Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Robert Harris

    Andes to Amazon

    A wonderful introduction to a hugely diverse country in terms of people, culture, nature and landscape. We came expecting a developing country and found a first-world one with a wealth of natural resources.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The diversity of the flora was amazing - particularly ferns and the general greenness of the diverse topography. The constantly changing landscape and ecology that the trip itinerary presented was quite breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo Molveda was one of the best tour leaders we have experienced in nearly 20 years of travelling in small groups. He was patient, humorous, knowledgeable, kind and inspired confidence - the perfect guide to a new country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Despite your grading of leisurely/moderate we found the trip relatively full-on compared with others we have experienced. Whilst we were happy with the pace of the trip, others may find it a little strenuous with respect to activities and the amount of travelling/moving on between hotels and the relative lack of free time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The driver (Mauricio) was probably the best we have encountered and everyone felt supremely safe in his hands.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Sheila Oliver

    Andes to Amazon

    This was an amazing journey through all the different regions of Ecuador. We started in Quito, went to the cloud forest, through hot springs, markets in Otavalo, to the jungle, up to Chimbarazo - the point nearest the sun, to the lovely city of Cuenca up to the high plains of Cajas national park, back to the mangroves and dry tropical forest. Our guide and driver were amazing, the food was lovely and I would not believe it was possible to fit so much into two weeks. It was not for the feint hearted - we had very long days of travelling and went up and down in terms of altitude and temperature. Perhaps some shorter drives and longer time in the lovely places we stayed would have made it a bit more like a holiday! Not sure how it could be changed though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Can't pick out one? I loved traveling down river in the jungle and the Mangroves, and being up in the Cajas National Park. Cuenca was a lovely city and joining in the Mardi Gras celebrations as we went along made the trip very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent. He was very good at including everyone and dealing with various illnesses suffered by the group. He had heaps of local knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep luggage to a minimum. Lots of outdoor wear clothes which protect from sun and insects. Make sure you are fit for the walks which are quite hard, and be prepared for very long journeys.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that cutting out one or two activities or stays may have made it more relaxing. Personally the jungle activities were my least favourite although I enjoyed staying in the lodge.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Thomas Parry

    Andes to amazon

    Excellent, varied trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a hoatzin.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was first class, full of enthusiasm and knowledge and a really nice man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to enjoy yourselves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent hotels, esp in Cuenca.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Nick Yorston

    Amazing Ecuador

    If it's variety you're after, in one country, with no worries about getting around, this is the trip to choose. Every day brings something different, whether at fairly high altitude in the snowy peaks of Chimborazo National Park or the sultry heat of the Amazon basin. Breathtaking scenery between the destinations, coupled with stops in quaint market towns en route, mean the travelling is never hard work. The local people you meet and perhaps buy goods from are also friendly and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to choose, but probably the time in the Amazon basin. The different types of wildlife seen during the day compared to on the night time walk, the reduced use of electricity thanks to candlelit rooms at the lodge, and the work being done at the nearby wildlife rescue centre to educate people as to the importance of all the species, meant a wonderful couple of days. The 'tubing' on the river was great fun too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo was friendly and informative in a very relaxed manner, without ever going into so much detail that you'd switch off from what he was saying. He organised things well so that the odd longer day on the day bus was broken up sufficiently with breaks along the way, and he knew of decent places to stop for lunch. He was always ready to get our extremely reliable driver, Nelson, to pull over for the countless photo opportunities en route.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember that you'll be going to a couple of places at higher altitudes, where it could be very cold, so you might want to take a warm hat and gloves to go with the extra layers of clothing you'll want on those days. Heed your guides advice when it comes to trying to avoid altitude sickness, as until you're at those heights, you don't realise what an effect it can have.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You can eat and drink remarkably cheaply in a lot of places, and the standard of food always seemed to be very acceptable. Like in any country be aware of your surroundings, especially in the bigger cities, although I never felt uneasy anywhere on this trip. Have plenty of space on the memory card in your camera...
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Anne Grabham

    Fantastic trip!

    This was one of my best ever trips. Ecuador is a beautiful country with many different kinds of scenery, interesting cities, fabulous bird life, fascinating indigenous people, colourful markets and much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Impossible to pick just one! Our whole time in the jungle was great but practising with a blowpipe certainly has to be high up on the list. Also walking down Chimborazo volcano at 4,800m in the snow just 24 hours later was pretty special. Making chocolate on a farm, from caco bean to a hot drink, was really good fun and the boat trip in the mangroves at the coast was amazing - we saw so many beautiful birds. Oh yes, and the hummingbirds in the cloud forest....I could go on for ever!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo is a great tour leader. He is friendly, great fun and very informative. It is clear that he loves his country and he is passionate about Ecuador's wildlife and people. He was very much part of the group, interested in finding out about us as well as answering all our endless questions about Ecuador. He always made sure everything ran smoothly and quickly sorted out any little problems that occurred. He made a great holiday very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some warm clothes! Within a 24 hour period we went from steaming in the jungle to freezing near the top of a snow-capped volcano! Waterproof trousers are a good way of keeping your legs warm and a hat and gloves are a good idea. Don't forget a swimming costume for tubing in the jungle and the hot springs elsewhere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All in all this is a trip for those who want a slice of all that mainland Ecuador has to offer. It's a busy two weeks with perhaps not long enough in each place, but Ecuador has so much variety with so many different landscapes and this trip will offer you a taste of everything.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Sibylle Von Hornhardt

