amalfi as well as visits to Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. She was a Scilian young girl called Martina Cippola. She was very organised and ensured we had evening meeting to discuss next days walk etc. She also provided a lot of information about the areas we were passing through. Some group members did not want to complete some of the harder section on various days and she ensured that those persons were able to use local buses etc to get them back to our hotel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of steps to negotiate, predominantly in a downward direction, so make sure your lower limbs can take the strain. Ensure that you carry a light wind proof top and a waterproof top/trousers if the forecast is for wet weather . If you don’t have one I’d recommend investing in a hydration system so that you can take on fluids without the need to take off your backpack to get to your water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend going off season as less hassle with crowded visitor sites such as Pompeii and Isle of Capri the last being an optional boat trip.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jenny McIntyre

    Amazing Amalfi!

    A wonderful week with lovely group, excellent and friendly guide, and fantastic weather! Brilliantly put together itinerary, and comfortable accomodation. Be aware that the distance on the walks does'nt indicate the undulations! Be prepared for steps and inclines! Worth it for the incredible views!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it, although walking round the entire rim of the crater of Vesuvius was superb!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was par excellence! Friendly, knowledgeable and fun-making sure all in the group were ok.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember your walking poles!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thankyou for a wonderful experience.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Dave B

    Not just a walking trip

    If you think it's just a walking trip then you're in for a pleasant surprise. There are a good variety of walks (although there a lot of downhill steps, so you should do some preparation for this otherwise your knees will complain !) ... but you also get cookery lessons, trips to Vesuvius & Pompeii, and optional trips to Capri/Herculaneum, plus a bit of exploratory time at the end of the walks. The days are full, with early starts on a couple of the days. The food at the hotel is great. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say one: Many, many fantastic views (worth getting to a 'high' point for a sunrise or sunset if you can) Pompeii was much more impressive than I expected (& brought to life by our guide) Travelling on the Capri buses was memorable !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great :) - if you get Martina then you will be very well looked after

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You'll read it in a lot of the reviews ... there are a LOT of steps, and most of them are downhill. You really will benefit from doing some longer downhill walks before you come to prepare your quads/calves/knees, it will make the holiday much more enjoyable if you do. Using two walking sticks will be very beneficial.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you don't know any, then learn some Italian before you come ... it is appreciated :) If you can't make the group transfer then it's easy to book your own transfer from the airport to the hotel. If you do book, you'll have a fab time.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marion Perkins

    The title was a good description if the trip content. The grading was slightly out...we felt this should have been moderate not leisurely/moderate.

    It was a great holiday which I have already recommended to a couple of friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to the rim of Vesuvius...The guide Stefan was excellent. He knew his stuff and led us well. The view from the top was breathtaking. Also The Path of the gods...a wonderful walk even in November..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was second to none. She was everything you could hope for in a leader; efficient, well organised, confident but also caring, light hearted and great fun. She was very knowledgeable about the area and enjoyed imparting that knowledge to us. She obviously loves her job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have the right gear which should definitely include at least one walking pole and shoes with good grip. Be aware also that the word leisurely applies rather to the pace of the walks than the type. Some are quite demanding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would reiterate my question about the grading of this trip...I feel a straight moderate would be more accurate. Another thing we have noticed about Exodus trips is that there is very little free time built in...It is often a rush to fit everything in AND relax. This may be due to packing lots into each holiday so is more of an observation than a grumble. My one disappointment was Pompeii which was always going to be a highlight for me. Our guide Andre(sp?) Was again excellent and imparted his knowledge with passion and panache ...but there was no time to linger and absorb the atmosphere...we were rushed from one place to another and felt at the end rather bombarded with information which we had no time to absorb.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Margaret Swinyard

    As beautiful as the pictures

    I was a little concerned when I booked this trip that it was a really popular destination that might prove disappointing when seen for real. I need not have worried one bit - the Amalfi coast is every bit as beautiful as its reputation suggests. The itinerary on this trip allowed us to enjoy amazing walks, visit atmospheric towns, learn about the geography and history of the area, and all in great company with a friendly, enthusiastic group of fellow travellers!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the path of the Gods on a beautiful Autumn day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was great! He appeared laid-back and relaxed, but made arrangements smoothly and inconspicuously so everything ran smoothly. Albert was very good at ensuring all members of the group were catered for, making sure that anyone who'd walked far enough could get transport and meet up with the group again later, while also offering extra detours for those with energy left.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As has been said before, there are a LOT of steps! Poles can be a good idea...
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Ann Woelfle Bater

    Sore Legs, Great Time

    Our Amalfi walking tour was memorable for a multitude of reasons. Our guide Severio was outstanding and he basically "made" the trip. His enthusiasm and love for his country was evident in every activity we participated in. The hill climbing and stairs were made memorable by the fact I spent the entire week hobbling around and laughing about it (as did the rest of the group). The balance of local foods and active days combined with a wonderful International group of fellow travelers makes this the reason I keep coming back to Exodus for touring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Facing my fear of heights and vertigo with the help of Severio and my fellow travelers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding in every way. Severio went above and beyond.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be reasonably fit and use walking sticks for all of the downhill and stairs!
Call us on 020 8772 3936