Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    DAVID BELL

    Walking in Madeira

    A very interesting and beautiful walking trip led by a very knowledgeable leader, Andre. Each walk was different and Andre provided a wealth of knowledge as we went along. Hotels and food were very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were interesting but I particularly enjoyed day 2 on a levada and then a path high up on the north coast with great views all the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was very passionate about Madeira and his knowledge of the plants, birds, history, etc. was very good. He was well organised and everything ran smoothly. He was great fun too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles, good boots and waterproofs are always useful. There are some steep accents and descents but everyone in our group managed the distances okay.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Pam Bennett

    Stunning varied scenery

    I read previous reviews prior to going on the trip, and they are all accurate. I would add that I was borderline fit enough for this holiday so found it challenging at times (it was a late decision to go), but I would not have missed a moment of it. I completed all the walks, which are all different from each other. The group I was with was very supportive. Andre the guide made one unit of us from the first night, and was watchful, prepared, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. As he said 80% is in your head, 20% in your walking ability. Apart from Andre, the other essential was walking poles, especially on the long downhill Day 4. I had not been on an Exodus holiday before, nor had I been on one without a companion. Any reservations I had were blown away very quickly. It was so enjoyable,I just love Madeira. I am looking for my next holiday already.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The feeling after the walk along the levadas to the Green Cauldron. After a days walking in the laurisilva it was like having been bathed in green for a day.Like no where else I have been.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was the best. I say this even though it was my first Exodus holiday, I cannot imagine a better guide, professor or group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wore my walking boots every day after one day in walking shoes. The support and shock absorption of the boots made such a difference for me. I have already mentioned how useful I found the walking poles

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it, go there, enjoy.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Eunice Poole

    Walking in Madeira

    I really enjoyed this trip. I have had other exodus walking holidays but this was the first one on my own since I lost my husband. I need not have worried as the people in the group were friendly and welcoming. The views were amazing and a abundants of wild flowers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the whole trip was great and so very difficult to pick out spercific moments just the amazing views of the mountains and coastline.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Andre who was fantastic. He was always smiling and his love of his island and knowledge of the flowers, mountains and history was very infectious. Andre made sure we were all safe and enjoying the walks from the fast walkers to the slow and always stopped at the end for a welcoming cold beer! He even gave up his day off on our free day to show us around Funchal

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was a bit older than the rest of the group, being 73 and did find the very rocky descents a bit difficult at times but if I can manage it anyone can

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think so, just that as usual exodus gave me a very organised and enjoyable trip
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Joanne Elmer

    Perfect Adventure

    Perfect walking holiday in Madeira. This was my first walking holiday, first group holiday and first loan trip. I wouldn't have changed anything. Andrej, our guide was fantastic. He showed of the island with 5 different walks that showed of everything Madeira has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult as was all so good. At one point I said "Every time we turn a corner there is another beautiful view which was completely different and awe inspiring".

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. Knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his island and all it has to offer. Made everyone feel comfortable and created a good team atmosphere.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of stone steps. Need strong knees and lots of energy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Organise another Madeira trip to explore other more challenging areas of the island. I would love to go back and see more.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Juliusz Chroscicki

    Great walks, beautiful island

    It was my first walking trip with Exodus so I was not sure how easy or difficult the walks would be for me based on the moderate rating. It turned out I managed just fine. As usual with Exodus trips everything was very well organised, hotels were clean and comfortable, food was good and plenty and the company delightful

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Even though very walk could be the highlight of the trip, if I were to select one, it would be the middle part of the Porto Cruz walk on day 2, a traverse of a mountain face dropping towards the ocean. I think the day 4 could have been the top pick if it were not for the weather. We did not see much that day as we walked mostly in a cloud and fog but that is something we have to accept when hiking in the mountains.And it was still a good day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre is a pure delight. From the first moment he picked me up at the airport I knew he enjoys his jobs and takes pride of his island. He readily shared his vast knowledge of Madeira. He liked to joke but he also made sure that we were always safe and comfortable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Trekking poles helped me a lot, especially during the descents on day 4.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Paul Mcgovern

    Exhilarating walks

    The walks in Madeira were nothing short of exhilarating. Andre our group leader was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and fun to be with. We had a laugh.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The porto Da Cruz walk was the most memorable of all walks from my 6 Exodus trips. Exhilarating, scary, and magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I would give Andre 5/5 for knowledge, enthusiasm and personal attention.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    They say on trip notes that this trip is not suitable for vertigo sufferers. They are correct.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great walking with fantastic leader.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Juliette Webb

    Madeira

    A great island for walking - people and walking relaxed and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the mountains on day 4, amazing views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Guide was fantastic, really made the trip - he had a passion for his island and dealt well with the individuals in the group.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Nicola Handcock

    Walking in Madeira

    A week of fabulous walks in mountainous terrain, with a well earned free day at the end of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the highest peak on the island, in beautiful clear weather, and seeing Madeira falling away to the distant sea beneath us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great fun and very much a part of the group. He was able to change plans for us when the weather on the first day was so stormy that the scheduled walk had to be abandoned, and you have never seen anyone be on the scene so quickly whenever anyone slipped on the path. He was a big part of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take walking poles - while the uphills are steep and tougher than expected, the downs are far more treacherous and seem to go on forever! It rains a lot in Madeira!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a challenging holiday in terms of the walking, but I think everyone pushed themselves to their limits and was very pleased to have done so.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    David Williams

    Madiera Walking Holiday

    I really enjoyed the week's holiday I booked in Madeira through Exodus. The walks where perfect for me, not too demanding and not too tough. The scenery was stunning, the guide was knowledgeable and always had a very good sense of humour. The other people on the holiday were great company. The hotels were well chosen, the food was great. Everything was arranged very well indeed. The one disappointment was the weather, it was unseasonably cold. One word of advice, if you suffer from vertigo think twice before going on this holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I cannot pick out a precise moment, but the day walking along the cliff edge was the best.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great sense of humour, knowledgeable without being overbearing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring an extra layer or two as contingency, it was a bit colder than I expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit the Blandy's winery in Funchal. Really enjoyed it.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Juliet Nicolson

    Madeira Walking trip

    Every day was very different- mountains, seascapes & levada walks, with plenty of culture, nature & history too

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great sense of achievement getting to the top of the high mountains after a tough climb up all those steps, & seeing the mountains & valleys all around, drifting in & out of the mist

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was well-organised, friendly & informative. To our shame, we didn't always follow his directions too well but we all got there in the end & had a lot of fun along the way!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothing for hot,cold & wet conditions- we experienced every extreme of weather during our week at the end of October. To get the most from this holiday you need to be fit for a couple of days of steep climbs & descents, & walking for 6 or 7 hours
Call us on 020 8772 3936