    Andes to Amazon

    Every day a new world in Ecuador. Each day showeda different face of the country, Rainforest, busy Towns, Wildlife, Farmlife and much more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the walk at Chimborazo National Park. The barren landscape was like beeing in another world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo was great. He knew history, biology and much mor of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks at high places get very cold, don´t forget gloves. Moskito repellents on clothes is useful. Yoe dant´t need a Moskito Net.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All Hotels ans Haciendas were so beautifull that we all liked to stay longer than one or two nights.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Gurcan Sarisoy

    Ecuador is amazing country!

    Ecuador is definitely worth to discover, it's natural beauty is absolutely fantastic! Unique geographical location is giving a chance to experience different climate zones, eco systems and even to reach the highest point on the planet (Chimborazo mountain). The journey over all was even better than we expected: very knowledgeable and professional guide, great accommodations, delicious food, wonderful hiking routes and other activities. It is very adventurous and full of excitement trip, where you can enjoy wildlife, visit historical sites, meet local indigenous people and learn about their customs and traditions. It deserves every single penny we paid, we enjoyed this tour a lot and looking forward for opportunity to come again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Among the highlights of this trip are climbing Chimborazo mountain, walking in Amazon jungles and meeting local community San Clemente.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader (Eddy) is very professional, speaks very good English, has very deep knowledge about the country: history, geography, wildlife etc. Also he performed good communication and diplomatic skills responding immediately to different requirements and needs of all group members. Good person and high-level professional, who really loves his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure to take strong mosquitos repellents, sun cream, proper travel clothes for hot and cold climate, hiking boots and good cameras of course, there a lot of photo opportunities. If you love active and adventurous holiday Ecuador is right place to go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All accommodations and trips were great, only cocoa plantation visit was not well organised: very poor lunch, dirty area (no water in toilet), the hostess speaks good English but doesn't have good performance skills including the way she was dressed up etc. This part should be improved. Also driving in Ecuador is generally very dangerous and our driver was good but needed to be asked to follow traffic rules and be more careful.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Julia Gale

    Andes to Amazon

    This was an excellent introduction to this very diverse country, including different landscapes, culture and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many highlights, including seeing a variety of birds and wildlife in both the cloud forest and the Amazon basin, visiting local markets and learning about indigenous communities. The walks at Cuicocha and Cajas National Park were both excellent (and we were lucky with the weather!).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Service in some hotels / restaurants in Ecuador can be variable and he quickly resolved any difficulties when these arose.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of sunscreen and insect repellent. Pack layers of clothing as the temperatures across the trip vary greatly. If you are taking dollars, make sure they are in small denominations, as changing $50 dollar notes is very difficult.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed this trip and would not hesitate to recommend it.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Jackson Sue

    Excellent Ecuador

    Ecuador is an amazing place to visit with a diverse geography. It means every day of a two week holiday is varied and interesting. With our great guide and driver we managed to go from nearly 5000m to sea level with lots of other scenery and activities along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chimborazo and being the highest I've ever been in the world (with my feet still on the ground!) Seeing and hearing Mt Tungurahua volcano erupting ..... Wow!! Swimming in the Amazon basin

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo was a brilliant leader - full of knowledge and enthusiasm for his country which he shared with the group at lots of opportunities.... now, how high was that mountain?! He was fun, very patient and with an easy manner had the group well organised... "Be prepared for anything" !! Pablo helped make a great trip special and memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared! Bring many different layers of clothing from swimsuit to hat, gloves and raincoat. Stronger sunscreen than normally use Long trousers and long sleeves still may be needed even when weather very hot All hotels had good wifi Iberia airlines not great

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy a fab holiday
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Joan Yule

    Exciting Ecuador

    Great 2 weeks trip round Ecuador seeing of the many facets of the country. It has so much to offer in terms of views, volcanoes, wildlife, walking etc. Can't recommend it enough

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Volcán Tungurahua erupt! Wow! Fantastic view of it at night from our hotel Also being on the top of the world at Volcán Chimborazo!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo had the patience of a saint & a fab sense of humour. Excellent english. Always enthusiatic & passionate about his country (he wants everyone to retire there!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very fierce sunshine even on cloudy days - take sunblock & long sleeves Make sure you take hat, gloves, warm layers for visiting Chimborazo & Cajas NP
Call us on 0208 772 3936